DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on January 30, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simmons (US 2015/0378122 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Simmons discloses a surface mount module (100 in Figs. 1-6A) for distributing electrical power and fiber optic data connectivity from a power fiber cable (20), the surface mount module comprising: a base (120) having one or more features for attaching the surface mount module to a surface (see Figs. 3, 4A); a cover (110) attachable to the base to define an interior space inside the surface mount module, the interior space (Figs. 4C, 6A) including one or more wire management devices (137) for routing electrical power wires (26) and optical fibers (28) that break out from the power fiber cable; at least one port (132a) configured to provide fiber optic data connectivity with the optical fibers that break out from the power fiber cable inside the interior space; at least one port (132b) configured to distribute electrical power from the electrical power wires of the power fiber cable; and a power adapter (150) configured for fixation to the at least one port configured to distribute electrical power, and being further configured to receive an internal power connector (portion terminating electrical conductors 26 in Fig. 6C) at an interior side and to receive an external power connector (45 in Figs. 4A, 4C) at an exterior side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (US 2015/0378122 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Simmons teaches the claimed invention except for a terminal cover. However, terminal covers are ubiquitous in the art of communications modules and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use a terminal cover extending outwardly and configured to cover screw terminals on the external power connector when the external power connector is inserted into the power adapter for the purpose of preventing the external power connector from being disengaged.
Regarding claims 6-9, Simmons further discloses the internal power connector received at the interior side of the power adapter, and the external power connector received at the exterior side of the power adapter, and electrically connecting the external power connector to the internal power connector in Fig. 6C and paragraphs 0037 and 0058. Simmons teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the external power connector includes prongs. However, prongs mating with corresponding receptacles are ubiquitous in the art of communications modules and as such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use prongs positioned inside a cavity, for mating the proximal end of the external power connector with a distal end of the internal power connector for the purpose of enhancing the electrical connection interface. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to have the proximal end of the external power connector at least partially surrounding the distal end of the internal power connector as well as a latch providing a mechanical connection for the purpose of forming a rugged and robust device.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Simmons discloses two ports for distributing electrical power and two ports for providing fiber optic data connectivity in Fig. 4C.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (US 2015/0378122 A1) in view of Cowham et al. (US 10,622,768).
Regarding claims 2-4, Simmons teaches the claimed invention except for the adapter having catch features. Cowham discloses a power adapter (104 in Figs. 1, 5) including a first set of catch features (504 on top of adapter) and a second set of catch features (504 on bottom of adapter), the first and second sets of catch features being positioned on opposite sides of the power adapter, and each including a movable latch that flexes enabling a groove to catch onto a wall (accompanying description of Fig. 5 discloses mounting features 504 clip onto a structure such as a wall) that at least partially defines the at least one port configured to distribute electrical power. Cowham further discloses the power adapter includes a pair of arms (1504 in Fig. 15) extending outwardly from the interior side, each arm including a latch at a terminal end to fix the internal power connector (148 in Fig. 1) to the power adapter. Since both inventions relate to communications wires, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use the catch features disclosed by Cowham in the device of Simmons for the purpose of assisting in mounting the module to a structure.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmons (US 2015/0378122 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 5,885,109).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Simmons teaches the claimed invention except for the specifically stating screw terminals. Lee discloses power connectors (Fig. 8) comprising positive and negative polarity terminals (column 5, lines 13-22) configured to receive electrical power wires (1825), the power connector including screw terminals (1822) that each include a screw (1824) configured to be turned in clockwise and counterclockwise directions to tighten and untighten, respectively, the positive and negative polarity terminals onto the electrical power wires. Since both inventions relate to communications wires, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use screw terminals disclosed by Lee in the device of Simmons for the purpose of securing fastening the electrical wires in place. Further, it would be obvious to include the terminals in the internal and external power connectors in order to securely fasten the wires at both connectors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 2-6, with respect to claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 2-4, Applicant argues that the electrical connection interface 150 of Simmons “is a receptacle connector, not an adapter component that is structured to receive two separate connectors at opposite sides.” However, reference is made to Fig. 2 of Simmons disclosing electrical cables 26 having connectorized ends 27. The accompanying description in paragraph 0040 states “the conductors in trunk cable 20 can be pre-terminated with an appropriate electrical or optical fiber connectors(s).” Specifically regarding electrical cables, Simmons further states “electrical connectors can be socket style contacts 27.” It is clear these pre-terminated, connector contacts 27 would be inserted into electrical connection interface 150 to mate with external electrical connectors. Thus, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, electrical connection interface 150 is indeed an adapter component structured to receive two separate connectors at opposite sides.
On pages 5-6, Applicant further states there is no separate and intermediate adapter component “that is configured to receive both an internal connector from the interior space and an external connector from the exterior.” However, as stated above, Fig. 2 of Simmons shows electrical cables 26 pre-terminated and having connectorized ends 27. These constitute an “internal connector from the interior space” and are clearly separate and distinct from the electrical connection interface 150. The electrical jumper 45 having ruggedized connectors 46 shown in Fig. 4C constitute an “external connector from the exterior” which are also separate and distinct from the electrical connection interface 150. Because the electrical connection interface 150 is structurally distinct from connectorized socket 27 and from ruggedized connector 46, it is a separate and intermediate adapter component that “that is configured to receive both an internal connector from the interior space and an external connector from the exterior.”
For the reasons stated, the prima facie rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 May 20, 2026