DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 14, 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Doi Kumiko (EP 2,653,498A1)
In regards to claim 7, Kumiko teaches a composition comprising polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) A), 0.01 to 5 parts by mass of a saturated (i.e., 100% esterification) fatty acid ester of polyglycerol B) based on the polybutylene terephthalate, and other optional additive C) and optional filler D) [abstract, 0016 and 0017]. The polyglycerol ester comprises C19-30 saturated aliphatic acyl groups and has at least 3 repeating glycerol units when n is 1 or more [0010]. The polybutylene terephthalate resin can be used in combination with another thermoplastic resin A’) such as polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polytrimethylene terephthalate etc. or mixtures which can be present at 100 parts by mass or less [0025 – 0026]. Since the claimed polymer, i.e., the PBT and/or PET etc., is taught, and the claimed polyglycerol fatty acid ester in the claimed amounts, the claimed limitations and properties will be expected which makes the claim obvious.
In regards to claim 8, Kumiko teaches the composition having fatty acid chain length that is close but does not overlap the claimed range. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In regards to claims 9 – 12, Kumiko teaches the composition having the polymer such as PET and poly trimethylene terephthalate.
In regards to claim 13, Kumiko teaches the composition having fully saturated esters which provides 100% of saturation.
In regards to claim 14, Kumiko teaches the composition having the claimed limitations and would be expected to have the same properties.
In regards to claims 17 – 20, Kumiko teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771