DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-20, is/are filed on 11/18/25 are currently pending. Claim(s) 16-20 is/are withdrawn, 1-15 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Weimar (WO 2019145326 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weimar a filtration system (120,220) for a fuel system (10,20) for an engine (4) of a marine vessel (1), the filtration system (120,220) comprising: an inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) for fluid connection to a settling tank (110), the settling tank (110) being for cleaning fuel for the engine (4); an outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) for fluid connection to a service tank (130), the service tank (130) being for storing fuel for the engine (4); and an arrangement of plural primary filtration devices (222), wherein the arrangement is fluidly connected between the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) and the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) so that fuel flowing in use from the settling tank (110) via the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) to the service tank (130) via the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) passes through at least one of the primary filtration devices (222); wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause each respective primary filtration device (222) of the arrangement to operate, independently of each other primary filtration device (222) in the arrangement, selectively in either: a first mode, in which the filtration system (120,220) causes fuel to flow, in use, in a first fluid direction through a filter (122,222) of the respective primary filtration device (222), the filter (122,222) being configured to remove contaminants from the fuel, or a second mode, in which the filtration system (120,220) causes a fluid to flow, in use, through the filter (122,222) in a second fluid direction, opposite to the first fluid direction, to dislodge the contaminants from the filter (122,222) [0047, 0066, 0069, 0085].
Regarding claim 2, Weimar teaches wherein the plural primary filtration devices (222) comprise: a first primary filtration device (222) and a second primary filtration device (an additional 222) in a parallel fluid arrangement (the patent explicitly teaches the overall system can include multiple such united arranged in parallel [0085]) with the first primary filtration device (222); and a third primary filtration device (pre-filter) upstream of and in a series fluid arrangement with the first (222) and second (222) primary filtration devices so that the third primary filtration device (pre-filter) fluidly connects each of the first (222) and second (222) primary filtration devices with the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221), whereby fuel flowing in use from the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) to the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) passes through the third primary filtration device (pre-filter) before passing through the first (222) or second (222) primary filtration devices; and wherein the first primary filtration device (222) and the second primary filtration device (222) are each configured to extract smaller-diameter contaminants than the third primary filtration device (pre-filter) is configured to extract from fuel flowing through the plural primary filtration devices (222) in use [0068].
Regarding claim 4, Weimar teaches wherein the filtration system (120,220) of claim 1, wherein the filtration system (120,220) comprises a bypass (B) around one or more of the plural primary filtration devices (222), so that fuel is passable via the bypass (B), rather than via the one or more primary filtration devices (222).
Regarding claim 5, Weimar teaches wherein the filtration system (120,220) of claim 4, wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configurable to pass the fuel through a given primary filtration device (222) of the plural primary filtration devices (222), while bypassing the fuel around the one or more primary filtration devices (222) via the bypass (B) [0071].
Regarding claim 6, Weimar teaches wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configurable to pass the fuel to either the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) or the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130), while bypassing the fuel around the one or more primary filtration devices (222) via the bypass (B) [0071].
Regarding claim 8, Weimar teaches wherein the fluid caused to flow, in use, through the filter (122,222) in the second fluid direction is fuel, and wherein the filtration system (120,220) comprises: a secondary filtration device (225) for removing the dislodged contaminants from the fuel that has passed through the filter (122,222) of the respective primary filtration devices (222) in the second fluid direction to provide secondary filtered fuel, and a first port (between valve 229 and settling tank 110) for fluidly connecting the secondary filtration device (225) to the service tank (130), wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause the secondary filtered fuel to flow from the secondary filtration device (225) to the first port (between valve 229 and settling tank 110) [0069, 0072, 0075].
Regarding claim 9, Weimar teaches a filtration system (120,220) for a fuel system (10,20) for an engine (4) of a marine vessel (1), the filtration system (120,220) comprising: an inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) for fluid connection to a settling tank (110), the settling tank (110) being for cleaning fuel for the engine (4); an outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) for fluid connection to a service tank (130), the service tank (130) being for storing fuel for the engine (4); and a primary filtration device (222) fluidly connected between the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) and the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) so that fuel flowing in use from the settling tank (110) via the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) to the service tank (130) via the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) passes through the primary filtration device (222); wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause the primary filtration device (222) to operate selectively in either: a first mode, in which the filtration system (120,220) causes fuel to flow, in use, in a first fluid direction through a filter (122,222) of the primary filtration device (222), the filter (122,222) being configured to remove contaminants from the fuel, or a second mode, in which the filtration system (120,220) causes fuel to flow, in use, through the filter (122,222) in a second fluid direction, opposite to the first fluid direction, to dislodge the contaminants from the filter (122,222); wherein the filtration system (120,220) comprises a secondary filtration device (225) for removing the dislodged contaminants from fuel that has passed through the filter (122,222) in the second fluid direction to provide secondary filtered fuel, and a first port (between valve 229 and settling tank 110) for fluidly connecting the secondary filtration device (225) to the service tank (130); and wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause the secondary filtered fuel to flow from the secondary filtration device (225) to the first port (between valve 229 and settling tank 110) [0047, 0066-0069, 0072, 0075].
Regarding claim 10, Weimar teaches wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause the secondary filtration device (225) to operate selectively in either: a filtering mode, wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause fuel to flow, in use, in a filtering fluid direction through a filter (125,225) of the secondary filtration device (225), the filter (125,225) of the secondary filtration device (225) being configured to remove the dislodged contaminants from the fuel that has passed through the filter (122,222) of the, or each, primary filtration device (222) in the second fluid direction; or a cleaning mode, wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause fuel to flow, in use, through the filter (125,225) of the secondary filtration device (225) in a cleaning fluid direction, opposite to the filtering fluid direction, to dislodge the contaminants from the filter (125,225) of the secondary filtration device (225) [0085].
Regarding claim 11, Weimar teaches wherein the, or each, primary filtration device (222) comprises a backflush supply (222a) downstream of the filter (122,222) of the respective primary filtration device (222), so that the backflush supply (222a) is fluidically connected between the filter (122,222) and the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) [0069].
Regarding claim 12, Weimar teaches wherein the filter (122,222) of the, or each, primary filtration device (222) is a first filter (122,222) and the, or each, primary filtration device (222) comprises a second filter (122,222), and wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause fuel to flow, in the second mode, in the first fluid direction through the second filter (122,222) [0085].
Regarding claim 14, Weimar teaches a filtration system (120,220) for a fuel system (10,20) for an engine (4) of a marine vessel (1), the filtration system (120,220) comprising: an inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) for fluid connection to a settling tank (110), the settling tank (110) being for cleaning fuel for the engine (4); an outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) for fluid connection to a service tank (130), the service tank (130) being for storing fuel for the engine (4); a primary filtration device (222) fluidly connected between the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) and the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) so that fuel flowing in use from the settling tank (110) via the inlet (between tank 110 and pump 221) to the service tank (130) via the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) passes through the primary filtration device (222); and a backflush supply (222a) downstream of a filter (122,222) of the primary filtration device (222) so that the backflush supply (222a) is fluidly connected between the filter (122,222) and the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130); wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause the primary filtration device (222) to operate selectively in either: a first mode, in which the filtration system (120,220) causes fuel to flow, in use, in a first fluid direction through the filter (122,222) of the primary filtration device (222), the filter (122,222) being configured to remove contaminants from the fuel, or a second mode, in which the filtration system (120,220) causes a fluid to flow, in use, from the backflush supply (222a) through the filter (122,222) in a second fluid direction, opposite to the first fluid direction, to dislodge the contaminants from the filter (122,222).
Regarding claim 15, Weimar teaches wherein the filter (122,222) is a first filter (122,222) and the primary filtration device (222) comprises a second filter (122,222), and wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured to cause fuel to flow, in the second mode, in the first fluid direction through the second filter (122,222) [0085].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 3, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weimar (WO 2019145326 A1) in view of Jiang (CN 103821648 A).
Regarding claim 3, Weimar does not teach comprising a heater for heating fuel in a portion of the arrangement upstream of the plural primary filtration devices so that fuel flowing in use from the inlet to the outlet is heatable by the heater before flowing to the plural primary filtration devices. JIANG (abstract) teaches a heater (oil purifier heater) for heating fuel in a portion of the arrangement upstream of the plural primary filtration devices so that fuel flowing in use from the inlet to the outlet is heatable by the heater before flowing to the plural primary filtration devices - "oil purifier heating pipe connected to the heavy oil settling tank. The input end is connected to the oil purifier of the oil purifier heater". It would have been obvious to combine the oil purifier heater from JIANG with Weimar’s filtration system to improve heavy fuel oil fluidity in marine vessels, ensuring efficient transportation and preventing clogging before filtration, as both systems address contaminant removal in viscous fuels (Weimar [0048] notes heating in settling tank for viscosity reduction, making addition of dedicated heater upstream routine).
Regarding claim 7, Weimar does not teach comprising a heater for heating fuel in a portion of the arrangement upstream of the plural primary filtration devices and upstream of the bypass, so that fuel flowing in use from the inlet to the outlet is heatable by the heater before flowing to the plural primary filtration devices and the bypass. Weimar teaches oil purifier heating pipe connected to the heavy oil settling tank The input end is connected to the oil purifier of the oil purifier heater. It would have been obvious to combine the heater (oil purifier heater) from JIANG with Weimar's bypass configuration to ensure heated fuel flows to both filters and bypass, improving viscosity reduction in cold conditions for reliable marine operation, as Weimar already uses bypass for warming pipes (Weimar [0071]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weimar (WO 2019145326 A1) in view of Yamamoto (JP 2011183257 A).
Regarding claim 13, Weimar teaches a primary filter (222) with backflush supply from the clean downstream path [0069] it also teaches tap (i.e. 222a), but lacks specifics on dual filter coordination during backflush. Therefore, it does not teach wherein the backflush supply comprises a fluid path upstream of the outlet and downstream of the filter. Yamamoto teaches wherein the backflush supply comprises a fluid path upstream of the outlet (between valve 224 and tank 130) and downstream of the filter (122,222), and a tap for tapping fuel from the fluid path, and wherein the filtration system (120,220) is configured in the second mode to: cause fuel to flow through the second filter (125,225) in the first fluid direction to the fluid path; and cause fuel to pass from the fluid path, via the tap, through the first filter (122,222) in the second fluid direction [0039].
Weimar teaches a backflush supply (backflush pump 222a) [0069], a fluid path upstream of the outlet and downstream of the filter (the line between the outlet of filter 222 and fuel return valve 224 (Fig. 3)); a tap for tapping fuel from the fluid path (backflush pump 222a is connected to and draws clean fuel from that downstream line ([0069]: “the backflush pump 222a … for pumping fuel from the service tank 130 through the first filter 222 … so that the service tank 130 is fluidly connected to the first filter 222 via the backflush pump 222a”), cause fuel to flow through the second filter in the first fluid direction to the fluid path (when plural filtration systems are operated in parallel ([0085]), one filter (the “second filter”) remains in normal forward filtration mode and supplies clean fuel to the common downstream path while the other is backflushed; cause fuel to pass from the fluid path, via the tap, through the first filter in the second fluid direction (backflush pump 222a forces the tapped clean fuel backwards through filter 222 in backflush mode ([0069]).
Alternatively, if 222a is for some reason not considered a tap. Yamamoto expressly discloses an equivalent tapping structure using branch lines and valves: waste flow paths (13A and 13B) branch from the downstream side of the filters ([0033], Fig. 1) discard valves 17A and 17B open to tap clean fuel from the common downstream path 25 and force it backwards through the filter being cleaned ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute or supplement the backflush pump 222a of Weimar with the valved branch-line tapping arrangement of Yamamoto (elements 13A/13B and 17A/17B) because both references are directed to automatic backflushing filtration of marine heavy fuel oil and both achieve the identical function of drawing clean downstream fuel for reverse cleaning of the filter. This would provide a more effective backflush with intermittent/pulsed flow (Yamamoto [0016], [0045] – opening and closing the discard valve multiple times) which Yamamoto proves removes contaminants more thoroughly and reduces the amount of fuel wasted (Yamamoto, [0010], [0055]: waste oil reduced to 1/3–1/5 of conventional systems). Such a substitution represents the simple substitution of one known tapping mechanism (Yamamoto’s valved branch) for another (Weimar’s pump connection) to obtain predictable results, and is therefore obvious under KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777