DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 10/14/2025. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 8 has been added. No claims have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-8 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/14/2025 with respect to independent claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot as applied to the newly added claim limitations because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota et al. (US 20160063916).
Regarding claim 1, Ota teaches, in Figs. 32 and 35, an electro-optical device (100, [0195]), comprising:
a light-emitting element (45) including a first electrode (E1), a light-emitting layer (46), and a second electrode (E2) (see Fig. 32, [0096]);
a driving transistor (Tdr, [0196]) provided corresponding to the light-emitting element (45) (see Fig. 32);
a relay electrode (CA3, [0104]) electrically connected to a gate electrode (Gdr, [0104]) of the driving transistor (see Fig. 32, [0104]) and provided at a layer between the gate electrode (Gdr) and the first electrode (E1) of the light-emitting element (45) (see Fig. 32);
a power supply line (QB6, [0166]) provided at the same layer as that of the relay electrode (CA3) (see Fig. 32), extending in a first direction (horizontal) in plan view (Fig. 35), and electrically connected to the first electrode (E1) of the light-emitting element (45) (see Fig. 32); and
a conductive member (QB3, [0112]) provided between the relay electrode (CA3) and the power supply line (QB3) in plan view (see Fig. 35) and supplied with a constant potential (see Fig. 32, [0112], conductive member QB3 is electrically connected to signal line 26, which supplies a constant potential), wherein
the conductive member (QB3) does not overlap the relay electrode (CA3) and the power supply line (QB6) in plan view (see Fig. 35).
Regarding claim 2, Ota further teaches, in Fig. 32, a diffusion region (10A, [0101]) containing an impurity at a semiconductor substrate ([0101]), wherein the conductive member (QB3) is electrically connected to the diffusion region (10A) (see Fig. 32).
Regarding claim 6, Ota further teaches that the light-emitting element (45) is an organic light-emitting diode ([0234]).
Regarding claim 7, Ota teaches the electro-optical device (100) according to claim 1; and an optical system configured to display image light emitted from the electro-optical device ([0240]).
Regarding claim 8, Ota teaches, in Figs. 32 and 35, an electro-optical device (100, [0195]), comprising:
a light-emitting element (45) including a first electrode (E1), a light-emitting layer (46), and a second electrode (E2) (see Fig. 32, [0096]);
a driving transistor (Tdr, [0196]) provided corresponding to the light-emitting element (45) (see Fig. 32);
a relay electrode (CA3, [0104]) electrically connected to a gate electrode (Gdr, [0104]) of the driving transistor (see Fig. 32, [0104]) and provided at a layer between the gate electrode (Gdr) and the first electrode (E1) of the light-emitting element (45) (see Fig. 32);
a power supply line (QB6, [0166]) provided at the same layer as that of the relay electrode (CA3) (see Fig. 32), extending in a first direction (horizontal) in plan view (Fig. 35), and electrically connected to the first electrode (E1) of the light-emitting element (45) (see Fig. 32); and
a conductive member (QB3, [0112]) provided between the relay electrode (CA3) and the power supply line (QB3) in plan view (see Fig. 35) and supplied with a constant potential (see Fig. 32, [0112], conductive member QB3 is electrically connected to signal line 26, which supplies a constant potential), wherein
the conductive member (QB3) and the relay electrode (CA3) are provided outside the power supply line (QB6) in plan view (see Fig. 35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 3, the closest art is Ota et al. (US 20160063916), which teaches an electro-optical device, but does not teach that the relay electrode is surrounded by the conductive member in plan view. Claim 4 depends from claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, the closest art is Ota et al. (US 20160063916), which teaches an electro-optical device, but does not teach that at least a part of the conductive member overlaps the gate electrode in plan view.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893