DETAILED ACTION
Notice for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013
Status of the Claims
This communication is in response to communications received on 7/31/25. Claim(s) 8-11, 14, and 19 is/are amended, claim(s) none is/are cancelled, claim(s) none is/are new, and applicant states support can be found at instant specification [0098-0108]. Therefore, Claims 8-20 is/are pending and have been addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed 7/31/25, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 112 for claim(s) 8-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Examiner respectfully withdraws rejections under 35 USC 112 for claim(s) 8-20.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed 7/31/25, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 101 for claim(s) 8-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as far as they apply to the amended 101 rejection(s) below.
Applicant respectfully traversed the rejection on pg. 9-18.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because the instant claims are not like the claims in example 37 claim 2 as there is no organization of information based on the user’s action.
The inclusion of the survey does make a practical application.
The instant claims are not like the claims in example 37 claim 1 as there is no organization of information based on the user’s action.
Applicant is relying on 2106.05(d) “well understood, routine, and conventional” however Examiner is relying on 2106.05(f) “apply it.” Examiner relied on “apply it” because of item (2) Whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process of 2106.05(f).
Thus, the argument(s) are unpersuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed 7/31/25, with respect to rejections under 35 USC 103 for claim(s) 8-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as far as they apply to the amended 103 rejection(s) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as noted below.
The limitation(s) below for representative claim(s) 8 that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is directed to human capital resource optimization.
Step 1: The claim(s) as drafted, is/are a process (claim(s) 8-20 recites a series of steps).
Step 2A – Prong 1: The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) (emphasis added):
Claim 8: transmitting, by a relational database management system to a user device via a network, one or more control signals to initiate display of a user interface comprising a skill survey requiring one or more user inputs via one or more user interface input controls wherein the skill survey comprises a plurality of tabs that include:
a home tab configured to initiate the skill survey;
a positions tab configured to accept the one or more user inputs indicating data associated with one or more particular roles within an enterprise;
a demand tab configured to accept the one or more user inputs indicating demand for one or more attributes associated with a particular resource;
a resources tab configured to accept the one or more user inputs indicating information associated with one or more resources;
a skills tab configured to accept the one or more user inputs indicating one or more attributes associated with at least one resource; and
a summary tab configured to summarize the one or more user inputs and identify errors,
wherein accessibility of at least one of the plurality of tabs of the skill survey includes an access restriction;
receiving from the user via the network, one or more user inputs;
comparing the one or more user inputs to a plurality of threshold requirements needed to certify all data provided via the one or more user inputs; and
transmitting, to one or more computing devices via the network, at least one control signal to initiate computing devices, an output indicating whether all of the data provided via the one or more user inputs satisfies the plurality of threshold requirements.
Dependent claims 9-20 recite the same or similar abstract idea(s) as independent claim(s) 8 with merely a further narrowing of the abstract idea(s): .
The identified limitations of the independent and dependent claims above fall well-within the groupings of subject matter identified by the courts as being abstract concepts of:
a method of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, or business relations) because the invention is directed to economic and/or business relationships as they are associated with human capital resource optimization.
Step 2A – Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because:
The additional elements unencompassed by the abstract idea include relational database management system, user device, network, user interface, one or more computing devices (claim(s) 8), computing devices (claim(s) 19), third party system (claim(s) 20).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 fails to describe:
Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a)
Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo
Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine – see MPEP 2106.05(b)
Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c)
Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo.
Thus the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to (as additionally noted by instant specification [0043]) invoked as a tool and/or general purpose computer to apply instructions of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and/or mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(f)&(h)).
Step 2B: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Thus the additional elements as described above with respect to Step 2A Prong 2 merely amount to (as additionally noted by instant specification [0043]) invoked as a tool and/or a general purpose computer to apply instructions of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment, and/or mere application of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological field do not integrate an abstract idea into a practical application and thus similarly the combination and arrangement of the above identified additional elements when analyzed under Step 2B also fails to necessitate a conclusion that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as set forth above (MPEP 2106.05(f)&(h)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Claim(s) 8-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathiesen et al. (US 2021/0065094 A1) in view of Deich et al. (US 2011/0054973 A1) and Microsoft published November 23, 2012 (reference U on the Notice of References Cited).
Regarding claim 8 (currently amended), Mathiesen teaches a computer-implemented method for unit resource management, the method comprising:
transmitting, by a system to a user device via a network, one or more control signals to initiate display of a user interface:
the one or more user inputs indicating data associated with one or more particular roles within an enterprise;
the one or more user inputs indicating demand for one or more attributes associated with a particular resource;
the one or more user inputs indicating information associated with one or more resources;
the one or more user inputs indicating one or more attributes associated with at least one resource; and
identify errors,
receiving, from the user via the network, one or more user inputs [for the limitations above, Examiner is interpreting unit resource as a user to perform the position,
see at least [Fig. 1 and ]
[0024] connectivity between devices thus send and receive data “System 100 includes poster devices 122-126, a content management system 110, seeker devices 132-136, a job post database 142, an interaction database 144, a suggestion database 146, and a network 150.”;
[0025] “In an embodiment, the content management system 110 may include a job poster portal 112, a job seeker portal 114, a tracking engine 116, a job post evaluation service 118, and a job post suggestion service 120.”;
[0026] “The job poster portal 112 provides a graphical user interface to job posters for generating and editing job postings. In an embodiment, poster devices 122-126 interact with the content management system 110 over network 150 through the job poster portal 112.”;
[0027] “The client application displays the graphical user interface and includes selectable options for creating new job postings, navigating existing job postings associated with a job poster account, and viewing job applications for job postings submitted by job seekers. The graphical user interface may display forms and selectable options for creating a new job posting. For example, the graphical user interface may display a series of text boxes, radio buttons, and drop-down menus for providing job posting data including, but not limited to, job title, job location, job description, required and/or preferred skills, required and/or preferred qualifications, required and/or preferred experience, and any other relevant information related to a job opportunity.”;
[0066] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting. In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may receive a request to generate a job post. The request may include the poster data that specifies job attributes for the job posting to be created. For example, the poster data may include, but is not limited to, the job title, job description, job skills, job seniority, job location, job benefits and salary, as well as any screening questions to be included. In one example, the job poster data may include a job title and a detailed description that may be parsed by the job poster portal 112 in order to identify relevant job attributes. For instance, job seniority, job skills, job location, job benefits and salary may be parsed from the job description.”;
[0049-0051 identify errors] “Issue 213 “Missing skills”, “Issue 214 Missing benefits and/or salary”, and “Issue 215 Too short of a description”];
comparing the one or more user inputs to a plurality of threshold requirements needed to certify all data provided via the one or more user inputs [see at least [0067] “In operation 310, process 300 creates the job posting based on the poster data. In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may create a data object representing the job posting and store the data object within the job post database 142. The data object may contain the job attributes identified from the poster data. In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may implement one or more quality control checks that verify that the provided poster data contains the necessary information to generate a valid job post. For example, the quality control checks may verify that at least a job title and a job description has been provided. The job poster portal 112 may implement a minimum amount to data verification in order to reduce the amount of friction for the job poster when creating a new job post. In other examples, the job poster portal 112 may implement more or less quality control checks to validate a newly created job posting.”]; and
transmitting, to one or more computing devices via the network, at least one control signal to initiate displaying, via the one or more computing devices, an output indicating whether all of the data provided via the one or more user inputs satisfies the plurality of threshold requirements [see at least Fig. 1 and [0024] “FIG. 1 is a block diagram that depicts an example system 100 for evaluating performance of a job posting and determining one or more suggestions to improve performance of the job posting. System 100 includes poster devices 122-126, a content management system 110, seeker devices 132-136, a job post database 142, an interaction database 144, a suggestion database 146, and a network 150.”;
[0066] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting.”;
[0067] “In operation 310, process 300 creates the job posting based on the poster data. … In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may implement one or more quality control checks that verify that the provided poster data contains the necessary information to generate a valid job post. For example, the quality control checks may verify that at least a job title and a job description has been provided. The job poster portal 112 may implement a minimum amount to data verification in order to reduce the amount of friction for the job poster when creating a new job post. In other examples, the job poster portal 112 may implement more or less quality control checks to validate a newly created job posting.”;
[0077] “In operation 345, process 300 causes the suggestion to be presented to the poster of the job posting.”;
[0049] “Issue 213 “Missing skills” is an issue that indicates that the particular job posting is missing job skills. This may occur if the job poster omitted entering job skills for the particular job post. This issue may also occur if there are too few job skills associated with the particular job post. Trigger 223 “No skills selected from targeting segment” represents a specific trigger identifying that the job skills attribute value for the particular job is null or contains very few skills when compared to similar job postings. Resolution 233 “Recommend adding standardized skills” represents a suggestion to be presented to the job poster that informs the job poster to add additional job skills to the job post.”;
[0050] “Issue 214 “Missing benefits and/or salary” is an issue that indicates that the particular job posting is missing benefits and/or a salary for the specific job opportunity. Trigger 224 “No salary or benefits associated with job post” represents a specific trigger identifying that the benefits attribute value and/or the salary attribute value for the particular job is null. Resolution 234 “Recommend adding benefits/salary” represents a suggestion to be presented to the job poster that informs the job poster to add benefit information and/or salary information to the job post.”;
[0051] “Issue 215 “Too short of a description” is an issue that indicates that the description job attribute of the particular job posting is not long enough. This may cause job seekers not to apply to the job posting because the description of job opportunity is not descriptive enough to be considered. Trigger 225 “Job description is less than ‘n’ characters” represents a specific trigger indicating that the job description is too short based on the number of characters and relative to the identified similar jobs. Resolution 235 “Recommend adding additional job description” represents a suggestion to be presented to the job poster that informs the job poster to add additional job description details to the job post.”].
Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Deich discloses
a relational database management system [see at least [0040] “The data store 220 stores labor resource data across multiple units within an organization using a standardized data record. The data may be stored in various ways, such as in multiple relational data base management system (RDBMS) tables, other files or tables, or in other ways.”];
(b) demand for one or more unit resources [see at least [0035] “a display of the number of employees that may need to be hired, at specific times, to fill the labor gap represented by the gap measurement. FIG. 7,”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathiesen with Deich to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Deich. Doing so would further define Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Deich [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) Mathiesen and b) Deich and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Mathiesen in view of Deich doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Microsoft discloses
display of a user interface comprising a skill survey requiring one or more user inputs via one or more user interface input controls wherein the skill survey comprises a plurality of tabs that include:
a home tab configured to initiate the skill survey;
a positions tab configured to accept data;
a demand tab configured to accept data;
a resources tab configured to accept data;
a skills tab configured to accept data; and
a summary tab configured to summarize the one or more user inputs and data,
wherein accessibility of at least one of the plurality of tabs of the skill survey includes an access restriction [see at least [pg 5 and 7] “With Microsoft Power Platform, you can easily create apps that are tailored to your organization's specific needs. … Create standardized questionnaires to be filled out and acted on … Example use cases
Collection of customer data”;
[pg 2] multiple tabs “Add tabs to a form using selection … 5. Repeat steps 2-4 above if you want to add more tabs.”;
[pg 12-13] Left figure under “Standard Bank ATM inspection app” for a home tab;
[pg 1-2] Figure below “Add tabs to a form using selection” which includes a summary tab for various data;
[pg 15-16] user permissions “If you create a new environment, you will become that environment's admin. As one environment admin, you could assign other users' permission on this environment. Environment Maker role is also included.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathiesen in view of Deich with Microsoft to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Microsoft. Doing so would further define Mathiesen in view of Deich’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved data input and data output such as a tabbed survey with a summary tab [see at least Microsoft [pg ] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) Mathiesen in view of Deich and b) Microsoft and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9 (currently amended), modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the method further comprises receiving, based on all of the data provided via the one or more user inputs satisfying the plurality of threshold requirements, a request to certify the data provided via the one or more user inputs [see at least [0066] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting.”;
[0067] “In operation 310, process 300 creates the job posting based on the poster data. … In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may implement one or more quality control checks that verify that the provided poster data contains the necessary information to generate a valid job post. For example, the quality control checks may verify that at least a job title and a job description has been provided. The job poster portal 112 may implement a minimum amount to data verification in order to reduce the amount of friction for the job poster when creating a new job post. In other examples, the job poster portal 112 may implement more or less quality control checks to validate a newly created job posting.”;
[0068] “In operation 315, process 300 causes the job posting to be made available through a content management system.”;
[0015] “Embodiments improve computer technology related to electronic job postings by dynamically suggesting changes to content within a job posting”;
[0005] “Another solution to this problem is to present the job poster with tips on what should be included in the job posting. … In fact, if the job poster accepts the tip and switches the non-standard job title with the standard job title”].
Regarding claim 10 (currently amended), modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the method further comprises, generating and initiating display, based on at least a portion of the data provided via the one or more user inputs being deficient in at least one of the plurality of threshold requirements, of an error message indicating an issue that needs to be corrected before the data can be certified [see at least Fig. 1 and [0024] “FIG. 1 is a block diagram that depicts an example system 100 for evaluating performance of a job posting and determining one or more suggestions to improve performance of the job posting. System 100 includes poster devices 122-126, a content management system 110, seeker devices 132-136, a job post database 142, an interaction database 144, a suggestion database 146, and a network 150.”;
[0066] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting.”;
[0067] “In operation 310, process 300 creates the job posting based on the poster data. … In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may implement one or more quality control checks that verify that the provided poster data contains the necessary information to generate a valid job post. For example, the quality control checks may verify that at least a job title and a job description has been provided. The job poster portal 112 may implement a minimum amount to data verification in order to reduce the amount of friction for the job poster when creating a new job post. In other examples, the job poster portal 112 may implement more or less quality control checks to validate a newly created job posting.”;
[0077] “In operation 345, process 300 causes the suggestion to be presented to the poster of the job posting.”;
[0049] “Issue 213 “Missing skills” is an issue that indicates that the particular job posting is missing job skills. This may occur if the job poster omitted entering job skills for the particular job post. This issue may also occur if there are too few job skills associated with the particular job post. Trigger 223 “No skills selected from targeting segment” represents a specific trigger identifying that the job skills attribute value for the particular job is null or contains very few skills when compared to similar job postings. Resolution 233 “Recommend adding standardized skills” represents a suggestion to be presented to the job poster that informs the job poster to add additional job skills to the job post.”;
[0050] “Issue 214 “Missing benefits and/or salary” is an issue that indicates that the particular job posting is missing benefits and/or a salary for the specific job opportunity. Trigger 224 “No salary or benefits associated with job post” represents a specific trigger identifying that the benefits attribute value and/or the salary attribute value for the particular job is null. Resolution 234 “Recommend adding benefits/salary” represents a suggestion to be presented to the job poster that informs the job poster to add benefit information and/or salary information to the job post.”;
[0051] “Issue 215 “Too short of a description” is an issue that indicates that the description job attribute of the particular job posting is not long enough. This may cause job seekers not to apply to the job posting because the description of job opportunity is not descriptive enough to be considered. Trigger 225 “Job description is less than ‘n’ characters” represents a specific trigger indicating that the job description is too short based on the number of characters and relative to the identified similar jobs. Resolution 235 “Recommend adding additional job description” represents a suggestion to be presented to the job poster that informs the job poster to add additional job description details to the job post.”].
Regarding claim 11 (currently amended), modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the one or more user inputs include an indication of a physical location at which the demand could be satisfied [see at least [0066] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting. In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may receive a request to generate a job post. The request may include the poster data that specifies job attributes for the job posting to be created. For example, the poster data may include, but is not limited to, the job title, job description, job skills, job seniority, job location, job benefits and salary, as well as any screening questions to be included. In one example, the job poster data may include a job title and a detailed description that may be parsed by the job poster portal 112 in order to identify relevant job attributes. For instance, job seniority, job skills, job location, job benefits and salary may be parsed from the job description.”].
Regarding claim 12, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11, .
Modified Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Deich discloses
wherein the physical location includes at least one of a territorial region and a physical worksite facility [see at least [0072] “The organization unit is APS, the skill involved is Inventory Processing within Services, with language requirements of German, a location of Bratislava and a level of F (e.g., factory).”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mathiesen with Deich to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Deich. Doing so would further define modified Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Deich [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) modified Mathiesen and b) Deich and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 13, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8, .
Modified Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Deich discloses
wherein the one or more user inputs further include a resource assessment of at least one unit resource of the enterprise, the resource assessment including an indication of areas of expertise associated with the at least one unit resource [see at least [0035] “a display of the number of employees that may need to be hired, at specific times, to fill the labor gap represented by the gap measurement. FIG. 7,”;
[0067] “FIG. 6 shows an exemplary user interface 600 for displaying supply, demand and net gaps for various resources over multiple time periods. The user interface 600 may be just one of several GUI screens that are displayed by the input module 210.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mathiesen with Deich to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Deich. Doing so would further define modified Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Deich [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) modified Mathiesen and b) Deich and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14 (currently amended), modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the one or more user inputs include a resource assessment of at least one unit resource of the enterprise, the resource assessment including an indication of areas of expertise associated with the at least one unit resource [see at least [0035] “Conversely, if the job opportunity requires a high level of experience or qualifications,”].
Regarding claim 15, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 14,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the resource assessment further indicates:
one or more resource attributes attributed to the at least one unit resource; and
a skill level associated with the one or more resource attributes [see at least [0035] “Conversely, if the job opportunity requires a high level of experience or qualifications,”;
[0027] “The client application displays the graphical user interface and includes selectable options for creating new job postings, navigating existing job postings associated with a job poster account, and viewing job applications for job postings submitted by job seekers. The graphical user interface may display forms and selectable options for creating a new job posting. For example, the graphical user interface may display a series of text boxes, radio buttons, and drop-down menus for providing job posting data including, but not limited to, job title, job location, job description, required and/or preferred skills, required and/or preferred qualifications, required and/or preferred experience, and any other relevant information related to a job opportunity.”;
[0066] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting. In an embodiment, the job poster portal 112 may receive a request to generate a job post. The request may include the poster data that specifies job attributes for the job posting to be created. For example, the poster data may include, but is not limited to, the job title, job description, job skills, job seniority, job location, job benefits and salary, as well as any screening questions to be included. In one example, the job poster data may include a job title and a detailed description that may be parsed by the job poster portal 112 in order to identify relevant job attributes. For instance, job seniority, job skills, job location, job benefits and salary may be parsed from the job description.”].
Regarding claim 16, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 14,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the method further includes assigning a score to the one or more resources, the score being based on one or more resource attributes attributed to the resource [see at least [0058] “In an embodiment, a second suggestion tier may be generated that includes suggestions that are based on specific performance metrics, such as … the number of job applicants that pass the screening questions, or any other performance metric based on job applications. Referring to table 200, the second suggestion tier may include: … issue 217 (too many low quality applicants), issue 218 (too strict required qualifications), and issue 219 (overly strict seniority). Each of the above issues is related to performance metrics associated with secondary user interactions, such as submitting a job application, answering the screening questions, and reviewing job applications by the job poster.”;
[0054] “Issue 218 “Too strict required qualifications” is an issue that indicates that the screening questions are too rigorous resulting in too few applicants that pass the job screen questions.”].
Modified Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Deich discloses
the one or more resources of the enterprise [see at least [0066] “In some examples, a surplus switch may be used to determine whether employees should or should not count as surplus numbers. For instance, permanent employees may be counted in calculating surplus numbers, where as contract employees may not be counted in calculating surplus numbers.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mathiesen with Deich to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Deich. Doing so would further define modified Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Deich [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) modified Mathiesen and b) Deich and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 14, .
Modified Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Deich discloses
wherein the resource assessment is performed by a manager of the at least one unit resource [see at least [0035] “a display of the number of employees that may need to be hired, at specific times, to fill the labor gap represented by the gap measurement. FIG. 7,”;
[0036] “FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary labor resource decision support system 200. Users such as managers and planners in business, manufacturing, etc. may use the system 200 in order to plan for labor needs over time.”;
[0067] “FIG. 6 shows an exemplary user interface 600 for displaying supply, demand and net gaps for various resources over multiple time periods. The user interface 600 may be just one of several GUI screens that are displayed by the input module 210.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mathiesen with Deich to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Deich. Doing so would further define modified Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Deich [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) modified Mathiesen and b) Deich and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 8,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein the method further includes generating a summary configured to provide insights of various data derived from the one or more user inputs [see at least [0066-0067] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting. … In operation 310, process 300 creates the job posting based on the poster data. … In operation 315, process 300 causes the job posting to be made available through a content management system.”;
[0075, 0077] “In operation 340, based on the comparison performed in operation 335, process 300, determines a suggestion for the job posting. … In operation 345, process 300 causes the suggestion to be presented to the poster of the job posting.”].
Regarding claim 19 (currently amended), modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18,
and Mathiesen teaches wherein method further includes transmitting to and initiating display via the one or more computing devices, the summary, wherein the summary [see at least [0066-0067] “In operation 305, process 300 receives poster data that indicates a plurality of attributes for a job posting. … In operation 310, process 300 creates the job posting based on the poster data. … In operation 315, process 300 causes the job posting to be made available through a content management system.”;
[0075, 0077] “In operation 340, based on the comparison performed in operation 335, process 300, determines a suggestion for the job posting. … In operation 345, process 300 causes the suggestion to be presented to the poster of the job posting.”;
[0026] “The job poster portal 112 provides a graphical user interface to job posters for generating and editing job postings. In an embodiment, poster devices 122-126 interact with the content management system 110 over network 150 through the job poster portal 112.”;
[0027] “The client application displays the graphical user interface and includes selectable options for creating new job postings, navigating existing job postings associated with a job poster account, and viewing job applications for job postings submitted by job seekers. The graphical user interface may display forms and selectable options for creating a new job posting. For example, the graphical user interface may display a series of text boxes, radio buttons, and drop-down menus for providing job posting data including, but not limited to, job title, job location, job description, required and/or preferred skills, required and/or preferred qualifications, required and/or preferred experience, and any other relevant information related to a job opportunity.”].
Modified Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Deich discloses
wherein the summary is configured to be filtered based on one or more parameters selected, via one or more input controls, by a user of at least one of the one or more computing devices [see at least [0067] “FIG. 6 shows an exemplary user interface 600 for displaying supply, demand and net gaps for various resources over multiple time periods. The user interface 600 may be just one of several GUI screens that are displayed by the input module 210.”;
[0074] “In some implementations, the user interface 600 may be part of a GUI screen that includes, for example, mechanisms for controlling the amount and position of data on the screen. For example, filter controls may exist that allow the user to selectively display data for particular groups of locations, languages, skills, etc. The controls may include text input fields, pull-down menus, etc. Additional controls, such as vertical and horizontal scroll bars, may enable the user to navigate from one portion of the data to another in the event that all of the data cannot fit on the screen simultaneously. Other controls may enable the user to hide certain portions of information, such as to temporarily hide the labor demand 608 and labor supply 610 information, making it easier to focus on the information in the labor net gaps 612.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mathiesen with Deich to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Deich. Doing so would further define modified Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Deich [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) modified Mathiesen and b) Deich and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathiesen in view of Deich and Microsoft as applied to claim(s) 18 above and further in view of Andersson et al. (US 2024/0020646 A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Mathiesen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 18, .
Modified Mathiesen doesn’t/don’t explicitly teach but Andersson discloses
wherein the summary is further configured to provide insights of enterprise data derived from third-party systems [see at least [0027] “In some cases, some or all of the information usable to create a job posting at the web platform 102 may derive other than from the user device 110. For example, such information may derive from one or both of an intermediary system 112 or an external source 114, such as in addition to or instead of from the user device 110.”;
[0029-0030] “The external source 114 is an electronic communication component configured to store information in one or more contexts. For example, the external source 114 may be an online social media platform, a cloud storage system, a company website associated with the user of the user device 110, or another website or software service that at one or more times obtained and stored information which may be relevant to otherwise associated with a job posting to be created. The external source 114 may, for example, transmit such information to the web platform 102 based on a request from the web platform 102 or the user device 110 made over an application programming interface (API) call.
The user device 110, the intermediary system 112, and the external source 114 each communicates with the servers 104 through 108 of the web platform 102 via a network 116.”;
[0043] “The job posting score determination software 306 determines a score for the job posting created by the job posting creation software 304.”;
[0053] “The job posting update recommendation software 308 determines one or more recommendations for increasing the score (e.g., the initial score) determined by the job posting score determination software 306.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mathiesen with Andersson to include the limitation(s) above as disclosed by Andersson. Doing so would further define modified Mathiesen’s (Mathiesen) [0001-0006] improvement of job postings via use of improved preliminary data for job postings [see at least Andersson [0001-0002] ].
Furthermore, all of the claimed elements were known in the prior arts of a) modified Mathiesen and b) Andersson and c) one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
When responding to the office action, any new claims and/or limitations should be accompanied by a reference as to where the new claims and/or limitations are supported in the original disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3624
/Jerry O'Connor/Supervisory Patent Examiner,Group Art Unit 3624