DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a normal temperature”; however, it is submitted that it is unclear what value is representative of “normal” as neither the claim nor written description provide a frame of reference for determining a “normal” temperature. Appropriate correction is required.
The remaining claims are rejected for at least the reason of their direct and/or indirect dependency from independent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (CN 106617324) in view of Dorrell (US 3801954).
With regard to claim 1, Cheng teaches a heating assembly (FIG. 2), comprising: a heating bowl (102, FIG. 2); a base (1031, FIGS. 2 & 3) comprising a first electrode (first of “multiple electrodes 1033”) and a second electrode (second of “multiple electrodes 1033”), the base being configured to carry the heating bowl (102), the first electrode and the second electrode (electrodes 1033) being configured to be electrically connected to the heating bowl (102); and an elastic engagement piece (108) arranged on the base (1031), the elastic engagement piece (108) being configured to lock the heating bowl (102) on the base (1031) (“the flexible member 108 is preferably a compression spring, and the lower end of the compression spring is connected to In the fixed seat 1031 in sleeve pipe 109, its upper end elasticity is connected on the lower surface of the flange 116, with to Heating Cup 102 apply jacking force upwards.”, pg. 4, ln. 8-9).
Cheng does not teach that the elastic engagement piece’s shape is modified when heated and the shape changing to a non-coupling shape at a normal temperature; however, Dorrell directed toward the same problem of providing a temperature dependent elastic member performing an engagement function teaches the aforementioned limitation: “When it is desired to lock the receptacle 14 and plug 12 in coupled engagement, sufficient heat is applied to bring the locking memory member 25 to its transitional temperature range for recovery of its original shape. As will be understood from FIGS. 4 and 5, the original shape of the locking memory member 25 is such that a considerable force is exerted on the opposed annular surfaces 42 and 44 to thereby provide a highly rigid coupling of the plug 12 and receptacle 14.”, col. 4, ln. 54-62.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Cheng reference, such that the elastic engagement piece’s shape is modified when heated and the shape changing to a locking state and otherwise a non-locking state at a normal temperature; however, Dorrell directed toward the same problem of providing a temperature dependent elastic member performing an engagement function, as suggested and taught by Dorrell, for the purpose of providing a highly rigid coupling between two components (Dorrell: col. 4, ln. 54-62).
With regard to claim 2, with regard to the limitation of the elastic engagement piece comprises two elastic arms, wherein, in a heated state, the two elastic arms are heated and deformed inward so as to lock the heating bowl, and wherein, at the normal temperature, the two elastic arms are released from a heating constraint and restore to open outward so as to release the heating bowl, Dorrell teaches two elastic arms (FIG. 1 illustrates locking member 25 having two arms having an inverted “V” shape in the figure) which upon heating exert a force upon opposed annular surfaces 42/44 (““When it is desired to lock the receptacle 14 and plug 12 in coupled engagement, sufficient heat is applied to bring the locking memory member 25 to its transitional temperature range for recovery of its original shape. As will be understood from FIGS. 4 and 5, the original shape of the locking memory member 25 is such that a considerable force is exerted on the opposed annular surfaces 42 and 44 to thereby provide a highly rigid coupling of the plug 12 and receptacle 14.”, col. 4, ln. 54-62.). It is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Cheng reference, such that the elastic engagement piece’s two elastic arms are modified when heated and the shape changing to a non-locking shape at a normal temperature; however, Dorrell directed toward the same problem of providing a temperature dependent elastic member performing an engagement function, as suggested and taught by Dorrell, for the purpose of providing a highly rigid coupling between two components (Dorrell: col. 4, ln. 54-62). Assuming it was determined that the arms of Dorrell are determined to not be “restored to open outward” at a normal temperature. It is submitted that as Dorrell teaches a material whose shape can be modified upon application of heat, and additionally, Dorrell teaches that this modified shape performs a locking function between two components, it is submitted that a specific adaptation of the elastic members shape would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation and/or as an Obvious Change in Shape to adapt an elastic engagement piece for a specific application/configuration based upon the respective contour/shape of the respective two components that require a coupling to occur therebetween (see MPEP 2144.IV.B. Change in Shape).
With regard to claim 3, Dorrell teaches each of the elastic arms (25) comprises a connected deformable section (FIG. 1 illustrates locking member 25 having two arms having an inverted “V” shape in the figure) and non-deformable section (25b), the non-deformable section (25b) being attached to a side wall (40, FIG. 1) of the base, the deformable section (FIG. 1 illustrates locking member 25 having two arms having an inverted “V” shape in the figure) of each of the two elastic arms (25) being in an open state at room temperature, and the deformable section being deformed inward when heated so as to lock the two components (FIG. 1 illustrates locking member 25 having two arms having an inverted “V” shape in the figure) which upon heating exert a force upon opposed annular surfaces 42/44 (““When it is desired to lock the receptacle 14 and plug 12 in coupled engagement, sufficient heat is applied to bring the locking memory member 25 to its transitional temperature range for recovery of its original shape. As will be understood from FIGS. 4 and 5, the original shape of the locking memory member 25 is such that a considerable force is exerted on the opposed annular surfaces 42 and 44 to thereby provide a highly rigid coupling of the plug 12 and receptacle 14.”, col. 4, ln. 54-62.). Assuming it was determined that the arms of Dorrell are determined to not be “deformed inward when heated”, it is submitted that as Dorrell teaches a material whose shape can be modified upon application of heat, and additionally, Dorrell teaches that this modified shape performs a locking function between two components. It is respectfully submitted that a specific adaptation of the elastic members shape would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art as a matter of routine experimentation and/or as an Obvious Change in Shape to adapt an elastic engagement piece for a specific application/configuration based upon the respective contour/shape of the respective two components that require a coupling to occur therebetween (see MPEP 2144.IV.B. Change in Shape).
With regard to claim 11, Cheng teaches A vaporizer (title: “electronic smoking utensil”), comprising: the heating assembly of claim 1.
With regard to claim 12, Cheng teaches An electronic vaporization device (title: “electronic smoking utensil”), comprising: the vaporizer of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and additionally, overcoming the definiteness rejection(s) indicated above. Accordingly, as an example, with regard to “objected to” claim 4, a new independent claim which includes ALL of the limitations of claims 1-4 (and additionally overcomes the definiteness rejection(s) indicated above.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761