DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/6/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 14 and claim 23 recite “…a coupler that that couples…”. The underlined portion is a grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required. Suggestion: “…a coupler that
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 16 recites “wherein after applying the pulse to the coupler, the first qubit is in the quantum state with a correctable Pauli error and the second qubit is in a one state”. The underlined portion lacks antecedent basis and renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the underlined portion is referring to the quantum state first introducing in claim 15 or whether the quantum state in claim 16 is referring to a wholly separate and distinct quantum state than that of claim 15. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “wherein the first qubit comprises a high frequency qubit and the second qubit comprises a low frequency qubit.” The term "high" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “High” is defined as " situated or passing above the normal level, surface, or base of measurement, or elevation” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe what the minimum frequency is in order to be considered “high frequency”. The term “high” requires a normal level or base of measurement above which the measurement is considered “high” neither the claims nor the specification defines this base measurement. If one were to poll 100 people having ordinary skill in the art, there would be many different responses for the base measurement. Thus, determining whether one is infringing the limitation is subjective, rather than objective, and thus the claim is unclear. Furthermore, there is no objective consensus in the art of the boundaries for “high-frequency”.
US 2021/0384866 A1 (Wilson) [0109] (between 0.4 GHz to 6 GHz)
[0109] Where high-frequency is defined as a frequency of 0.4 GHz-6 GHz, a frequency of 1.4 GHz-1.6 GHz, a frequency of 1.8 GHz-2.7 GHz, a frequency of 1 GHz-2 GHz, a frequency of 2 GHz-3 GHz, a frequency of 3 GHz-4 GHz, a frequency of 4 GHz-5 GHz, or a frequency of 5 GHz-6 GHz; and/or where high-frequency is defined as a frequency greater than 1.4 GHz, a frequency greater than 1.8 GHz, a frequency greater than 2 GHz, a frequency greater than 3 GHz, a frequency greater than 4 GHz, a frequency greater than 5 GHz, or a frequency less than 6 GHz.
US 2021/0091743 A1 (Tsai) [0140] (between 1 GHz to 10 GHz)
[0140] The high frequency component is an AC signal including one or more high frequency components above a predetermined frequency. In some embodiments, the predetermined frequency defining the high frequency component has a value ranging from 100 MHz to 100 GHz. In some embodiments, the predetermined frequency defining the high frequency component has a value ranging from 1 GHz to 10 GHz.
US 2012/0051000 A1 (Laidig) [0149] (8 GHz or higher)
[0149] In an example embodiment, a high power, overmolded MMIC device is disclosed, with one or more integrated partial waveguide interfaces, wherein high power is defined as thermal dissipation from the MMIC of greater than one of: 5 watts, 8 watts, or 10 watts, wherein the MMIC is a high frequency MMIC, wherein high frequency is defined as a frequency of 8 GHz or higher. In one example embodiment, the MMIC device is one of a power amplifier and a block up converter. In one example embodiment, the one or more integrated partial waveguide interfaces are each one of: an input interface and an output interface; two input interfaces; and two output interfaces.
US 2015/0364816 A1 (Murugan) [0015] (30 GHz to 300 GHz)
[0015] The extremely high frequency (EHF) electromagnetic band of radio frequencies defined by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) extends from 30 GHz to 300 GHz, corresponding to wavelengths that range from about 10 millimeters down to 1 millimeter, where the electromagnetic waves are assumed to be propagating in free space. This frequency range may be referred to as the millimeter wave frequency range in some contexts. The microwave electromagnetic band of radio frequencies is considered by some to extend from 300 MHz to 300 GHz (wavelengths from 1 meter down to 1 millimeter, where the electromagnetic waves are assumed to be propagating in free space), thus, the microwave electromagnetic radio spectrum comprises within it the millimeter electromagnetic radio spectrum.
US 2015/0171523 A1 (Kamgaing) [0015] (3 MHz and greater)
[0015] As used herein, "low frequency" means the range of frequencies from DC (0 Hz) to, but not including, 3 MHz. "High frequency" is defined as the range of frequencies from 3 MHz and greater.
US 2004/0075170 A1 (Degani) [0050] (frequency in excess of 3 GHz)
[0050] For the purpose of defining the invention, the term high frequency RF integrated circuit chip as used herein is intended to mean an integrated circuit for processing an RF signal with a frequency in excess of 3 GHz.
US 6400019 (Hirashima) Col. 4 lines 13-14 (no less than 1 GHz)
(7) The semiconductor chip 1C constituting the semiconductor device 1 is made of a small chip of a semiconductor substrate of a square shape composed mainly of a single crystal of silicon, for example. The semiconductor chip 1C has a thickness of about 0.4 mm, although not especially limitative thereto. On the main surface of the semiconductor chip 1C, there is formed a high-frequency analog signal circuit, for example. Here, the high frequency is defined to be no less than 1 GHz, for example.
Therefore, the claim is rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “wherein the first qubit comprises a high frequency qubit and the second qubit comprises a low frequency qubit.” The term "low" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “Low” is defined as " situated or passing below the normal level, surface, or base of measurement, or the mean elevation” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe what the maximum frequency is in order to be considered “low frequency”. The term “low” requires a normal level or base of measurement below which the measurement is considered “low” neither the claims nor the specification defines this base measurement. If one were to poll 100 people having ordinary skill in the art, there would be many different responses for the base measurement. Thus, determining whether one is infringing the limitation is subjective, rather than objective, and thus the claim is unclear. Furthermore, there is no objective consensus in the art of the boundaries for “low-frequency”.
US 20220406578 A1 (Sakiyama) [0051] (between 300 kHz and about 2 MHz)
[0051] In certain implementations, RF power generator 195 may operate to generate 2 frequencies, such as a first frequency of about 400 kHz, and a second frequency, such as a frequency of about 27.12 MHz. It should be noted, however, that RF power generator may be capable of generating other frequencies, such as frequencies of between about 300 kHz and about 100 MHz, and claimed subject matter is not limited in this respect. In particular embodiments, signals generated by RF power generator 195 may include at least one low frequency (LF), which may be defined as a frequency of between about 300 kHz and about 2 MHz, and at least one high frequency (HF), which may be defined as a frequency greater than about 2 MHz but less than about 100 MHz.
US 20210104196 A1 (Yuan) [0102] (smaller than 60 Hz)
[0102] In related art, driving frequencies of the display panel include 15 Hz, 30 Hz, 40 Hz, 50 Hz, 60 Hz, 120 Hz, etc., and in order to meet needs of displaying different images while saving the power consumption of the display panel, the display panel is usually set with at least two driving modes with different frequency levels, and driving the display panel and displaying dynamic images at a relatively high frequency can improve the display effect. Driving the display panel and displaying static images at a relatively low frequency can reduce power consumption. In general, a frequency smaller than 60 Hz is defined as the low-frequency driving mode, and a frequency equal to or larger than 60 Hz is defined as the high-frequency driving mode. In the low-frequency driving mode, when the pixel circuit drives the light-emitting element to emit light, the period for the driving transistor to work in the forward bias state is longer, the threshold drift caused by the hysteresis effect of the driving transistor is more obvious, and the human eye is more likely to perceive image flickering. In the present embodiment, it is set that in the low-frequency driving mode, the pixel circuit executes steps performed in the bias adjustment stage (i.e., the pixel circuit operates in the bias adjustment stage), and the bias state of the driving transistor can be adjusted in the low-frequency driving mode, to improve the threshold drift caused by the hysteresis effect of the driving transistor. Moreover, in the high-frequency driving mode, the pixel circuit does not execute steps performed in the bias adjustment stage, and the driving manner of the pixel circuit in the high-frequency driving mode can be simplified.
US 20210091743 A1 (Tsai) [0139] (100 Hz to 100 MHz)
[0139] In some embodiments, the low frequency component includes a substantially DC signal. In some embodiments, the low frequency component includes an AC signal having one or more frequency components below a predetermined frequency. In some embodiments, the predetermined frequency defining the low frequency component has a value ranging from 100 hertz (Hz) to 100 megahertz (MHz). In some embodiments, the predetermined frequency defining the low frequency component has a value ranging from 1000 Hz to 100 kilohertz (kHz).
US 20170264215 A1 (Varghese) [0014] (at or less than 100 Hz)
[0014] A sensor or energy harvester, as described below, operates best at a particular frequency. The closer the vibration is to the ideal, or natural, frequency of the harvester, the more efficient the energy generation. Most naturally-occurring sources of vibration have a low frequency, defined herein as at or less than 100 Hz, where Hz is hertz, or one cycle per second.
US 20070026677 A1 (Ji) [0060] (less than 5 MHz)
[0060] In conventional PECVD, the substrate is placed on a grounded pedestal and heated to several hundred degrees .degree.C. The deposition plasma is sustained by RF powering the top electrode, or by using inductively coupled plasmas (ICP). Such conventional PECVD method is not applicable to common reactive ion etch (RIE) type plasma etchers, where the wafer is placed on the RF powered lower electrode, and the top electrode is typically grounded or driven by a separate frequency. Furthermore, wafer electrode heating is commonly limited to well below 100.degree. C. due to active device thermal budget and damage concerns. SiF.sub.4 based PECVD suggests that RIE mode plasma would not provide adequate deposition since the film is continuously removed by simultaneous etching and sputtering. It has been unexpectedly discovered that a robust film can be deposited at adequate rates with an RIE mode plasma under optimal conditions. Furthermore, adding an optimal amount of RF bias power (for example 2 MHz or another low frequency power, where low frequency power is defined as less than 5 MHz) can improve the deposition uniformity and film robustness. The optimal 2 MHz power is preferably 0-1000 W, or more preferably 5-500 W. Other methods of providing a low bias energy may be used. The layer to be etched may be a dielectric layer (such as silicon oxide), a conductive layer (such as metal and silicon or other type of semiconductors), or a hardmask layer (such as silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride). For etching a conductor layer, halogens, such as chlorine, fluorine, or bromine, may be used in the etching step.
Therefore, the claim is rejected as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-15, 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220414514 A1 (Korotkov).
The applied reference has a common inventor/assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Re claim 14, Korotkov teaches a method for transporting leakage from a first qubit to a second qubit, the method comprising:
determining a frequency distance that is calibrated for implementation of a two-qubit gate (frequency difference η [0059]);
tuning, by a quantum computing system, an operating frequency of the first qubit (data qubit [0061]); tuning, by the quantum computing system, an operating frequency of the second qubit (measuring qubit [0061]) to an operating frequency that is the determined frequency distance from the operating frequency of the first qubit ([0062]);
determining a pulse that, when applied to a coupler that that couples the first qubit and the second qubit, causes a predetermined rotation of the first qubit and the second qubit, wherein the predetermined rotation is half a rotation required for implementation of a diabatic CZ gate (CZ gate is applied to the coupler between the data and measuring qubit therefore the two halves of the CZ rotation are performed [0027,0059-0062]); and
applying, by the quantum computing system, the pulse to the coupler (Figs. 6-7 [0059-0062]).
Re claim 15, Korotkov teaches wherein prior to applying the pulse to the coupler, the first qubit is in a quantum state with an uncorrectable leakage population and the second qubit is in a zero state (measuring qubit is periodically reset to zero [0063]).
Re claim 18, Korotkov teaches wherein the first qubit comprises a data qubit (second qubit [0063]) that encodes logical information and the second qubit comprises an ancilla qubit (first qubit [0063]).
Re claim 19, Korotkov teaches wherein the first qubit comprises a high frequency qubit and the second qubit comprises a low frequency qubit (both first and second qubits are capable of operating at relatively higher or lower frequencies to each other [0036]).
Re claim 20, Korotkov teaches wherein the method is performed i) in response to the quantum computing system completing a predetermined sequence of operations or ii) at regular intervals during a quantum computation (reset occurs after the method on the measuring qubit and data qubit and occurs regularly [0063]).
Re claim 21, Korotkov teaches wherein the predetermined sequence of operations comprises a round of quantum error correction operations (this limitation further limits the unchosen condition from claim 20 and is therefore not required by the prior art).
Re claim 22, Korotkov teaches further comprising performing a reset operation on the second qubit ([0063]).
Re claim 23, Korotkov teaches an apparatus comprising:
one or more classical processors (classical processors 104); and
quantum computing hardware (quantum hardware 102) in data communication with the one or more classical processors (Fig. 1), wherein the apparatus is configured to perform operations comprising:
determining a frequency distance that is calibrated for implementation of a two-qubit gate (frequency difference η [0059]);
tuning, by a quantum computing system, an operating frequency of the first qubit (data qubit [0061]); tuning, by the quantum computing system, an operating frequency of the second qubit (measuring qubit [0061]) to an operating frequency that is the determined frequency distance from the operating frequency of the first qubit ([0062]);
determining a pulse that, when applied to a coupler that that couples the first qubit and the second qubit, causes a predetermined rotation of the first qubit and the second qubit, wherein the predetermined rotation is half a rotation required for implementation of a diabatic CZ gate (CZ gate is applied to the coupler between the data and measuring qubit therefore the two halves of the CZ rotation are performed [0059-0062]); and
applying, by the quantum computing system, the pulse to the coupler (Figs. 6-7 [0059-0062]).
Conclusion
BRIGITTE A. PATERSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/BRIGITTE A PATERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896