Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which were not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 12 recites, inter alia,” forming a semiconductor region of a second conductivity type on a first surface of the semiconductor body” (emphasis added). This implies the semiconductor body comprising n-type drift region 30 (Fig. 3 of the instant application). Claim 12 further recites “forming a drift region of a first conductivity type on a semiconductor body” (emphasis added). This implies that the drift region 30 is not considered part of the semiconductor body, which is in contradiction to the previous implication. Additional limitations, such as, “forming an island region of the first conductivity type and a buffer region of the first conductivity type on the semiconductor body” & “wherein the drift region is more proximal to the first surface of the semiconductor body than the buffer region” make things more complex to understand. The entire claim is very confusing. It is not clear from the claim language which part of the semiconductor device is considered as the “semiconductor body”. Also, it can be said support for claim 12 could not be found in the specification. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claims 13-23 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejections based on their dependencies on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-23 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites, inter alia,” forming a semiconductor region of a second conductivity type on a first surface of the semiconductor body” (emphasis added). This implies the semiconductor body comprising n-type drift region 30 (Fig. 3 of the instant application). Claim 12 further recites “forming a drift region of a first conductivity type on a semiconductor body” (emphasis added). This implies that the drift region 30 is not considered part of the semiconductor body, which is in contradiction to the previous implication. Additional limitations, such as, “forming an island region of the first conductivity type and a buffer region of the first conductivity type on the semiconductor body” & “wherein the drift region is more proximal to the first surface of the semiconductor body than the buffer region” make things more complex to understand. The entire claim is very confusing. It is not clear from the claim language which part of the semiconductor device is considered as the “semiconductor body”. Also, it can be said support for claim 12 failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Appropriate correction/clarification is requested.
Claims 13-23 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph (pre-AIA ) rejections based on their dependencies on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-15, 17, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyazaki et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0374793 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyazaki et al. discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor body having a first surface and a second surface (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21), the semiconductor body comprising: a depletion region (Par. 0056-0062 & 0082-0083; Figs. 1-21 – depletion region extending mainly at least into a part of the drift layer 1 extending from the pn junction formed between p base layer 2 and n- drift layer 1), a drift region having a first conductivity type (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – drift layer 1 of n-type conductivity), an island region having a first conductivity type (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – island region 10a of n-type conductivity), a buffer region having a first conductivity type (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – buffer region 10b of n-type conductivity),
wherein the drift region is more proximal to the first surface of the semiconductor body than the buffer region (Figs. 1-21), wherein the depletion region is located within the drift region (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21), and wherein the island region is located within the drift region, and an ion concentration of the first conductivity type of the island region is higher than an ion concentration of the first conductivity type of the drift region (Figs. 1-21).
Regarding Claim 2, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising a Poisson's equation in the drift region that is calculated as:
wherein Q(x) is a charge within the depletion region, Es is a dielectric constant for the semiconductor, q is an electron charge, and ND is an ion impurity concentration in the drift region (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – implied).
Regarding Claim 3, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 2, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor body further comprises: a semiconductor region of a second conductivity type, and an ion concentration of the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type that is higher than an ion concentration of the drift region so that the depletion region extends only towards the drift region to maintain a blocking voltage in response to applying a reverse voltage to the semiconductor device (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – semiconductor region 2 (p base region)).
Regarding Claim 4, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 2, discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising a width of the depletion region that is WD, and an electric field value that becomes zero at X=WD, and an electric field distribution equation is:
wherein the electric field distribution equation is obtained by using a boundary condition with the potential being zero at x=0 within the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – implied).
Regarding Claim 6, Miyazaki et al. et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor body further comprises: a semiconductor region of a second conductivity type, and an ion concentration of the semiconductor region of a second conductivity type that is close to the ion concentration of the drift region so that the depletion region extends towards the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type and the drift region to maintain a blocking voltage in response to applying a reverse voltage to the semiconductor device (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 2 – semiconductor region 2 of p type conductivity; now ‘close’ is a relative term; under BRI, it can be said that the ion concentration of the semiconductor region of a second conductivity type is close to the ion concentration of at least some part of the drift region, either 1 or 10a).
Regarding Claim 8, Miyazaki et al. et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the first conductivity type of the buffer region has an ion concentration that is higher than an ion concentration of the first conductivity type of the drift region (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 5, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the top surface of the island region is more proximal to the first surface of the semiconductor than the bottom surface of the island region (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the island region is doped by single peak doping or multi peak doping, and the shape of an ion doping profile of the island region comprises at least one peak selected from the group consisting of: a triangle single peak, a quadrangle single peak, and irregular multi peaks (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the semiconductor device comprises at least one device selected from the group consisting of: a fast recovery diode, an ultra-fast recovery diode, a standard diode, a MOSFET, and an IGBT switch device (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyazaki et al. discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising the steps of: forming a drift region of a first conductivity type on a semiconductor body (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – drift region comprising layer 1 of n-type conductivity), forming a semiconductor region of a second conductivity type on a first surface of the semiconductor body (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – semiconductor region 2 (p base region)), forming a semiconductor region of a first conductivity type on a second surface of the semiconductor body (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 2 – semiconductor region of first conductivity type 10b), forming an island region of the first conductivity type and a buffer region of the first conductivity type on the semiconductor body (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – island region 10a of n-type conductivity; buffer region 10b of n-type conductivity), wherein the drift region is more proximal to the first surface of the semiconductor body than the buffer region (Fig. 1), and
wherein within the drift region there is located a depletion region, and wherein the island region is located within the drift region, and an ion concentration of the first conductivity type of the island region is higher than an ion concentration of the first conductivity type of the drift region (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 2 – depletion region extending mainly at least into a part of the drift layer 1 extending from the pn junction formed between p base layer 2 and n- drift layer 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method, further comprising a Poisson's equation in the drift region that is calculated as below:
wherein Q(x) is a charge within the depletion region, Es is a dielectric constant for the semiconductor, q is an electron charge, and ND is an ion impurity concentration in the drift region (Par. 0056-0062; Figs. 1-21 – implied).
Regarding Claim 14, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 13, discloses the method, wherein the semiconductor region of a second conductivity type has an ion concentration that is higher than an ion concentration of the drift region so that the depletion region extends only towards the drift region to maintain a blocking voltage in response to applying a reverse voltage to the semiconductor device (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Friedrichs et al., as applied to claim 13, discloses the method, further comprising a width of the depletion region that is WD, and an electric field value that becomes zero at X=WD, and an electric field distribution equation is:
wherein the equation is obtained by using a boundary condition with the potential being zero at x=0 within the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 1 – implied).
Regarding Claim 17, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method, wherein the semiconductor region of a second conductivity type has an ion concentration that is close to an ion concentration of the drift region so that the depletion region extends towards the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type and the drift region to maintain a blocking voltage in response to applying a reverse voltage to the semiconductor device (Par. 0056-0062; Fig. 1 – semiconductor region 2 of p type conductivity; now ‘close’ is a relative term; under BRI, it can be said that the ion concentration of the semiconductor region of a second conductivity type is close to the ion concentration of at least some part of the drift region, either 1 or 10a).
Regarding Claim 19, Miyazaki et al. et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method, wherein the first conductivity type of the buffer region has an ion concentration that is higher than the ion concentration of the first conductivity type of the drift region (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 20, Miyazaki et al. et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method, wherein the island region is formed by a proton implantation process or an EPI growth process (Par. 0059).
Regarding Claim 21, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 16, discloses the method, wherein the top surface of the island region is more proximal to the first surface of the semiconductor than the bottom surface of the island region (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 22, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method, wherein the island region is doped by single peak doping or multi peak doping, and the shape of ion doping profile of the island region comprises at least one peak selected from the group consisting of: a triangle single peak, a quadrangle single peak, and irregular multi peaks (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 16, 18 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Miyazaki et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0374793 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 4, discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the voltage at the width of the depletion region WD is equal to an applied reverse bias Va:
wherein the width of the depletion region WD is given by:
(Par. 0056-0062, 0095; Figs. 1-21 – implied; this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off; so the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer; how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer). Miyazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, wherein
a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of a bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD.
However, this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off (Par.0095). So, the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer. Now, how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer etc. Miyazaki et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of a bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein
a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of a bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 7, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 6, discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising a width of the depletion region WD that is calculated as:
wherein
is a dielectric constant for the semiconductor, q is an electron charge, ND is an ion impurity concentration in the drift region, NA is an ion impurity concentration in the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type, and Va is a reverse bias applied to the semiconductor (Par. 0056-0062, 0095; Figs. 1-21 – implied). Miyazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor device, wherein
a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD.
However, this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off (Par.0095). So, the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer. Now, how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer etc. Miyazaki et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the semiconductor device, wherein a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to adapt the semiconductor device, wherein
a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 16, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 13, discloses the method, wherein the voltage at the width of the depletion region WD is equal to the applied reverse bias Va: wherein the width of the depletion region WD is given by:
(Par. 0056-0062, 0095; Figs. 1-21 – implied; this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off; so the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer; how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer). Miyazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein
a position of a top surface of the island region is formed in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of a bottom surface of the island region is formed at WD, and a thickness of the island region is formed in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD.
However, this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off (Par.0095). So, the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer. Now, how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer etc. Miyazaki et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the method, wherein a position of a top surface of the island region is formed in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of a bottom surface of the island region is formed at WD, and a thickness of the island region is formed in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to adapt the method, wherein a position of a top surface of the island region is formed in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of a bottom surface of the island region is formed at WD, and a thickness of the island region is formed in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding Claim 18, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 17, discloses the method, further comprising a width of the depletion region WD that is calculated as:
wherein
is a dielectric constant for the semiconductor, q is an electron charge, ND is an ion impurity concentration in the drift region, NA is the ion impurity concentration in the semiconductor region of the second conductivity type, and Va is a reverse bias applied to the semiconductor (Par. 0056-0062, 0095; Figs. 1-21 – implied). Miyazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein
a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65% WD to 80% WD, a position of bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20% WD to 35% WD.
However, this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off (Par.0095). So, the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer. Now, how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer etc. Miyazaki et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the method, wherein a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to adapt the method, wherein a position of a top surface of the island region is in a range of 65%WD to 80% WD, a position of bottom surface of the island region is at WD, and a thickness of the island region is in a range of 20%WD to 35% WD, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 23, Miyazaki et al., as applied to claim 12, discloses the method wherein the position of the top surface of the island region is formed in a certain range, the position of the bottom surface of the island region is formed at WD, the method comprising: determining an implantation depth of the island region according to the width WD of the depletion region, and determining a proton implantation energy according to the corresponding relationship between the proton implantation energy and the implantation depth of the island region, so that the position of the top surface of the island region is formed in the certain range, and the position of the bottom surface of the island region is formed at WD (Par. 0059-0064, 0069-0078, 0095; Figs. 1-21 – implied). Miyazaki et al. does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein the position of the top surface of the island region is formed in a range of 65% WD to 80% WD.
However, this prior at teaches that the width of the depletion layer reaches the end of the first field stop layer 10a when the device is turned off (Par.0095). So, the depletion width on the n-side is the sum of the thickness of the drift region 1 between the first field stop layer 10a and the p base layer 2 and the thickness of the first field stop layer. Now, how thick the first field stop layer 10a would be compared to the thickness of the aforementioned drift region 1 depends on quite a few factors including the reverse bias voltage, the doping concentration and the thickness of both the drift layer and the field stop layer etc. Miyazaki et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the method, wherein the position of the top surface of the island region is formed in a range of 65% WD to 80% WD. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to adapt the method, wherein the position of the top surface of the island region is formed in a range of 65% WD to 80% WD, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Friedrichs et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0217627 A1) – This prior art teaches all the limitations of independent claims 1 and 12 (Par. 0055-0062; Figs. 2-2A).
09/14/2025
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893