DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 3/9/2026. Claims 1, 6 and 9 are amended. Claims 21-31 are newly added. Claims 1-9 and 21-31 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1, filed on 3/9/2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments on page 7, the applicant states that “Dreyfus fails to disclose a barbed suture that is fixedly attached to the body as recited by amended claim 1”. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because even though the barbed suture of Dreyfus can move in the direction of P1 and P2 as shown in Figure 3A, it is fixedly attached to the body when the loop 115 is pulled due to the barbs engaging each other and also, engaging the inner surface of the body 112 which prevents free movement of the barbed suture. Therefore, in that instance where the loop 115 is being pulled, the barb suture is fixedly attached to the body resulting in the rejection to be proper.
Regarding arguments on page 11, the applicant states that “In the Office Action, the Examiner characterizes Dann's tension element 144 as the claimed suture and characterizes Dann's cuff 102 as the claimed body. (Office Action at page 5.) However, the tension element 144 is not fixedly attached to an outer surface of the cuff. Rather, "the tension element 144 comprises a suture which extends from the inside of the esophagus transmurally to the reinforcing element 142 and loops back through the wall of the esophagus where it is clipped, tied, locked or otherwise secured at a connection point 146." (Dann at para. [0128].) In other words, it is attached, if anywhere, on an inner surface of the cuff inside the esophagus or stomach”. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because even though the suture loops from the inside of the cuff 102 through the wall of the stomach 132 and back to the cuff where it is clipped, tied, locked or otherwise secured at a connection point 146, it is still fixedly attached to the body. Also, the examiner wants to note that the claim does not recite that the suture needs to be fixedly attached to an outer surface of the body as mentioned in the applicant’s arguments. Therefore, the rejection is proper.
Regarding arguments on page 12, the applicant states that “In addition, modifying Dann's tension element 144 to include barbs would render the gastrointestinal cuff system unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The cuff 102 is required to be "highly compliant" achieving 150%-200% stretch in a radial direction "without transmitting excessive force or pressure to the tissue" because "a rigid cuff might cause dislodging" (See Dann at paras. [0112]-[0114], [0309]-[0310].) The tension element 144 (also referred to as tension element 184) "extends through the tissue wall." (Dann at para. 0137]). Barbed sutures would reduce compliance by anchoring the suture into the tissue wall and would transmit force directly to the tissue during stretching. Moreover, Dann teaches a tension control system 578 in which the tension element 184 is required to respond to changes in tension by being pulled through a retention element 180 on the cuff and through the tissue wall before returning to its previous position. (See Dann at paras. [0319]-[0322]). Barbed sutures would prevent the tension element 184 from moving in at least one of these directions”. The examiner disagrees with the applicant because nowhere in Dann does it explicitly disclose that adding barbs to the suture would render the gastrointestinal cuff system unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. It appears that the applicant is just making assumptions and also, Dann does not explicitly teach away from adding barbs to the suture resulting in the rejection to be proper. Also, the tension control system 578 is directed towards a different embodiment that is not being used in the current rejection. Therefore, the rejection is proper.
Applicant’s arguments are only directed to the amended claims, therefore the arguments are addressed in the body of the rejection below
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body” in claim 27, “wherein barbs of the plurality of barbed sutures are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body” in claim 30, “wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a circumferential configuration or a spiral configuration” in claim 21, “wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a net configuration” in claim 22, and “wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a serpentine configuration” in claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The limitations of “at least one barbed suture fixedly attached to the body” in claims 1 and 27 and also, “a plurality of barbed sutures fixedly attached to the body” in claim 30 are not disclosed in the applicant’s specification. The applicant’s specification does not explicitly disclose these limitations.
The limitations of “wherein the at least one barbed suture is fixedly attached to the outer surface of the body with at least one knot” in claim 25 is not disclosed in the applicant’s specification. The applicant’s specification does not explicitly disclose this limitation.
The limitations of “wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body configured to contact tissue during use” in claim 27 and also, “wherein barbs of the plurality of barbed sutures are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body configured to contact tissue during use” in claim 30 are not disclosed in the applicant’s specification. The applicant’s specification does not explicitly disclose these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dreyfuss (US Pub No. 2017/0020655).
Regarding claim 1, Dreyfuss discloses (Figures 3A-3B) a tissue connector (110), comprising: a body (112) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0016); and at least one barbed suture (14) fixedly attached to the body (Paragraph 0029) [Fixedly attached to the body when the loop 115 is pulled due to the barbs 24a 24b engaging each other and also, engaging an inner surface of the body 112 which prevents free movement of the barbed suture in that direction] so that at least a portion of the at least one barbed suture is exposed along a surface of the body (along the inner surface of the body as shown in Figure 3A) configured to contact tissue during use [Fully configured in doing this since Dreyfuss discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Regarding claim 2, wherein the body is a hollow tube (Figure 3A), and wherein the surface is an innermost surface of the hollow tube (clearly shown in Figure 3A).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the layer includes 1 layer (Figure 3A) (Paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 27, Dreyfuss discloses (Figures 3A-3B) a tissue repair device (110), comprising: a flexible body (112) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0016); and at least one barbed suture (14) fixedly attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Paragraph 0029) [Fixedly attached to the body when the loop 115 is pulled due to the barbs 24a 24b engaging each other and also, engaging an inner surface of the body 112 which prevents free movement of the barbed suture in that direction] wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body (from the inner surface of the body as shown in Figure 3A) configured to contact tissue during use [Fully configured in doing this since Dreyfuss discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Claims 1, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McClellan (US Pub No. 2014/0128888).
Regarding claim 1, McClellan discloses (Figure 1) a tissue connector (10), comprising: a body (15) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0022); and at least one barbed suture (20) fixedly attached to the body (Paragraph 0024) [Fixedly attached at end 25 as shown in Figure 1 and as disclosed in Paragraph 0024] so that at least a portion of the at least one barbed suture is exposed along a surface (along the inner surface of the body as shown in Figure 1 at the free section 50) of the body configured to contact tissue during use [Fully configured in doing this since McClellan discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Regarding claim 27, McClellan discloses (Figure 1) a tissue repair device (10), comprising: a flexible body (15) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraphs 0022-0023); and at least one barbed suture (20) fixedly attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Paragraph 0024) [Fixedly attached at end 25 as shown in Figure 1 and as disclosed in Paragraph 0024], wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body (from the inner surface of the body at the free section 50 as shown in Figure 1) configured to contact tissue during use [Fully configured in doing this since McClellan discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Regarding claim 28, wherein the at least one barbed suture is sewn through the body (clearly shown in Figure 1).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 9, 22, 24, 27, 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hotter (US Pub No. 2011/0125287).
Regarding claim 1, Hotter discloses (Figure 12) a tissue connector (Figure 12), comprising: a body (900) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0042); and at least one barbed suture (910, 920) fixedly attached to the body (Paragraph 0042) [The examiner also wants to note that due to the angulation of the barbs on the suture as shown in Figure 12, the suture would not be able to move in any direction resulting in the barbed suture to be fixedly attached to the body] so that at least a portion (see annotated figure below) of the at least one barbed suture is exposed along a surface of the body configured to contact tissue during use (Paragraph 0051) (clearly shown in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the body is a sheet (Figure 2) (Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 5, wherein the at least one barbed suture is sewn through the one or more layers that form the body so that portions of the at least one barbed suture pass through all of the one or more layers (Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the one or more layers includes two or more layers (Paragraph 0042), wherein the two or more layers are formed of a same material (Paragraph 0042), and wherein the at least one barbed suture is sewn within or between layers, of the two or more layers, so that portions of the at least one barbed suture are entrapped within or between the two or more layers (Paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a longitudinal configuration (clearly shown in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 22, wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a net configuration (clearly shown in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the at least one barbed suture comprises a plurality of barbed sutures (clearly shown in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 27, Hotter discloses (Figure 12) a tissue repair device (Figure 12), comprising: a flexible body (900) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0042); and at least one barbed suture (910) fixedly attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Paragraph 0042) [The examiner also wants to note that due to the angulation of the barbs on the suture as shown in Figure 12, the suture would not be able to move in any direction resulting in the barbed suture to be fixedly attached to the body], wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body (see annotated figure below) configured to contact tissue during use (Paragraph 0051) (clearly shown in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 30, Hotter discloses (Figure 12) a tissue repair device (Figure 12), comprising: a body (900) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0042); and a plurality of barbed sutures (910) fixedly attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Paragraph 0042) [The examiner also wants to note that due to the angulation of the barbs on the sutures as shown in Figure 12, the sutures would not be able to move in any direction resulting in the barbed sutures to be fixedly attached to the body], wherein the plurality of barbed sutures are sewn through the body (Paragraph 0042), wherein barbs of the plurality of barbed sutures are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body (see annotated figure above for claim 27) configured to contact tissue during use (Paragraph 0051) (clearly shown in Figure 12).
Regarding claim 31, wherein the body is a sheet (Figure 2) (Paragraphs 0041-0042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deister (US Pub No. 2021/0307753) in view of Stopek (US Pub No. 2010/0198257).
Regarding claim 1, Deister discloses (Figures 1-2) a tissue connector (Figure 1), comprising: a body (50) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0044); and at least one suture (20) attached to the body so that at least a portion of the at least one suture is exposed along a surface of the body (along the inner surface of the body as shown in Figure 2) configured to contact tissue during use [Fully configured in doing this since Deister discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Deister fails to disclose the suture being a barbed suture and wherein the barbed suture is fixedly attached to the body.
Stopek, in the analogous art of sutures used in surgery, teaches (Figure 2) a bi-directional suture (110) that is barbed (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraph 0109). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suture of Deister to be barbed as taught by Stopek, in order to further secure the suture within tissue without requiring a surgeon to tie a knot and also, enable the placement of tension in tissue with less slippage of the suture in the tissue (Stopek, Paragraph 0004). [Deister modified by Stopek would result in the barbed suture to be fixedly attached to the body since when the loop as shown in Figure 1 of Deister is pulled (away from the needle ends 24), then this would prevent movement of the barbed suture due to the angulation of the barbs on the suture as shown in Figure 2 of Stopek which results in the barbed suture to be fixedly attached to the body]
Regarding claim 2, Deister modified by Stopek discloses the invention above, Deister further discloses wherein the body is a hollow tube (Paragraph 0048), and wherein the surface is an innermost surface of the hollow tube (clearly shown in Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Deister modified by Stopek discloses the invention above, Deister further discloses wherein the body is a sheet (Paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Deister modified by Stopek discloses the invention above, Deister further discloses wherein the at least one material is small intestinal submucosa (SIS) (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 5, Deister modified by Stopek discloses further discloses wherein the at least one barbed suture is sewn through the layer that form the body so that portions of the at least one barbed suture pass through all of the one or more layers (clearly shown in Figures 1-2 of Deister).
Regarding claim 8, Deister modified by Stopek discloses the invention above, Deister further discloses wherein the layer includes 1 layer (Figure 2) (Paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 27, Deister discloses (Figures 1-2) a tissue repair device (Figure 1), comprising: a body (50) formed of a layer of at least one material (Paragraph 0044); and at least one suture (20) attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (Figure 1).
Deister fails to disclose the suture being a barbed suture, wherein the barbed suture is fixedly attached to the body and wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body configured to contact tissue during use.
Stopek, in the analogous art of sutures used in surgery, teaches (Figure 2) a bi-directional suture (110) that is barbed (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraph 0109). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suture of Deister to be barbed as taught by Stopek, in order to further secure the suture within tissue without requiring a surgeon to tie a knot and also, enable the placement of tension in tissue with less slippage of the suture in the tissue (Stopek, Paragraph 0004). [Deister modified by Stopek would result in the barbed suture to be fixedly attached to the body since when the loop as shown in Figure 1 of Deister is pulled (away from the needle ends 24), then this would prevent movement of the barbed suture due to the angulation of the barbs on the suture as shown in Figure 2 of Stopek which results in the barbed suture to be fixedly attached to the body. Also, Deister modified by Stopek would result in the barbs of the barbed suture to be oriented so as to project from a surface (inner surface) of the body configured to contact tissue during use]
Claims 1, 6, 7, 21, 23, 25-27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dann (US Pub No. 2007/0198074) in view of Stopek (US Pub No. 2010/0198257).
Regarding claim 1, Dann discloses (Figures 1-3) a tissue connector (134), comprising: a body (102) formed of one or more layers of at least one material (Figure 2); and at least one suture (144) fixedly attached to the body (fixedly attached at connection point 146) (Paragraph 0128) so that at least a portion of the at least one suture is exposed along a surface of the body (along the inner surface of the body as shown in Figure 2) configured to contact tissue during use (Figure 2) [Fully configured in doing this since Dann discloses all of the structural elements in the same arrangement as claimed].
Dann fails to disclose the suture being a barbed suture.
Stopek, in the analogous art of sutures used in surgery, teaches (Figure 2) a bi-directional suture (110) that is barbed (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraph 0109). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suture of Dan to be barbed as taught by Stopek, in order to enable the placement of tension in tissue with less slippage of the suture in the tissue (Stopek, Paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 6, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the one or more layers includes two layers (see annotated figure below), and wherein the at least one barbed suture is sewn within or between layers, of the two layers (clearly shown in Figure 2 of Dann), so that portions of the at least one barbed suture are entrapped within or between the two or more layers (clearly shown in Figure 2 of Dann).
Regarding claim 7, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the body is a hollow tube (clearly shown in Figure 2 of Dann), the one or more layers includes two layers (see annotated figure above), and the at least one barbed suture is sewn into the body with portions of the at least one barbed suture being exposed on an innermost surface of the hollow tube (clearly shown in Figure 2 of Dann), and alternating portions of the at least one barbed suture being buried within the two or more layers (clearly shown in Figure 2 of Dann) (Paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 21, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a circumferential configuration (clearly shown in Figure 2 of Dann).
Regarding claim 23, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the at least one barbed suture is oriented, relative to the body of the tissue connector, in a serpentine configuration (zig-zag configuration as disclosed in Paragraph 0122).
Regarding claim 25, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the at least one barbed suture is fixedly attached to the outer surface of the body with at least one knot (Dann, Paragraph 0151).
Regarding claim 26, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the at least one barbed suture includes a handle (Dann, 148) at a first end of the barbed suture (Dann, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 27, Dann discloses (Figures 1-3) a tissue repair device (134), comprising: a flexible body (102) (Paragraph 0115) formed of one or more layers of at least one material (Figure 2); and at least one suture (144) fixedly attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (fixedly attached at connection point 146) (Paragraph 0128).
Dann fails to disclose the suture being a barbed suture and wherein barbs of the barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body configured to contact tissue during use.
Stopek, in the analogous art of sutures used in surgery, teaches (Figure 2) a bi-directional suture (110) that is barbed (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraph 0109). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the suture of Dan to be barbed as taught by Stopek, in order to enable the placement of tension in tissue with less slippage of the suture in the tissue (Stopek, Paragraph 0004). [Dan modified by Stopek would result in the barbs of the barbed suture to be oriented so as to project from a surface (inner surface) of the body configured to contact tissue during use]
Regarding claim 29, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the at least one barbed suture is knotted in place relative to the body (Dann, Paragraphs 0151 and 0128).
Regarding claim 30, Dann discloses (Figures 1-3) a tissue repair device (134), comprising: a flexible body (102) (Paragraph 0115) formed of one or more layers of at least one material (Figure 2); and a plurality of sutures (144) fixedly attached to the body along a longitudinal axis of the body (fixedly attached at connection points 146) (Paragraph 0128), wherein the plurality of sutures are sewn through the body (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraph 0128).
Dann fails to disclose the plurality of sutures being barbed sutures and wherein barbs of the plurality of barbed suture are oriented so as to project from a surface of the body configured to contact tissue during use.
Stopek, in the analogous art of sutures used in surgery, teaches (Figure 2) a bi-directional suture (110) that is barbed (clearly shown in Figure 2) (Paragraph 0109). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sutures of Dan to be barbed as taught by Stopek, in order to enable the placement of tension in tissue with less slippage of the suture in the tissue (Stopek, Paragraph 0004). [Dan modified by Stopek would result in the barbs of the plurality of barbed suture to be oriented so as to project from a surface (inner surface) of the body configured to contact tissue during use]
Regarding claim 31, Dann modified by Stopek further discloses wherein the body is a hollow tube (Dann, Figure 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAJID JAMIALAHMADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771