DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 10-12, 14-16, and 19-25 are presented for consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-12, 14-16, and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baskaran et al. [ US Patent Application No 2025/0184729 ].
As per claim 1, Baskaran discloses the invention as claimed including a Unified Data Management (UDM) element [ 122, Figure 1; and paragraphs 0014, and 0039 ] of a 5G core network [ i.e. 5G network ] [ Figure 1; and paragraph 0031 ], comprising:
at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the computer program code when executed by the at least one processor, causes the UDM element at least to:
receive a re-authentication request requesting re-authentication of a User Equipment (UE) from another network function [ i.e. AUSF in-directly triggers primary authentication or reauthentication with the AMF serving the UE via the UDM ] [ paragraphs 0044, 0045, and 0058 ];
trigger primary re-authentication of the UE in response to the re-authentication request [ i.e. UDM on receiving any of a re-auth indication ] [ Figure 4; and paragraphs 0059, and 0060 ]; and
send a re-authentication notification message toward an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) to perform primary re-authentication of the UE [ i.e. UDM can send to the serving AMF, and initiate primary authentication or reauthentication ] [ Figure 15; and paragraphs 0061, and 0143-0147 ].
As per claim 2, Baskaran discloses wherein the computer program code when executed by the at least one processor further causes the UDM element at least to: send the re-authentication notification message directly to the AMF requesting that the AMF initiate primary re-authentication with an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) [ i.e. the AMF/SEAL can send to AUSF ] [ 3b, Figure 4; and paragraphs 0057, and 0061 ].
As per claim 3, Baskaran discloses wherein the computer program code, when executed by the at least one processor further causes the UDM element at least to: generate a home environment re-authentication vector for the primary re-authentication [ i.e. authentication vector is generated ] [ paragraphs 0044, and 0047 ]; and send the re-authentication notification message to an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) with the home environment re-authentication vector [ i.e. UDM sends to the AUSF which can include AV ] [ paragraphs 0047, and 0077 ].
As per claim 4, Baskaran discloses wherein: the re-authentication request is received from the other network function in response to an internal trigger condition at the other network function that invokes re-authentication of the UE [ i.e. a SUPI and/or an indication that reauthentication is required ] [ paragraphs 0009, 0014, and 0015 ].
8. As per claim 5, Baskaran discloses the re-authentication request is received from the other network function in response to a key expiry at the other network function that invokes re-authentication of the UE [ i.e. key expiry ] [ paragraphs 0005, 0007, and 0008 ].
9. As per claim 10, Baskaran discloses wherein the UDM element provides a service interface for the other network function to trigger re-authentication of the UE [ i.e. NUDM_UE_Re-Authentication ] [ paragraph 0058 ].
10. As per claims 11, and 12, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1, and 2.
11. As per claim 14, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 3.
12. As per claim 15, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 4.
13. As per claim 16, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 5.
14. As per claim 19, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 10.
15. As per claims 20-25, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1-5, and 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 10-12, 14-16, and 19-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ben Henda et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0317086 ] discloses secondary authentication of the user equipment in addition to primary authentication of the UE
Zamora et al. [ US Patent Application No 2022/0408249 ] discloses initiating primary reauthentication of a communication device by a home network (UDM or AUSF)
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446