DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishioka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,368,438) in view of Jeong et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0077078), and further in view of Tapacio et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2009/0278264).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 1, Nishioka discloses a wiring substrate, comprising: a core substrate (10); a build-up part (20) formed on a surface of the core substrate and comprising a plurality of insulating layers (21, 24, 30) and a plurality of conductor layers (22, 25, 26, 27, 28, S1, S2); and a covering insulating layer (30) comprising a photosensitive resin (col. 5, lines 22 – 30 and col. 13, lines 14 – 18) and formed on the build-up part such that the covering insulating layer is covering an outermost surface of the build-up part, wherein the build-up part is formed such that the plurality of insulating layers includes a first insulating layer (24) comprising a thermosetting resin and an inorganic filler (col. 4, lines 30 – 40) and forming an outermost one of the insulating layers, that the plurality of conductor layers includes a first conductor layer (26) formed on a surface of the first insulating layer and including a first conductor pad (28) formed in a substantially rectangular planar shape and in direct contact with the surface of the first insulating layer, and that an elongation rate of the first insulating layer is greater than an elongation rate of each of the other insulating layers in the build-up part, and the covering insulating layer is formed on the first insulating layer of the build-up part such that the covering insulating layer has an opening (34) entirely exposing an upper surface and a side surface of the first conductor pad (the upper surface and side surfaces of conductor pad 28 are exposed; similar to the upper surface and side surfaces of conductor pad P1 being exposed from the covering insulating layer 110 in Figure 1 of the claimed invention). Nishioka does not specifically disclose an elongation rate of the first insulating layer being greater than an elongation rate of each of the insulating layers other than the first insulating layer in the build-up part, and the first conductor pad 28 being formed in a substantially rectangular planar shape.
However, Jeong teaches an outermost layer 111a including an insulating resin having a greater elongation than the other insulating layers (111b) stacked thereon (Figure 3B, paragraphs [0025] and [0039]; in Figure 3B, the substrate 110 may include one or more first insulating layers 111a, paragraph [0040], thus there may be a single outermost layer 111a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the elongation rate of the outermost insulating layer 24 of Nishioka to be greater than the elongation rate of the other insulating layers 21 stacked thereon as taught by Jeong so as to improve the mechanical strength of the outermost insulating layer 24.
Further, in Figures 3 and 6, Tapacio teaches a conductor pad 50’ that connects to bump 40 being formed in a substantially rectangular planar shape (claim 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for conductor pad 28 of Nishioka to be formed in a substantially rectangular planar shape as taught by Jeong modified by Nishioka in order for the conductor pad 28 to provide more surface area for the connection to solder bump S2.
Regarding claim 2, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the first conductor pad of the first conductor layer is not directly connected to another pad in the first conductor layer or a wiring in the first conductor layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the elongation rate of the first insulating layer is 1.5% or greater (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer has a dielectric loss tangent of 0.17 or less at a frequency of 5.8 GHz (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Nishioka discloses a second build-up part formed on a second surface of the core substrate on an opposite side with respect to the surface on which the build-up part is formed, wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the second build-up part includes a plurality of insulating layers and that a number of the insulating layers in the second build-up part is equal to a number of the insulating layers in the build-up part (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Nishioka discloses wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer in the build-up part and an outermost insulating layer in the second build-up part are formed of a same material (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the plurality of conductor layers includes a second conductor layer formed on an opposite side with respect to the first conductor layer via the first insulating layer and that the build-up part includes a via conductor penetrating through the first insulating layer and connecting the second conductor layer and the first conductor pad of the first conductor layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the elongation rate of the first insulating layer is 1.5% or greater (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer has a dielectric loss tangent of 0.17 or less at a frequency of 5.8 GHz (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Nishioka discloses a second build-up part formed on a second surface of the core substrate on an opposite side with respect to the surface on which the build-up part is formed, wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the second build-up part includes a plurality of insulating layers and that a number of the insulating layers in the second build-up part is equal to a number of the insulating layers in the build-up part (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 11, Nishioka discloses wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer in the build-up part and an outermost insulating layer in the second build-up part are formed of a same material (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the plurality of conductor layers includes a second conductor layer formed on an opposite side with respect to the first conductor layer via the first insulating layer and that the build-up part includes a via conductor penetrating through the first insulating layer and connecting the second conductor layer and the first conductor pad of the first conductor layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer has a dielectric loss tangent of 0.17 or less at a frequency of 5.8 GHz (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 14, Nishioka discloses a second build-up part formed on a second surface of the core substrate on an opposite side with respect to the surface on which the build-up part is formed, wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the second build-up part includes a plurality of insulating layers and that a number of the insulating layers in the second build-up part is equal to a number of the insulating layers in the build-up part (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Nishioka discloses wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer in the build-up part and an outermost insulating layer in the second build-up part are formed of a same material (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the plurality of conductor layers includes a second conductor layer formed on an opposite side with respect to the first conductor layer via the first insulating layer and that the build-up part includes a via conductor penetrating through the first insulating layer and connecting the second conductor layer and the first conductor pad of the first conductor layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Nishioka discloses a second build-up part formed on a second surface of the core substrate on an opposite side with respect to the surface on which the build-up part is formed, wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the second build-up part includes a plurality of insulating layers and that a number of the insulating layers in the second build-up part is equal to a number of the insulating layers in the build-up part (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Nishioka discloses wherein the second build-up part is formed such that the first insulating layer in the build-up part and an outermost insulating layer in the second build-up part are formed of a same material (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the plurality of conductor layers includes a second conductor layer formed on an opposite side with respect to the first conductor layer via the first insulating layer and that the build-up part includes a via conductor penetrating through the first insulating layer and connecting the second conductor layer and the first conductor pad of the first conductor layer (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 20, Nishioka discloses wherein the build-up part is formed such that the plurality of conductor layers includes a second conductor layer formed on an opposite side with respect to the first conductor layer via the first insulating layer and that the build-up part includes a via conductor penetrating through the first insulating layer and connecting the second conductor layer and the first conductor pad of the first conductor layer (Figure 1).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847