DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action upon examination of application number 18/312959.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4, 12, 13, and 18, have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 12-14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0342073 (Dai); in view of US 2022/0224684 (Schultz); in view of US 2016/0323269 (Zaheer).
As per claim 1, Dai teaches: a method for tokenized accreditation, comprising: receiving a request for a token from an individual associated with an authorized source utilizing a data platform; ([0027] The unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test, and other rules generated by the educational institution according to the teaching situation thereof. [0028] The issuing of the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address. [0032] The students may send the learning history to the employing unit through electronic means by authorization through the key.
securely communicating the request to the authorized source …; receiving validation information regarding the individual from the authorized source in the data platform; ([0005] … establishing a unified issuing rule of the token by educational institutions, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule; [0009] …the unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test. [0010] Further, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address….When the token is transferred, the authorization needs to be performed by the educational institution through the key ).
automatically tokenizing the validation information … into one or more blockchain tokens by the data platform in response to verifying validation information, …; ([Abstract] … issuing rule of the token by educational institutions, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule…checking the digital education record through an authorization key. [0027] The unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test, and other rules generated by the educational institution according to the teaching situation thereof. [0028] The issuing of the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address. The hash value, date, time and number of the token transferring procedure are recorded on the entire network blockchain nodes in a real time. When the token is transferred, the authorization needs to be performed by the educational institution through the key. [0030] The method of generating a digital education record for a student according to the data includes acquiring a situation and related data that a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods).
communicating one of the one or more blockchain tokens to at least the individual associated with the authorized source … ([Abstract] … issuing rule of the token by educational institutions, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule…checking the digital education record through an authorization key. [0027] The unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test, and other rules generated by the educational institution according to the teaching situation thereof. [0028] The issuing of the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address. The hash value, date, time and number of the token transferring procedure are recorded on the entire network blockchain nodes in a real time. When the token is transferred, the authorization needs to be performed by the educational institution through the key. [0030] The method of generating a digital education record for a student according to the data includes acquiring a situation and related data that a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods).
Although not explicitly taught by Dai, Schultz teaches: verifying, by the data platform, the validation information using at least a database query of the authorized source; ([0098] … the token validator 550 may access the database 560 to search or find the token 590′ associated with the initiator 505. If no token 590′ associated with the initiator 505 is found, the token validator 550 may determine that no previous token 590′ for the initiator 505 exists. In addition, the token validator 550 may not validate or otherwise restrict the token 590 for use in communications over one or more of the networks 515).
In addition to Dai, Shultz also teaches: communicating …. with the authorized source through a secure connection ([0060] Encryption engine 234 may process any security related protocol, such as SSL or TLS. For example, encryption engine 234 may encrypt and decrypt network packets, or any portion thereof, communicated via appliance 200, may setup or establish SSL, TLS or other secure connections, for example between client 102, server 106).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Schultz to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for validation of information using a database.
Although not explicitly taught by Dai, Zaheer teaches: tokenizing the validation information and signed validation hash into one or more blockchain tokens …, the blockchain tokens include metadata fields for at least an issuer identifier, a subject identifier, and the signed validation hash ([0020] The content of this token is shown schematically in FIG. 3. The standard components 320 of a token 300 are those authentication token elements that are commonly found in most or all such tokens. In the preferred embodiment, the token 300 conforms to the OAuth (defined in Request for Comment-RFC-5849) or OAuth 2.0 specification (defined in Request for Comment-RFC-6749) as defined by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). These standard components 320 include the hash value 322 and the expiration time 324 for the token 300. The expiration time 324 defines the time period during which this token 300 is valid. When the expiration time 324 has passed, the token is no longer valid and the user (mobile device 110) must request a renewed token (or otherwise refresh the token). Other components 326 are commonly found in standard tokens 300, including a name, an issuer, and an audience for the token 300. The content, format, and functioning of each of these standard token components 320 are well known in the art.)
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dai with the aforementioned teachings of Zaheer with the motivation of implementing standardized authentication token structures (Zaheer [0020]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Zaheer to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for inclusion of metadata in a token.
As per claim 3, Dai teaches: wherein the authorized source provides education ([0005] …A digital education record management method based on the blockchain token technology, the steps of the method are as follows: generating a fixed number of tokens on the blockchain of the entire network through a hash algorithm; generating a unique educational institution hash address [0009] …token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test [0019] FIG. 1 is a flow chart of a digital education record management method based on a blockchain token technology).
As per claim 4, Dai teaches: wherein the validation information ensures that the individual has completed all of the requirements associated with receiving the one or more blockchain tokens from the authorized source ([0009] …token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test [0010] …issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address. [0019] FIG. 1 is a flow chart of a digital education record management method based on a blockchain token technology) and includes a cryptographically signed validation hash to confirm authenticity ([0007] … The encryption and decryption rules of the management key matching the educational institution hash address is generated by performing a calculation on a SHA-256 hash value of the account with the use of an elliptic curve encryption algorithm. The management key corresponding to the student hash address also includes a public key and a private key. [0023] ... generating a fixed number of tokens on the blockchain of the entire network through a hash algorithm).
As per claim 5, Dai teaches: wherein the verifying is performed automatically by the data platform utilizing databases of the authorized source ([0012] Further, the method of generating a digital education record for a student according to the data includes acquiring a situation and related data that a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods through a comparison table of the educational institution hash address and a comparison table of the student hash address, thereby, generating a digital education record for a student. [0030] The method of generating a digital education record for a student according to the data includes acquiring a situation and related data that a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods through the comparison table of the educational institution hash address and a comparison table of the student hash address, thereby, generating a life-time recorded and tamper-resistance digital education record based on the blockchain for a student.).
As per claim 6, Dai teaches: wherein the request is automatically generated in response to the individual completing requirements associated with receiving the token ([Abstract] …establishing a unified issuing rule of the token by educational institutions, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule [0009] …the unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test. [0010] Further, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address).
As per claim 7, Dai teaches: wherein the one or more tokens include a first token associated with the authorized source and a second token associated with the individual ([0008] … assigning a sufficient number of the tokens to the educational institution is: distributing the tokens to the educational institution hash address and automatically recording on the entire network nodes of the blockchain simultaneously. [0009] …the unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test. [0010] Further, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address).
As per claim 8, Dai teaches: wherein the first token and the second token are linked for subsequent verification ([0012] … generating a digital education record for a student according to the data includes acquiring a situation and related data that a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods through a comparison table of the educational institution hash address and a comparison table of the student hash address, thereby, generating a digital education record for a student).
As per claim 12, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 1, above; therefore, the same rejection applies. Additionally, Dai teaches: a plurality of electronic devices executing a data application, the data application is configured to capture the user data associated with a user; and a data platform accessible by the plurality of electronic devices through one or more networks ([0029] The blockchain scanning tool is Etherscan or Web3js. The reading of the date on the blockchain node includes acquiring the latest token transferring data on the entire network blockchain nodes anytime. [0009] … the unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test. [0023] … generating a digital education record for the student according to the data; checking the digital education record through an authorization key).
As per claim 13, Dai teaches: wherein the data platform securely communicates with the authorized source to receive the validation information ([0005] … reserving a comparison table of each educational institution and its hash address by the blockchain management node [0007] … the management key matching the educational institution hash address includes a public key and a private key. The encryption and decryption rules of the management key matching the educational institution hash address is generated by performing a calculation on a SHA-256 hash value of the account with the use of an elliptic curve encryption algorithm. [0010] … When the token is transferred, the authorization needs to be performed by the educational institution through the key).
As per claim 14, Dai teaches: wherein the data platform securely communicates with one or more servers of the authorized source ([0005] … reserving a comparison table of each educational institution and its hash address by the blockchain management node [0007] … the management key matching the educational institution hash address includes a public key and a private key. The encryption and decryption rules of the management key matching the educational institution hash address is generated by performing a calculation on a SHA-256 hash value of the account with the use of an elliptic curve encryption algorithm. [0010] … When the token is transferred, the authorization needs to be performed by the educational institution through the key [0012] …a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods).
As per claim 17, Dai teaches: wherein the authorized source is automatically accessed through a dedicated secure connection ([Abstract] … issuing rule of the token by educational institutions, issuing the token to the student when the student meets the rule…checking the digital education record through an authorization key. [0027] The unified token issuing rule established by educational institution is as follows: the student completes one day of study or passes a test, and other rules generated by the educational institution according to the teaching situation thereof. [0028] The issuing of the token to the student when the student meets the rule includes transferring the token from the educational institution hash address to the student hash address. The hash value, date, time and number of the token transferring procedure are recorded on the entire network blockchain nodes in a real time. When the token is transferred, the authorization needs to be performed by the educational institution through the key. [0030] The method of generating a digital education record for a student according to the data includes acquiring a situation and related data that a student obtains the tokens in different educational institutions in different periods).
As per claim 18, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 1, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim(s) 2 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0342073 (Dai); in view of US 2022/0224684 (Schultz); in view of US 2016/0323269 (Zaheer); in view of US 2020/0007336 (Wengel).
As per claim 2, although not explicitly taught by Dai, Wengel teaches: wherein the one or more blockchain tokens are associated with a degree ([0027] …Providing blockchain/distributed ledger technology verified diplomas to higher education partners achieves a verified proof of degree/certification attainment [0050] … if the user has earned a degree from a university, the system may receive from the university credential information that includes the university's name, the degree awarded to the user, the date that the degree was awarded, the user's grade point average, the user's class rank, whether the user graduated with honors, and/or the dates during which the user attended the university. [0051] Credential information may be any information on a resume that is certified by a trusted institution. A trusted institution may be a university, corporate employer, or skills certification program. Credential information may only be accepted by computer systems according to the present invention from institutions that have been previously authorized to provide credential information. Each trusted institution may be provided an authorization code that must be provided with the credential information for the credential information to be accepted. Credential information may include information relevant to the certified resume information. For example, for a degree earned by a user of the system, the credential information may include the name of the institution that issued the degree, the date on which the degree was earned, and/or the dates that the user attended the institution. [0052] FIG. 3 depicts a flow chart (300) of information according to the present invention. At the top of the chart is a blockchain (310) maintained by four exemplary education institutions (EDU 1, EDU 2, EDU 3, and EDU 4) who may post to the blockchain credential information regarding their students and alumni).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dai with the aforementioned teachings of Wengel with the motivation of providing a ledger for verified diplomas (Wengel [0027]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Wengel to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the recording of degrees on blockchain.
As per claim 10, although not explicitly taught by Dai, Wengel teaches: wherein the physical object is a diploma ([0004] …individuals who have just completed a high school degree, a 2 year degree program, a 4 year undergraduate degree, a graduate degree, or a professional certification program that recognizes a new skill that the participants receive. [0047] …Included in the Education Section (110) may be information concerning one or more schools the user has attended, degrees the user earned, the user's dates of graduation from each school, and honors the user received while attending each school).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dai with the aforementioned teachings of Wengel with the motivation of providing a ledger for diplomas (Wengel [0027]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Wengel to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the recording of degrees on blockchain.
Claim(s) 9, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0342073 (Dai); in view of US 2022/0224684 (Schultz); in view of US 2016/0323269 (Zaheer); in view of US 2023/0325765 (Dai ‘65).
As per claim 9, although not explicitly taught by Dai, Dai ’65 teaches: integrating the one or more blockchain tokens in an identifier associated with a physical object ([0016] picks up and records on the server the location information transmitted by the GPS sensor linked to the barrel number, and the storage-state data of the individual barrel transmitted by the IoT sensor linked to the barrel number, including the time elapsed from the unblended liquor fill date, and temperature and humidity taken at each specified time; and [0017] hashes the basic data, location information, and storage-state data by linking the barrel number thereto, and records the result on a public blockchain. [0021] hashes the basic data, location information, and storage-state data by linking the barrel number thereto, and records the result on a public blockchain; and [0022] records on the blockchain a certificate token linked to the barrel number. [0038] … issues a barrel number being a truly-random serial number unique to each barrel (2), and issues onto a blockchain an NFT linked to the barrel number (3, 4) [0043] It is shown that the distillery informs the company managing this system (1) of the basic information of each barrel, including the barrel number, unblended liquor fill date, brand, net weight, alcohol proof, and manufacturer name; however, the distillery may directly enter each of the above information in the system. The system issues certificate tokens onto the blockchain based on this information. These certificate tokens are NFTs (non-fungible tokens, tokens that cannot be replaced) in that each individual token holds uniquely different data and is thus identifiable. The NFTs issued by this system are linked to the respective barrel numbers, and these certificate tokens themselves can certify the ownership of the barrels.).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dai with the aforementioned teachings of Dai ’65 with the motivation of linking tokens to object identifiers (Dai ’65 [0022]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Dai ’65 to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for tokes to be linked to object identifiers.
As per claim 16, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 9, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
As per claim 19, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 9, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim(s) 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0342073 (Dai); in view of US 2022/0224684 (Schultz); in view of US 2016/0323269 (Zaheer); in view of US 2022/0021728 (Kelly).
As per claim 11, although not explicitly taught by Dai, Kelly teaches: wherein the token is stored in a hardware chip integrated with an object ([Claim 2] …wherein the first token is stored at the user device [0160] … token is assigned and/or stored on the uploading user's hardware).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Kelly to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the storage of tokens on hardware.
As per claim 15, this claim recites limitations substantially similar to those addressed by the rejection of claim 11, above; therefore, the same rejection applies.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0342073 (Dai); in view of US 2022/0224684 (Schultz); in view of US 2016/0323269 (Zaheer); in view of US 2021/0328800 (Lee).
As per claim 20, although not explicitly taught by Dai, Lee teaches: wherein the one or more blockchain tokens are integrated with a hardware chip that communicates an inaudible tone ([0052] … authentication include secure login and user authentication for tokenized or other encrypted payloads for content [0065] … a token vault 235 for tokenized payload or key storage 236 for single key or dual key encryption. The encoder/decoder 232 is also configured to compress a payload into an inaudible soundwave and encrypt the compressed payload for transmission to a downstream device, as well as decrypt the same. [0085] … the system is configured to decrypt the encrypted inaudible soundwave, then decrypt or detokenize the authorization information. For example, in an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 3B, after block 24a, at block 25a the VED 110 receives the inaudible soundwave via VED microphone 238 decrypts the encrypted inaudible soundwave including the encrypted or tokenized authorization information. For example, the VED 110 can be provided with a key to decrypt the inaudible soundwave. [0091] … the VED receives the inaudible soundwave via VED microphone 238 decrypts the encrypted inaudible soundwave including the tokenized payment information. For example, the VED can be provided with a key to decrypt the inaudible soundwave… [0095] … the VED receives the inaudible soundwave, then converts the inaudible soundwave to an encrypted data payload including the tokenized payment information and transmits the encrypted data payload including tokenized payment information [Abstract] The user device encodes encrypted authorization credentials into an inaudible soundwave and emits the soundwave).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Dai with the aforementioned teachings of Lee with the motivation of authenticating tokenized content (Lee [0052]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Lee to the system of Dai would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the use of inaudible soundwaves in the authentication of tokens.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the art of record does not disclose the claimed features.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant’s arguments are directed to newly amended features; additional search has been conducted and the rejection has been updated to address said amendments. See updated Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0220299 (Gupta) – discloses a token containing metadata including issuer, audience/subject, and a signature/hash ([0042]).
/ALAN TORRICO-LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625