DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/311363 filed on 05/03/2023. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, directed to a current collector, a secondary battery, and an apparatus as recited in claims 1-10, 18, 19, 20 in the reply filed on 1/06/2026 is acknowledged. However, Claim 18, a dependent claim of claim 17, should belong to Group II as drawn to a preparation method of a current collector in the Restriction Requirement mailed on 12/10/2025. Therefore, Examiner consider Claims 11-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-10, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Li et al. (US 20200274155 A1).
Regarding to claims 1, 5, 6, 19: Li et al. disclose systems and methods for rechargeable batteries (abstract). The rechargeable batteries comprises a 3D lithium anode (200) (par. 29, 81, claim 21). The 3D lithium anode (200), comprising:
a lithium metal layer (206) and a thin metal current collector (208) (the combination of the lithium metal layer (206) and the thin metal current collector (208) is equivalent to a current collector body) (par. 29, fig. 2); and
a 3D conductive porous structure (204) (equivalent to a lithophilic layer) (par. 29, fig. 2) on a surface of the lithium metal layer (206) (fig. 2). The 3D porous structure (204) can be made of conductive materials in the form of particles or fibers. The conductive materials used can include conductive carbon and conductive metals. Further, carbon and metals can be coated or doped with other lithophilic elements (equivalent to lithophilic materials), including but not limited to Sn, Zn, Ag (Ag has lithium affinity as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 20230290956 A1) in par. 188), Bi, In, Ga, Al, N, P, Si, Ge, or alloys of these elements (par. 30). (The shell of the metal particle in figure 2 (b) is equivalent to an external structure. The inner pore (cavity) of the metal particle in figure 2 (b) is equivalent internal structure (par. 34, 35).)
Regarding to claim 2: Li et al. disclose the shell of the metal particle is spherical shape in figure 2 (b).
Regarding to claims 7, 8: Li et al. disclose the 3D conductive porous structure (204) has a thickness ranging most preferably from 20 μm to 80 μm (par. 29)
Regarding to claims 9, 10: Li et al. disclose the thin metal current collector (208) includes a conventional anode current collector, e.g., copper (par. 29).
Regarding to claims 20: Li et al. disclose these batteries have found widespread application in portable electronics and mobile communications devices as well as in, for instance, HEVs, PHEVs and EVs (portable electronics, devices, and vehicles are equivalent to apparatuses) (par. 3).
Claims 1, 3, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Pan et al. (US 10886528 B2).
Regarding to claim 1: Pan et al. disclose a lithium battery cathode electrode comprising multiple particulates of a cathode active material (abstract). The lithium battery comprises:
a cathode current collector (equivalent to a current collector body) (col. 10, lines 25-34); and
a layer of mixing multiple particulates (equivalent to a lithophilic layer) (col. 10, lines 25-34) coated on a surface of the cathode current collector, wherein the mixing multiple particulates comprises particulates of sulfonated elastomer-encapsulated cathode active material particles. The multiple-particle particulate contains multiple cathode active material particles (14), which are encapsulated by a sulfonated elastomer (16) (col. 12, lines 40-59). The elastomer contains inorganic fillers for reinforcement. The inorganic fillers are selected form Ag, Pt, Au (col. 13, lines 23-30). (Ag has lithium affinity as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 20230290956 A1) in par. 188 and Ag is a lithophilic element (equivalent to lithophilic material) as evidence by Li et al. (US 20200274155 A1) in par. 30.) (The shell of the sulfonated elastomer (16) is equivalent to an external structure. A cavity (equivalent internal structure) is enclosed by the sulfonated elastomer (16) in fig. 2(B).)
Regarding to claims 3, 4: Pan et al. disclose the encapsulating thin layer of sulfonated elastomer has a thickness from 1 nm to 10 μm (co. 7, lines 61-67, col. 8, lines 1-3).
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717