DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 07/29/2026 and 07/31/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 02/10/2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 07/29/2026. The previous 35 USC 112 rejections have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-28 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15, and 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, the claims recite “the thermally conductive body being a single piece solid body” which renders the claims indefinite. The term “solid body” is understood to refer to a body with a continuous mass of material with no internal space that could accommodate a substance such as a PCM. However, in paragraph [0042] of the specification, Applicant discloses “The cooling unit 150” can include a cold side heat sink 70” with a body 72” that optionally includes one or more volumes (e.g., a plurality of volumes) of phase change material (PCM) 74” via which the cold side heat sink 70” can function as a reservoir (e.g., cold storage reservoir)”. In other words, a hollow thermally conductive body. Thus, the disclosed structure of the thermally conductive body as a single piece solid body is not supported by the specification or the drawings which renders the claims indefinite.
Claims 5-7, 12-14, and 18-28 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 7-8, 12-13, 15, and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot et al. (US20160313047A1, herein after referred to as Sodot).
Regarding claim 1, and due to indefiniteness, Sodot teaches a coffee maker (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), comprising: a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]); one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the cooling unit operable to freeze (paragraphs [0036] and [0042]) at least a portion of the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0036] where it is understood to be the entire volume of phase-change material 18) to provide a cold storage reservoir (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 and paragraphs [0035] to [0036]), a passageway (corresponds to the combination of conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 paragraph [0057] and Fig. 12) within which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the passageway being in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) that cools the beverage as it flows within the passageway (paragraph [0035]) to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]); and a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) at least partially disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the passageway (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body in direct thermal contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12), with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12) and with a majority of the passageway (paragraph [0057] and Fig. 12), the one or more thermoelectric modules configured to simultaneously cool the thermally conductive body and the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12, paragraphs [0036], [0046], and [0047]), the thermally conductive body being a single piece solid body from the one or more thermoelectric modules to the passageway (Fig. 12).
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body defining the passageway and being a single piece with the passageway”.
However, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches the thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 3) defining the passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 3) and being a single piece with the passageway (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “the thermally conductive body defining the passageway and being a single piece with the passageway” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sodot to provide a more compact unit.
Regarding claim 8, and due to indefiniteness, Sodot teaches a beverage dispensing machine (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), comprising: a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) including: one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]); one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the cooling unit operable to freeze the one volume of phase change material (paragraphs [0036] and [0042]) to provide a cold storage reservoir (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 and paragraphs [0035] to [0036]), a flowpath (corresponds to the combination of conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 paragraph [0057] and Fig. 12) in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) and via which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the one volume of phase change material configured to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]); and a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) at least partially disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the flowpath (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body in direct thermal contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12), with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12) and with a majority of the flowpath (Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]), the one or more thermoelectric modules configured to simultaneously cool the thermally conductive body and the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12, paragraphs [0036], [0046], and [0047]), the thermally conductive body being a single piece solid body from the one or more thermoelectric modules to the flowpath (Fig. 12).
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body defining the flowpath and being a single piece with the flowpath”.
However, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches the thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 3) defining the flowpath (conduit 20 Fig. 3) and being a single piece with the flowpath (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “the thermally conductive body defining the flowpath and being a single piece with the flowpath” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sodot to provide a more compact unit.
Regarding claim 15, and due to indefiniteness, Sodot teaches in combination with a beverage dispensing machine (disclosed “automated beverage dispensing system” in paragraph [0039]), a cooling unit (beverage cooler 100 Fig. 12) comprising: one or more thermoelectric modules (heat pump 12 Fig. 12 with paragraphs [0044] and [0057]); one volume of phase change material (phase-change material 18 Fig. 12), the cooling unit operable to charge (paragraphs [0036] and [0042]) at least a portion of the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0036] where it is understood to be the entire volume of phase-change material 18) such that the one volume of phase change material transition from one state to another (paragraph [0042] where a person skilled in the art would recognize that charging the accumulator below its phase-change temperature will lead to a phase change) to provide a cold storage reservoir (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12 and paragraphs [0035] to [0036]), a passageway (corresponds to the combination of conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 paragraph [0057] and Fig. 12) along which a beverage (disclosed “beverage” in paragraph [0035]) flows (paragraph [0035]), the passageway being in thermal communication with the one volume of phase change material (paragraph [0057]) that cools the beverage as it flows within the passageway (paragraph [0035]) to chill the beverage before it is dispensed (paragraph [0036]); and a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) at least partially disposed between the one volume of phase change material and the passageway (Fig. 12), the thermally conductive body in direct thermal contact with the one or more thermoelectric modules (Fig. 12), with the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12) and with a majority of the passageway (Fig. 12 and paragraph [0057]), the one or more thermoelectric modules configured to simultaneously cool the thermally conductive body and the one volume of phase change material (Fig. 12, paragraphs [0036], [0046], and [0047]), the thermally conductive body being a single piece solid body from the one or more thermoelectric modules to the passageway (Fig. 12).
Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the thermally conductive body defining the passageway and being a single piece with the passageway”.
However, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches the thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 3) defining the passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 3) and being a single piece with the passageway (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “the thermally conductive body defining the passageway and being a single piece with the passageway” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sodot to provide a more compact unit.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body is a metal body (paragraphs [0041] and [0057] where it is understood that heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16 Fig.12 which is a part of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 is made of a metallic material).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Sodot teaches wherein the one volume of the phase change material is disposed in one or more cavities (Fig. 12 where a cavity would correspond to the space between two adjacent heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16) in the thermally conductive body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the passageway comprises an inclined surface”.
However, a different embodiment of Sodot teaches wherein the passageway (conduit 20 Fig. 14) comprises an inclined surface (bottom portion of conduit 20 Fig. 14) to provide filtering (paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the passageway comprises an inclined surface” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Sodot to provide filtering.
Regarding claim 19, Sodot teaches wherein the thermally conductive body is a metal body (paragraphs [0041] and [0057] where it is understood that heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16 Fig.12 which is a part of negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 is made of a metallic material).
Regarding claim 20, Sodot teaches wherein the one volume of the phase change material is disposed in one or more cavities (Fig. 12 where a cavity would correspond to the space between two adjacent heat-energy dispersion arrangement 16) in the thermally conductive body (Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 21, 22, and 23, Sodot teaches wherein the cooling unit is configured to direct the chilled beverage to a drinkware container (disclosed “cup” in paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claims 24, 25, and 26, Sodot teaches wherein the one or more thermoelectric modules is a plurality of separate thermoelectric modules (Fig. 6).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot in view of Jones (US20170234610A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the flowpath comprises an inclined surface between a proximal end and a distal end of the flowpath”.
However, Jones teaches wherein the flowpath (body 30 Fig. 3 which corresponds to the flowpath of Sodot) comprises an inclined surface (upper surface 40 Fig. 3) between a proximal end (leading edge 96 Fig. 3) and a distal end (trailing edge 100 Fig. 3) of the flowpath to control the cooling time of the beverage (paragraph [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the flowpath comprises an inclined surface between a proximal end and a distal end of the flowpath” in view of the teachings of Jones to control the cooling time of the beverage.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sodot in view of Godbole et al. (WO2015148346A1, herein after referred to as Godbole).
Regarding claims 27-28, Sodot teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the one or more volumes of phase change material disposed in one or more cavities in the thermally conductive body are a plurality of volumes of phase change material disposed in a plurality of separate cavities in the thermally conductive body”.
However, Godbole teaches wherein one or more volumes of phase change material (disclosed “phase change material 200” in paragraph [0156] corresponds to the one or more volumes of phase change material of Sodot) disposed in one or more cavities (cavities 680 Fig. 19) in a thermally conductive body (phase change material heat exchanger 650 Fig. 19 corresponds to the thermally conductive body of Sodot) are a plurality of volumes of phase change material (paragraph [0156]) disposed in a plurality of separate cavities (paragraph [0156] and Fig. 19) in the thermally conductive body to improve the heat transfer process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sodot to include “wherein the one or more volumes of phase change material disposed in one or more cavities in the thermally conductive body are a plurality of volumes of phase change material disposed in a plurality of separate cavities in the thermally conductive body” in view of the teachings of Godbole to improve the heat transfer process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-8 that Sodot does not teach “the thermally conductive body in direct thermal contact with a majority of the passageway” as disclosed by amended claims 1, 8, and 15, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejections of amended claims 1, 8, and 15 are repeated below:
Sodot teaches a thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 12) in direct thermal contact with a majority of the passageway (paragraph [0057] and Fig. 12 where the combination of conduit 20 and thermally-conductive block 102 corresponds to the passageway).
Furthermore, Examiner disagrees with Applicant’ s assertion that “conduit 20 is separate from the thermally conductive block 102”. In paragraph [0057], Sodot explicitly discloses that “a majority of a length of conduit 20 from inlet 22 to outlet 24 is integrated within a thermally-conductive block 102”. In other words, conduit 20 and block 102 form a single integral piece.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 6-8 that Sodot does not teach “the thermally conductive body defining the passageway/flowpath and being a single piece with the passageway/flowpath” as recited by amended claims 1, 8, and 15, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejections of amended claims 1, 8, and 15 are repeated below:
A different embodiment of Sodot teaches the thermally conductive body (negative-heat-energy-accumulator 14 Fig. 3) defining the passageway/flowpath (conduit 20 Fig. 3) and being a single piece with the passageway/flowpath (Fig. 3) to provide a more compact unit.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763