DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed on April 24, 2023 was considered by the Examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Sub-species a2, b2, c1 in the reply filed on October 5, 2025 (hereinafter “response”) is acknowledged. As the election was made without traverse, the requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Further, Examiner notes that claims 3, 5-11, and 14 were indicated as reading on the elected sub-species. Though claim 2 was not explicitly elected, since claim 3 was elected and depends from claim 2, claim 2 is considered herein.
However, claim 4, which includes wherein the first reinforcing surface is a rounded surface that is convex toward the first corner in the plan view was not elected in the response. Claim 4 reads on unelected Sub-species a1 as this sub-species includes a reinforcing surface with a rounded surface that is convex toward the point O2 in the plan view. Claim 5 was elected. However, since claim 5 depends from claim 4, claims 4 and 5 are considered to be directed to the unelected sub-species a1. Therefore, claim 5 is withdrawn from consideration.
Additionally, claim 10 includes wherein the first side frame is equal in width to the pair of first attachment frames and the first connecting frame which is considered to read on unelected Sub-species b1 where the thicknesses/widths of the side frames, attachment frames, and connecting frame are equal. Accordingly, claim 10 is also withdrawn from consideration.
Further, since claims 12 and 13 were not elected as being readable on any species, claims 12 and 13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes a pair of first attachment frames extending toward an inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame in the plan view and it is unclear which part(s) of the first attachment frames are parallel to which part(s) of the second or fourth frame. For example, it is unclear if this means that one surface of each of the first attachment frames are parallel to one surface of the second or fourth side frame in the plan view, or if this means two surfaces of each of the first attachment frames are parallel to two surfaces of the second or fourth side frame in the plan view. For the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted to mean at least one surface of each of the first attachment frames are parallel to one surface of the second or fourth side frame in the plan view.
Similarly, claim 14 includes a pair of second attachment frames extending toward the inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame and it is unclear which part(s) of the second attachment frames are parallel to which part(s) of the second or fourth frame. For example, it is unclear if this means that one surface of each of the second attachment frames are parallel to one surface of the second or fourth side frame in the plan view, or if this means two surfaces of each of the second attachment frames are parallel to two surfaces of the second or fourth side frame in the plan view. For the purposes of examination, this will be interpreted to mean at least one surface of each of the first attachment frames are parallel to one surface of the second or fourth side frame in the plan view.
Claim 7 includes wherein the first end point is located between the first corner and a position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frames and the first connecting frame are connected and claim 8 which depends on claim 7 includes wherein the first end point is located at the position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frame and the first connecting frame are connected, and it is unclear how the first end point can be located between the first corner and a position and also located at the position at the same time. If the first end point is located at the position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frame and the first connecting frame are connected, it cannot be between the first corner and a position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frames and the first connecting frame are connected. For the purposes of examination, claim 8 will be interpreted as depending from claim 3.
Claims 2-3, 6, 9, 11 are rejected due to their dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20090091899A1 (“Saito”) in view of US20080284007A1 (“Horio”).
RE: Claim 1, Saito discloses A semiconductor device (10 in FIGs. 1A-1C), comprising:
a semiconductor chip (24, 26 in FIG. 1B);
a substrate (18) including the semiconductor chip on a front surface thereof (FIG. 1B shows 24, 26 on front top surface of 18);
a case (12) that is rectangular in a plan view of the semiconductor device (FIG. 1A shows 12 is rectangular in a top perspective view; 12 would remain rectangular in a plan view of 24, 26) and includes first to fourth side frames (12B, 12C, 12A, 12D in FIG. 1B) in this order that are attached to the substrate so that the first to fourth side frames are respectively disposed at respective ones of four sides of the substrate to form a housing region therein (case member 12 having a frame-like shape has four side wall parts in response to four sides of the circuit board 18. To be more specific, the case member 12 is mainly composed of a first side wall part 12A, a second side wall part 12B, a third side wall part 12C, and a fourth side wall part 12D. As for the positions of the respective side wall parts on the sheet, the first side wall part 12A is located at the back, the second side wall part 12B is located in the front, the third side wall part 12C is located to the left, and the fourth side wall part 12D is located to the right, [0031]); and
a sealing material (16 in FIGs. 1B-1C, [0029]) filling the housing region to seal the front surface of the substrate and the semiconductor chip, wherein
the case further includes a first attachment portion, to which a screw is attached (12F in FIG. 1C; The region surrounded by the inner side wall part 12F is used as a region for fixing the hybrid integrated circuit device 10 by use of a fixing means, such as a screw, [0034]; The region surrounded by the inner side wall part 12F is a region to which the circuit board 18 is to be fixed by a screw, [0057]; lead line for 12F is cutoff in FIG. 1A, however, 12F is better labeled in FIG. 2A), on a side of the first side frame (side of 12B facing 12A in FIG. 1A) facing the housing region,
the first attachment portion includes a pair of first attachment frames (sides of 12F form a pair of first attachment frames of 12F as shown in Annotated FIG. 1B below; By referring to FIGS. 2A, 2B, and 2C, a configuration of the case member 12 used in the above-described hybrid integrated circuit device 10 will be described, [0035]; Accordingly, FIGs. 2A-2C show the case member 12 from FIGs. 1A-1C;) extending toward an inside of the housing region, and a first connecting frame (first connecting frame of 12F is shown in Annotated FIG. 1B below) connecting ends of the pair of first attachment frames at the inside of the housing region, the pair of first attachment frames connecting to the first side frame and facing each other (Annotated FIG. 1B shows the pair of first attachment frames connecting to the first side frame and facing each other), and
the case further includes a first reinforcing portion (30F, 30G labeled in FIGs. 2A, 4B) that is provided in a first region formed by the first side frame and one of the pair of first attachment frames in the plan view (FIG. 4B is a plan view, [0052]), the first reinforcing portion being in contact with the first side frame (FIGs. 2A, 4B show 30F, 30G in contact with 12B), the one of the pair of first attachment frames (FIG. 4B shows 30F, 30G in contact with the sides of 12F which form the pair of first attachment frames), and a first corner (first corner formed by 12B and 12F) at which the first side frame and the one of the pair of first attachment frames are joined in the plan view (Annotated FIG. 4B below shows 30G is in indirect contact, e.g., thermal contact with the first corner formed by 12B and 12F).
Saito does not explicitly disclose the pair of first attachment frames extend toward an inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame in the plan view;
the pair of first attachment frames with an opening therebetween penetrating through the first side frame in the plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Horio discloses:
a pair of first attachment frames extending toward an inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame in the plan view (Annotated FIG. 4 from Horio below shows resin case 20 includes a pair of first attachment frames extending toward an inside of a housing region in parallel to a second side frame and a fourth side frame in a top perspective view; in a plan view, the pair of first attachment frames would still extend toward the inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame; Horio further discloses, fastening portions 20 a for bolting are provided on a side portion of the resin case 20 so as to enable installation of the semiconductor module 1 on the cooling member 4, [0046]);
the pair of first attachment frames with an opening therebetween penetrating through the first side frame in the plan view (Annotated FIG. 4 from Horio shows an opening penetrating the first side frame in a top perspective view; this opening would still penetrate the first side frame in a plan view).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 12F to include the pair of first attachment frames, parts of the first side frame, and the first connecting frame as taught by Horio as this would provide additional rigidity and structural support to the case 12 in Saito, provide more side protection to the screw 36 when the screw is attached to the case 12 as in FIG. 6 of Saito, and allow the screw to be more accessible on one side of the case 12.
Annotated FIG. 1B of Saito
Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito
(Annotated FIG. 4 of Horio)
RE: Claim 2, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first connecting frame has a semicircular shape and projects toward the inside of the housing region in the plan view (As modified by Horio, the first connecting frame would have a semicircular shape and would project toward the inside of the housing region in the plan view).
RE: Claim 3, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the first reinforcing portion includes a first reinforcing surface connecting, in the plan view, a first end point and a second end point (Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito below shows the outline of 12F as modified by Horio; In Annotated FIG. 4B below, 30G connects the first end point and second end point in the plan view), the first end point being located closest to the inside of the housing region in a portion of the first reinforcing portion that is in contact with the one of the pair of attachment frames (In Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito below shows the first end point in surface of 30G which is closest to the inside of the housing region, and this surface of 30G is in contact with one of the pair of first attachment frames; As modified, 30G would still contact one of the pair of first attachment frames), the second end point being located closest to the second side frame or the fourth side frame in a portion of the first reinforcing portion that is in contact with the first side frame (Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito below shows the second end point closest to 12D in portion of 30G in contact with 12B).
Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito
RE: Claim 6, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the first reinforcing surface connects the first end point and the second end point in a straight line in the plan view (Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito above for claim 3 shows the side surface of 30G connecting the first end point and second end point in a straight line in the plan view).
RE: Claim 7, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the first end point is located between the first corner and a position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frames and the first connecting frame are connected (Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito above for claim 3 shows the modified outline of 12F and the modified location of the first corner; As modified, the first end point would be located between the first corner and a position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frames and the first connecting frame are connected).
RE: Claim 8, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the first end point is located at the position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frame and the first connecting frame are connected (As claimed, the ends of the first attachment frame and first connecting frame are not limited; Accordingly, as shown in the Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito above for claim 3, the portion of 12F that is directly in contact with 30G is considered to correspond to the claimed one of the pair of first attachment frames; therefore, the first end point is located at the position at which the one of the pair of first attachment frame and the first connecting frame are connected).
RE: Claim 9, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein a distance from the first corner to the second end point is in a range of 1 to 1.5 times a distance from the first corner to the first end point (As shown in Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito above for claim 3, the first corner would be formed by the modified outline of 12F and 12B; a circle centered at the first corner is shown in Annotated FIG. 4B of Saito with the first end point and the second end point located at the edge of this circle; Accordingly, the distance from the first corner to the second end point and the distance from the first corner to the first end point would be equal; Alternatively, it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777. In the instant case the prior art device would not perform differently if modified exactly to the claimed dimensions. Therefore the claimed limitations are considered met).
RE: Claim 11, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 9, wherein the first side frame is greater in width than the pair of first attachment frames and the first connecting frame (In Saito, FIG. 4B shows vertical width of 12B is greater than vertical width of any portion of 12F).
RE: Claim 14, Saito in view of Horio discloses The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the case further includes a second attachment portion (12E in Annotated FIG. 1B of Saito above for claim 1) to which a screw is attached (fixing of the circuit board 18 by use of the screw 36 is also carried out inside of an inner side wall part 12E, [0061]), the second attachment portion being disposed on a side of the third side frame facing the housing region (Annotated FIG. 1B of Saito above shows 12E is disposed on side of 12A facing the housing region in 12),
the second attachment portion includes a pair of second attachment frames (sides of 12E form a pair of second attachment frames of 12E as shown in Annotated FIG. 1B above) extending toward the inside of the housing region and a second connecting frame connecting (second connecting frame of 12E is shown in Annotated FIG. 1B above) between ends of the pair of second attachment frames at the inside of the housing region, the pair of second attachment frames connecting to the third side frame and facing each other (Annotated FIG. 1B of Saito above shows the pair of second attachment frames connecting to the third side frame 12A and facing each other), and
the case further includes a second reinforcing portion (30B, 30C in FIG. 4B of Saito) that is provided in a second region formed by the third side frame and one of the pair of second attachment frames, the second reinforcing portion being in contact with the third side frame (FIG. 4B of Saito shows 30B, 30C in contact with 12A), the one of the pair of second attachment frames (FIG. 4B shows 30B, 30C in contact with sides of 12E forming the one of the pair of second attachment frames, and a second corner (corner formed at the joining of 12A and12E) at which the third side frame and the one of the pair of second attachment frames are joined in the plan view (FIG. 4B of Saito shows 30B, 30C is in indirect contact, e.g., thermal contact with the corner formed by 12A and 12E).
Saito does not explicitly disclose the pair of second attachment frames extends toward the inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame;
the pair of second attachment frames with an opening penetrating through the third side frame therebetween in the plan view.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Horio discloses:
a pair of second attachment frames extending toward the inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame (Annotated FIG. 4 from Horio above for claim 1 shows resin case 20 includes a pair of first attachment frames extending toward an inside of a housing region in parallel to a second side frame and a fourth side frame in a top perspective view; in a plan view, the pair of first attachment frames would still extend toward the inside of the housing region in parallel to the second side frame and the fourth side frame; Horio further discloses, fastening portions 20 a for bolting are provided on a side portion of the resin case 20 so as to enable installation of the semiconductor module 1 on the cooling member 4, [0046]; Annotated FIG. 4 shows the sides 20a of the case 20 have the same configuration, i.e., 20a in the top left of FIG. 4 is a mirror image of 20a in the bottom right of FIG. 4);
the pair of second attachment frames with an opening penetrating through the third side frame therebetween in the plan view (Annotated FIG. 4 from Horio above for claim 1 shows an opening penetrating the first side frame in a top perspective view; this opening would still penetrate the first side frame in a plan view).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 12E to include the pair of first attachment frames, parts of the first side frame, and the first connecting frame as taught by Horio as this would provide additional rigidity and structural support to the case 12 in Saito, provide more side protection to the screw 36 when the screw is attached to the case 12 as in FIG. 6 of Saito, and allow the screw to be more accessible on one side of the case 12.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL ANGUIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899