DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the first halogen element and the second halogen element are different from each other” does not appear to have adequate support in the originally filed disclosure, in particular in combination with the required concentrations of claim 1 and 2. Further, the combinations of features is not described in the original disclosure in such a way to convey possession. Specifically, this aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. The feature appears to be an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and is not conventional or known in the art. (see MPEP 2163.A) It is noted that the only disclosure related to the concentrations is Fig. 2 and related text. The disclosure related to Fig. 2, however, has not been described in combination with C1 and C2 being different halogen elements, nor has it been sufficiently described how one could even achieve a concentration gradient including C1 and C2, wherein C2 is from a different halogen element than C1, and yet also is a continuation of the concentration curve throughout the layers (i.e. how C2 could, without a transitional region, abruptly be a second halogen at that concentration when immediately prior to the interface the C1 is entirely the first halogen).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “wherein the first halogen element, the second halogen element, and the third halogen element are different from each other, the first halogen element, the second halogen element, or the third halogen element includes at least one of fluorine (F) and chlorine (Cl)” does not appear to have adequate support in the originally filed disclosure. Specifically, only two possible halogens are disclosed, and thus it is unclear how each can be different from the other. Additionally, there does not appear to be support for the different halogens in combination with the required concentrations of claim 11. Further, the combinations of features is not described in the original disclosure in such a way to convey possession. Specifically, this aspect of the claimed invention has not been described with sufficient particularity such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. The feature appears to be an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and is not conventional or known in the art. (see MPEP 2163.A) It is noted that the only disclosure related to the concentrations is Fig. 2 and related text. The disclosure related to Fig. 2, however, has not been described in combination with C1 and C2 being different halogen elements, nor has it been sufficiently described how one could even achieve a concentration gradient including C1 and C2, wherein C2 is from a different halogen element than C1, and yet also is a continuation of the concentration curve throughout the layers (i.e. how C2 could, without a transitional region, abruptly be a second halogen at that concentration when immediately prior to the interface the C1 is entirely the first halogen).
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “wherein the channel layer includes a first portion whose concentration of a first halogen element increases as the first portion becomes closer to the memory layer and a second portion whose concentration of the first halogen element increases as the second portion becomes closer to the silicide layer” is unclear as to how it is related to the previously recited “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element.” Specifically, it is unclear if the limitation is a conditional limitation in the instance that the channel layer is the “at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includ[ing] a halogen element,” if the claim intends to require the channel layer to be the “at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includ[ing] a halogen element,” or if the claim intends to require the channel layer to have the first halogen element in addition to the “at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includ[ing] a halogen element.” It is further unclear as to how the “first halogen element” is related to the “a halogen element.”
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “as the first portion becomes closer to the memory layer,” and “as the second portion becomes closer to the silicide layer” are unclear as to what is required by the limitations. Specifically, it appears to require the portion to move closer to the respective layer, which is not understood as possible in a device claim.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “wherein the channel layer includes the first halogen element at a first concentration, and an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer includes a second halogen element at a second concentration higher than the first concentration,” is unclear as to how the “the memory layer includes a second halogen element at a second concentration higher than the first concentration,” is related to “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element,” recited in claim 1. It is further unclear as to how “a first concentration” is related to the concentration of the first and second portions recited in claim 1. the “second halogen” is related to the “a halogen element”.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “the first halogen element and the second halogen element are different from each other” is unclear as to how it is related to the required concentrations of claim 1 and 2. Specifically, it is noted that the only disclosure related to the concentrations is Fig. 2 and related text. However the disclosure related to Fig. 2 not been described in combination with C1 and C2 being different halogen elements, nor has it been sufficiently described how one could even achieve a concentration gradient including C1 and C2, wherein C2 is from a different halogen element than C1, and yet also be a continuation of the concentration curve throughout the layers (i.e. how C2 could, without a transitional region, abruptly be a second halogen at that concentration when immediately prior to the interface the C1 is entirely the first halogen). Accordingly, it is unclear what the claimed limitation requires.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “a second halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer,” is unclear as to how it is related to “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element,” recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “a third halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the silicide layer,” is unclear as to how it is related to “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element,” recited in claim 1. It is further unclear because it recites “a third halogen element,” when a second halogen has not been recited.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “wherein at least one of the tunneling layer, the data storage layer, and the blocking layer includes a second halogen element,” is unclear as to how it is related to “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element,” recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “wherein the tunneling layer includes the second halogen element at a third concentration, and an interface between the tunneling layer and the channel layer includes the second halogen element at a fourth concentration higher than the third concentration,” is unclear as to how it is related to “wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element,” recited in claim 1. It is further unclear because it recites “a third (fourth) concentration,” when a first and second concentration have not been recited.
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “wherein the first halogen element, the second halogen element, and the third halogen element are different from each other, the first halogen element, the second halogen element, or the third halogen element includes at least one of fluorine (F) and chlorine (Cl)” is unclear how each of the halogens can be different when only two possible halogens are disclosed.
Note the dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Isogai et al. (US 20190081144; herein “Isogai”).
Regarding claim 11, Isogai discloses in Figs. 2 and 4-5 and related text a semiconductor device comprising:
a gate structure (e.g. 40/41, see [0047]) including insulating layers and conductive layers that are alternately stacked;
a channel layer (20, see [0054]) located in the gate structure and including a first halogen element at a first concentration (e.g. concentration close to, but not at, interface between Rch and Rtn, see Fig. 5 and [0055]);
a memory layer (e.g. 21/22/23, see [0035]) surrounding the channel layer and including a second halogen element at a second centration (e.g. concentration at middle of Rt1) lower than the first concentration; and
an insulating core (25, see [0054]) located on the channel layer,
wherein an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer includes a third halogen element at a third concentration (e.g. concentration at interface between Rch and Rtn) higher than the first concentration and the second concentration (see Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isogai in view of Nakajima et al. (US 20200303405; herein “Nakajima”).
Regarding claim 1, Isogai discloses in Figs. 4-5 and related text a semiconductor device comprising:
a gate structure (e.g. 40/41, see [0047]) including insulating layers and conductive layers that are alternately stacked;
a channel layer (20, see [0054]) located in the gate structure;
a memory layer (e.g. 21/22/23, see [0035]) surrounding the channel layer; and
wherein at least one of the channel layer, the silicide layer, and the memory layer includes a halogen element (see Fig. 5 and [0055]); and
wherein the channel layer includes a first portion whose concentration of a first halogen element increases as the first portion becomes closer to the memory layer and a second portion whose concentration of the first halogen element increases as the second portion becomes further from the memory layer (see Rch in Fig. 5).
Isogai does not explicitly disclose
a silicide layer located on the channel layer;
the second portion whose concentration of the first halogen element increases as the second portion becomes closer to the silicide layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakajima teaches in Fig. 5 and related text a semiconductor device comprising a silicide layer (99, see [0048]) located on the channel layer (44, see [00448]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Isogai by having a silicide layer located on the channel layer in order to provide a low resistance electrical contact to the channel layer. The limitation “the second portion whose concentration of the first halogen element increases as the second portion becomes closer to the silicide layer” is taught by the combination of the second portion whose concentration of the first halogen element increases as the second portion becomes further from the memory layer, as shown by Isogai, and the silicide layer being on the far side of the channel from the memory layer, as shown by Nakajima.
Regarding claim 2, Isogai further discloses wherein the channel layer includes the first halogen element at a first concentration, and an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer includes a second halogen element at a second concentration higher than the first concentration (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface between Rch and Rtn higher than concentration at other regions in channel layer).
Regarding claim 4, the combined device shows wherein the first portion is located closer to the memory layer than the second portion (Isogai: closer to Rtn of memory layer).
Regarding claim 5, Isogai further discloses wherein the halogen element includes at least one of fluorine (F) and chlorine (Cl) (see [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Isogai further discloses wherein a second halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the memory layer (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface between Rch and Rtn).
Regarding claim 7, the combined device shows wherein a third halogen element is located at an interface between the channel layer and the silicide layer (see Fig. 5, concentration at interface of Rch and Rco; modified by Nakajima to include silicide on channel layer).
Regarding claim 8, Isogai further discloses
a tunneling layer (21, see [0035]) surrounding the channel layer;
a data storage layer (22, see [0035]) surrounding the tunneling layer; and
a blocking layer (23, see [0035]) surrounding the data storage layer,
wherein at least one of the tunneling layer, the data storage layer, and the blocking layer includes a second halogen element (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Isogai further discloses wherein the tunneling layer includes the second halogen element at a third concentration, and an interface between the tunneling layer and the channel layer includes the second halogen element at a fourth concentration higher than the third concentration (e.g. concentration in Rt1 compared to at interface between Rtn and Rch, see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10, the combined device shows an insulating core located on the silicide layer (Nakajima: 45, see [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, Isogai discloses the invention as applied to claim 11 above, but does not explicitly disclose a silicide layer located between the channel layer and the insulating core.
In the same field of endeavor, Nakajima teaches in Fig. 5 and related text a semiconductor device comprising a silicide layer (99, see [0048]) located between the channel layer and the insulating core (e.g. between 44 and 45 in at least one direction, see [00448]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Isogai by having a silicide layer located between the channel layer and the insulating core in order to provide a low resistance electrical contact to the channel layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 13) that the prior art does not teach or suggest the invention of claim 11 because the concentration of halogen in layers 21/22/23 of Isogai is higher than the concentration of channel layer 20.
In response, the examiner disagrees. Specifically, the concentration in channel layer 20 near (but not at) the interface between Rch and Rt1 is higher than the concentration at, e.g., the middle of Rt1. It is noted that the claim does not require the concentration throughout the entirety of the channel layer to be higher than the concentration throughout the entirety of the memory layer, nor is this relationship even support by applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAUREN R BELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896