DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Limitation “positioned behind the first optical element” is unclear. It is unclear what is “behind” in this context, does it mean that beam enters the second optical lens after first or opposite. Other unclear elements are “rear” front“ in dependent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 US 20190293800 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
a light-emitting unit including a plurality of light emitters(72) arranged along a specific array direction and configured to emit a beam;(fig. 7c )
an optical unit positioned on an optical path of the beam emitted from the light-emitting unit and configured to form a projected beam extending along the specific array direction;(fig. 7c 46, 38, 50) and
a light-receiving unit(24) configured to receive a return light of the projected beam projected to a measurement area(23), wherein
the optical unit includes: ;fig. 7c 46, 38, 50)
a first optical element having a negative power(46+48) along a transmission direction of the beam in a specific section that is orthogonal to the specific array direction;(46 perform that ) and
a second optical element(50 or 45 depending what is called behind) positioned behind the first optical element and having a positive power along the transmission direction in the specific section.(fig. 7c)
5. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
a front emission surface of the first optical element is separated from a rear incident surface of the second optical element.(fig. 7C)
8. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the optical unit includes
a concave cylindrical lens , as the first optical element, having a concave incident surface concavely curved toward an incident side and
a convex cylindrical lens, as the second optical element, having a convex emission surface convexly curved toward an emission side.(fig. 7C)
9. The light detection device according to claim 8, wherein
at least one of the concave incident surface or the convex emission surface is formed as an aspherical surface.[0028]
10. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the light-emitting unit includes, as the light emitters, a light-emitting element array including surface-emitting laser elements formed as a two-dimensional array in a light-emitting region elongated in the specific array direction, and[0048 with fig. 7C]
each of the surface-emitting laser elements has a beam emitting surface directed in the transmission direction.[0048]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
2. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the optical unit includes a plurality of at least one of the first optical element or the second optical element.
It is just a matter of repetition of parts and It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 in order to cover larger area by using multiple units
Regarding claim 3 D1 teaches
3. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the first optical elements are positioned before the second optical elements.(fig. 7C)
but does not teach
the optical unit includes a plurality of the second optical elements and a plurality of the first optical elements
It is just a matter of repetition of parts and It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 in order to cover larger area by using multiple units
Regarding claim 12 Although D1 does not explicitly teach
12. The light detection device according to claim 10, wherein
the light-emitting unit includes a plurality of light-emitting element arrays arranged along a short direction of the light-emitting region, and(this is just a matter of the repetition of parts to cover large area)
the plurality of light-emitting element arrays are configured to sequentially emit the beam in the short direction.(and this is obvious configuration in order to sequentially scan different areas and therefore save power by not illuminating all sources simultaneously)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 in order to provide lidar device which can sequentially illuminate large area of interest without requiring extremely large instantaneous power.
Claim(s) 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 US 20180052234 A1.
Regarding claim4 D1 does not teach but D2 teaches
4. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
a front emission surface of the first optical element is in contact with a rear incident surface of the second optical element.[0047]
6. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the first optical element and the second optical element are integrally formed.(fig. 4 lenses 406+405) and [0047]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D2 as it is matter of the design choice which will result in specific dimensions of the output beam and based on the design will illuminate desired FOV.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US 20120057345 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 does not teach but D3 teaches
7. The light detection device according to claim 1, wherein
the optical unit further includes, before the first optical element,
a front optical element having a plurality of emission surface portions arranged along the specific array direction, each of the emission surface portions convexly curved in an orthogonal section, which is orthogonal to the specific section and along the transmission direction, toward an emission side, and
a rear optical element having a plurality of incident surface portions arranged along the specific array direction and facing to the plurality of emission surface portions, respectively, each of the incident surface portions convexly curved in the orthogonal section toward an incident side.(fig. 1A 52a and 52b) [0034]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D3 in order to spread across the complete non-uniform input beam from the combined Gaussian beams in plane.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D4 US 11555899 B2.
Regarding claim 11 D1 does not teach but D4 teaches
11. The light detection device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a scanning unit (13)configured to scan the beam emitted from the light-emitting unit to project the beam to the measurement area, wherein
the scanning unit includes a rotary mirror rotatable about a rotation axis that is along the specific array direction.(fig. 1)(col 5 and 6)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D4 in order to scan the beam pattern along larger region of interest.
Conclusion
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645