DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that the prior art, Kim and/or Kim in view of Lee, does not teach the amended limitation of a heat-concentrated region near an opening in the first metal line and a dielectric material disposed in the opening. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner finds evidence that regions where two metal layers connect to each other as regions where heat is concentrated. See Yamano reference below. Furthermore, the examiner finds that the Kim teaches a gap in the first metal line. See 35 USC § 102 rejection using Kim below for details. Lastly, the examiner finds evidence that the air inside the gap of the metal line acts as a dielectric. See Chen reference below.
Furthermore, upon further search and consideration, the examiner finds, a new reference, Bae, to teach the limitations of the claims. See the 35 USC § 102 rejection based on Bae.
In summary, the application is not in a condition of an allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 attempts to limit claim 1 by stating “wherein the heat-concentrated region is a region where heat is concentrated.” However, parent claim 1 already declares the said region to be a heat-concentrated region. Hence, there are no additional attributes that claim 2 recites that further limits parent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae (US 2022/0108921 A1) as evidenced by Yamano (WO 2018/225571 A1) and Chen (US 2022/0293607 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bae teaches a metal wiring of a semiconductor device (Fig. 12), comprising:
a first metal line (204S1 & 204S2 & 204S3 & 205S & 250) disposed in a first metal layer (220 & 230 & 231), and the first metal line having an opening (T4 & T5) in a heat-concentrated region (regions of T4 & T5 where 204 contacts 201; ¶ [0059]: 204 is a supervia that contacts a contact metal 201 around T4 & T5; as evidenced by Yamano, see Fig. 2 and ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two wiring layers, 2 & 52, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region);
a dielectric material (air, as evidenced by Chen, see ¶ [0042] and claim 9, air is a dielectric) disposed in the opening; and
a contact metal (201) passing through a dielectric layer (210, see ¶ [0042] ) beneath the first metal layer the contact metal being connected to the first metal line around the opening (see Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the heat-concentrated region is a region where heat is concentrated (¶ [0059]: 204 is a supervia that contacts a lower metal pattern 201; as evidenced by Yamano, see Fig. 2 and ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two wiring layers, 2 & 52, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region).
Regarding claim 3, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the contact metal has a line shape (Fig. 12 shows 201 extends horizontally, with the top surface of 201 having a line shape) that crosses the first metal line when viewed on a top (Fig. 12 shows the top surface of 201 overlaps the gap regions T4&T5 of the first metal line, hence, when viewed from the top, the top surface of 201 crosses over the first metal line), and the heat-concentrated region is a region (regions where 210 contacts 205S) where the first metal line and the contact metal cross each other when viewed on the top (as evidenced by Yamano ¶ [0103], the heat is concentrated surrounding an area where the two metal wirings contact each other) .
Regarding claim 6, Bae teaches a metal wiring of a semiconductor device (Fig. 12), comprising:
a first metal line (204S1 & 204S2 & 204S3 & 205S & 250) disposed in a first metal layer (220 & 230 & 231) and disconnected in a heat-concentrated region (region of trenches T4 and T5 next to where the first metal line contacts a contact metal 201 is a heat-concentrated region; as evidenced by Yamano, ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two wiring layers, 2 & 52, see Fig. 2, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region);
a dielectric material (air, as evidenced by Chen, see ¶ [0042] and claim 9, air is a dielectric) disposed in the heat-concentrated region;
and a contact metal (201) passing through a first dielectric layer (210, see ¶ [0042] ) beneath the first metal layer, crossing the first metal line in the heat-concentrated region in a vertical direction (the top surface of 201 crosses the first metal line when viewed from the top), and electrically connecting disconnected ends (204S1, 204S2, and 204S3 are disconnected by trenches T4 and T5) of to the first metal line (Fig. 12 shows 201 connecting ends 204S1, 204S2, and 204S3).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bae (US 2022/0108921 A1) as evidenced by NPL: “Thermal Conductivity of Air, Ruthenium, and Molybdenum”.
Regarding claim 5, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the dielectric material (air: 25.87 mW/m-K at 20 C, see evidence in NPL reference) that has a thermal conductivity lower than the first metal line (¶ [0053]: 204 made of Ru or Mo; as evidenced by NPL, Ru: 116 W/m-K; Mo: 138 W/m-K ) is disposed in the opening.
Regarding claim 7, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein the dielectric material that has a thermal conductivity (as evidenced by NPL, air has a thermal conductivity of 25.87 mW/m-K at 20 C) lower than the first metal line (¶ [0053]: 204 made of Ru or Mo; as evidenced by NPL, Ru: 116 W/m-K; Mo: 138 W/m-K ) is disposed between disconnected ends of the first metal line (see Fig. 12 shows air is disposed in T4 and T5).
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim ( US 2018/0261544 A1) as evidenced by Yamano (WO 2018/225571 A1) and Chen (US 2022/0293607 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a metal wiring of a semiconductor device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first metal line (150&160, see ¶ [0037]: 150 made of Co, Ni, Ta, Ru, W, Mn, etc.; ¶ [0038], ¶ [0114]: 160 is made from metal ) disposed in a first metal layer (156&150&160), and the first metal line having an opening (AG1; see Fig. 1B-1D and ¶ [0039]-[0047], which shows AG1 being an opening in 150 ) in a heat concentrated region (AG1 is where metal lines 150&160 and 130 meet to supply power to transistors GL; see Fig. 25 and ¶ [0154]-[0155] and ¶ [0158] , where V1 is the metal line 150 of Fig. 1; as evidenced by Yamano, see Fig. 2 and ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two metals layers, 2 & 52, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region; furthermore, it is known in the art that any wiring that supplies power generates heat);
a dielectric material (air, as evidenced by Chen, see ¶ [0042] and claim 9, air is a dielectric) disposed in the opening; and
a contact metal (130) passing through a dielectric layer (124) beneath the first metal layer (Fig. 1 shows 124 below 150), the contact metal being connected to the first metal line around the opening (130 directly contacts 160 around AG1).
Regarding claim 2, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the heat-concentrated region is a region where heat is concentrated (AG1 is where metal lines 150&160 and 130 meet to supply power to transistors GL; see Fig. 25 and ¶ [0154]-[0155] and ¶ [0158] , where V1 is the metal line 150 of Fig. 1; as evidenced by Yamano, ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two metals layers, 2 & 52, see Fig. 2, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region; furthermore, it is known in the art that any wiring that supplies power generates heat).
Regarding claim 3, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein
the contact metal has a line shape (see L in Examiner Fig. 1 in claim 4 rejection below) that crosses the first metal line when viewed on the top, and
the heat-concentrated region is a region (R) where the first metal line and the contact metal cross each other when viewed on the top.
Regarding claim 4, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the heat-concentrated region is a region (R; see Examiner Fig. 1) where the first metal layer does not overlap, in a vertical direction, a metal line (120) disposed in a second metal layer (114).
Examiner Fig. 1. Taken from Kim Fig. 1A.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a metal wiring of a semiconductor device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first metal line (150&160, see ¶ [0037]: 150 made of Co, Ni, Ta, Ru, W, Mn, etc.; ¶ [0038], ¶ [0114]: 160 is made from metal) disposed in a first metal layer (156&150&160) and disconnected in a heat-concentrated region (AG1 is where metal lines 150&160 and 130 meet to supply power to transistors GL; see Fig. 25 and ¶ [0154]-[0155] and ¶ [0158] , where V1 is the metal line 150 of Fig. 1; as evidenced by Yamano, see Fig. 2 and ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two metals layers, 2 & 52, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region; furthermore, it is known in the art that any wiring that supplies power generates heat);
a dielectric material (air, as evidenced by Chen, see ¶ [0042] and claim 9, air is a dielectric) disposed in the heat-concentrated region; and
a contact metal (130) passing through a first dielectric layer (124) beneath the first metal layer (Fig. 1 shows 124 below 150), crossing the first metal line in the heat-concentrated region in a vertical direction (as show in Examiner Fig. 1 in claim 3 rejection, 130 crosses 150&160 at region R of the airgap AG1 when viewed from the top; hence it is crossing in a vertical direction), and electrically connecting disconnected ends of to the first metal line (130 is connecting the left portion of 150 with the right portion of 150).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a metal wiring of a semiconductor device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a first metal line (150&160, see ¶ [0037]: 150 made of Co, Ni, Ta, Ru, W, Mn, etc.; ¶ [0038], ¶ [0114]: 160 is made from metal; note: 160 is labelled as M1 in Fig. 25B) disposed in a first metal layer (156&150&160, see Fig. 1 or 1138&150&V1 in Fig. 25B), the first metal line being disconnected in a heat-concentrated region (AG1 is where metal lines 150&160 and 130 meet to supply power to transistors GL; see Fig. 25 and ¶ [0154]-[0155] and ¶ [0158] , where V1 is the metal line 150 of Fig. 1; as evidenced by Yamano, see Fig. 2 and ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two metals layers, 2 & 52, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region; furthermore, it is known in the art that any wiring that supplies power generates heat) where the first metal line does not overlap with a metal line (Fig. 25B: middle M2) of a second metal layer (LV3) in a vertical direction (Z-axis), and divided into a first part (left portion of 150) and a second part (right portion of 150);
a dielectric material (air, as evidenced by Chen, see ¶ [0042] and claim 9, air is a dielectric) disposed in the heat-concentrated region; and
a contact metal (Fig. 1: 130; Fig. 25B: M1) disposed beneath the first metal layer and connecting the first part and the second part (Figs. 1 & 25B show 130/M1 connecting the left and right portion of 150) and disposed in a first dielectric layer (Fig. 1: 124; Fig. 25B: 1134 & 1136) beneath the first metal layer (Fig. 1 shows 124 is below 156&150&160; Fig. 25B shows 1134&1136 below 150&V1&1138),
wherein a first distance (Fig. 25B: distance between the middle M2 and M1 along the Z-axis) in the vertical direction between the second metal layer and the contact metal is greater than a second distance (Fig. 25B: distance between M2 and V1 along the Z-axis ) between the second metal layer and the first metal layer.
Regarding claim 9, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is the same as a thickness (thickness of V1) of the first metal layer (as shown in Fig. 25B, the distance between M2 and M1 along the Z-axis is the same as the thickness of V1).
Regarding claim 10, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the contact metal has a line shape (L; see Examiner Fig. 1 in claim 4 rejection above) that crosses the first metal line when viewed on a top (top view of Examiner Fig. 1).
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim ( US 2018/0261544 A1) as evidenced by NPL: “Thermal Conductivity of Air, Ruthenium, and Molybdenum” and NPL Matweb mailed on July 23, 2025.
Regarding claim 5, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the dielectric material (AG1 has air; thermal conductivity: 25.87 mW/m-K at 20 C as evidence by NPL ) that has a thermal conductivity lower than the first metal line (¶ [0056]: 166 made of Cu; thermal conductivity: 385 W/m-K; as evidenced by Matweb reference mailed on July 23, 2025) is disposed in the opening.
Regarding claim 7, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 6, wherein the dielectric material (AG1 has air; thermal conductivity: 25.87 mW/m-K at 20 C as evidence by NPL ) that has a thermal conductivity lower than the first metal line (¶ [0056]: 166 made of Cu; thermal conductivity: 385 W/m-K; as evidenced by Matweb reference mailed on July 23, 2025) is disposed between disconnected ends (left and right portions of 150) of the first metal line (AG1 is between the left and right portions of 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 2022/0108921 A1) in view of Kim ( US 2018/0261544 A1), as evidenced by Yamano (WO 2018/225571 A1) and Chen (US 2022/0293607 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bae teaches the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 1, but does not teach: wherein the heat-concentrated region is a region where the first metal layer does not overlap, in a vertical direction, a metal line disposed in a second metal layer.
Kim, in the same field of invention, teaches a semiconductor device (2000; see Fig. 25B), wherein the heat-concentrated region (AG1 are air gap regions where V1 and M1 contact each other, hence, as evidenced by Yamano ¶ [0103] , this is a heat-concentrating region) is a region where the first metal layer (V1) does not overlap, in a vertical direction (Z-axis), a metal line (left or middle M2) disposed in a second metal layer (LV3).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Kim into the device of Bae to add a second metal layer, having a metal line, to the device such that the heat-concentration region where the first metal layer is located does not overlap, in a vertical direction, to the metal line. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bae in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the metal line of the second metal layer as wiring interconnects to connect transistors (GL; see Kim Fig. 25 B and ¶ [0149] ) that the first metal layer is connected to (through contact metal M1 and contacts V0 & CA), for further connecting the transistors to a plurality of gate lines (GL; see Fig. 25A and ¶ [0157] ).
Regarding claim 8, Bae teaches a metal wiring of a semiconductor device (Fig. 12), comprising:
a first metal line (204S1 & 204S2 & 204S3 & 205S & 250) disposed in a first metal layer (220 & 230 & 231), the first metal line being disconnected (due to trenchesT4 & T5) in a heat-concentrated region (regions of T4 & T5 where 204 contacts 201; ¶ [0059]: 204 is a supervia that contacts a contact metal 201 around T4 & T5; as evidenced by Yamano, Fig. 2 and ¶ [0103] of the English translation, a region where two wiring layers, 2 & 52, contact each other is a heat-concentrating region), and divided into a first part (204S1 and left 205S) and a second part (204S2 and right 205S);
a dielectric material (air, as evidenced by Chen, see ¶ [0042] and claim 9, air is a dielectric) disposed in the heat-concentrated region; and
a contact metal (201) disposed beneath the first metal layer and connecting the first part and the second part and disposed in a first dielectric layer (210) beneath the first metal layer (Fig. 12 shows 201 connecting both parts of the first metal layer and 201 below the first metal layer).
However, Bae does not teach the device further comprising of a metal line of a second metal layer in a vertical direction, wherein the heat-concentration region is where the first metal line does not overlap with a metal of the second metal layer, and wherein a first distance in the vertical direction between the second metal layer and the contact metal is greater than a second distance between the second metal layer and the first metal layer.
Kim, in the same field of invention, teaches a device (2000; see Fig. 25B) comprising of a metal line (all three M2 collectively) of a second metal layer (LV3) in a vertical direction (Z-axis),
wherein the heat-concentration region (AG1 are air gap regions where V1 and M1 contact each other, hence, as evidenced by Yamano ¶ [0103] , this is a heat-concentrating region) is where the first metal line (V1) does not overlap with a metal (left or middle M2) of the second metal layer,
wherein a first distance (distance between LV3 and M1) in the vertical direction between the second metal layer and the contact metal (M1) is greater than a second distance (distance between layers LV3 and 1138) between the second metal layer and the first metal layer (layer 1138 contains V1).
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Kim into the device of Bae to add a second metal layer above the first metal layer, wherein the heat-concentration region is does not overlap a metal of the second metal layer, and wherein the second metal layer is located at a distance farther from the contact metal compared to the first metal layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bae in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the second metal layer as wiring interconnects to connect transistors (GL; see Kim ¶ [0149] ) that the contact metal is connected to (through contacts V0 and CA), for further connecting the transistors to a plurality of gate lines (GL; see Fig. 25A and ¶ [0157] ).
Regarding claim 9, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein a difference between the first distance and the second distance is the same as a thickness (vertical thickness of V1, see Kim Fig. 25B) of the first metal layer (as shown in Fig. 25B, the distance between M2 and M1 along the Z-axis is the same as the vertical thickness of V1).
Regarding claim 10, the metal wiring of a semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the contact metal has a line shape (Bae Fig. 12 shows 201 extends horizontally, with the top surface of 201 having a line shape) that crosses the first metal line when viewed on a top (Fig. 12 shows the top surface of 201 overlaps the gap regions T4&T5 of the first metal line, hence, when viewed from the top, the top surface of 201 crosses over the first metal line).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899