Response to Remarks
Regarding claims 1 and 17:
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicants’ position. The applicant states Chapelle doesn’t teach at least optical divider coupled between a single input node and multiple photodiodes. Although Fig. 3 doesn’t explicitly show this limitation, Fig. 1, which teaches the system view of the prior art, teaches these limitations. Especially Chapelle teaches in Fig. 1, a single input node coupled to receive an optical input signal from a single input waveguide (Fig. 1 shows single input at 22)…at least one optical divider coupled between the single input node and the photodiodes (Fig. 1 shows divider 20 between 22 and photodiodes coupled to fibers 24 which are also shown in Fig. 3; Col. 2, Coupler 20 divides the optic signal on fiber-optic cable 22 into three optical signals on fiber-optic cables 24). Therefore, Chapelle teaches these limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by de la Chapelle (US 5001336) hereon Chapelle.
Regarding claim 1, Chapelle teaches a circuit (Fig. 3) comprising: a single input node coupled to receive an optical input signal from a single input waveguide (Fig. 1 shows single input at 22); an output line having an output node (Fig. 5, discloses a photodiode array. The electrical current are summed on the output line with resistors 92. It is the same line 70 in Fig. 3); a power supply line (Fig. 3, voltage source 52 supplies power to the photodiodes); and photodiodes electrically connected in parallel between the power supply line and the output line (Fig. 3, photodiodes 60 connected in parallel); at least one optical divider coupled between the single input node and the photodiodes (Fig. 1 shows divider 20 between 22 and photodiodes coupled to fibers 24 which are also shown in Fig. 3; Col. 2, lines 50-55, Coupler 20 divides the optic signal on fiber-optic cable 22 into three optical signals on fiber-optic cables 24), wherein the photodiodes generate an electrical output signal at the output node in response to the optical input signal (Fig. 3, photodiodes generate electrical output signals according to the incoming optical signals from optical fibers 24).
Regarding claim 2, Chapelle teaches the circuit of claim 1, wherein the power supply line is connected to receive a positive power supply voltage, wherein the photodiodes have cathode terminals connected to the power supply line and anode terminals connected to intermediate nodes, respectively, on the output line (Fig. 3 shows the voltage connections to the photodiodes and the output line), and wherein the circuit further includes: one optical divider coupled to receive the optical input signal and to output equally divided optical signals to the photodiodes, respectively (Col. 2, lines 50-55, Coupler 20 divides the optic signal on fiber-optic cable 22 into three optical signals on fiber-optic cables 24; optical input in Fig. 3 is divided onto optical fibers 24); and at least one transmission link in the output line, wherein each transmission link is connected between two adjacent intermediate nodes (Fig. 3, the transmission lines are disclosed as 70).
Regarding claim 3, Chapelle teaches the circuit of claim 1, wherein the photodiodes have a same design (Fig. 3 shows the photodiodes have a same design).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de la Chapelle (US 5001336) hereon Chapelle in view of Sugimoto (US 2011/0318015).
Regarding claim 17, Chapelle teaches an optical receiver (Fig. 3) comprising: a multi-photodetector circuit including a single input node coupled to receive an optical input signal from a single input waveguide (Fig. 1 shows single input at 22), at least one power supply line (Fig. 3, voltage source 52 supplies power to the photodiodes), an output line (Fig. 5, discloses a photodiode array. The electrical current are summed on the output line with resistors 92. It is the same line 70 in Fig. 3), and at least two photodiodes electrically connected in parallel between the power supply line and the output line (Fig. 3, photodiodes generate electrical output signals according to the incoming optical signals from optical fibers 24) and at least one optical divider coupled between the single input node and the photodiodes (Fig. 1 shows divider 20 between 22 and photodiodes coupled to fibers 24 which are also shown in Fig. 3; Col. 2, lines 50-55, Coupler 20 divides the optic signal on fiber-optic cable 22 into three optical signals on fiber-optic cables 24), wherein the photodiodes generate an electrical output signal at the output node in response to the optical input signal (Fig. 3, photodiodes generate electrical output signals according to the incoming optical signals from optical fibers 24)
Chapelle doesn’t teach the receiver comprises a transimpedance amplifier; wherein the output line has an output node connected to the transimpedance amplifier.
Sugimoto teaches a receiver comprising a transimpedance amplifier (Fig. 1, TIA 10); wherein the output line has an output node connected to the transimpedance amplifier (Fig. 1, output from multi photodetector setup 12/14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the receiver taught by Chapelle and incorporate the TIA taught by Sugimoto in order to enhance the SNR of the signal (Sugimoto: paragraph [0020]).
Regarding claim 18, Chapelle in view of Sugimoto teaches the optical receiver of claim 17, wherein Chapelle teaches the power supply line is a positive power supply line, all the photodiodes have cathode terminals connected to the positive power supply line and anode terminals connected to the output line (Fig. 3 shows the voltage connections to the photodiodes and the output line).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de la Chapelle (US 5001336) hereon Chapelle in view of Sugimoto (US 2011/0318015) in further view of Welch (US 2005/0207696).
Regarding claim 20, Chapelle in view of Sugimoto teaches the optical receiver of claim 17.
Although Chapelle in view of Sugimoto teaches the optical receiver, Chapelle in view of Sugimoto doesn’t teach wherein the optical receiver is a monolithically integrated optical receiver on a radio frequency integrated circuit chip.
Welch teaches a receiver wherein the optical receiver is a monolithically integrated optical receiver on a radio frequency integrated circuit chip (paragraph [0182], architecture for coupling the electrical signal outputs from bonding pads 28 of the RxPIC chip photodiodes 16 to a RF submount substrate or a miniature circuit board or a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a monolithically integrated receiver as taught by Welch with the teachings of Chapelle in view of Sugimoto in order to have a compact substrate thereby reducing costs and boosting performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-26 are allowed over the prior arts of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the notice of reference cited (PTO-892).
/PRANESH K BARUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635