DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-6, 8-12 are pending, independent claims 1 is amended, claim 7 is cancelled, claims 13-23 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8 and 9, filed 4/14/2026 with respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-6, 7-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hargrove et al. (Us 2014/0354310 A1) hereinafter Hargrove.
Applicant argues that Kong do not teach all the limitations of the newly amended claim 1. Examiner respectfully agrees that Kong does not encompass the scope of the limitation, however, due to the change in the limitation from its original state found in claim 7 of the previous claims filed 10/31/2025, new art Hargrove has been utilized and the examiner directs applicant to the rejection below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-23 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kong et al. (US 2010/0053094 A1) hereinafter Kong, and in view of Hargrove et al. (Us 2014/0354310 A1) hereinafter Hargrove.
Regarding Claim 1, Kong teaches a printed circuit board having a first side and a second side ([0026] “The resistive touch panel includes at least two parts, a base 100 and a contact film 200. In some embodiments, the base 100 is a panel made of hard materials (such as glass) that offers the mechanical stability required by the device and the contact film 200 is made of soft materials, e.g., poly ethylene terephthalate (PET), which provides the flexible medium through which the two parts can be connected under pressure.” Where both the base made of glass and the conductive layer made of PET a circuit boards often utilized in LED and touchscreen applications, see Fig 2), the second side being opposite the first side ([0026] “The resistive touch panel includes at least two parts, a base 100 and a contact film 200. In some embodiments, the base 100 is a panel made of hard materials (such as glass) that offers the mechanical stability required by the device and the contact film 200 is made of soft materials, e.g., poly ethylene terephthalate (PET), which provides the flexible medium through which the two parts can be connected under pressure.” Where one side is the PET and the other side is the glass base); wherein the first side provides a conductive planar surface that has a size and geometry corresponding to an average human fingertip that is anticipated to provide touch inputs to the touch screen display by contacting the touch screen display adjacent to one or more touch pixels of the touch screen display ([0028] “When an object such as a finger tip presses the contact film 200, the contact film 200 deforms downward and brings the two conductive layers into contact.” And [0030] “ If there are two or more finger contacts on the touch panel simultaneously, which have at least two contact points, the touch panel according to the configuration shown in FIG. 2 can only generate two output signals corresponding to the x-coordinate and y-coordinate of one estimated contact point. In this case, the estimated location is probably an estimate of the average of the two or more finger contact points on the touch panel. An electronic application that uses the touch panel as a user interface device can not interpret the user's instruction correctly based on the average of the two finger contact points if the averaged finger contact point and the two actual finger contact points correspond to different interface objects on the touch panel.”); a switch disposed on the second side of the printed circuit board ([0035] “Each of the four control circuits 11 through 14 is coupled to at least one set of electrodes along one edge of the base 300. In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state at a corresponding electrode.” Where the switches are on the glass side of the PCB), wherein the switch is configured to change a state of the conductive planar surface between a grounded state and a non-grounded state ([0035] “In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state (i.e., ground/unground state) at a corresponding electrode. When a switch coupled to an electrode is turned on, an electrical circuit loop including the switch and the electrode is formed.”), wherein a touch event at the one or more touch pixels is simulated when the conductive planar surface is in contact with the touch screen display and adjacent to the one or more touch pixels and is changed from the non- grounded state to the grounded state, and wherein a non-touch event at the one or more touch pixels is simulated when the conductive planar surface is adjacent to the one or more touch pixels and in the non-grounded state ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface (i.e., non-touch event) of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other (i.e., ungrounded). When an object such as a finger tip presses the contact film 200, the contact film 200 deforms downward and brings the two conductive layers into contact (i.e., grounded).”); and an electrical conductor electrically connected between the conductive planar surface and the switch ([0035] “The six dashed-line boxes within the base 300 represent the projection of the six conductive regions of the contact film 400 onto the base 300. Note that there is no overlapping region between any two adjacent conductive regions. Each of the four control circuits 11 through 14 is coupled to at least one set of electrodes along one edge of the base 300. In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state at a corresponding electrode.”); wherein the touch event and the non-touch event are simulated by changing the electrical state of the conductive planar surface between the grounded state and the non- grounded state ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other. When an object such as a finger tip presses the contact film 200, the contact film 200 deforms downward and brings the two conductive layers into contact.” And [0029] “If there is only a single contact point, e.g., the point represented by the “+” sign, between the two conductive layers, the location of the contact point on the touch panel can be determined by (i) applying a power supply to the two sets of electrodes on the left and right edges of the base 100 and measuring an output signal at the terminal 210 and (ii) applying a power supply to the two sets of electrodes at the upper and lower edges of the base 100 and measuring another output signal at the terminal 210. Each of the two output signals can help to determine the x-coordinate and y-coordinate of the contact point of the two conductive layers, which is therefore the location of the contact point.” Where there is no movement from the printed circuit board ).
Kong does not teach the touch event and the non-touch event are simulated without moving the printed circuit board.
Hargrove teaches the touch event and the non-touch event are simulated without moving the printed circuit board ([0017] “a touch input of a part of a user's body or other object (e.g., stylus) is simulated by using a one or more conductive pads that are transitioned between grounded and ungrounded states. The conductive pads may therefore support a variety of different tests that do not involve actual movement of the testing device. For example, the conductive pads may be transitioned at different points of time in succession to simulate movement of an object, e.g., a gesture.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine testing the touch screen without physical movement to the system for testing the operation of a touch screen display for the purpose of being able to simulate an object and determine which capactive sensors have detected the similutation. This is advantageous because a touchscreen that functions by using capacitive sensors determining if a touch event has occurred or not can be tested via a simulation using conductive pads without involving another computing device (e.g., Hargrove, [0018]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the switch includes a digital electronic switch disposed on the second side of the printed circuit board and ([0057] “The multi-touch input panel 910 is coupled to a microcontroller 920. In some embodiments, the microcontroller 920 is an ASIC chip including multiple circuits. In some other embodiments, the microcontroller 920 is an electronic system that is comprised of multiple ICs, each IC having a specific function. For example, the panel drive 930 is responsible for controlling the switches, e.g., turning on/off the switches, in the different control circuits shown in FIG. 4A. By scheduling the on/off sequence of the switches in different directions, the multi-point touch-sensitive system can measure the x-coordinates and y-coordinates of the respective touch events, simultaneous or not, at different conductive regions.” Where [0035] “Each of the four control circuits 11 through 14 is coupled to at least one set of electrodes along one edge of the base 300. In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state at a corresponding electrode.” Where the switches are on the glass side of the PCB), wherein the digital electronic switch is configured to be actuated in response to a signal received from a processor to change the state between the grounded state and the non-grounded state ([0036] “ In some embodiments, the switches within the two control circuits 11 and 12 are configured to switch on and off in accordance with a predefined scheme to minimize the error caused by the pillow-shape electric field distortion within the conductive layer on the base 300. For example, the different switches within the control circuits 11 and 12 can switch on and off at the same time during the course of detecting the finger contact location. In another embodiment, a pair of switches, one within the control circuit 11 and a symmetrically located one within the control circuit 12, is switched on and off one at the same time. By doing so, multiple measurements are generated at the same output terminal and an average of the multiple measurements is used for estimating the y-coordinate of the finger contact point. In some embodiments, the averaged measurement is determined by weighting the multiple measurements in accordance with the locations of their corresponding pair of switches along the edges of the base 300.” Where [0057] “The multi-touch input panel 910 is coupled to a microcontroller 920. In some embodiments, the microcontroller 920 is an ASIC chip including multiple circuits. In some other embodiments, the microcontroller 920 is an electronic system that is comprised of multiple ICs, each IC having a specific function. For example, the panel drive 930 is responsible for controlling the switches, e.g., turning on/off the switches, in the different control circuits shown in FIG. 4A. By scheduling the on/off sequence of the switches in different directions, the multi-point touch-sensitive system can measure the x-coordinates and y-coordinates of the respective touch events, simultaneous or not, at different conductive regions.” ).
Regarding Claim 3, Kong teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the electrical conductor passes though the printed circuit board from the first side of the printed circuit board to the second side of the printed circuit board ([0027] “Four sets of electrodes 110 are deployed along the four edges and they are electrically coupled to the conductive layer on the top surface of the base 100. The contact film 200 has a signal output terminal 210 coupled to the conductive layer at the bottom surface.”, where the signal travels from the top of the circuit board (film 200) to the bottom of the circuit board (base 100)) .
Regarding Claim 6, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the printed circuit board electrically isolates the first side from the second side ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other.” Where top side (film 200) is isolated from base (100)).
Regarding Claim 8, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the touch event at the one or more touch pixels is simulated when the conductive planar surface is in contact with the touch screen display and adjacent to the one or more touch pixels and is changed from the non- grounded state to the grounded state and back to the non-grounded state ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface of the contact film 200 (i.e., ungrounded), the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other. When an object such as a finger tip presses the contact film 200, the contact film 200 deforms downward and brings the two conductive layers into contact (i.e., grounded).” And [0036] “Referring again to FIG. 4A, to estimate the y-coordinate of a finger contact point (e.g., P1) within a particular conductive region, a power supply Vin is applied to the two sets of electrodes at the upper and lower opposite edges of the base 300. Depending on how the control circuits 11 and 12 operate, the touch panel generates one or more output signals at the output terminal associated with the conductive region having the finger contact. In some embodiments, the switches within the two control circuits 11 and 12 are configured to switch on and off in accordance with a predefined scheme to minimize the error caused by the pillow-shape electric field distortion within the conductive layer on the base 300. For example, the different switches within the control circuits 11 and 12 can switch on and off at the same time during the course of detecting the finger contact location (i.e., switched from ungrounded to grounded or vice versa). In another embodiment, a pair of switches, one within the control circuit 11 and a symmetrically located one within the control circuit 12, is switched on and off one at the same time. By doing so, multiple measurements are generated at the same output terminal and an average of the multiple measurements is used for estimating the y-coordinate of the finger contact point,” and [0039]” Note that the voltage measurements in the x and y directions are made within a short time period during which the upper and lower conductive layers are in contact at point P7 and the finger has not been lifted off the top surface of the touch panel (i.e., the finger will lift off after touch and the system will go back to ungrounded).”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the conductive planar surface is the furthest protruding structure from the first side of the printed circuit board ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other.”, and see Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the conductive planar surface is the only conductive planar surface on the first side of the printed circuit board ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other.” Where first side of the circuit board (film 200) is the only conductive planar surface on said first side (100)).
Regarding Claim 11, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches wherein the first side of the printed circuit board includes a plurality of conductive planar surfaces ([0039] “FIG. 4B depicts a top view of a touch panel having multiple conductive regions. The touch panel has the upper and lower conductive layers. The upper conductive layer is divided into six rectangular conductive regions 430-1 through 430-6. The lower conductive layer 420 has four electrodes 1 through 4 at its four corners.” Where upper is one conductive surface and lower is another conductive surface), each conductive planar surface having a size and geometry corresponding to an average human fingertip that is anticipated to provide touch inputs to the touch screen display by contacting the touch screen display adjacent to one or more touch pixels of the touch screen display ([0039] “To measure the y-coordinate of a contact point “P7,” the electrodes 1 and 2 are coupled to the anode of a power supply and the electrodes 3 and 4 are coupled to the cathode of the power supply. Because the upper conductive layer is brought into contact with the lower conductive layer 420 at the contact point P7, the output terminal of the conductive region 430-4 generates a voltage signal whose magnitude has a predefined relationship (e.g., proportional) with the y-coordinate of the contact point. After measuring the y-coordinate, the electrodes 1 and 3 are coupled to the anode of the power supply and the electrodes 2 and 4 are coupled to the cathode of the power supply. In this case, the output terminal of the conductive region 430-4 generates another voltage signal whose magnitude has a predefined relationship (e.g., proportional) with the x-coordinate of the contact point. Note that the voltage measurements in the x and y directions are made within a short time period during which the upper and lower conductive layers are in contact at point P7 and the finger has not been lifted off the top surface of the touch panel.” and [0031] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrative of a device having multiple touch-sensitive regions and subject to six finger contacts simultaneously in accordance with some embodiments.”) the system further comprising: a plurality of switches disposed on the second side of the printed circuit board ([0035] “Each of the four control circuits 11 through 14 is coupled to at least one set of electrodes along one edge of the base 300. In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state at a corresponding electrode.” Where the switches are on the glass side of the PCB), wherein each switch is configured to change a state of a respective conductive planar surface of the plurality of conductive planar surfaces between a grounded state and a non- grounded state ([0035] “In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state (i.e., ground/unground state) at a corresponding electrode. When a switch coupled to an electrode is turned on, an electrical circuit loop including the switch and the electrode is formed.”), wherein a touch event at the one or more touch pixels adjacent to a conductive planar surface associated with a switch is simulated when the conductive planar surface associated with the switch is in contact with the touch screen display and adjacent to the one or more touch pixels and is changed from the non-grounded state to the grounded state, and wherein a non-touch event at the one or more touch pixels is simulated when the conductive planar surface associated with the switch is in contact with the touch screen display and adjacent to the one or more touch pixels and in the non- grounded state ([0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface (i.e., non-touch event) of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other (i.e., ungrounded). When an object such as a finger tip presses the contact film 200, the contact film 200 deforms downward and brings the two conductive layers into contact (i.e., grounded).”); and a plurality of electrical conductors, each electrical conductor being electrically connected between a switch of the plurality of switches and a conductive planar surface associated with the switch ([0035] “The six dashed-line boxes within the base 300 represent the projection of the six conductive regions of the contact film 400 onto the base 300. Note that there is no overlapping region between any two adjacent conductive regions. Each of the four control circuits 11 through 14 is coupled to at least one set of electrodes along one edge of the base 300. In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state at a corresponding electrode.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong further teaches further comprising a processor configured for controlling the switch to change the state of the conductive planar surface between a grounded state and a non-grounded state ([0057] “The multi-touch input panel 910 is coupled to a microcontroller 920. In some embodiments, the microcontroller 920 is an ASIC chip including multiple circuits. In some other embodiments, the microcontroller 920 is an electronic system that is comprised of multiple ICs, each IC having a specific function. For example, the panel drive 930 is responsible for controlling the switches, e.g., turning on/off the switches, in the different control circuits shown in FIG. 4A. By scheduling the on/off sequence of the switches in different directions, the multi-point touch-sensitive system can measure the x-coordinates and y-coordinates of the respective touch events, simultaneous or not, at different conductive regions.” Where [0035] “ Each of the four control circuits 11 through 14 is coupled to at least one set of electrodes along one edge of the base 300. In some embodiments, a control circuit includes multiple switches, each switch controlling the on/off state (i.e., grounded/ ungrounded, respectively) at a corresponding electrode. When a switch coupled to an electrode is turned on, an electrical circuit loop including the switch and the electrode is formed (i.e., grounded).”), further comprising a processor configured for receiving data from the touch screen display ([0050] “At operation, the microcontroller 730 sends instructions to the touch panel 740 through the control signal 19 to detect user-entered commands or requests using multiple finger contacts or a multi-contact pen-like tool simultaneously. Upon receipt of the user requests, the touch panel 740 generates multiple output signals 20 from the multiple conductive regions as described above and transmits the output signals 20 to the microcontroller 730. The microcontroller 730 processes the output signals 20 to determine the location-related information 17 of the multiple contacts and sends the location-related information 17 to the application microprocessor 720 (e.g., a CPU processor).”); the data indicating a response of the one or more touch pixels to a change of state of the conductive planar surface when the conductive planar surface is in contact with the touch screen display and adjacent to the one or more touch pixels ([0050] “At operation, the microcontroller 730 sends instructions to the touch panel 740 through the control signal 19 to detect user-entered commands or requests using multiple finger contacts or a multi-contact pen-like tool simultaneously. Upon receipt of the user requests, the touch panel 740 generates multiple output signals 20 from the multiple conductive regions as described above and transmits the output signals 20 to the microcontroller 730. The microcontroller 730 processes the output signals 20 to determine the location-related information 17 of the multiple contacts and sends the location-related information 17 to the application microprocessor 720 (e.g., a CPU processor).” Where [0028] “In particular, the conductive layers that are attached to the base 100 and the contact film 200, respectively, are separated in space by a spacer layer (not shown in FIG. 2). When there is no pressure applied to the top surface (i.e., non-touch event) of the contact film 200, the two conductive layers are electrically insulated from each other (i.e., ungrounded). When an object such as a finger tip presses the contact film 200, the contact film 200 deforms downward and brings the two conductive layers into contact (i.e., grounded).”).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Hargrove and further in view of McConville et al. (US 2004/0262029 A1) hereinafter McConville.
Regarding Claim 4, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 3.
Kong does not teach wherein the electrical conductor passes through a via in the printed circuit board.
McConville teaches wherein the electrical conductor passes through a via in the printed circuit board ([0046] “FIG. 10 is a cross-sectional side view of the portion of the indented panel of material 210 after a portion of the electrically conductive material 311, 312 has been removed, according to an embodiment of this invention. The end result is that the indentations for traces 810, 818 are now filled with electrically conductive material 311, 312 and are separated from other traces and other electrical features of the panel by insulative material of the panel of material 210. Thus the channels 810 and 818 result in electrical traces 1010 and 1018. Also formed is a via 1014 within the opening 814 in the panel of material 210 as well as pads 1012 and 1016 on each end of the via 1014.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of vias as discussed by McConville to the circuit board discussed in Kong for the purpose of connecting a trace on one layer of a PCB to another trace on another layer of the PCB (e.g., McConville, [0003]). This is advantageous because the use of vias helps to save space, manage heat, improve reliability and vias help to facilitate connections to surface mount components.
Regarding Claim 5, Kong and Hargrove teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Kong does not teach wherein the size and geometry of the conductive planar surface is defined by an etching process that removes conductive material from the first side of the printed circuit board.
McConville teaches wherein the size and geometry of the conductive planar surface is defined by an etching process that removes conductive material from the first side of the printed circuit board ([0004] “One conventional way to make a PCB is to start with a sheet or strip of dielectric coated with a conductive metal such as copper. Using various drilling, plating, lithographic and metal etching steps a pattern is then formed leaving metal where traces are desired.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the use of etching as discussed in McConville to the circuit boards in Kong for the purpose of removing the conductive surface from unwanted locations. This is advantageous because a pattern is then formed leaving metal where traces are desired (e.g. McConville, [0004]), keeping the surface clear of unwanted contact points.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857