Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note: claims 8-14 are being treated as product by process claims, therefore the manufacturing limitations are not given patentable weight.
Claim(s) 1 -3, and 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al, US 20080157348 A1
Hu teaches:
a hot areas generating portion (120) that generates hot areas during operation; and hybrid diamond heat spreaders (HDHSs) (122, 112) that are configured to dissipate at least part of the heat generated in the hot areas; wherein a HDHS of the HDHSs comprises at least two layers that include: (para 15)
a crystalline diamond layer of a first thickness, a first mechanical strength, a first thermal conductivity, and a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE); and a diamond layer support element of a second thickness, a second mechanical strength, a second thermal conductivity, and a second CTE. (para 15-17)
Note: A diamond layer is crystalline by definition, see attached supporting evidence Wikipedia downloaded December 8, 2025.
2. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim | wherein at least one of the following is true: (a) the first thickness is lower than the second thickness; (b) the first mechanical strength is higher than the second mechanical strength; (c) the first thermal conductivity exceeds the second thermal conductivity; or (d) the second CTE exceeds the first CTE. (para 15-17)
3. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim 2 wherein the first thickness is lower than the second thickness, the first mechanical strength is higher than the second mechanical strength, the first thermal conductivity exceeds the second thermal conductivity; and the second CTE exceeds the first CTE. (para 15-17)
15. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor unit is a single die. (para 12)
16. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim 1, wherein the HDHSs are in thermal communication with the hot areas generating portion and are in mechanical communication with the hot areas generating portion (para 11)
17. (Currently Amended) A method for manufacturing a silicon unit, the method comprises obtaining a hot areas (120) generating portion that generates hot areas during operation; obtaining hybrid diamond heat spreaders (HDHSs) (112, 122); and establishing a thermal communication between the hot areas generating portion and the HDHSs; wherein once established, the HDHSs are configured to dissipate at least part of the heat generated in the hot areas; wherein a HDHS of the HDHSs comprises: (i) a
crystalline diamond layer of a first thickness, a first mechanical strength, a first thermal conductivity, and a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE); and (it) a diamond layer support element of a second thickness, a second mechanical strength, a second thermal conductivity, and a second CTE; wherein the first thickness is lower than the second thickness, the first mechanical strength is higher than the second mechanical strength, the first thermal conductivity exceeds the second thermal conductivity and the second CTE exceeds the first CTE. (para 15-17)
18. (Original) The method according to claim 17 wherein at least one of the following is true: (a) the first thickness is lower than the second thickness; (b) the first mechanical strength is higher than the second mechanical strength; (c) the first thermal conductivity exceeds the second thermal conductivity; or (d) the second CTE exceeds the first CTE. (para 15-17)
19. (Original) The method according to claim 18 wherein the first thickness is lower than the second thickness, the first mechanical strength is higher than the second mechanical strength, the first thermal conductivity exceeds the second thermal conductivity; and the second CTE exceeds the first CTE. (para 15-17)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu.
Hu fails to teach:
wherein the hybrid diamond heat spreaders are spaced apart from each other and their aggregate area is smaller than the area of the semiconductor unit.
Hu discloses:
The assembly 110 also includes a structure 122 positioned in alignment with the hot spot 120. By aligned it is meant that at least part of the structure 122 is positioned over the hot spot 120. If the assembly were flipped, with the die on top and the heat spreader on the bottom, then at least part of the structure would be positioned under the hot spot. Where multiple hot spots 120 are present, multiple structures 122 may be used. (para 10)
In regards to the area, this value would have been optimized through routine experimentation and would not lend itself to patentability in the instant application, without displaying unexpected results. (in Re Alller)
Hu further teaches:
6. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim 4, wherein the HDHSs (122) are attached to the hot area generating portion (120) and are at least partially surrounded by a filler (116). (figure 2)
Hu fails to teach claim 7:
7. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor unit comprises a first wafer and a second wafer, wherein the hot area generating portion belongs to the first wafer and the HDHSs are connected to the second wafer.
Hu discloses:
Integrated circuits may be formed on semiconductor wafers that are formed from materials such as silicon. The semiconductor wafers are processed to form various electronic devices thereon. The wafers are diced into semiconductor chips, which may then be attached to a package substrate using a variety of known methods. In one known method for attaching a chip (also known as a die) to a substrate… (para 01)
In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a semiconductor unit that comprises a first wafer and a second wafer, wherein the hot area generating portion belongs to the first wafer and the HDHSs are connected to the second wafer, because this is conventionally done in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art references fail to teach:
5. (Original) The semiconductor unit according to claim 4, wherein the hot areas are formed at a first side of the semiconductor unit and the HDHSs are positioned within cavities formed in a second side of the semiconductor unit, the second side differs from the first side.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL . LEBENTRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2893
/MICHAEL LEBENTRITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893