DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Group 1 - Species E, and Group 2 – Species B, in the reply filed on 12/2/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-14 and 16-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/2/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “a silicide layer located in the channel layer” is unclear as to the meaning of “in.” Specifically, the silicide layer appears to be shown and disclosed as a separate layer from the channel layer but is described as both “in” and “between” with the specification seemingly equating the two terms (see [0026]). Accordingly, it is unclear what is required by the claim.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “the halogen at a second concentration” is unclear as to if it is the same halogen or a second halogen. Applicant asserts the claim reads on the elected species, which includes a first halogen concentration in the channel being less than a second halogen concentration at interface between the channel layer and the memory layer, with the first and second halogens being different, however the language “the halogen” would appear to require the same halogen.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “the halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer,” is unclear as to if it is the same halogen or a second halogen. Applicant asserts the claim reads on the elected species, which includes a first halogen concentration in the channel being less than a second halogen concentration at interface between the channel layer and the memory layer, with the first and second halogens being different, however the language “the halogen” would appear to require the same halogen.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “wherein at least one of the tunneling layer, the data storage layer, and the blocking layer includes the halogen element,” is unclear as to if it is addition to the “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element,” recited in claim 1 or if it is intended to further specify the halogen of claim 1 is in the memory layer.
Regarding claim 9, the limitations “a second (third) concentration” are unclear because they are dependent on a claim which does not recite a first concentration.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “the tunneling layer includes the halogen element at a third concentration, and an interface between the tunneling layer and the channel layer includes the halogen element at a second concentration higher than the third concentration,” is unclear as to if it is the same halogen or a second halogen. Applicant asserts the claim reads on the elected species, which includes a second halogen at a second concentration, different from the first halogen, at interface between the channel layer and the memory layer. The language “the halogen,” would appear to require the same halogen as that in the channel, however it is unclear as to if, in the elected embodiment, the halogen in the tunneling layer is the same or different as the second halogen at the second concentration, and as to what the relative concentrations would be.
Regarding claim 12, the limitation “a silicide layer located between the channel layer and the insulating core” is unclear as to the meaning of “in.” Specifically, the silicide layer appears to be shown and disclosed as a separate layer from the channel layer but is described as both “in” and “between” with the specification seemingly equating the two terms (see [0026]). Accordingly, it is unclear what is required by the claim.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “substantially same or different,” is unclear as to what it means to be “substantially same” or “substantially different.” Additionally, the term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Note the dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isogai et al. (US 20190081144; herein “Isogai”).
Regarding claim 11, Isogai discloses in Figs. 2 and 4-5 and related text a semiconductor device comprising:
a gate structure (e.g. 40/41, see [0047]) including insulating layers and conductive layers that are alternately stacked;
a channel layer (20, see [0054]) located in the gate structure and including a first halogen element at a first concentration (see Fig. 5 and [0055]);
a memory layer (e.g. 21/22/23, see [0035]) surrounding the channel layer; and
an insulating core (25, see [0054]) located in the channel layer,
wherein an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer includes a second halogen element at a second concentration higher than the first concentration (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface between Rch and Rtn higher than concentration at other regions in channel layer).
Regarding claim 15, Isogai further discloses wherein the first halogen element and the second halogen element are substantially same or different, the first halogen element or the second halogen element includes at least one of fluorine (F) and chlorine (Cl) (see Fig. 5 and [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isogai in view of Jang et al. (US 20220020766; herein “Jang”).
Regarding claim 1, Isogai discloses in Figs. 4-5 and related text a semiconductor device comprising:
a gate structure (e.g. 40/41, see [0047]) including insulating layers and conductive layers that are alternately stacked;
a channel layer (20, see [0054]) located in the gate structure;
a memory layer (e.g. 21/22/23, see [0035]) surrounding the channel layer; and
wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element (see Fig. 5 and [0055]).
Isogai does not explicitly disclose a silicide layer located in the channel layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches a semiconductor device comprising a silicide layer located in the channel layer (see [0085]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Isogai by having a silicide layer located in the channel layer in order to employ a method of manufacture which assists and improves crystallization of the channel layer.
Regarding claim 2, Isogai further discloses wherein the channel layer includes the halogen element at a first concentration, and an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer includes the halogen element at a second concentration higher than the first concentration (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface between Rch and Rtn higher than concentration at other regions in channel layer).
Regarding claim 3, the combined device shows wherein the channel layer comprises:
a first portion whose concentration of the halogen element increases as the first portion becomes closer to the memory layer (Isogai: closer to Rtn, see Fig. 5 and related text); and
a second portion whose concentration of the halogen element increases as the second portion becomes closer to the silicide layer (Isogai: closer to Rch, see Fig. 5 and related text).
Regarding claim 4, the combined device shows wherein the first portion is located closer to the memory layer than the second portion (Isogain: closer to Rtn of memory layer).
Regarding claim 5, Isogai further discloses wherein the halogen element includes at least one of fluorine (F) and chlorine (Cl) (see [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Isogai further discloses wherein the halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface between Rch and Rtn).
Regarding claim 7, the combined device shows wherein the halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the silicide layer (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface of Rch and Rco; modified by Jang to include silicide at interface between channel and core).
Regarding claim 8, Isogai further discloses
a tunneling layer (21, see [0035]) surrounding the channel layer;
a data storage layer (22, see [0035]) surrounding the tunneling layer; and
a blocking layer (23, see [0035]) surrounding the data storage layer,
wherein at least one of the tunneling layer, the data storage layer, and the blocking layer includes the halogen element (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Isogai further discloses wherein the tunneling layer includes the halogen element at a third concentration, and an interface between the tunneling layer and the channel layer includes the halogen element at a second concentration higher than the third concentration (e.g. concentration in Rt1 compared to at interface between Rtn and Rch, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the combined device shows an insulating core located in the silicide layer (Jang: 134a/134b, see [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Isogai discloses the invention as applied to claim 11 above, but does not explicitly disclose a silicide layer located between the channel layer and the insulating core.
Jang teaches the limitation in the same manner and for the same reasons as applied to claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210249420 and US 20190371814 are each cited for showing memory device with halogen element dopants.
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896 12/22/2025