DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-14 are cancelled, and claims 15-34 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0264343 ("Han") in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0314824 ("Qiu") further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0138423 ("Laroia").
Regarding claim 15, Han discloses a method for forming a camera module, the method comprising:
forming a plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13, paragraph [0092]), including a first image sensor (left 210, Fig. 13), a second image sensor (middle 210, Fig. 13), and a third image sensor (right 210, Fig. 13);
forming a plurality of flat lenses (350, 360, 370, Fig. 13, paragraph [0097]), wherein the forming of the plurality of flat lenses comprises:
depositing a first optical layer (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13) on a first transparent substrate (310, Fig. 13, paragraphs [0061], [0074], [0096], the device is transmissive);
patterning the first optical layer (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13, is patterned, paragraph [0061]) to form a plurality of columnar structures (see Figs. 2-5, 13, paragraph [0062]: circular or square column shaped), which form a first flat lens (any of 350, 360, 370, Fig. 13) amongst the plurality of flat lenses (350, 360, 370, Fig. 13); and
depositing a first protection layer (330 and/or 530, Fig. 13, paragraphs [0059], [0061]) on the plurality of columnar structures (Fig. 13); and
the flat lenses (350, 360, 370, Fig. 13) are stacked over the plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13, paragraph [0098]) and the third image sensor (middle 210, Fig. 13) is between and spaced from the first and second image sensors (left and right 210, Fig. 13, paragraph [0092]); wherein the plurality of flat lenses comprises an imaging lens (paragraph [0110]).
Han does not disclose that the plurality of image sensors and flat lenses are arranged in a housing, nor that the plurality of flat lenses comprises a beam splitter and a pair of beam deflectors.
However, Qiu discloses the plurality of flat lenses (201, 202, Fig. 2) comprises a beam splitter (paragraph [0029], [0042]) and a pair of beam deflectors (202 includes at least two units, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0042], [0047], state the multi-function metasurface beam splitter can perform deflection among other functions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include metalenses that comprise a beam splitter and a pair of deflectors as disclosed by Qiu in the device of Han in order to allow for use in extreme environments and realize multi-function integration.
Han in view of Qiu does not disclose a housing.
However, Laroia discloses arranging a plurality of image sensors (Sensor 1 – Sensor N, Fig. 2) and the plurality of lenses (see columns 201, 203, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0077]-[0079]) in a housing (200, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount the lenses and image sensors in a housing as disclosed by Laroia in the device of Han in view of Qiu in order to protect the components, facilitate the movement of the lenses, and provide image stabilization to compensate for camera motion.
Regarding claim 21, Han in view of Qiu and Laroia discloses the method according to claim 15, and Han further discloses that the arranging places the first transparent substrate (310, Fig. 13) into contact with the plurality of image sensors (200/210, Fig. 13).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Qiu and Laroia further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0095257 ("Park").
Regarding claim 16, Han in view of Qiu and Laroia discloses the method according to claim 15, and Han further discloses that the forming of the plurality of flat lenses further comprises:
depositing a second optical layer (any of NS2, NS4, NS6, Fig. 13);
patterning the second optical layer (paragraph [0061]) to form a second plurality of columnar structures (see Figs. 2-5, 13, paragraph [0062]: circular or square column shaped), which form a second flat lens amongst the plurality of flat lenses (any of NS2, NS4, NS6, Fig. 13); and
depositing a second protection layer (530, Fig. 13) on the second plurality of columnar structures (paragraph [0096]).
Han in view of Qiu and Laroia does not disclose a second transparent substrate.
However, Park discloses a second optical layer (any of 112 or 122, Figs. 1, 7) is on a second transparent substrate (any of 111, 121, Figs. 1, 7, paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a second transparent substrate as disclosed by Park in the device of Han in view of Qiu and Laroia in order to fabricate and design the optical layers separately and improve alignment when bonding together.
Regarding claim 17, Han in view of Qiu, Laroia and Park discloses the method according to claim 16, and Park further discloses that the forming of the plurality of flat lenses further comprises: bonding the second flat lens (any of 110 or 120, Fig. 7) to the first flat lens (other one of 110 or 120, Fig. 7, paragraph [0062], bonding is implied), such that the first and second protection layers (113, 123, Fig. 7) directly contact (paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to bond the two lenses together as disclosed by Park in the device of Han in view of Qiu, Laroia and Park in order to ensure proper alignment.
Claims 22-23, 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Park further in view of Laroia.
Regarding claim 22, Han discloses a method for forming a camera module, the method comprising:
forming a plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13), including a first image sensor (left 210, Fig. 13), a second image sensor (middle 210, Fig. 13), and a third image sensor (right 210, Fig. 13), on a sensor substrate (200, Fig. 13), wherein the third image sensor (middle 210, Fig. 13) is between and spaced from the first and second image sensors (see Fig. 13);
forming a first meta lens (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13) surrounded by a first protection layer (330, Fig. 13) on a first transparent substrate (310, Fig. 13, device is transmissive therefore substrate is transparent);
forming a second meta lens (any of NS2, NS4, NS6, Fig. 13) surrounded by a second protection layer (530, Fig. 13); and
arranging the plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13) and the first and second meta lenses (any of NS1-NS6, Fig. 13), such that the first and second meta lenses overlie the plurality of image sensors (see Fig. 13, NS-NS6 overlie the plurality of image sensors).
Han does not disclose a second transparent substrate, that the first and second protection layers are bonded together, such that the first and second meta lenses and the first and second protection layers are between the first and second transparent substrates, nor a housing.
However, Park discloses a second meta lens (any of 110 or 120, Fig. 7) surrounded by a second protection layer (respective one of 113, 123, Fig. 7) on a second transparent substrate (any of 110 or 120, Fig. 7); bonding the first and second protection layers together (113, 123, Fig. 7, paragraph [0062], bonding is implied), such that the first and second meta lenses (110, 120, Fig. 7) and the first and second protection layers (113, 123, Fig. 7) are between the first and second transparent substrates (111 and 121, Fig. 7, paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a second transparent substrate as disclosed by Park in the device of Han in order to fabricate and design the optical layers separately and improve alignment when bonding together.
Han in view of Park does not disclose a housing.
However, Laroia discloses arranging a plurality of image sensors (Sensor 1 – Sensor N, Fig. 2) and the plurality of lenses (see columns 201, 203, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0077]-[0079]) in a housing (200, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount the lenses and image sensors in a housing as disclosed by Laroia in the device of Han in view of Park in order to protect the components, facilitate the movement of the lenses, and provide image stabilization to compensate for camera motion.
Regarding claim 23, Han in view of Park and Laroia discloses the method according to claim 22, wherein the second transparent substrate is at an aperture of the housing (the combination of the references, particularly the second substrate of Park and the housing with aperture of Laroia reads on the claim language).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to arrange the second substrate at an aperture of the housing in order to have the first and second lenses face each other along an optical axis.
Regarding claim 27, Han in view of Park and Laroia discloses the method according to claim 22, and Hans further discloses that the forming of the first meta lens comprises:
depositing an optical layer (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13) on the first transparent substrate (310, Fig. 13); patterning the optical layer (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13, is patterned, paragraph [0061]); depositing the first protection layer (330, Fig. 13) overlying the optical layer and the first transparent substrate (see Fig. 13); and performing a planarization into the first protection layer (130, Fig. 13, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 28, Han in view of Park and Laroia discloses the method according to claim 22, further comprising: bonding the plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13) individually to the sensor substrate (200, Fig. 13) before the plurality of image sensors are arranged in the housing (implicit).
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Laroia.
Regarding claim 29, Han discloses a method for forming a camera module, the method comprising:
forming a plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13), including a first image sensor (left 210, Fig. 13), a second image sensor (middle 210, Fig. 13), and a third image sensor (right 210, Fig. 13), on a sensor substrate (200, Fig. 13), wherein the third image sensor (middle 210, Fig. 13) is between and spaced from the first and second image sensors (see Fig. 13);
depositing a first optical layer (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13) on a first transparent substrate (310, Fig. 13);
patterning the first optical layer into a first plurality of nanostructures (paragraph [0061]);
depositing a first protection layer (330, Fig. 13) overlying the first plurality of nanostructures (any of NS1, NS3, NS5, Fig. 13);
depositing a second optical layer (any of NS2, NS4, NS6, Fig. 13) on the first protection layer (330, Fig. 13);
patterning the second optical layer into a second plurality of nanostructures (paragraph [0061]);
depositing a second protection layer (530, Fig. 13) covering the second plurality of nanostructures (any of NS2, NS4, NS6, Fig. 13); and
arranging the plurality of image sensors (210, Fig. 13) and the first and second pluralities of nanostructures (NS1-NS6, Fig. 13), such that the first and second pluralities of nanostructures overlie the plurality of image sensors (see Fig. 13, NS-NS6 overlie the plurality of image sensors).
Han does not disclose a housing.
However, Laroia discloses arranging a plurality of image sensors (Sensor 1 – Sensor N, Fig. 2) and the plurality of lenses (see columns 201, 203, Fig. 2, paragraphs [0077]-[0079]) in a housing (200, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to mount the lenses and image sensors in a housing as disclosed by Laroia in the device of Han in order to protect the components, facilitate the movement of the lenses, and provide image stabilization to compensate for camera motion.
Regarding claim 30, Han in view of Laroia discloses the method according to claim 29, further comprising: and Han further discloses performing a planarization into the first protection layer (130, Fig. 13, paragraph [0061]) before the depositing of the second optical layer (NS2, NS4, NS6, Fig. 13) to flatten a top surface of the first protection layer (paragraph [0061]), wherein the planarization stops before reaching the first plurality of nanostructures (Fig. 13).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Laroia further in view of Qiu.
Regarding claim 34, Han in view of Laroia discloses the method according to claim 29, but does not disclose that the plurality of first nanostructures form a first lens having a first optical function, wherein the plurality of second nanostructures form a second lens having a second optical function different than the first optical function, and wherein the second optical function is deflection.
However, Qiu discloses the plurality of first nanostructures form a first lens (201, Fig. 2) having a first optical function (paragraph [0039], [0042], light beam splitting), wherein the plurality of second nanostructures form a second lens (202, Fig. 2) having a second optical function different than the first optical function (paragraphs [0039],[0042]), and wherein the second optical function is deflection (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have multi-function lenses as disclosed by Qiu in the device of Han in view of Laroia in order to minimize components and reduce overall device size.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 20, 24-26, and 31-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 18, 20, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: the first flat lens is the imaging lens and is configured to focus visible light into a beam of white light, and wherein the second flat lens is the beam splitter and is configured to split the beam of white light into a sub-beam of red light, a sub-beam of blue light, and a sub- beam of green light; or a plurality of precise imaging lenses, wherein the first flat lens is one of the beam deflectors and is configured to deflect a sub-beam to one of the precise imaging lenses, and wherein the second flat lens is the one of the precise imaging lenses and is configured to focus the sub-beam on a corresponding one of the image sensors, are not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 24-26, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: forming a third meta lens surrounded by a third protection layer on a third transparent substrate; wherein the third meta lens is between the plurality of image sensors and the first meta lens after the arranging of the plurality of image sensors and the first and second meta lenses within the housing; or a fourth meta lens surrounded by a third protection layer on a third transparent substrate, wherein the third and fourth meta lenses are between the plurality of image sensors and the first meta lens and respectively overlie the first and second image sensor after the arranging of the plurality of image sensors and the first and second meta lenses within the housing, is not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Regarding claims 31-33, the invention as claimed, specifically in combination with: forming a third plurality of nanostructures surrounded by a third protection layer on a second transparent substrate and configured to form a lens that splits a beam of light into a red light beam, a green light beam, and a blue light beam; and arranging the third plurality of nanostructures in the housing, wherein the third plurality of nanostructures overlie the third image sensor after the arranging of the plurality of image sensors and the first and second pluralities of nanostructures within the housing, are not taught or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/MONICA T TABA/Examiner, Art Unit 2878