Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 7 have been amended. Claims 9-20 have been withdrawn. The objection to claim 7 is withdrawn in view of the amendment. The prior art rejections are maintained in view of the amendment, with revisions for the newly recited subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-8 recite “An additively manufactured mold.” These claims are understood to recite a mold, manufactured by any method, provided that the mold exhibits the structure that would be conferred by additive manufacturing. While the disclosure envisions complicated porous structures that could only be readily produced by additive manufacturing, the claims are not so limiting. A far simpler mold with pores drilled by subtractive manufacturing could be additively manufactured and thus fall within the scope of the claims. Accordingly, while the art presented below teaches molds that have been additively manufactured, the claims are broader.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Molitch-Hou (Next Chapter Manufacturing: Redesigning Injection Molding with 3D Printing by Michael Molitch-Hou, available @ <Next Chapter Manufacturing: Redesigning Injection Molding with 3D Printing - 3DPrint.com | Additive Manufacturing Business>).
Regarding claim 1, Molitch-Hou discloses an additively manufactured mold (mold), the additively manufactured mold comprising: a mold body defining a mold cavity (cavity of mold that plastic enters into, “Before you inject the plastic in, there is air inside of the mold so that, when you inject the plastic, that air has to go somewhere.“); and at least one porosity channel in fluid communication with the mold cavity (“steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”); and a thermal management element disposed within the mold body configured to enhance thermal control of the mold, wherein the thermal management element is at least one of: a two-phase fluid loop, a pumped two-phase fluid loop, an integrated heat pipe, a vapor chamber, and an oscillating heat pipe (conformal cooling with integrated cooling channels, p. 2, 4); wherein the at least one porosity channel has a sufficiently high porosity to vent entrapped gases from the mold cavity during the manufacture of an output part (“steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”).
Regarding claim 2, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the at least one porosity channel extends from the mold cavity to a channel outlet (air from within mold cavity passes through porous portions of the steel mold to an outlet (somewhere), “Before you inject the plastic in, there is air inside of the mold so that, when you inject the plastic, that air has to go somewhere.“; “steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”).
Regarding claim 3, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the mold body and the at least one porosity channel form a single additively manufactured part (steel mold including porous portions are additively manufactured together, “steel molds they are printing”).
Regarding claim 4, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the at least one porosity channel is a region of material with a sufficiently high porosity along a length to vent entrapped gases from the mold cavity to a channel outlet (“steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”).
Regarding claim 5, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the at least one porosity channel has a first porosity and the mold body has a region with a second porosity (density changed so that selected portions have a higher porosity, “Moreover, NXCMFG is working on new methods of design that actually change the density of the steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”), the first porosity different from the second porosity (changed density, “Moreover, NXCMFG is working on new methods of design that actually change the density of the steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”).
Regarding claim 7, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the at least one porosity channel comprises a first porosity channel (porosity closest to mold cavity) and a second porosity channel (porosity closest to outlet), and wherein the first and second porosity channel meet [up to] form a third porosity channel (porosity connecting first porosity to second porosity) such that the third porosity channel is in fluid communication with the first porosity channel, the second porosity channel, and an outlet (porosity channel from the cavity to an outlet, hence ability to vent the gas is present and constitutes first, second and third porosity channels as claimed).
Regarding claim 8, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the additively manufactured mold is made of steel (“steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Molitch-Hou (Next Chapter Manufacturing: Redesigning Injection Molding with 3D Printing by Michael Molitch-Hou, available @ < https://3dprint.com/263562/next-chapter-manufacturing-redesigning-injection-molding-with-3d-printing/>) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fattori (Back to Basics on Mold Venting (Part 2: Shape, Dimensions, Details), available @ < https://www.ptonline.com/articles/back-to-basics-on-mold-venting>).
Regarding claim 6, Molitch-Hou discloses wherein the at least one porosity channel has a first porosity in a first portion adjacent to the mold cavity (“Moreover, NXCMFG is working on new methods of design that actually change the density of the steel molds they are printing so that the areas in contact with the liquid plastic are porous like a sponge”), and a second porosity in a second portion adjacent to a channel outlet (portion leading to an outlet, “somewhere”; “Before you inject the plastic in, there is air inside of the mold so that, when you inject the plastic, that air has to go somewhere.“).
Molitch-Hou teaches a mold substantially as claimed. Molitch-Hou does not disclose the relative porosity of the vent of portions closest to the mold cavity to portions closest to the outlet, and consequently does not disclose wherein the second porosity is greater than the first porosity.
However, in the same field of endeavor of designing molds for injection molding (title), Fattori teaches wherein the second porosity is greater than the first porosity (flow area in areas away from the cavity should be at least as large as areas bordering the mold cavity, with the given example of double, “The secondary relief channel must have at least an equal amount of cross-sectional flow area as all these vents combined. Let’s say the secondary relief channel is 3/8 in. wide. The minimum depth should therefore be 0.010 in.2 / 0.375 in. = 0.027 in. deep. However, I like to go 1.5 to 2 times this depth to guarantee there is no pressure drop caused by rough mill marks and 90° turns.”; Vent Nomenclature Fig. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mold of Molitch-Hou to have greater porosity at portions closest to the outlet than portions closest to the vent cavity because Fattori teaches that portions of a vent furthest from the mold cavity and closest to the outlet should have higher cross-sectional areas and Molitch-Hou teaches printing steel with porosity to achieve venting properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Molitch-Hou does not disclose “a thermal management element disposed within the mold body configured to enhance thermal control of the mold, wherein the thermal management element is at least one of: a two-phase fluid loop, a pumped two-phase fluid loop, an integrated heat pipe, a vapor chamber, and an oscillating heat pipe.” This argument is not persuasive because, as noted above, Molitch-Hou teaches conformal cooling with an integrated cooling channel, which constitutes at least some of the recited options in claim 1. Such a cooling channel is at least an integrated heat pipe. The particular fluid circulated through the pipe is not a limitation on the pipe itself.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744