DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Figure 5, move reference number 116R on the right side (second area 115b) to its deposition pattern, and label 116G in the second area 115b.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 21, paragraph 51, line 15: Change 30 to 30A.
Page 22, paragraph 55, line 16: Add “distance” before “Da”. See line 19.
Page 26, paragraph 68, line 26: Add “distance” before “Db”.
Page 31, paragraph 82, line 17: Change 301 to 301-n.
Page 31, paragraph 83, line 20: Should 110B be 110C? This is the embodiment discussed in Figure 11.
Page 34, paragraph 91, line 12: Change Db to Dc. Compare with line 11.
Page 35, paragraph 94, line 11: Change 303 to 303-1.
Page 38, paragraph 105, line 21: Change 303 to 303-1.
Page 38, paragraph 105, line 25: Change 301 to 301-n.
Page 45, paragraph 129, line 28: Change “are” to “area”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Claim 1 defines pixels and deposition patterns as follows:
a display area arranged with a plurality of pixels, the plurality of pixels including a first pixel containing a first deposition material emitting a first color light and a second pixel containing a second deposition material emitting a second color light different from the first color light and having the same size as the first pixel; and a non-display area located around the display area, the non-display area including a first area adjacent to one side of the display area and a second area adjacent to the other side opposite the one side of the display area, wherein the first area is arranged with a first deposition pattern containing the first deposition material, and the second area is arranged with a second deposition pattern containing the second deposition material and having the same size as the first deposition pattern, and the second deposition pattern is not arranged in the first area.
Claim 1 (emphasis added).
Specifically, pixels are in the display area and deposition patterns are in the first or second area, which is in the non-display area adjacent to the display area, the first area and the second area being on opposite sides of the display area.
Claim 2 requires: “wherein the first deposition pattern in the first area is separated from the second deposition pattern, which is in the same pixel row as the first deposition pattern and closest to the one side of the display area, by three pixels.” (emphasis added). This is a specific separation requirement. However, according to applicants’ Figure 5, it is the second pixel that is separated from the first deposition pattern by three pixels, not the second deposition pattern that is separated from the first deposition pattern by three pixels. Because the language is confusing as to what is separated by what and by how much, claim 2 is rejected as indefinite. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted without the “by three pixels” requirement.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected for depending from rejected base claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xin, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0269397, Figure 9.
Regarding claim 1: Xin Figure 9 discloses a display device comprising: a display area (a1) arranged with a plurality of pixels (301), the plurality of pixels (301) including a first pixel containing a first deposition material emitting a first color light and a second pixel containing a second deposition material emitting a second color light different from the first color light and having the same size as the first pixel; and a non-display area (a2) located around the display area (a1), the non-display area (a2) including a first area (left side) adjacent to one side of the display area (a1) and a second area (right side) adjacent to the other side opposite the one side of the display area (a1), wherein the first area (left side) is arranged with a first deposition pattern (302) ((diagonally marked subpixel area—see Figure 9 (annotated)) containing the first deposition material, and the second area (right side) is arranged with a second deposition pattern (302) (dotted subpixel area—see id.) containing the second deposition material (dotted subpixel area) and having the same size as the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area), and the second deposition pattern (dotted subpixel area) is not arranged in the first area (left side). Xin specification ¶¶ 62-88.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Xin Figure 9 discloses the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area) in the first area (a1) is separated from the second deposition pattern (dotted subpixel area), which is in the same pixel row as the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area) and closest to the one side of the display area (a1).
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Xin Figure 9 discloses the second area (right side) is arranged with the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area) in addition to the second deposition pattern (dotted subpixel area).
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1: Xin Figure 9 discloses the plurality of pixels (301) is arranged in a stripe array in the display area (a1).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shi, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0418102, Figure 11.
Regarding claim 1: Shi Figure 11 discloses a display device (06) comprising: a display area (R1) arranged with a plurality of pixels (SP: SP1-SP4), the plurality of pixels (SP: SP1-SP4) including a first pixel (SP4) containing a first deposition material emitting a first color light (white) and a second pixel (SP3) containing a second deposition material emitting a second color light (blue) different from the first color light (white) and having the same size as the first pixel (SP4); and a non-display area (R2) located around the display area (R1), the non-display area (R2) including a first area (left R21) adjacent to one side of the display area (R1) and a second area (right R21) adjacent to the other side opposite the one side of the display area (R1), wherein the first area (left R21) is arranged with a first deposition pattern (SP04) containing the first deposition material (white), and the second area (right R21) is arranged with a second deposition pattern (SP03) containing the second deposition material (blue) and having the same size as the first deposition pattern (SP04), and the second deposition pattern (SP03) is not arranged in the first area (left R21). Shi specification ¶¶ 84-86.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the Section 112(b) rejection of claim 2 is addressed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “wherein the number of the second deposition patterns is greater than the number of the first deposition patterns in the second area”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897