DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Namiki (2013/0337722).
Regarding Claim 1, Namiki teaches A substrate cleaning apparatus (fig. 3) comprising:
a shaft (Ref. 18, Fig. 3) having an outer body and an interior volume (Fig. 4 shows the shaft (18) having an interior body and interior volume), the shaft having a length in a first direction (Fig. 3 shows a length in a vertical direction); and
a pad carrier assembly (Ref. 20, Fig. 4, [0061]) comprising:
a housing (Ref. 300 & 400, Fig. 4&8) connected to the outer body (18) in a fixed position relative to the outer body of the shaft ([0061] describes the housing are fixed to the shaft (18) via bolts, Fig. 5), the housing having an inner volume (fig. 4-8 shows an interior volume of the housing (300&400));
a piston (Ref. 406, Fig. 8) disposed in the inner volume of the housing (Fig. 8), the piston movable in the first direction based on pressure changes in the interior volume of the shaft ([0070-0074] describes the piston is movable due to pressure from a fluid in the chamber (410) moving the piston vertically);
a pad carrier (Ref. 408, Fig. 8); and
a flexible member (Ref. 420, Fig. 8, [0070]) connected between the housing (400) and the pad carrier (408, Fig. 8), the flexible member configured to extend or retract in the first direction with the pad carrier based on the pressure changes in the interior volume of the shaft ([0070] describes the flexible member (420) can expand and contract in a vertical direction based upon the pressure changes moving the piston up and down).
Regarding claim 2, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the piston is configured to apply a force on the pad carrier (408a) in the first direction to stretch the flexible member in the first direction ([0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a motor configured to rotate the shaft and the pad carrier assembly ([0040] describes rotating the shaft and carrier pad assembly via motor).
Regarding claim 4, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a diaphragm (Ref. 404, Fig. 8, [0070&0075]) positioned between the piston (406) and an upper portion of the housing (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the diaphragm configured to create a seal between the interior volume of the shaft and one or more portions of the inner volume of the housing located below the diaphragm (Fig. 4&8 shows the connection of the interior volume of the shaft and the inner volume of the housing forming a seal to move the piston up and down).
Regarding claim 5, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 4, as described above, and further teaches wherein an outer portion of the diaphragm is connected to the housing (Fig. 8, examiner notes connected to is interpreted as linked) and an inner portion of the diaphragm (Ref. 410, Fig. 8) is configured to deform and cause the piston to move in the first direction in response to increased pressure in the interior volume of the shaft ([0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further teaches wherein the inner portion of the diaphragm is attached to the piston ([0070&0074] describes the diaphragm (406) is attached to the piston (406)).
Regarding claim 7, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a rotary union (ref. 25, Fig. 3) connected to a first end of the interior volume of the shaft ([0040], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the pad carrier assembly includes a hard stop (Ref. 349, Fig. 8) configured to prevent further movement of the pad carrier in the first direction (fig. 4-7).
Regarding claim 10, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches wherein the flexible member includes an upper portion (See annotated Fig. 8 below) and a lower portion (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the upper portion connected to the housing (400, Fig. 8), and lower portion connected to the pad carrier (408, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Namiki teaches A substrate cleaning apparatus (fig. 3) comprising:
a shaft (Ref. 18, Fig. 3) having an outer body and an interior volume (Fig. 4 shows the shaft (18) having an interior body and interior volume), the shaft having a length in a first direction (Fig. 3 shows a length in an vertical direction); and
a pad carrier assembly (Ref. 20, Fig. 4, [0061]) comprising:
a housing (Ref. 300 & 400, Fig. 4&8) connected to the outer body in a fixed position relative to the outer body of the shaft ([0061] describes the housing are fixed to the shaft (18) via bolts, Fig. 5), the housing having an inner volume (fig. 4-8 shows an interior volume of the housing (300&400));
a piston (Ref. 406, Fig. 8) disposed in the inner volume of the housing (Fig. 8), the piston movable in the first direction ([0070-0074] describes the piston is movable due to pressure from a fluid in the chamber (410) moving the piston vertically);
a pad carrier (Ref. 408, Fig. 8); and
a diaphragm (Ref. 404, Fig. 8, [0070&0075]) positioned between the piston (406)and an upper portion of the housing (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the diaphragm configured to create a seal between the interior volume of the shaft and one or more portions of the inner volume of the housing located below the diaphragm (Fig. 4&8 shows the connection of the interior volume of the shaft and the inner volume of the housing forming a seal to move the piston up and down).
Regarding claim 14, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further teaches wherein an outer portion of the diaphragm is connected to the housing (Fig. 8, examiner notes connected to is interpreted as linked) and an inner portion of the diaphragm (Ref. 410, Fig. 8) is configured to deform and cause the piston to move in the first direction in response to increased pressure in the interior volume of the shaft ([0074]).
Regarding claim 15, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further teaches wherein the inner portion of the diaphragm is attached to the piston ([0070&0074] describes the diaphragm (406) is attached to the piston (406)).
Regarding claim 16, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 15, as described above, and further teaches a flexible member (Ref. 420, Fig. 8, [0070]) having an upper portion (See annotated Fig. 8 below) and a lower portion (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the upper portion connected to the housing (400, Fig. 8), and lower portion connected to the pad carrier (408, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 16, as described above, and further teaches wherein the piston is configured to apply a force on the pad carrier (408a) in the first direction to stretch the flexible member in the first direction ([0070]).
Regarding claim 18, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further teaches wherein the pad carrier assembly includes a hard stop (Ref. 349, Fig. 8) configured to prevent further movement of the pad carrier in the first direction (Fig. 4-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bagnall (0,613,227).
Regarding Claim 8, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further teaches a table (Ref. 100, Fig. 3) configured to support a substrate (Ref. 101, Fig. 3), the table spaced apart from the pad carrier in the first direction (Fig. 3). Namiki fails to explicitly teach a vacuum table. Bagnall teaches a surface cleaning apparatus with a table shaft and pad carrier assembly and can be considered analogous art because it is within the same field of endeavor. Bagnall teaches a vacuum table (Ref. a, Fig. 1) to allow for secure connection of the substrate to the table ([Pg. 1, Liens 14-17]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the table, as taught by Namiki, to be a vacuum table, as taught by Bagnall, to allow for secure connection of the substrate to the table ([Pg. 1, Liens 14-17]).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Swainson (3,081,991).
Regarding Claims 11, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach the flexible member is more torsionally rigid than axially rigid. Swainson teaches a supported torsion bar and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to have more torsionally rigid than axially rigid. Swainson teaches a flexible member (Ref. 14, Fig. 1) that connected to an upper and lower pieces (Ref. 12, fig. 1) is more torsionally rigid than axially rigid ([Col. 2, Lines 36-39] describes the flexible members allows for a movement in a linear direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the flexible member, as taught by Namiki, with the flexible member to be more torsionally rigid than axially rigid, as taught by Swainson, to achieve the predictable result of moving two parts in a linear direction and providing stronger torsional strength ([Col. 2, Lines 35-39]).
Regarding Claims 12, Namiki teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the flexible member is at least ten times more torsionally rigid than axially rigid. Swainson teaches a supported torsion bar and can be considered analogous art because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor to have more torsionally rigid than axially rigid. Swainson teaches a flexible member (Ref. 14, Fig. 1) that connected to an upper and lower pieces (Ref. 12, fig. 1) is more torsionally rigid than axially rigid ([Col. 2, Lines 36-39] describes the flexible members allows for a movement in a linear direction) and that the torsional rigidity is variable depending on the flexible member ([Col. 2, Lines 47-52]). Therefore It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify flexible members to have at least ten times more torsionally rigid than axially rigid since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Namiki would not operate differently with the increase in torsional rigidity since the flexible member would still allow for movement in a vertical direction. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply the torsional rigidity can be “e.g. at least ten times greater or at least 100 times greater” and within the claimed ranges (specification [0034-0035]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namiki (2013/0337722) in view of Choi (2009/0305613).
Regarding claim 19, Namiki teaches A substrate cleaning system (fig. 3) comprising:
a substrate cleaning apparatus (fig. 3) comprising:
a substrate support (Ref. 14, Fig. 1);
a shaft (Ref. 18, Fig. 3) having an outer body and an interior volume (Fig. 4 shows the shaft (18) having an interior body and interior volume), the shaft having a length in a first direction (Fig. 3 shows a length in an vertical direction); and
a pad carrier assembly (Ref. 20, Fig. 4, [0061]) comprising:
a housing (Ref. 300 & 400, Fig. 4&8) connected to the outer body in a fixed position relative to the outer body of the shaft ([0061] describes the housing are fixed to the shaft (18) via bolts, Fig. 5), the housing having an inner volume (fig. 4-8 shows an interior volume of the housing (300&400));
a piston (Ref. 406, Fig. 8) disposed in the inner volume of the housing (Fig. 8), the piston movable in the first direction ([0070-0074] describes the piston is movable due to pressure from a fluid in the chamber (410) moving the piston vertically);
a pad carrier (Ref. 408, Fig. 8); and
a flexible member (Ref. 420, Fig. 8, [0070]) having an upper portion (See annotated Fig. 8 below) and a lower portion (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the upper portion connected to the housing (400, Fig. 8), and the lower portion connected to the pad carrier (408, Fig. 8); and
adjusting a pressure in the interior volume of the shaft to stretch the flexible member in the first direction and move the pad carrier closer to the substrate support ([0074-0075] describes the adjusting the pressure of the interior volume to stretch the flexible member to move the pad carrier and apply desired pressure to the substrate support).
Namiki fails to explicitly teach a controller configured to adjust a pressure in the interior volume of the shaft to stretch the flexible member in the first direction and move the pad carrier closer to the substrate support. Choi teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (Fig. 1) with a controller ([0054] describes a flow meter to control flow rate and pressure of air supplied to move the pad carrier into contact) configured to adjust a pressure in an interior volume of a shaft (Ref. 426, Fig. 5) to stretch a flexible member (Ref. 425, Fig. 5) in the first direction and move a pad carrier closer (Ref. 420, Fig. 5) to the substrate support ([0053] describes the flexible member to stretch and vertically extend due to air pressure to move the pad carrier (420) closer to the substrate support (100)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus, as taught by Namiki, to have a controller configured to adjust a pressure in the interior volume of the shaft to stretch the flexible member in the first direction and move the pad carrier closer to the substrate support, as taught by Choi, since such a modification would yield the predictable result of adjusting pressure of the interior volume of the shaft to stretch the flexible member and move the pad carrier in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 20, Namiki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19, as described above, and Namiki further teaches a motor configured to rotate the shaft and the pad carrier assembly ([0040] describes rotating the shaft and carrier pad assembly via motor); and
a diaphragm (Ref. 404, Fig. 8, [0070&0075]) positioned between the piston (406) and an upper portion of the housing (See annotated Fig. 8 below), the diaphragm configured to create a seal between the interior volume of the shaft and one or more portions of the inner volume of the housing located below the diaphragm (Fig. 4&8 shows the connection of the interior volume of the shaft and the inner volume of the housing forming a seal to move the piston up and down).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uzoh (6,612,915), Oh (2007/0289124), and Lee (2004/0048553) teach polishing apparatuses with a shaft and pad carrier and can be considered analogous art because they are within the same field of endeavor.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner' s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached on (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppairmy.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DANA LEE POON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723