DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election of Group 2, claims 45-53 in the reply filed on 10/22/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 36-44 and 54-62 are withdrawn from prosecution.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/14/2023, 10/24/2023, 3/19/2024, 10/8/2024, 11/18/2024 and 10/22/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 45 and 48-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2020/0254695 A1) to Mastroianni et al. (hereinafter Mastroianni).
The current claims are accorded a filing date of 12/18/2017 based on the application being a CIP.
Mastroianni is directed toward methods for manufacturing 3D objects using a water-soluble support material, such as via extrusion (0013). Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0005] that a support structure is built to support sections not supported by the part material itself that is removable when the part is completed. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0006] that a soak and rinse post processing step removes the support materials. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0008] that the support materials includes polyamides including terephthalic acid, hexamethylenediamine and the like. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0011] that the materials have a glass transition temperature of 100 to 180C. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0150] that in claim 20 that the part material includes a list of thermoplastic polymers that are non-water dispersible materials (the 3D part) that have a glass transition temperature of +/- 20C of that of the support water dispersible polymer. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0013] that the support comprises more than 50% polyamide. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0019] that the support has a melting point of 150 to 230C. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0042] that the polyamide is a condensation reaction product of a diacid with a diamine, which can comprise either aromatic or aliphatic monomers. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0022] that cycloaliphatic diamines may be used. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0049] that the ionizable groups may be used in with any form of the acid monomers. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0060] that the support may contain further amines. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0096] that the support is completely soluble in water at a temperature below 100C, which would be within +/- 20C of the non-water dispersible 3D build material. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0139] that in Example 1 the polyamide is made by the condensation reaction of adipic acid with an amine in an equal molar ratio. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0142] that the support quickly dissolves in water. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0048] that acids containing sulfonic groups may be used, such as 5-sulfoisophtalic acid , and salts thereof which include Li, K, Na and Ag (SSIPA), which reads on Applicants species of sulfo-polyamide polymer. Mastroianni discloses each and every element as arranged in claims 45 and 48-52.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 48-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0254695 A1) to Mastroianni et al. (hereinafter Mastroianni) in view of the teachings of (US 2011/0263753 A1) to Harkai et al. (hereinafter Harkai).
The current claims are accorded a filing date of 12/18/2017 based on the application being a CIP.
Mastroianni is directed toward methods for manufacturing 3D objects using a water-soluble support material. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0005] that a support structure is built to support sections not supported by the part material itself that is removable when the part is completed. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0006] that a soak and rinse post processing step removes the support materials. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0008] that the support materials includes polyamides including terephthalic acid, hexamethylenediamine and the like. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0011] that the materials have a glass transition temperature of 100 to 180C. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0150] that in claim 20 that the part material includes a list of thermoplastic polymers that are non-water dispersible materials (the 3D part) that have a glass transition temperature of +/- 20C of that of the support water dispersible polymer. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0013] that the support comprises more than 50% polyamide. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0019] that the support has a melting point of 150 to 230C. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0042] that the polyamide is a condensation reaction product of a diacid with a diamine, which can comprise either aromatic or aliphatic monomers. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0022] that cycloaliphatic diamines may be used. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0049] that the ionizable groups may be used in with any form of the acid monomers. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0060] that the support may contain further amines. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0096] that the support is completely soluble in water at a temperature below 100C, which would be within +/- 20C of the non-water dispersible 3D build material. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0139] that in Example 1 the polyamide is made by the condensation reaction of adipic acid with an amine in an equal molar ratio. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0142] that the support quickly dissolves in water. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0048] that acids containing sulfonic groups may be used, such as 5-sulfoisophtalic acid (SSIPA), which reads on Applicants species of sulfo-polyamide polymer.
Harakai is directed toward water dispersible compounds that includes sulfonated amines. Mastroianni is directed toward methods for manufacturing 3D objects using a water-soluble/dispersible support material that includes polyamide materials, which solves the same problems of amine water dispersibility and therefore would be considered analogous art to one skilled in the art looking to solve the same problem of amine water dispersibility of a compound. Harakai teaches at paragraph [0040] of the desire for a water dispersible polyamide compound. Harakai teaches at paragraph [0041] of the water dispersible amide compounds includes a species diaminodicyclohexylmethane. Harakai teaches at paragraph [0041] of the water dispersible amide compounds includes a species of PACM. One skilled in the art would be motivated to use water soluble amine compounds for faster dissolving of the support material after 3D molding of a part.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Mastroianni in view of the teachings of Harakai to modify the support to include superior water dispersible amide monomers, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 48-53.
10. Claims 46-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2020/0254695 A1) to Mastroianni et al. (hereinafter Mastroianni) in view of the teachings of (WO 2016/205690 A1) to Priedeman (hereinafter Priedman).
The current claims are accorded a filing date of 12/18/2017 based on the application being a CIP.
Mastroianni is directed toward methods for manufacturing 3D objects using a water-soluble support material. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0005] that a support structure is built to support sections not supported by the part material itself that is removable when the part is completed. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0006] that a soak and rinse post processing step removes the support materials. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0008] that the support materials includes polyamides including terephthalic acid, hexamethylenediamine and the like. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0011] that the materials have a glass transition temperature of 100 to 180C. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0150] that in claim 20 that the part material includes a list of thermoplastic polymers that are non-water dispersible materials (the 3D part) that have a glass transition temperature of +/- 20C of that of the support water dispersible polymer. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0013] that the support comprises more than 50% polyamide. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0019] that the support has a melting point of 150 to 230C. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0042] that the polyamide is a condensation reaction product of a diacid with a diamine, which can comprise either aromatic or aliphatic monomers. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0022] that cycloaliphatic diamines may be used. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0049] that the ionizable groups may be used in with any form of the acid monomers. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0060] that the support may contain further amines. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0096] that the support is completely soluble in water at a temperature below 100C, which would be within +/- 20C of the non-water dispersible 3D build material. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0139] that in Example 1 the polyamide is made by the condensation reaction of adipic acid with an amine in an equal molar ratio. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0142] that the support quickly dissolves in water. Mastroianni discloses at paragraph [0048] that acids containing sulfonic groups may be used, such as 5-sulfoisophtalic acid (SSIPA), which reads on Applicants species of sulfo-polyamide polymer.
Priedeman is directed toward methods for manufacturing 3D objects using a water-soluble support material. Mastroianni and Priedeman are both directed toward methods for manufacturing 3D objects using a water-soluble support material and therefore are analogous art. Priedeman teaches at paragraph [0086] that charge densities for sulfopolyesters of this disclosure are in the approximate range of (0.4 to 0.9 meq/g), which reads on Applicants ranges. Priedeman teaches at paragraph [0087] that the use of a sodium or lithium salt of isophthalic acid such as 5- sodiosulfoisophthalic acid (5-SSIPA) the polymer contains approximately 18 to 40% sulfoisophthalic monomer, with a more preferred range of approximately 20 to 35% sulfoisophthalic monomer.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Mastroianni in view of the teachings of Priedeman to modify the support using a monomer of SSIPA in the most water dispersible charge range, which forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 46-52.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766