DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 25 and 44 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 25, line 2, and claim 44, line 1, “a an” should be replaced with --an--. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.— Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claims 23, 24, 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Independent claims 14 and 37 require “an alternating current at a frequency of at least 5 KHz ”. Thus, claims 23 and 42, which depend from claims 14 and 37, respectively, broaden the frequency range to between 1 KHz and 100 KHz. Claims 24 and 43, which depend from claims 14 and 37, respectively, repeat the limitation of at least 5 KHz . Therefore, claims 23, 24, 42 and 43 fail to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which they depend. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 6 -1 4 , 19, 23-26, 28, 30-37 and 39-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al (US 2019/0027792 A1) . Regarding claim s 1 and 28 , Sun et al teaches: A battery charging system and corresponding method (see Figs. 2, 8 , 14a , 21 and 22 ) , comprising: a first current source (conventional charging device 100) for charging a battery (300) that provides a direct current for charging the battery (see para. 0065, 0332 and 0333) ; and a second current source (variable frequency triggering oscillation charging device 200) for charging the battery (300) that provides an alternating current for charging the battery (see para. 0123) and that provides electrical energy for operation of a system load (500, Fig. 8) of the battery during discharging of the battery (discharging is shown in Fig s 8 and 14a, see paras. 0154 and 0155) . Regarding claim s 14 and 37 , Sun et al teaches: A battery charging system and corresponding method (see Figs. 2, 8 , 14a , 21 and 22 ) , comprising: a first current source (conventional charging device 100) for charging a battery (300) that provides a direct current for charging the battery (see para. 0065, 0332 and 0333) ; and a second current source (variable frequency triggering oscillation charging device 200) for charging the battery (300) that provides an alternating current at a frequency of at least 5 KHz for charging the battery (see paras. 0018 and 0130-0132) . Regarding claim s 6 , 19 , Sun et al teaches: wherein the battery (300) comprises a lithium-ion cell (see para. 0123) . Regarding claim s 7 , 30 and 39 , Sun et al teaches: wherein within a charging period of the battery, a waveform of the alternating current has a first waveform shape at a first time (see, for example, T 2 in Fig. 20) within the charging period and a second waveform shape at a second time (see, for example, T 3 in Fig. 20) within the charging period (the change high frequency oscillation provides a different waveform shape than the middle frequency oscillation current) . Regarding claim s 8 , 31 and 40 , Sun et al teaches: wherein one of the first waveform shape and the second waveform shape is one of the following: a rectangular wave, a triangular wave, and a sinusoidal wave (a sinusoidal waveform shape is shown in Fig. 20) . Regarding claim s 9 , 32 and 41 , Sun et al teaches: wherein at least one of the first waveform shape (T 2 ) and the second waveform shape has zero direct current (the waveform shape during at least T 2 has zero direct current) . Regarding claim s 10 , 23, 33 and 42 , Sun et al teaches: wherein the alternating current has a frequency of between 1 KHz and 100 KHz (see paras. 0018 and 0130-0132) . Regarding claim s 11 , 24, 34 and 43 , Sun et al teaches: wherein the alternating current has a frequency of at least 5 KHz (see paras. 0018 and 0130-0132). Regarding claim s 12 , 25, 35 and 44 , Sun et al teaches: wherein the direct current is dependent upon an amount of power loss of the second current source (since the charging devices 100 and 200 are connected in parallel with the battery 200, the direct current from 100 will depend upon an amount of power loss of 200) . Regarding claim s 13 , 26 , 36 and 45 , Sun et al teaches: wherein a frequency of the alternating current is modulated in order to regulate a temperature associated with the battery (the system uses either the high frequency or middle frequency depending upon battery temperature, see para. 0123) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim (s) 2-5 , 15-18, 20 - 22, 27, 29 , 38 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2019/0027792 A1) in view of Liu et al (US 11,125,826 B2) . Regarding claims 2-5 , 15-18, 29 and 38 , the teachings of Sun et al have been discussed above. Sun et al does not specifically teach: (claim s 2 , 15 ) wherein the second current source comprises a switch-mode converter ; (claim s 3 , 16, 29, 38 ) further comprising an energy storage device, and wherein: the switch-mode converter is coupled between the battery and the energy storage device, and is configured to transfer electrical energy from the battery to the energy storage device and vice versa ; (claim s 4 , 17 ) wherein the energy storage device is a capacitor ; (claim s 5 , 18 ) wherein the first current source comprises a switch-mode converter. Liu et al teaches (see Fig. 1) a battery (103) charging system and method including a first current source (charger 105) than may be integrated with one or more second current sources (power converters 111) (see col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 28), where the first and second current sources may be any of a variety of types of switching power supplies, which typically include one or more switching devices and one or more energy storage elements, such as inductors or capacitors (see col. 3, lines 52-60 and col. 4, lines 9-16); (claim s 2 , 15 ) wherein the second current source (one of power converters 111) comprises a switch-mode converter (a switching power supply, see col. 3, lines 53-57) ; (claim s 3 , 16, 29, 38 ) further comprising an energy storage device (for example, a capacitor) , and wherein: the switch-mode converter is coupled between the battery (103) and the energy storage device, and is configured to transfer electrical energy from the battery to the energy storage device and vice versa; (claim s 4 , 17 ) wherein the energy storage device is a capacitor (see col. 3, lines 55-57) ; (claim s 5 , 18 ) wherein the first current source (105) comprises a switch-mode converter (a switching power supply, see col. 4, lines 11-14). In view of the teachings of Liu et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the system and method of Sun et al: (claim s 2 , 15 ) wherein the second current source comprises a switch-mode converter; (claim s 3 , 16, 29, 38 ) further comprising an energy storage device, and wherein: the switch-mode converter is coupled between the battery and the energy storage device, and is configured to transfer electrical energy from the battery to the energy storage device and vice versa; (claim s 4 , 17 ) wherein the energy storage device is a capacitor; (claim s 5 , 18 ) wherein the first current source comprises a switch-mode converter ; since this would provide greater control over the particular voltages used and switching power converters are known to be efficient. Regarding claim 20 , Sun et al as modified by Liu et al teaches: wherein within a charging period of the battery, a waveform of the alternating current has a first waveform shape at a first time (see, for example, T 2 in Fig. 20) within the charging period and a second waveform shape at a second time (see, for example, T 3 in Fig. 20) within the charging period (the change high frequency oscillation provides a different waveform shape than the middle frequency oscillation current). Regarding claim 21 , the teachings of Sun et al as modified by Liu et al have been discussed above . Sun et al as modified by Liu et al shows that the second waveform shape is a sinusoidal wave (a sinusoidal waveform shape is shown in Fig. 20 of Sun et al and Fig. 5A of Liu et al ) . Sun et al as modified by Liu et al does not specifically teach wherein one of the first waveform shape and the second waveform shape is a rectangular wave. However, rectangular waveforms were old and well known to those of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date. Furthermore, the selection of a particular waveform shape represents selecting from a limited number of known choices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the system and method as taught by Sun et al as modified by Liu et al, to include wherein one of the first waveform shape and the second waveform shape is a rectangular wave , since Liu et al teaches that the second current source may be any of a variety of types of switching power supplies and the selection of a power supply with a waveform shape of a rectangular wave would utilize simpler switching control as compared to a sinusoidal waveform. Furthermore, the selection of a particular waveform shape represents selecting from a limited number of known choices. Regarding claim 22 , Sun et al as modified by Liu et al teaches: wherein one of the first waveform shape and the second waveform shape is one of the following: a rectangular wave, a triangular wave, and a sinusoidal wave (a sinusoidal waveform shape is shown in Fig. 20). Regarding claim s 27 and 46 , the teachings of Sun et al as modified by Liu et al have been discussed above. Sun et al as modified by Liu et al also teaches wherein at least one of the first current source and the second current source is configured to provide electrical energy to a system load (since the charging device 200 is connected in parallel with the load 5 00, the charging device 200 is configured to provide electrical energy to the load 500, see Figs. 8 and 14a of Sun et al ). Sun et al as modified by Liu et al, as applied above , does not show a device housing the battery. However, Liu et al also teaches that charging systems and methods are used with devices that include a housing for the battery (see the portable electronic and computing devices discussed in col. 1, lines 5-10). In view of the teachings of Liu et al, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with the system and method as taught by Sun et al as modified by Liu et al, a device housing the battery, since this is a common application of battery powered devices and the housing would provide protection for the battery and charging circuitry. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are related to battery charging systems and methods. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Jared Fureman whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2391 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30 am - 5:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Drew Dunn can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-2312 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JARED FUREMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859