DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figs. 3A to 3G include enlarged views. Each of the view and the enlarged view must be labeled as separate views. Further, respective “profiles 032a-302g” in the Figs. 3A to 3G also require separate labeling.
In Figs. 5A to 5J, “cross-section A-A” should be removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al., US Pat. 7,332,403 in view of Yang et al., US Pat. 8,530,320.
Regarding claim 13, Hill teaches the method (detailed in figs. 1-21), comprising:
forming a resistor layer (SiCr thin film resistor 210; col. 4, line 47-53) over a dielectric layer (dielectric material substrate layer 130; see col. 4, lines 44-46);
forming a capping structure (TiN layer deposited over the thin film resistor 210; col. 5, lines 7-19); and
forming an interconnect structure (conductive filler 1610; col. 7, lines 17-20).
Hill teaches the claimed invention except for the resistive layer being a graded resistive layer.
Yang teaches a graded resistive layer (metal nitride layer 22 and 24, forming of the graded resistive layer; see at least col. 1, lines 55-62 and col. 8, lines 24-49), the graded resistive layer providing higher electrical resistance as compared to prior art metal resistors having the same dimension.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with Hill, since the graded resistive layer taught by Yang provides higher resistance resistor, thus allowing for decreasing the size of the resistive device of Hill.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach or suggest the graded resistive layer below the capping structure comprising: a bulk silicon chromium region; and a chromium-rich region.
Claims 2-6 depend on claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not teach or suggest the graded resistive layer below the capping structure comprising: a bulk silicon chromium region; and a silicon-rich region.
Claims 8-12 depend on claim 7.
Claims 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not teach or suggest a method, wherein forming the graded resistive layer over the dielectric layer comprising: depositing a layer of a bulk silicon chromium material over the dielectric layer; and depositing a layer of a chromium-rich material on the layer of the bulk silicon chromium material.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art does not teach or suggest a method, wherein forming the graded resistive layer over the dielectric layer comprising: depositing a layer of a bulk silicon chromium material over the dielectric layer; and depositing a layer of a silicon-rich material on the layer of the bulk silicon chromium material.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art does not teach or suggest a method, wherein forming the graded resistive layer over the dielectric layer comprising: depositing a layer of a silicon-rich material over the dielectric layer; and depositing a layer of a bulk silicon chromium material on the layer of the silicon-rich material.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not teach or suggest a method, wherein forming the graded resistive layer over the dielectric layer comprising: depositing a first layer of a silicon-rich material over the dielectric layer; depositing a layer of a bulk silicon chromium material on the first layer of the silicon-rich material; and depositing a second layer of a silicon-rich material on the layer of the bulk silicon chromium material.
Claim 20 depends on claim 19.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KYUNG S LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833