DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 04/24/2023 claims 1-10 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figs. 2 and 7 the applicant illustrates plots without titles and labeling for the axes and waveforms, in Fig. 5 the applicant uses boxes to illustrate structural components (see annotated Fig. 5 below for the boxes being objected to), and in Fig. 6 the applicant symbolizes an encircled L and G for a load and a generator respectively, however these alone do not facilitate understanding of the drawings. To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details in the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in the boxes, arrows with text coming off, or a legend in the drawings).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke et al. (USPGPN 20220123581).
With respect to claim 1, Clarke teaches an auxiliary gasoline vehicle booster (Fig. 1a; a battery booster 100) comprising a box (Fig. 1a; a housing 102) and a first energy storage element mounted in the box (Fig. 1b-1d; internal battery 160).
Clarke teaches wherein the box has a side provided with an external cord (Fig. 1a; ¶[34]; wherein the housing 102 has a side with a DC output terminal 136 for connecting the pair of electrical conductors 166).
Clarke teaches the external cord is electrically connected in parallel with a generator and a lead-acid battery of a gasoline vehicle (Fig. 1c; the pair of electrical conductors 166 are electrically connected in parallel via the pair of positive/negative clamps 168 with the alternator (not illustrated but taught in ¶[44, 50, 53, 86, 90, 103]) and the external battery 104 (e.g., a lead-acid battery, see ¶[30]) of a gasoline vehicle 106).
Clarke teaches the first energy storage element is electrically connected with the external cord (Fig. 1a-1e; the battery 160 is electrically connected with the pair of electrical conductors 166).
Clarke teaches the first energy storage element is used to receive and store an electric energy supplied by the generator of the gasoline vehicle (¶[53] penultimate sentence; the battery 160 (i.e., battery 160 is part of power bank 158) receives and stores electrical energy supplied by the alternator of the vehicle 106).
Clarke teaches the first energy storage element is used to supply an electric power to the gasoline vehicle (¶[40] first sentence; battery 160 is used to supply electric power to the vehicle 106).
Clarke teaches the first energy storage element has a voltage ranged between that of the generator and that of the lead-acid battery (¶[186] penultimate sentence; the external battery 104’s voltage is 12V and the alternator’s voltage is between 13.7V – 14.7V when the vehicle is running. ¶[47] last sentence; the nominal voltage of battery 160 is between 12.8V - 13.2V. Therefore, the external battery 104 voltage < the internal battery 160 voltage < the alternator voltage (i.e., the first energy storage element has a voltage ranged between that of the generator and that of the lead-acid battery)).
With respect to claim 2, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Clarke teaches wherein the first energy storage element is a secondary rechargeable battery (¶[46] first sentence; the internal battery 160 is a rechargeable lithium battery).
With respect to claim 3, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Clarke teaches wherein the secondary rechargeable battery is a lithium iron phosphate battery (¶[46] second sentence; the internal battery 160 is a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) battery).
With respect to claim 6, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Clarke teaches a second energy storage element electrically connected with the first energy storage element in parallel (Figs. 1b-1d; ¶[201] antepenultimate sentence; a supercapacitor bank 163 coupled in parallel with battery 160).
With respect to claim 7, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Clarke teaches wherein the second energy storage element includes multiple super capacitors which are connected in series (¶[101]; supercapacitor bank 163 includes multiple supercapacitors 162 connected in series).
With respect to claim 8, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. Further, Clarke teaches two first switches located between the first energy storage element and the second energy storage element (Fig. 1d; supercapacitor switches 192 located between the internal battery 160 and the supercapacitor bank 163).
Clarke teaches a second switch located between the external cord and the second energy storage element (Fig. 1d; boost switch 191 located between external battery 104 (i.e., the pair of electrical conductors 166) and the supercapacitor bank 163).
With respect to claim 9, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Clarke teaches wherein the external cord has a distal end provided with a cigarette lighter input connector which is inserted into a cigarette lighter socket of the gasoline vehicle (Figs. 1a and 1c; ¶[53] second sentence; electrical conductor 166 has a detachable electrical port/connector 164 which may be inserted into an automotive cigarette lighter).
With respect to claim 10, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Clarke teaches wherein the external cord has a distal end provided with a gasoline vehicle rescue chuck set which is clamped on electrodes of the lead-acid battery of the gasoline vehicle (Figs. 1a and 1c; the pair of electrical conductors 166 have a set of battery clamps 168 for clamping on to the positive and negative electrodes of the battery 104 of the vehicle 106).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke et al. (USPGPN 20220123581).
With respect to claim 4, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further Clarke teaches the generator has a voltage of 14.5V (¶[186]; the alternator’s voltage is between 13.7V – 14.7V when the vehicle is running, therefore the alternator has a voltage of 14.5V); the lead-acid battery has a voltage of 12V (¶[186]; the external battery 104’s voltage is 12V); and the first energy storage element has a voltage of 13.2V (¶[47]; the nominal voltage of battery 160 is between 12.8V - 13.2V).
Clarke discloses the claimed invention except for the lead-acid battery has a voltage of 12.4V. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a lead-acid battery with a voltage of 12.4V, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. As understood by one of ordinary skill, the advantage to having a 12.4V lead-acid battery being that it provides improved engine starting capabilities and reduced sulfation when compared to a 12.0V lead-acid battery.
With respect to claim 5, Clarke teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 4. Further, Clarke teaches wherein the first energy storage element includes multiple lithium iron phosphate battery cores which are connected in series (Fig. 9; ¶[46, 195]; internal battery 160 comprises multiple lithium iron phosphate battery cells connected in series).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nook et al. (USPGPN 20210075235) teaches a portable or handheld jump starting and air compressing apparatus for jump starting a vehicle engine and air inflating an article such as a tire. The apparatus can include a rechargeable lithium ion battery or battery pack and a microcontroller.
Inskeep (USPGPN 20100301800) teaches a multi-purpose battery jump starter and reconditioner. The device is portable and includes electronic circuitry for use in desulfating lead-acid batteries. A rechargeable internal battery permits operation in remote conditions.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859