CTNF 18/313,396 CTNF 87837 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities: In Figure 5, move reference number 116R on the right side (second area 115b) to its deposition pattern, and label 116G in the second area 115b . PNG media_image1.png 398 717 media_image1.png Greyscale Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 21, paragraph 51, line 15: Change 30 to 30A. Page 22, paragraph 55, line 16: Add “distance” before “Da”. See line 19. Page 26, paragraph 68, line 26: Add “distance” before “Db”. Page 31, paragraph 82, line 17: Change 301 to 301-n. Page 31, paragraph 83, line 20: Should 110B be 110C? This is the embodiment discussed in Figure 11. Page 34, paragraph 91, line 12: Change Db to Dc. Compare with line 11. Page 35, paragraph 94, line 11: Change 303 to 303-1. Page 38, paragraph 105, line 21: Change 303 to 303-1. Page 38, paragraph 105, line 25: Change 301 to 301-n. Page 45, paragraph 129, line 28: Change “are” to “area” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 07-34-01 Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Claim 1 defines pixels and deposition patterns as follows: a display area arranged with a plurality of pixels, the plurality of pixels including a first pixel containing a first deposition material emitting a first color light and a second pixel containing a second deposition material emitting a second color light different from the first color light and having the same size as the first pixel; and a non-display area located around the display area, the non-display area including a first area adjacent to one side of the display area and a second area adjacent to the other side opposite the one side of the display area, wherein the first area is arranged with a first deposition pattern containing the first deposition material , and the second area is arranged with a second deposition pattern containing the second deposition material and having the same size as the first deposition pattern, and the second deposition pattern is not arranged in the first area. Claim 1 (emphasis added). Specifically, pixels are in the display area and deposition patterns are in the first or second area, which is in the non-display area adjacent to the display area, the first area and the second area being on opposite sides of the display area. Claim 2 requires: “ wherein the first deposition pattern in the first area is separated from the second deposition pattern , which is in the same pixel row as the first deposition pattern and closest to the one side of the display area, by three pixels .” (emphasis added). This is a specific separation requirement. However, according to applicants’ Figure 5, it is the second pixel that is separated from the first deposition pattern by three pixels, not the second deposition pattern that is separated from the first deposition pattern by three pixels. Because the language is confusing as to what is separated by what and by how much, claim 2 is rejected as indefinite. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted without the “by three pixels” requirement. Claims 3 and 4 are rejected for depending from rejected base claim 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claims 1- 3 and 5 are re jected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1)/(a)(2) a s being an ticipated by Xi n, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0269397, Figure 9. PNG media_image2.png 474 721 media_image2.png Greyscale Re garding claim 1: Xin Figure 9 discloses a display device comprising: a display area (a1) arranged with a plurality of pixels (301), the plurality of pixels (301) including a first pixel containing a first deposition material emitting a first color light and a second pixel containing a second deposition material emitting a second color light different from the first color light and having the same size as the first pixel; and a non-display area (a2) located around the display area (a1), the non-display area (a2) including a first area (left side) adjacent to one side of the display area (a1) and a second area (right side) adjacent to the other side opposite the one side of the display area (a1), wherein the first area (left side) is arranged with a first deposition pattern (302) ((diagonally marked subpixel area—see Figure 9 (annotated)) containing the first deposition material, and the second area (right side) is arranged with a second deposition pattern (302) (dotted subpixel area— see id. ) containing the second deposition material (dotted subpixel area) and having the same size as the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area), and the second deposition pattern (dotted subpixel area) is not arranged in the first area (left side). Xin specification ¶¶ 62-88. Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Xin Figure 9 discloses the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area) in the first area (a1) is separated from the second deposition pattern (dotted subpixel area), which is in the same pixel row as the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area) and closest to the one side of the display area (a1). Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Xin Figure 9 discloses the second area (right side) is arranged with the first deposition pattern (diagonally marked subpixel area) in addition to the second deposition pattern (dotted subpixel area). Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1: Xin Figure 9 discloses the plurality of pixels (301) is arranged in a stripe array in the display area (a1) . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shi, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0418102, Figure 11 . PNG media_image3.png 460 672 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1: Shi Figure 11 discloses a display device (06) comprising: a display area (R1) arranged with a plurality of pixels (SP: SP1-SP4), the plurality of pixels (SP: SP1-SP4) including a first pixel (SP4) containing a first deposition material emitting a first color light (white) and a second pixel (SP3) containing a second deposition material emitting a second color light (blue) different from the first color light (white) and having the same size as the first pixel (SP4); and a non-display area (R2) located around the display area (R1), the non-display area (R2) including a first area (left R21) adjacent to one side of the display area (R1) and a second area (right R21) adjacent to the other side opposite the one side of the display area (R1), wherein the first area (left R21) is arranged with a first deposition pattern (SP04) containing the first deposition material (white), and the second area (right R21) is arranged with a second deposition pattern (SP03) containing the second deposition material (blue) and having the same size as the first deposition pattern (SP04), and the second deposition pattern (SP03) is not arranged in the first area (left R21). Shi specification ¶¶ 84-86 . Allowable Subject Matter Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the Section 112(b) rejection of claim 2 is addressed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With regard to claim 4: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “wherein the number of the second deposition patterns is greater than the number of the first deposition patterns in the second area”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VICTORIA KATHLEEN HALL whose telephone number is (571)270-7567. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fernando Toledo can be reached at 571-272-1867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/313,396 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897