DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 16, 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe (US 20140159074 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 107170867 A).
Regarding claim 1, Isobe teaches:
A display device [10, paragraph [0053], Fig. 2] comprising:
a substrate [110, paragraph [0056], Fig. 2];
pixel electrodes [103, paragraph [0053], [0058], [0063], Fig. 2] above the substrate [110, Fig. 2];
light-emitting elements [108, paragraph [0053], [0063], Fig. 2] above the pixel electrodes [103, Fig. 2], extending in a thickness direction [up/down, Fig. 2] of the substrate [110, Fig. 2],
a common electrode [109, paragraph [0053], [0065], Fig. 2] above the light-emitting elements [108, Fig. 2].
Isobe does not teach:
light-emitting elements having a polyhedral shape in the thickness direction, a width of a middle portion of the polyhedral shape being greater than a width of an upper portion of the polyhedral shape and greater than a width of a lower portion of the polyhedral shape.
Wang et al. teaches:
light-emitting elements [3, paragraph [0063], Fig. 12-14] having a polyhedral shape [paragraph [0013], [0063], Fig. 12-14] in the thickness direction, a width of a middle portion of the polyhedral shape being greater than a width of an upper portion of the polyhedral shape and greater than a width of a lower portion of the polyhedral shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the teachings of Isobe to include the light-emitting elements having a polyhedral shape in the thickness direction, a width of a middle portion of the polyhedral shape being greater than a width of an upper portion of the polyhedral shape and greater than a width of a lower portion of the polyhedral shape, for the purpose of achieving a high radiative emissivity. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion and MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Regarding claim 4, Isobe and Wang et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
However, Isobe does not teach:
wherein a cross section of the polyhedral shape is a hexagon.
Wang et al. teaches:
wherein a cross section of the polyhedral shape is a hexagon [paragraph [0013], Fig. 12-14].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the teachings of Isobe and Wang et al. to include wherein a cross section of the polyhedral shape is a hexagon, for the purpose of achieving a high radiative emissivity. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion and MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe (US 20140159074 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 107170867 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furukawa et al. (US 20060043386 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Isobe and Wang et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
Isobe further teaches:
The light-emitting elements [108, Fig. 2] above the pixel electrodes [103, Fig. 2].
Isobe and Wang et al. do not teach:
wherein the light-emitting elements comprise a first semiconductor layer above the electrodes, an active layer above the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer above the active layer.
Furukawa et al. teaches:
wherein the light-emitting elements [4, paragraph [0089], Fig. 6] comprise a first semiconductor layer [18, paragraph [0092], Fig. 6] above the electrodes [44, paragraph [0092-0093], Fig. 6], an active layer [40, paragraph [0089-0093], [0100-0102] Fig. 6] above the first semiconductor layer [18, Fig. 6], and a second semiconductor layer [17, paragraph [0089-0090], Fig. 6] above the active layer [40, Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Furukawa et al. into the teachings of Isobe and Wang et al. to include wherein the light-emitting elements comprise a first semiconductor layer above the electrodes, an active layer above the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer above the active layer, for the purpose of emitting light and improving light extraction efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Isobe, Wang et al. and Furukawa et al. teach the display device of claim 2.
Isobe, Wang et al. and Furukawa et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Isobe, and Wang et al. do not teach:
wherein a width of the active layer is greater than a width of the first semiconductor layer, and is greater than a width of a top of the second semiconductor layer.
Furukawa et al. teaches:
wherein a width of the active layer [40, paragraph [0014-0016], [0026], [0089-0093], [0100-0102], Fig. 6] is greater than a width of the first semiconductor layer [18, Fig. 6], and is greater than a width of a top of the second semiconductor layer [17, Fig. 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Furukawa et al. into the teachings of Isobe, Wang et al. and Furukawa et al. to include wherein a width of the active layer is greater than a width of the first semiconductor layer, and is greater than a width of a top of the second semiconductor layer, for the purpose of improving light extraction efficiency. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion and MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape.
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe (US 20140159074 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 107170867 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jin (CN 110752217 A).
Regarding claim 5, Isobe and Wang et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
Isobe and Wang et al. do not teach:
wherein the light-emitting elements comprise a first insulating layer on a first side surface, and a second insulating layer on the first insulating layer and on a second side surface adjacent to the first side surface.
Jin teaches:
wherein the light-emitting elements [LD, paragraph [0046], [0054], Fig. 7-17E] comprise a first insulating layer [INP3, paragraph [0147], [0167-0169], Fig. 7-17E] on a first side surface, and a second insulating layer [INS5, paragraph [0147], [0169-0170], [0180-0181], Fig. 7-17E] on the first insulating layer [INP3, Fig. 7-17E] and on a second side surface adjacent to the first side surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin into the teachings of Isobe and Wang et al. to include wherein the light-emitting elements comprise a first insulating layer on a first side surface, and a second insulating layer on the first insulating layer and on a second side surface adjacent to the first side surface, for the purpose of insulating features within the device. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 6, Isobe and Wang et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
Isobe and Wang et al. do not teach:
wherein the light-emitting elements comprise respective insulating layers on a first side surface, and on a second side surface that is adjacent to the first side surface, and having different respective thicknesses.
Jin teaches:
wherein the light-emitting elements [LD, paragraph [0046], [0054], Fig. 7] comprise respective insulating layers [INP3, INS5, Fig. 7] on a first side surface, and on a second side surface that is adjacent to the first side surface, and having different respective thicknesses.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin into the teachings of Isobe and Wang et al. to include wherein the light-emitting elements comprise respective insulating layers on a first side surface, and on a second side surface that is adjacent to the first side surface, and having different respective thicknesses, for the purpose of insulating features within the device. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape, and MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Regarding claim 7, Isobe, Wang et al. and Jin teach the display device of claim 6.
However, Isobe and Wang et al. do not teach:
further comprising a reflective layer on an outer side of the insulating layers.
Jin teaches:
further comprising a reflective layer [RFL, paragraph [0185-0186], [0220], Fig. 10-17E] on an outer side of the insulating layers [INP3, INS5, Fig. 7-17E].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin into the teachings of Isobe, Wang et al. and Jin to include further comprising a reflective layer on an outer side of the insulating layers, for the purpose of preventing light leakage, and improving optical efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Isobe and Wang et al. teach the display device of claim 1.
Isobe further teaches:
The common electrode [109, paragraph [0053], [0065], Fig. 2]
Isobe and Wang et al. do not teach:
further comprising a color filter above the electrode overlapping the light-emitting elements.
Jin teaches:
further comprising a color filter [CF, Fig. 7-17E] above the electrode [ELT1/ELT2, Fig. 7-17E] overlapping the light-emitting elements [LD, Fig. 7-17E].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin into the teachings of Isobe and Wang et al. to include further comprising a color filter above the electrode overlapping the light-emitting elements, for the purpose of filtering light to emit desired color, and improving display. See also, MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe (US 20140159074 A1), in view of Wang et al. (CN 107170867 A) and Jin (CN 110752217 A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 20170271420 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Isobe, Wang et al. and Jin teach the display device of claim 8.
Isobe, Wang et al. and Jin do not teach:
further comprising a light-blocking member above the common electrode, and between the light-emitting elements in plan view.
Tsai et al. teaches:
further comprising a light-blocking member [150a, paragraph [0003], [0028], [0038], Fig. 1A] above the common electrode [128, paragraph [0016], Fig. 1A], and between the light-emitting elements [126, paragraph [0028], Fig. 1A] in plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tsai et al. into the teachings of Isobe, Wang et al. and Jin to include further comprising a light-blocking member above the common electrode, and between the light-emitting elements in plan view, for the purpose of preventing color mixing, improving display, helping to maintain the light-emitting angle of the light-emitting regions while controlling the reflection of the ambient light, and enhancing the ambient contrast ratio of the display device.
Regarding claim 10, Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. teach the display device of claim 9.
Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Isobe, Wang et al., and Jin do not teach:
wherein the light-emitting elements comprise a first light-emitting element for outputting a first light, a second light-emitting element for outputting a second light, and a third light-emitting element for outputting a third light.
Tsai et al. teaches:
wherein the light-emitting elements [126, Fig. 1A] comprise a first light-emitting element [W11, W21, W31, W41, Fig. 1B-2H] for outputting a first light, a second light-emitting element [W12, W22, W32, W42, Fig. 1B-2H] for outputting a second light, and a third light-emitting element [W13, W23, W33, W43, Fig. 1B-2H] for outputting a third light. [paragraph [0018-0026], Fig. 1B-2H]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tsai et al. into the teachings of Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. to include wherein the light-emitting elements comprise a first light-emitting element for outputting a first light, a second light-emitting element for outputting a second light, and a third light-emitting element for outputting a third light, for the purpose of achieving a multicolored display device improving user experience.
Regarding claim 11, Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. teach the display device of claim 9.
Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Isobe, Wang et al. and Tsai et al. do not teach:
further comprising a wavelength conversion layer between the light-emitting elements and the color filter for converting a wavelength of light,
wherein the light-emitting elements are configured to output a first light.
Jin teaches:
further comprising a wavelength conversion layer [CCL, paragraph [0184], Fig. 7-17E] between the light-emitting elements [LD, Fig. 7-17E] and the color filter [CF, paragraph [0012-0016], [0026], Fig. 7-17E] for converting a wavelength of light,
wherein the light-emitting elements [LD, paragraph [0011], Fig. 7-17E] are configured to output a first light.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin into the teachings of Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. to include further comprising a wavelength conversion layer between the light-emitting elements and the color filter for converting a wavelength of light, wherein the light-emitting elements are configured to output a first light, for the purpose of converting light to desired colors and improving display.
Regarding claim 12, Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. teach the display device of claim 11.
Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. disclose the above claimed subject matter.
However, Isobe, Wang et al. and Tsai et al. do not teach:
further comprising a reflective layer on a side surface of the wavelength conversion layer.
Jin teaches:
further comprising a reflective layer [RFL, paragraph [0185-0186], [0220], Fig. 10-17E] on a side surface of the wavelength conversion layer [CCL, Fig. 7-17E].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jin into the teachings of Isobe, Wang et al., Jin and Tsai et al. to include further comprising a reflective layer on a side surface of the wavelength conversion layer, for the purpose of preventing light leakage and improving optical efficiency.
Conclusion
/D.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2815 02/26/2026
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815