DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received 4/6/26. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 17 and 19-20 were amended in the amendment received 8/10/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 4/6/26, with respect to claims shave been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack at a second area of the metallic wire”. It is unclear what is meant by a second area because it is not defined with respect to the other parts of the device. One reasonable interpretation is that the second area is along the width of the device. Another 7reasonable interpretation is that the second area overlaps with the first area. Another reasonable interpretation is that the second area is different than the first area. Since multiple reasonable interpretations exist, one of ordinary skill in the relevant art would not know what structures/steps are covered by the limitation. For these reasons, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 2-16 depend from rejected claim 1, include all limitations of claim 1 and therefore are rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11 and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US Patent Application Publication No 2007/0045758) hereinafter referred to as Cao.
Per Claim 1 Cao discloses a MRAM structure device, comprising (see figure 2)
a metallic wire (31), the metallic wire having a width between a first (left) side and a second (right) side (as shown in figure 8); a length between a first (top) end and a second (bottom) end; and a lengthwise axis (through the center of 31), and being symmetric with respect to the lengthwise axis; (as shown in figure 2)
a conductive via (14) directly contacting a first area of a bottom surface of the metallic wire; and
a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (11) at a second area (top) of the metallic wire, and placed asymmetric with respect to the lengthwise axis (as shown in figure 2)
Per Claim 2 Kim discloses the device of claim 1, including where the metallic wire (31 includes 24, 25 and 26) is a first metallic wire (25), further comprising a second metallic wire (24) next to the first side of the first metallic wire (see [0019-21] and figure 2)
Per Claim 3 Kim discloses the device of claim 2, including where the first metallic wire comprises a metal having an atomic number greater than 54 ((25) can be Ta, and Ta has atomic number 73), and the second metallic wire (24) comprises a metal having an atomic number less than 30 ((24) can be TiW and Ti has atomic number 22)
Per Claim 11 Kim discloses the device of claim 1, including where the conductive via (14) and the MTJ stack (11) are separated along the lengthwise axis of the metallic wire. (as shown in figure 2)
Per Claim 12 Kim discloses the device of claim 1, including where the MTJ stack is placed substantially close to or over an edge at the first side of the metallic wire and covers less than one half of the width of the metallic wire. (as shown in figure 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as above.
Per Claim 5 Kim discloses the device of claim 3, including where the MTJ stack includes a free layer (35), a tunnel barrier layer (34) on the free layer, and a reference layer (33) on the tunnel barrier layer, wherein the free layer is placed on at least one of the first and the second metallic wire (as in figure 2)
Kim does not teach where the tunnel barrier layer on top of the free layer, and the reference layer on top of the tunnel barrier layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the device of Kim such that the reference layer is on top of the tunnel barrier layer which is on top of the free layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6-10 and 13-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith.
De Brosse (US 20140264513) is cited as an analogous device that teaches the features of claim 1 including (see figure 1B) a MRAM structure comprising: a metallic wire (152), the metallic wire having a width between a first side and a second side (as shown in figure 2); a length between a first end and a second end and a lengthwise axis, and being symmetric with respect to the lengthwise axis (as shown in figure 2); a conductive via (110) directly contacting a first area of a bottom surface of the metallic wire; and a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) stack (104/106/108) at a second area of the metallic wire and placed asymmetric with respect to the lengthwise axis (as shown). This reference was not applied because there is ambiguity as to whether the source of FET is the equivalent of a conductive via.
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
/Jami Valentine Miller/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818