DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garcia Berrios et al. (hereinafter Garcia; US 2021/0098222).
Regarding claim 1, Garcia discloses a vacuum electronic device [e.g. figs. 1-3] configured to provide electrical current configured to be optically modulated by incident light, said vacuum electronic device comprising: an optically gated field emission photocathode [e.g. 120/121] comprising photoconductive material comprising a wide band-gap semiconductor or an ultrawide band-gap semiconductor [see at least paras. 0016, 0043, 0058]; an anode [e.g. 130B-2] comprising a conductive material; and a gap [see the figs.] between said photocathode and said anode, wherein said gap comprises vacuum [see at least vacuum pump 115], wherein said anode and photocathode are configured to receive a voltage [e.g. VDC2] across the anode and photocathode, and said photocathode is configured to receive incident light from an external light source, such that when said photocathode is illuminated with said incident light, photocarriers are generated in said photoconductive material and electrons are emitted from said photocathode and travel through said gap such that said vacuum electronic device provides electrical current that is optically modulated by said incident light.
Regarding claim 2, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said photoconductive material comprises a wide band-gap semiconductor [see at least paras. 0012, 0016, 0043, 0058].
Regarding claim 3, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said photoconductive material comprises a band-gap of from 3.0 eV to 3.5 eV [in reference of paras. 0003, 0023, claim 6, Sampayan (US 2019/0355561)].
Regarding claim 6, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said photoconductive material comprises p-type semiconductor [see at least paras. 0035, 0040, 0045, 0056].
Regarding claim 7, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said photoconductive material comprises SiC [see at least paras. 0016, 0043, 0058].
Regarding claim 8, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said photoconductive material comprises diamond [para. 0012; to improve the performance for lower turn-on voltages, higher emission current densities, lower noise, and improved stability].
Regarding claim 9, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said optically gated field emission photocathode comprises a pillar, tip, or apexes [see at least figs, 1-6] formed of said photoconductive material.
Regarding claim 10, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claims 1, wherein said photoconductive material comprises nanostructure [see at least para. 0043] configured to emit electrons.
Regarding claim 11, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, wherein said photoconductive material has a surface electron affinity sufficiently low that photocarriers that are emitted from the photocathode upon illumination with said light.
Regarding claim 12, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, further comprising a first substrate [e.g. 121], said photoconductive material disposed on said first substrate.
Regarding claim 13, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 12, wherein said first substrate comprises a semiconductor substrate [see at least paras. 0016, 0035-0036, 0040-0041, 0047, 0056].
Regarding claim 19, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of claim 1, wherein said anode has an opening therein for said light to pass or comprises a transparent conductor [e.g. aperture 134].
Regarding claim 20, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of claim 1, further comprising the external light source [e.g. 140B] configured to illuminate said photocathode and cause photocarriers to be generated in said photoconductive material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Berrios et al. (US 2021/0098222) in view of Koehler et al. (US 2024/0097064).
Regarding claim 4, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, except wherein said photoconductive material comprises an ultra-wide band-gap semiconductor. However, Koehler discloses the advantage of the ultra-wide band-gap semiconductor material [para. 0093-0094, similar to the description in the provisional application]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Garcia in accordance with the teaching of Koehler regarding ultra-wide band-gap semiconductor materials in order to provide high critical electric field strength, high carrier mobility, and high saturation velocity [paras. 0094].
Claims 5 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Berrios et al. (US 2021/0098222) in view of Chen et al. (US 2012/0001543).
Regarding claim 5, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 1, except wherein said photoconductive material comprises a band-gap of from 3.5 eV to 8.0 eV [see at least para. 0045]. However, Chen discloses a band-gap of from 3.5 eV to 8.0 eV [see at least para. 0045]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Garcia in accordance with the teaching of Chen regarding a band-gap in order to provide a band-gap of from 3.5 eV to 8.0 eV [paras. 0045].
Regarding claim 16, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of claim l, except further comprising a second substrate, said second substrate being optically transmissive or transparent to said light, said anode disposed on said second substrate. However, Chen discloses a second substrate [e.g. 308/704/804, silicon oxide], said second substrate being optically transmissive or transparent to said light [in reference of para. 0050 of US 2022/0128661 by Wang: silicon dioxide is sufficiently transparent as to light], said anode disposed on said second substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Garcia in accordance with the teaching of Chen regarding a dielectric material in order to accelerate/slow down electrons [paras. 0043, 0046-0047]
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the vacuum electronic device of claim 16, wherein said second substrate comprises a glass substrate [e.g. silicon dioxide Chen].
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the vacuum electronic device of any of claim 16, wherein said first [e.g. 121 Garcia] and second substrates [e.g. 802/702 Chen] are separated by spacers.
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Berrios et al. (US 2021/0098222) in view of Kapadia et al. (US 2023/0215678).
Regarding claim 14, Garcia discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 13, wherein said semiconductor substrate comprises a doped semiconductor substrate. Garcia does not discloses said first substrate further comprising a conductive layer or contact on a side of said first substrate opposite said photocathode. However, Kapadia discloses semiconductor substrate comprises a doped semiconductor substrate [e.g. p_inGaAs/p-InP or SiO2/P-Si], said first substrate further comprising a conductive layer or contact [e.g. contact fig. 2/4] on a side of said first substrate [e.g. the lower side of substrate] opposite said photocathode configured to be electrically connected to a source of voltage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Garcia in accordance with the teaching of Kapadia regarding a contact in order to utilize well-known contact for applying a voltage source [para. 0012].
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the vacuum electronic device of Claim 14, wherein said semiconductor substrate comprises doped silicon [see at least paras. 0020, 0052-0053 Kapadia, paras. 0015, 0016, 0019, 0035-0036, 0040-0041, 0047, 0056Garcia].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
‘Claim 1, however, has been amended to recite an optically gated field emission photocathode comprising photoconductive material comprising a wide band-gap semiconductor or an ultrawide band-gap semiconductor. Claim 1 (emphasis added). The Office Action has not established that Garcia Berrios discloses an optically gated field emission photocathode comprising photoconductive material comprising a wide band-gap semiconductor or an ultrawide band-gap semiconductor.
Accordingly, Claim 1 is not anticipated by Garcia Berrios. Claim 19 depends from Claim 1 and is patentable over Garcia Berrios for at least the reasons set forth above with regard to amended Claim 1. Applicant therefore respectfully requests the withdrawal of the rejection of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen.’
However, Garcia discloses an optically gated field emission photocathode [e.g. 120/121] comprising photoconductive material comprising a wide band-gap semiconductor or an ultrawide band-gap semiconductor [e.g. silicon carbide, see at least paras. 0016, 0043, 0058].
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836