DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-11 are currently pending, claims 1, 6 and 11 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amended claims, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1, 5 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LU et al. (CN112615075 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU BOGAO (CN111279573, hereinafter XU) in view of LU et al. (CN112615075 A, hereinafter LU).
Regarding claim 1, XU discloses a method for charging a traction battery, comprising:
obtaining a negative electrode potential of the traction battery (See Fig.2, Step#202 and Par.48, discloses obtaining the negative electrode voltage [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 220 it lists the step as 202, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]) during a charging process of the traction battery (See Fig.2, Step#210, and Par.46 disclose charging the battery at a first charging current [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 210 it lists the step as 201, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]); and
controlling the traction battery to be discharged when a difference between the negative electrode potential and a preset potential is less than or equal to a safety threshold (See Fig.2, Steps#230 and 240, Pars.56-58, disclose determining when the battery’s negative electrode voltage meets a first preset condition [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 230 it lists the step as 203, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]. Pars.65 and 68 disclose the first preset condition is when the negative electrode voltage less than or equal to 0.05V. Step#240 and Par.58, disclose when the first preset condition is met, the battery is discharged according to a second current [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 240 it lists the step as 204, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]).
However, XU does not disclose wherein the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained by estimation using a negative electrode potential estimation model and actual measurement.
LU discloses a battery charging method comprising evaluating the battery by obtaining the battery electrode potential, wherein the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained by estimation using a negative electrode potential estimation model and actual measurement (See Pars.10, 12 and 16-17, disclose establishing a negative electrode potential estimation model and set a safe threshold for the negative electrode potential [Par.10], During the charging process, the estimated value of the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained in real time using the negative electrode potential estimation model [Par.12]. obtaining the nominal capacity and voltage characteristic parameters of the three-electrode battery, including the positive electrode potential, terminal voltage and negative electrode potential [Par.16] and then using the nominal parameters to obtain the negative electrode potential estimation model [Par.18,25]).
XU and LU are analogous art since they both deal with battery evaluation and charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU with the teachings of LU by using the disclosed method for estimating negative electrode potential using a negative electrode potential model and actual measurements for the benefit of improving the accuracy and providing real-time estimates for the battery negative electrode potential.
Regarding claim 2, XU and LU disclose the method according to claim 1 as discussed above, wherein controlling the traction battery to be discharged when the difference between the negative electrode potential and the preset potential is less than or equal to the safety threshold (See XU, Pars.65 and 68 disclose the first preset condition is when the negative electrode voltage is less than or equal to 0.05V. V>0.05, that means when V-0.05>0 then discharge of the battery is performed, however when V-0.05=0 then discharge of the battery is performed) comprises:
sending a first charging request to a charging pile, the first charging request being used to request that a charging current be 0 (See XU, Figs.2 and 4, at T1 and Par.72, disclose when a first condition is detected, the charging current through the battery is suspended i.e. 0 and the battery is discharged at a smaller current); and
when a collected actual charging current of the traction battery is less than or equal to a current threshold, controlling the traction battery to be discharged (See XU, Fig.2, discloses discharging performed between T1 and T2 is done when the charging current is 0 i.e. when charging is stopped).
Regarding claim 6, XU discloses a battery management system, comprising:
an obtaining module, configured to obtain a negative electrode potential of a traction battery during a charging process of the traction battery (See Fig.6, Item#630 and Par.92-93, disclose a detection circuit for detecting the voltage of the negative electrode); and
a control module (See Fig.6, Item#610 and Par.93), configured to control the traction battery to be discharged when a difference between the negative electrode potential and a preset potential is less than or equal to a safety threshold (See Par.97, discloses the control circuit 610 controls the charging and discharging of the battery. See Fig.2, Steps#230 and 240, Pars.56-58, disclose determining when the battery’s negative electrode voltage meets a first preset condition [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 230 it lists the step as 203, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]. Pars.65 and 68 disclose the first preset condition is when the negative electrode voltage less than or equal to 0.05V. Step#240 and Par.58, disclose when the first preset condition is met, the battery is discharged according to a second current [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 240 it lists the step as 204, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]).
However, XU does not disclose wherein the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained by estimation using a negative electrode potential estimation model and actual measurement.
LU discloses a battery charging method comprising evaluating the battery by obtaining the battery electrode potential, wherein the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained by estimation using a negative electrode potential estimation model and actual measurement (See Pars.10, 12 and 16-17, disclose establishing a negative electrode potential estimation model and set a safe threshold for the negative electrode potential [Par.10], During the charging process, the estimated value of the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained in real time using the negative electrode potential estimation model [Par.12]. obtaining the nominal capacity and voltage characteristic parameters of the three-electrode battery, including the positive electrode potential, terminal voltage and negative electrode potential [Par.16] and then using the nominal parameters to obtain the negative electrode potential estimation model [Par.18,25]).
XU and LU are analogous art since they both deal with battery evaluation and charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU with the teachings of LU by using the disclosed method for estimating negative electrode potential using a negative electrode potential model and actual measurements for the benefit of improving the accuracy and providing real-time estimates for the battery negative electrode potential.
Regarding Claim 7, XU and LU disclose the battery management system according to claim 6, wherein in controlling the traction battery to be discharged when the difference between the negative electrode potential and the preset potential is less than or equal to the safety threshold, the control module is configured to:
when the difference between the negative electrode potential and the preset potential is less than or equal to the safety threshold, send a first charging request to a charging pile, the first charging request being used to request that a charging current be 0 (See XU, Figs.2 and 4, at T1 and Par.72, disclose when a first condition is detected, the charging current through the battery is suspended i.e. 0 and the battery is discharged at a smaller current); and
when a collected actual charging current of the traction battery is less than or equal to a current threshold, control the traction battery to be discharged (See XU, Fig.4, discloses discharging performed between T1 and T2 is done when the charging current is 0 i.e. when charging is suspended).
Regarding claim 11, XU discloses a battery management system for a traction battery, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions, and the processor is configured to read the instructions and perform, based on the instructions (See Fig.6, Item#610, discloses a control unit, Pars.131 and 143, discloses the control unit comprising a processor executing instructions stored in a memory), a method for charging a traction battery that comprises:
obtaining a negative electrode potential of the traction battery during a charging process of the traction battery (See Fig.6, Item#630 and Par.92-93, disclose a detection circuit for detecting the voltage of the negative electrode); and
controlling the traction battery to be discharged when a difference between the negative electrode potential and a preset potential is less than or equal to a safety threshold (See Par.97, discloses the control circuit 610 controls the charging and discharging of the battery. See Fig.2, Steps#230 and 240, Pars.56-58, disclose determining when the battery’s negative electrode voltage meets a first preset condition [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 230 it lists the step as 203, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]. Pars.65 and 68 disclose the first preset condition is when the negative electrode voltage less than or equal to 0.05V. Step#240 and Par.58, disclose when the first preset condition is met, the battery is discharged according to a second current [the machine translation has a typo; instead of 240 it lists the step as 204, as evidenced by the attached google translate abstract]).
However, XU does not disclose wherein the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained by estimation using a negative electrode potential estimation model and actual measurement.
LU discloses a battery charging method comprising evaluating the battery by obtaining the battery electrode potential, wherein the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained by estimation using a negative electrode potential estimation model and actual measurement (See Pars.10, 12 and 16-17, disclose establishing a negative electrode potential estimation model and set a safe threshold for the negative electrode potential [Par.10], During the charging process, the estimated value of the negative electrode potential of the battery is obtained in real time using the negative electrode potential estimation model [Par.12]. obtaining the nominal capacity and voltage characteristic parameters of the three-electrode battery, including the positive electrode potential, terminal voltage and negative electrode potential [Par.16] and then using the nominal parameters to obtain the negative electrode potential estimation model [Par.18,25]).
XU and LU are analogous art since they both deal with battery evaluation and charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU with the teachings of LU by using the disclosed method for estimating negative electrode potential using a negative electrode potential model and actual measurements for the benefit of improving the accuracy and providing real-time estimates for the battery negative electrode potential.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU in view of LU and in further view of LI (US 2022/0255336 A1, hereinafter LI).
Regarding claim 3, XU and LU disclose the method according to claim 2 as discussed above, wherein discharging is performed until the negative electrode voltage meets a second preset condition (See Par.58 and Fig.2, Step#204), However, XU and LU do not disclose further comprising:
when a duration elapsed after the first charging request is sent is greater than or equal to a first time interval, controlling the traction battery to stop being discharged.
LI discloses a battery charging and management method comprising discharging a battery to prevent plating, wherein when a duration elapsed after the discharging request is sent is greater than or equal to a first time interval, controlling the traction battery to stop being discharged (See Fig.4, Steps#S403-S404, discloses that when the battery reaches a preset condition, charging is suspended and discharging takes place for a duration t. After the duration t expires, charging is continued).
XU, LU and LI are analogous art since they all deal with battery management methods and systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU and LU with the teaching of LI by discharging the battery for a duration and after the duration is elapsed stop discharging the battery for the benefit of simplifying the method by performing a single detection signaling the presence of the preset condition which satisfies discharging the battery and ending the discharging after a timer has expired.
Regarding claim 4, XU and LU disclose the method according to claim 1 as discussed above, However, XU and LU do not disclose further comprising:
when a duration for controlling the traction battery to be discharged is greater than or equal to a second time interval, controlling the traction battery to stop being discharged.
LI discloses a battery charging and management method comprising discharging a battery to prevent plating, when a duration for controlling the traction battery to be discharged is greater than or equal to a second time interval, controlling the traction battery to stop being discharged (See Fig.4, Steps#S403-S404, discloses that when the battery reaches a preset condition, charging is suspended and discharging takes place for a duration t. After the duration t expires, charging is continued).
XU, LU and LI are analogous art since they all deal with battery management methods and systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU and LU with the teaching of LI by discharging the battery for a duration and after the duration is elapsed stop discharging the battery for the benefit of simplifying the method by performing a single detection signaling the presence of the preset condition which satisfies discharging the battery and ending the discharging after a timer has expired.
Regarding claim 5, XU, LU and LI disclose the method according to claim 3 as discussed above, further comprising:
when the traction battery is controlled to stop being discharged, sending a second charging request to the charging pile based on a charging matching table (See LI, Fig.4, Step#S404, discloses a second charging request after discharging is completed. The second charging request takes place when a duration time period expires as disclosed by LI or when a negative electrode voltage reaches a preset voltage as disclosed by XU. In both instances the “based on a charging matching table” is fulfilled as the charging request is sent when a discharging time is fulfilled or when the negative electrode voltage rises to a preset value) the second charging request being used to request the charging pile to charge the traction battery (See XU, Fig.6, Item#620, and Par.91, disclose a charging/discharging circuit used to charge/discharge the lithium battery, interpreted as the charging pile).
Regarding claim 8, XU and LU disclose the battery management system according to claim 7 as discussed above, wherein discharging is performed until the negative electrode voltage meets a second preset condition (See XU, Par.58 and Fig.2, Step#204), However XU and LU do not disclose the control module is further configured to:
when a duration elapsed after the first charging request is sent is greater than or equal to a first-time interval, control the traction battery to stop being discharged.
LI discloses a battery charging and management method comprising discharging a battery to prevent plating, wherein when a duration elapsed after the discharging request is sent is greater than or equal to a first time interval, controlling the traction battery to stop being discharged (See Fig.4, Steps#S403-S404, discloses that when the battery reaches a preset condition, charging is suspended and discharging takes place for a duration t. After the duration t expires, charging is continued).
XU, LU and LI are analogous art since they both all with battery management methods and systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU and LU with the teaching of LI by discharging the battery for a duration and after the duration is elapsed stop discharging the battery for the benefit of simplifying the method by performing a single detection signaling the presence of the preset condition which satisfies discharging the battery and ending the discharging after a timer has expired.
Regarding claim 9, XU and LU disclose the battery management system according to claim 6 as discussed above, However, XU and LU do not disclose wherein the control module is further configured to
when a duration for controlling the traction battery to be discharged is greater than or equal to a second time interval, control the traction battery to stop being discharged.
LI discloses a battery charging and management method comprising discharging a battery to prevent plating, when a duration for controlling the traction battery to be discharged is greater than or equal to a second time interval, control the traction battery to stop being discharged (See Fig.4, Steps#S403-S404, discloses that when the battery reaches a preset condition, charging is suspended and discharging takes place for a duration t. After the duration t expires, charging is continued).
XU, LU and LI are analogous art since they all deal with battery management methods and systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by XU and LU with the teaching of LI by discharging the battery for a duration and after the duration is elapsed stop discharging the battery for the benefit of simplifying the method by performing a single detection signaling the presence of the preset condition which satisfies discharging the battery and ending the discharging after a timer has expired.
Regarding claim 10, XU, LU and LI disclose the battery management system according to claim 8, further comprising:
a communication module (See LI, Par.96, discloses the detection unit 630 and the control unit 610 have a communication unit);
wherein the communication module is configured to:
when the traction battery is controlled to stop being discharged, send a second charging request to the charging pile based on a charging matching table (See LI, Fig.4, Step#S404, discloses a second charging request after discharging is completed. The second charging request takes place when a duration time period expires as disclosed by LI or when a negative electrode voltage reaches a preset voltage as disclosed by XU. In both instances the “based on a charging matching table” is fulfilled as the charging request is sent when a discharging time is fulfilled or when the negative electrode voltage rises to a preset value), the second charging request being used to request the charging pile to charge the traction battery (See XU, Fig.6, Item#620, and Par.91, disclose a charging/discharging circuit used to charge/discharge the lithium battery, interpreted as the charging pile).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED H OMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859