DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments combined with the claim amendments have been fully considered and are found persuasive with respect to the previous rejection(s); however, upon further search and consideration due to the change in scope, an updated grounds of rejection is presented below, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaeschke et al. (US 2010/0168596; hereinafter “Jaeschke”).
Regarding claim 1, Jaeschke discloses a maternal and/or fetal monitoring system comprising: a detection probe configured to conduct physiological measurements on a maternal abdomen, the detection probe comprising a probe housing configured to be attached to the maternal abdomen and a tocodynamometer in the probe housing configured to acquire the physiological measurements as pressure data from the maternal abdomen (e.g. ¶¶ 46 - #108); a plurality of electrodes integrated into the probe housing and configured to acquire biopotential physiological data from the maternal abdomen (e.g. ¶¶ 24, 38, 39, 46, etc. – “plethysmography electrode”); at least one controller configured to calculate at least two of fetal heart rate (fHR) values, maternal heart rate (mHR) values, and uterine activity (UA) values based on the pressure data and the biopotential physiological data (e.g. ¶¶ 30, 46, 65, etc.); and a graphical display communicatively connected to the at least one controller to receive and visually present the calculated fHR values and mHR values (e.g. ¶¶ 52).
Regarding claim 3, Jaeschke discloses at least three electrodes on a patient side of the probe housing surrounding a probe interface (e.g. Fig. 1, #108, 112, 114).
Regarding claim 4, Jaeschke discloses the probe interface is a diaphragm of a tocodynamometer (e.g. ¶¶ 48, etc.)
Regarding claim 5, Jaeschke discloses the plurality of electrodes are embedded in the probe housing so as to be substantially flush with an exterior surface of the probe housing (e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Jaeschke discloses the plurality of electrodes are attached to the probe housing such that they sit proud of the probe housing (e.g. Fig. 1, #108).
Regarding claim 7, Jaeschke wherein the at least one controller is configured to calculate mHR values based on at least the biopotential physiological data and the UA values based on at least the pressure data (e.g. ¶¶ 30, 46, 65, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Jaeschke discloses the electrodes are fixed on an exterior surface of the probe housing, and wherein the tocodynamometer and the plurality of electrodes are held in a fixed position relative to each other within the probe housing (e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Jaeschke aster discloses at least a portion of the plurality of electrodes are on a patient side of the probe housing surrounding a diaphragm of the tocodynamometer (e.g. ¶¶ 46-59).
Regarding claim 10, Jaeschke discloses at least a portion of the plurality of electrodes are on a patient-contacting side of a diaphragm of the tocodynamometer (e.g. Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaeschke.
Regarding claim 11, Jaeschke fails to expressly disclose a second detection probe as claimed. In this case, the components of the claimed second probe share the same components as addressed above with respect to independent claim 1; therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the Fetal monitoring system of Jaeschke having second or plurality of detection probes, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 12, Gaster as modified above would result in at least one controller further configured to select one of the biopotential physiological data from the tocodynamometer detection probe and the second biopotential physiological data from the second detection probe for determining the mHr based on mHR signal quality parameters (e.g. ¶¶ 30, 46, 65, etc.)
Regarding claim 13, Gaster as modified above would result in at least one controller is further configured to prompt a user to select one of the biopotential physiological data from the tocodynamometer detection probe and the second biopotential physiological data from the second detection probe for determining the mHr (e.g. ¶¶ 30, 46, 65, etc.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796