DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, the recitation “comprises of ammonium carbonate” should read “comprises ammonium carbonate.”
In claim 6, the recitation “comprises of ammonium phosphate” should read “comprises ammonium phosphate.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 18 be found allowable, claim 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In the instant case, dependent claim 18 is identical to dependent claim 19 and both dependent upon claim 1. Thus, they are exact duplicate of each other. Since claim 1 is not found allowable, the objection is withheld until allowance or amendment to either claim to not claim duplicative subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “hard” in claim 3 line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hard” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear what structure or hardness is required to read on the instant claim limitation of “hard sulfate”. For examination on the merits, generic disclosure of lead sulfate will be interpreted to be a hard sulfate since it is provided in the examples and claim 3 where the metal comprises lead.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the battery" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears the limitation should read “the battery electrode” for proper antecedent and thus interpreted as such for examination on the merits.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the battery" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It appears the limitation should read “the battery electrode” for proper antecedent and thus interpreted as such for examination on the merits.
The term “hard” in claim 10 line 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hard” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear what structure or hardness is required to read on the instant claim limitation of “hard sulfate”. For examination on the merits, generic disclosure of lead sulfate will be interpreted to be a hard sulfate since it is provided in the examples and claim 3 where the metal comprises lead.
The term “hard” in claim 11 line 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hard” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear what structure or hardness is required to read on the instant claim limitation of “hard sulfate”. For examination on the merits, generic disclosure of lead sulfate will be interpreted to be a hard sulfate since it is provided in the examples and claim 3 where the metal comprises lead.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the hard sulfate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination on the merits, “the hard sulfate” will be interpreted to be dependent upon the more generic “the sulfate” of instant claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gossage et al (Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 2020 167 120537).
As to claims 1 and 4, Gossage discloses a method for removing sulfate from a battery electrode, comprising:
placing the battery electrode in a chelate solution to solubilize the sulfate and remove sulfate deposits from the battery electrode (pg. 2 section “Removing lead sulfate from electrode via chelation therapy” “To evaluate hard sulfate removal through chelation, we cut the electrode plates into small pieces and soaked them in either: (1) 100 mM EDTA,”…” as required by instant claim 4) and
performing electrodeposition of a metal film on the battery electrode (pg. 2 “Electrodepostion of Pb from Pb-Chelator complexes”),
wherein placing the battery electrode in a chelate solution involves soaking and the soaking results in a chelate-metal solution (see citation above);
wherein the electrodeposition comprising electrolysis of the chelate-metal solution (Conclusion “further using the resulting chelate-metal solutions for an electrodeposition step to refurbish the electrode.” Scheme 1).
As to claim 2, Gossage further discloses wherein the battery electrode comprises lead (Pb) and the sulfate comprises a hard sulfate, and placing the battery electrode in a solution comprises soaking the battery electrode in an alkaline EDTA solution to reshape a surface of the electrode by solubilizing PbSO4 to Pb-EDTA while avoiding underlying Pb phases. (See Scheme 1, section “Removing lead sulfates from electrodes via chelation therapy”, Abstract “Soaking the hard sulfate negative electrode in an alkaline EDTA solution reshaped the surface by solubilizing PbSO4 to Pb-EDTA while avoiding underlying Pb phases.”).
As to claims 8 and 9, Gossage further discloses treating the battery with a strong acid of sulfuric acid (Section “Testing of Pb deposits as negative electrode material”. “After electrodepositing Pb films onto a Au electrode, we rinsed the electrodes with fresh water and refilled the cell with 4.2 M H2SO4. We cycled the deposited films using cyclic voltammetry or constant…” where the “Treating” as claimed to be generic and thus the testing with sulfuric acid is interpreted to be “treating” as claimed).
As to claim 10, Gossage further discloses the sulfate is hard sulfate (Abstract “hard sulfate negative electrode).
As to claim 11, Gossage further discloses wherein the hard sulfate comprises PbSO4 crystals having a size in the range of about 20 – 100 micrometers (Section “Interactions between chelators and sulfates on battery electrodes” : “large PbSO4 crystals of various sizes (20–100 μm)”).
As to claims 12-15, Gossage discloses the pH to be 6.3 or 4.1 (Fig. 1) thus falling within the instantly claimed ranges.
As to claim 16, Gossage further discloses after soaking the battery electrode, washing the battery electrode in water. (Section “Removing lead sulfates from electrodes via chelation therapy” “Thereafter, we washed the electrodes with DI water and stored until further measurements.”).
As to claim 17, Gossage further discloses wherein placing the battery electrode in a chelate solution comprising soaking the battery electrode in the chelate solution for at least 12 hours (Fig. 1 “approximately 12 hours” “soaked for 12 h” “Interactions between chelators and sulfates on battery electrodes” section).
As to claims 18 and 19, Gossage further discloses wherein the performing electrodeposition of a metal film on the battery electrode comprises growth of the metal film through electrolysis of chelate-metal and reusing chelate molecules for further chelation reactions. (Section “Electrodeposition of Pb films from Pb-chelator complexes” “complexes.—In this section, we explored electrodeposition of fresh active electrode material from electrochemical reduction of Pb-EDTA solutions. Previous reports indicated the growth of high purity Pb films through electrolysis of Pb-EDTA, and capacity for reusing the EDTA molecules for further chelation reactions.”).
As to claim 20, Gossage further discloses a battery refurbished by the method of claim 1 (See Scheme 1 “refurbished”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gossage in view of Gaumann et al (US 4,107,007).
As to claims 3 and 5, Gossage discloses wherein the battery electrode comprises lead (Pb) and the sulfate comprises a hard sulfate (Abstract “hard sulfate negative electrode), and placing the battery electrode in a solution comprises soaking the battery electrode in an solution to reshape the surface of the electrode by solubilizing PbSO4 while avoiding underlying Pb phases (See Scheme 1, section “Removing lead sulfates from electrodes via chelation therapy”, Abstract “Soaking the hard sulfate negative electrode in an alkaline EDTA solution reshaped the surface by solubilizing PbSO4 to Pb-EDTA while avoiding underlying Pb phases.”) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the solution comprises an ammonium salt, specifically ammonium carbonate as required by instant claim 5.
Gaumann discloses recovery of lead from scrapped lead acid batteries (Title) comprising using a solution comprising an ammonium salt, specifically ammonium carbonate (claim 1, col. 4 lines 1-2). Gaumann discloses the ammonium carbonate dissolved the lead oxides and lead sulfate upon soaking in the solution (claim 1 “…thereby dissolving said lead oxides and lead sulphate in said aqueous solution to provide lead ions in said aqueous solution;”) and subsequently using the solution to deposit lead onto a cathode to enable recover via an electrodeposition process (claim 1 “subjecting said aqueous solution in said electrolysis cell to electrolysis to form particles of lead metal at the cathode thereof and removing said particles of lead metal from said electrolysis cell.”, col. 9 lines 15-25”).
Thus, the prior art Gossage provides a method which both strips and deposits lead from a battery electrode but differs by the specific chemical used to remove the lead and electrodeposit the lead. Gaumann discloses that ammonium carbonate is a suitable chemical which is both capable of removing lead sulfates from a battery electrode and then electrodepositing the lead from the same solution.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to have used ammonium carbonate as the chelate as taught by Gaumann in the chelate solution of Gossage because ammonium carbonate’s function in the prior art is known to both recover lead from a sulfated lead battery electrode and then subsequently electroplate lead from the same solution thus providing a predicable result of still enabling the recovery of lead as required in Gossage. See MPEP 2143 B and 2144.07.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gossage in view of Pan et al (CN 107779603 A with citations drawn to the provided translation).
As to claims 3 and 6, Gossage discloses wherein the battery electrode comprises lead (Pb) and the sulfate comprises a hard sulfate (Abstract “hard sulfate negative electrode), and placing the battery electrode in a solution comprises soaking the battery electrode in an solution to reshape the surface of the electrode by solubilizing PbSO4 while avoiding underlying Pb phases (See Scheme 1, section “Removing lead sulfates from electrodes via chelation therapy”, Abstract “Soaking the hard sulfate negative electrode in an alkaline EDTA solution reshaped the surface by solubilizing PbSO4 to Pb-EDTA while avoiding underlying Pb phases.”) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the solution comprises an ammonium salt, specifically ammonium phosphate as required by instant claim 6.
Pan discloses using ammonium phosphate as a conjugate in solution with EDTA to increase the leaching effect of lead sulfate (pg. 4 “adding sufficient X-Y conjugate solution; the
X-Y conjugated solution in the step, preferably is one or two of ammonia, thylenediamine, propylene diamine, ethylenediamine diacetic acid, ethylenediamine tetraacetic acid, propylene diamine diacetic acid, diethanol amine, triethanolamine, Y preferably ammonium bisulfate, ammonium sulphate, wherein X, ammonium nitrate, ammonium carbonate, ammonium bicarbonate, ammonium hydrogen phosphate, ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, ammonium in the one kind of or two kinds. In order to better realize the leaching effect of lead sulphate, the concentration of X in the conjugate solution is 2-15 mol/L, controlling the concentration of Y is 0.2-5.0 mol/L, and continuously stirring under the condition of 20-120 degrees centigrade” emphasis added).
Thus, the prior art Gossage provides a method which both strips and deposits lead from a battery electrode but differs by the specific chemical used to remove the lead and electrodeposit the lead. Pan discloses that ammonium phosphate is a suitable chemical which is both capable of removing lead sulfates in conjunction with the EDTA.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to have used ammonium phosphate as the chelate as taught by Pan in the chelate solution of Gossage because ammonium phosphate function in the prior art that leads to high leaching efficiency is known to both recover lead from a sulfated lead battery electrode and then subsequently electroplate lead from the same solution thus providing a predicable result of still enabling the recovery of lead as required in Gossage. See MPEP 2143 B and 2144.07.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gossage in view of Yang et al (CN 108715936 A).
As to claims 3 and 7, Gossage discloses wherein the battery electrode comprises lead (Pb) and the sulfate comprises a hard sulfate (Abstract “hard sulfate negative electrode), and placing the battery electrode in a solution comprises soaking the battery electrode in an solution to reshape the surface of the electrode by solubilizing PbSO4 while avoiding underlying Pb phases (See Scheme 1, section “Removing lead sulfates from electrodes via chelation therapy”, Abstract “Soaking the hard sulfate negative electrode in an alkaline EDTA solution reshaped the surface by solubilizing PbSO4 to Pb-EDTA while avoiding underlying Pb phases.”) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the solution comprises an ammonium salt, specifically ammonium acetate or an ammonium salt of a weak acid as required by instant claim 7.
Yang discloses recovery of lead from scrapped lead acid batteries (Abstract) comprising using a solution comprising an ammonium salt, specifically ammonium acetate (pg. 2 of the translation “the step one acetate solution in the solute is at least one mixture of ammonium Acetate” ). Yang discloses the ammonium carbonate dissolved the lead oxides and lead sulfate upon soaking in the solution leads to high leaching efficiency (pg. 2 “The inventor first creation discovery of acetate greatly improves the effect of leaching efficiency, and found that while participating in coordination leaching PbSO4, plays an important role not only is an acetate ion (AC -), more important it needs with NH4 + ions. discovery attempt by acetate, barium acetate, sodium acetate, calcium acetate and so on when extracting the PbSO4, it is found that the leaching rate are low, but when in the leaching process is adding ammonia water or acetate solution containing ammonium acetate to obtain the high leaching efficiency”) and subsequently using the solution to deposit lead onto a cathode to enable recover via an electrodeposition process (pg. 2 step 2 “step two: leaching diaphragm electrodeposition extracting lead” claim 1 “step two: leaching diaphragm electrodeposition extracting lead the lead-containing complex of step a”).
Thus, the prior art Gossage provides a method which both strips and deposits lead from a battery electrode but differs by the specific chemical used to remove the lead and electrodeposit the lead. Yang discloses that ammonium acetate is a suitable chemical which is both capable of removing lead sulfates from a battery electrode and then electrodepositing the lead from the same solution.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to have used ammonium acetate as the chelate as taught by Yang in the chelate solution of Gossage because ammonium carbonate’s function in the prior art that leads to high leaching efficiency is known to both recover lead from a sulfated lead battery electrode and then subsequently electroplate lead from the same solution thus providing a predicable result of still enabling the recovery of lead as required in Gossage. See MPEP 2143 B and 2144.07.
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795