DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action has been issued in response to patent application, 18/313711, filed on 08 May 2023. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 05/08/2023 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ball et al. (US 2023/0377034 A1, provisional date 07/25/2017) in view of Dhua et al. (US 2018/0253605 A1, publish date 09/06/2018).
Claims 1, 14, 20:
With respect to claims 1, 14, 20, Ball et al. discloses a method/apparatus/computer program product for securely presenting a context-aware user notification to a user using a facility device (a deficient funds notification, an allocation suggestion message, Figures 7E, 7F) (a spending trend notification, recommendation messaging graphical user interface 904, Figures 9A, 9B, Figures 9C, 9D, 922) (method of bill negotiation, 0155, Figure 10),
the computer program product comprising at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing software instructions that, when executed (including a processing unit, a system memory, and a system bus that couples various system components including the system memory to the processing unit. Each memory device may include non-transient volatile storage media, non-volatile storage media, non-transitory storage media (e.g., one or more volatile and/or non-volatile memories), etc, 0181) (Figure 1) cause an apparatus to/the method/apparatus comprising:
receiving, by communications hardware, a user participation request for the user, wherein the user participation request comprises (i) a user characteristic attribute set and (ii) a user identification attribute set (a deficient funds notification, an allocation suggestion message 730 based on a reallocation of funds in the customer reserve account calculated by either the financial institution computing system 120 or the customer device 110, 0127-0128, Figures 7E, 7F) (a spending trend notification, determining that the customer's spending is consistently below the customer's spending limit., indicate to the customer how much the customer has deviated from the customer's spending limit and also ask the customer if the customer would like to start saving funds, 0136-0137, Figure 9A, 9B) (savings forecast graphical user interface 918, determining that the customer's current spending behavior creates the potential for the customer to set aside additional funds for savings, recommendation messaging graphical user interface 922, identifying an indicator that the customer's income has increased, 0139-0140, Figures 9C, 9D);
generating, by device management circuitry, a display configuration set for a facility device indicative of instructions for the facility device for displaying the context-aware user notification (After a predefined time period of recognizing/continuously identifying the single payee, the account management circuit 124 may automatically generate an envelope corresponding to that single payee in order to facilitate better financial planning for the user, may create an envelope after determining that the customer account is tied to other accounts (e.g., a credit card account, a Venmo® account, etc.), 0143);
generating, by notification generation circuitry and based on the user identification set, the context-aware user notification; and providing, by the communications hardware, a display message to the facility device, wherein the display message comprises the context-aware user notification and the display configuration set (an allocation suggestion message, Figures 7E, 7F) (recommendation messaging graphical user interface 904, Figures 9A, 9B, Figures 9C, 9D, 922) (method of bill negotiation, 0155, Figure 10) (The preliminary assessment may be configured to be displayed on the customer device 110 and prompt the user to respond via the graphical user interface. the result of the bill negotiation is sent to the customer device 110. then prompt the customer (e.g., via the customer device 110) to ask what the customer would like to do with the amount saved each month, The customer may then select an envelope or account that the customer wants to divert the savings into, 0159-0160).
Ball et al. does not disclose determining, by user tracking circuitry and based on the user characteristic attribute set and a temporal image set, a current user location as claimed.
However, Dhua et al. teaches help advertisers to analyze a target mass of individuals and perform categorized advertisement that may be more effective given the derived crowd characteristics (0022), specific advertising may be delivered to the individuals in the crowd that is tailored for individuals within the crowd's age demographic (0040), dynamic advertising to distribute to the crowd and tailoring the dynamic advertising for the crowd based on the predicted plurality of crowd characteristics (Claim 1),
determining, by user tracking circuitry and based on the user characteristic attribute set
and a temporal image set (corresponding with each unique individual within the set of images, the characteristics of the individuals in the partitioned images are predicted, 0036-0037), a current user location (overhead images may be generated that provide a better position to assess the characteristics of the crowd and track individuals within the crowd, 0022) (capture images of the crowd of people, the captured images are partitioned, the geographic location of the area being photographed, and the position of the individual within the image, the geographic location of the individual may be determined, The determined characteristics may then be saved as metadata. Thereafter, the images may be appended with the metadata, including the individual's age, gender, facing direction, location, and so on, 0035-0036) (the geographic location of the area being photographed, 0037) (the crowd concentration may be determined based on each individual's position within the defined geographic area which may then be plotted as points, 0039) (Figure 3);
generating, by device management circuitry, a display configuration set for a facility device indicative of instructions for the facility device for displaying the context-aware user notification (business intelligence may be used to decide placement and duration of dynamic advertisements, 0023) (The advertising may be electronically delivered to the mobile devices of the individuals within the crowd, or by contacting personnel amongst the crowd by radio, text message, and so forth to distribute tangible advertising, such as flyers, that may be most effective given the crowd characteristics, 0040);
providing, by the communications hardware, a display message to the facility device, wherein the display message comprises the context-aware user notification and the display configuration set (an advertiser may decide on a particular advertising strategy and advertise to the crowd in real-time. if the crowd was categorized as a crowd of younger people, specific advertising may be delivered to the individuals in the crowd that is tailored for individuals within the crowd's age demographic. The advertising may be electronically delivered to the mobile devices of the individuals within the crowd, 0040).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Dhua et al. in Ball et al. to perform categorized advertisement that may be more effective given the derived crowd characteristics and strategies to tailor for individuals (context aware user notifications) (see Dhua et al. 0022, 0040).
Claims 2, 15:
With respect to claims 2, 15, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claims 1 and 14.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising:
determining, by the device management circuitry, whether the current user location
satisfies one or more proximity thresholds for one or more facility devices (the motion of the individuals in the images is determined, comparing the position of individuals from one partitioned image to a second partitioned image of the same individual, the individual has moved in a northeast direction based on the known position and orientation of the aerial drone 202 and still camera 208, 0038), and
in an instance in which the current user location satisfies one or more proximity
thresholds for at least one facility device of the one or more facility devices, selecting, by the device management circuitry, the at least one facility device to be the facility device (an advertiser may decide on a particular advertising strategy and advertise to the crowd in real-time. if the crowd was categorized as a crowd of younger people, specific advertising may be delivered to the individuals in the crowd that is tailored for individuals within the crowd's age demographic. The advertising may be electronically delivered to the mobile devices of the individuals within the crowd, 0040).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claims 1 and 14.
Claims 3, 16:
With respect to claims 2, 16, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claims 1 and 14.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising: generating, by the device management circuitry, a user position request; and
providing, by the communications hardware, the user position request to the facility
device (process 300 used by the crowd analysis program 110a and 110b, an operational geographic area over a crowd of gathered people is determined. The operational geographic area may be determined based on input from a user, a warning from fixed sensors near the geographic area, 0031) (the operational area over a mass gathering is first determined, For each zone, the drone captures images (e.g., 2-5 images) at a predefined time interval (e.g., 2-10 seconds). 0023).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claims 1 and 14.
Claims 4, 17:
With respect to claims 4, 17, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claims 1 and 14.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising: receiving, by the communications hardware, a user position response (For example, a city park may be designated as the operational geographic area by a user, 0031); and
generating, by the device management circuitry and based on the user position response, a pixel configuration set for the facility device, wherein (i) the pixel configuration set comprises instructions for one or more of a wavelength, power, brightness, or orientation for a pixel set associated with the facility device and (ii) the display configuration set comprises the pixel configuration set (business intelligence may be used to decide placement and duration of dynamic advertisements, 0023) (The advertising may be electronically delivered to the mobile devices of the individuals within the crowd, or by contacting personnel amongst the crowd by radio, text message, and so forth to distribute tangible advertising, such as flyers, that may be most effective given the crowd characteristics, 0040).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claims 1 and 14.
Claims 5, 18:
With respect to claims 5, 18, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claims 1 and 14.
Dhua et al. teaches wherein the user position response comprises one or more user proximate captured images (still images may be captured at predefined time intervals using the still camera 208 and video may be captured simultaneously, to a position coordinate, a predefined number of still images, such as two, may be captured at a predefined time interval, such as two seconds apart, in addition to capturing video footage before the drone moves on to the next position coordinate in the flight path, 0035) (to create images corresponding with each unique individual within the set of images, 0036), and
wherein the method further comprises determining, by the device management circuitry
and based on the one or more user proximate captured images, a user orientation position set comprising one or more of (i) a user distance relative to the facility device, (ii) a user vertical orientation relative to a vertical reference plane of the facility device, or (iii) a user horizontal orientation relative to a horizontal reference plane of the facility device (the motion of the individuals in the images is determined, comparing the position of individuals from one partitioned image to a second partitioned image of the same individual, the individual has moved in a northeast direction based on the known position and orientation of the aerial drone 202 and still camera 208, 0038), wherein determining the pixel configuration set is generated based on the user orientation position set (business intelligence may be used to decide placement and duration of dynamic advertisements, 0023) (The advertising may be electronically delivered to the mobile devices of the individuals within the crowd, or by contacting personnel amongst the crowd by radio, text message, and so forth to distribute tangible advertising, such as flyers, that may be most effective given the crowd characteristics, 0040).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claims 1 and 14.
Claims 6, 19:
With respect to claims 6, 19, Ball et al. discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the communications hardware, a user participation request (creating a personalized checking account for a customer, a customer input to download the financial institution client application 116 is received, 0043-0044) (to receive a user reference to capture a photo of a check or a payment card and a manual input button 340 configured to receive a customer preference of the customer to manually enter information (e.g., an account number) associated with an account used to fund the customer's new account, Figure 3G) (FIGS. 3A-3H show a plurality of graphical user interfaces configured to receive registration information from the customer, 0061);
generating, by the notification generation circuitry and based on the user participation
request, a user enrollment notification (in response to determining that the customer is eligible for an account, the account management circuit 124 may establish a number of checking accounts for the customer, 0048) (enrollment button 346/complete registration, Figure 3H); and
providing, by the communications hardware, the user enrollment notification (an example account action graphical user interface 348, an indication that the customer has been approved for an account at the financial institution, 0069, Figure 3I).
Claim 7:
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claim 1.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising determining, by the notification generation circuitry and based on the current user location, a user facility interaction prediction, wherein generating the context-aware user notification is further based on the user facility interaction prediction (Based on predicted crowd characteristics drawn from predicted individual characteristics, decisions may be made in real-time for advertising, security, or some other purpose, 0031).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claim 1.
Claim 8:
With respect to claim 8, Ball et al. discloses further comprising:
querying, by the notification generation circuitry, a facility object database one or more
objects which are within an interaction proximity threshold, wherein
(i) the facility object database comprises (a) one or more objects within the facility,
and (c) one or more attributes for each of the one or more objects
(accounts database 126) (the financial institution computing system 120 may maintain a database storing information regarding the payment policies of various entities. The payment policies may include information pertaining to fees for late payments. In such an embodiment, the account management circuit 124 may retrieve payment policy information relating to the entities identified by the customer and allocate the available customer funds based on projected late fee amounts. 0085) (the customer device 110 may retrieve a listing of entities associated with the selected classification (e.g., from a database maintained at the financial institution computing system 120), 0091)
Dhua et al. teaches an interaction proximity threshold of the current user location
(the motion of the individuals in the images is determined, comparing the position of individuals from one partitioned image to a second partitioned image of the same individual, the individual has moved in a northeast direction based on the known position and orientation of the aerial drone 202 and still camera 208, 0038),
(i) the facility object database comprises (b) a corresponding location for each of the one or more objects within the facility (capture images of the crowd of people, the captured images are partitioned, the geographic location of the area being photographed, and the position of the individual within the image, the geographic location of the individual may be determined, The determined characteristics may then be saved as metadata. Thereafter, the images may be appended with the metadata, including the individual's age, gender, facing direction, location, and so on, 0035-0036) (the geographic location of the area being photographed, 0037) (the crowd concentration may be determined based on each individual's position within the defined geographic area which may then be plotted as points, 0039) (Figure 3); and (ii) determining the user facility interaction prediction is further based on the one or more objects determined to be within the interaction proximity threshold of the current user location (Based on predicted crowd characteristics drawn from predicted individual characteristics, decisions may be made in real-time for advertising, security, or some other purpose, 0031).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claim 1.
Claim 9:
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claim 1.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising:
receiving, by communications hardware, one or more captured images over a time frame, wherein (i) each captured image is associated with (a) a captured image timestamp indicative of the time the image was captured (For each zone, the drone captures images (e.g., 2-5 images) at a predefined time interval (e.g., 2-10 seconds, 0023) (still images may be captured at predefined time intervals using the still camera 208 and video may be captured simultaneously, 0035) and
(b) a facility device identifier and (ii) each facility device identifier is associated with an image capture location radius within the facility (if the city park that was designated as the geographic area is approximately rectangular in shape, then the geographic coordinates of the four corner points may be determined and saved as a set of geographic coordinates , the city park may be subdivided into four zones, such as zones Z.sub.1, Z.sub.2, Z.sub.3, and Z.sub.4, with each zone having at least one position coordinate associated with the zone, the flight path for the aerial drone 202 to visit each position coordinate within the set of position coordinates, 0032-0034) (As the aerial drone 202 flies to a position coordinate, a predefined number of still images, such as two, may be captured at a predefined time interval, such as two seconds apart, 0035);
determining, by the user tracking circuitry and based on the one or more captured images and the user characteristic attribute set, whether the user is included in one or more of the one or more captured images (with the silhouette of a person or by detecting features consistent with a face, 0036) (Determined characteristics may include, for example, demographics, such as age and gender. Additionally, the determined characteristics may include other physical characteristics, such as height, weight, and direction the individual is facing, and other characteristics about an individual that may be derived from analyzing an image, 0037); and
in an instance in which the user is included in one or more of the one or more captured
images, appending, by the user tracking circuitry, the one or more captured images to a temporal image set (corresponding with each unique individual within the set of images, the characteristics of the individuals in the partitioned images are predicted, 0036-0037).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claim 1.
Claim 10:
With respect to claim 10, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claim 1.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising:
identifying, by the user tracking circuitry, a captured image from the temporal image set
which is associated with a most recent image timestamp (corresponding with each unique individual within the set of images, the characteristics of the individuals in the partitioned images are predicted, 0036-0037).;
determining, by the user tracking circuitry, whether the most recent image timestamp
satisfies one or more temporal thresholds; and in an instance in which the most recent image timestamp satisfies the one or more temporal thresholds (For each zone, the drone captures images (e.g., 2-5 images) at a predefined time interval (e.g., 2-10 seconds, 0023) (still images may be captured at predefined time intervals using the still camera 208 and video may be captured simultaneously, 0035), determining, by the user tracking circuitry, the current user location based on the captured image associated with the most recent image timestamp) (the characteristics of the individuals in the partitioned images are predicted, the geographic location of the area being photographed, and the position of the individual within the image, the geographic location of the individual may be determined, 0037).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claim 1.
Claim 11:
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Ball et al. and Dhua et al. discloses limitations of claim 1.
Dhua et al. teaches further comprising:
determining, by the user tracking circuitry based on the temporal image set, a user
stationary location duration (By comparing the position of individuals from one partitioned image to a second partitioned image of the same individual, the movement direction and speed of each individual may be tracked to determine an individual movement vector indicating the movement direction and speed of the individual, 0038); and
determining, by the user tracking circuitry, whether the user stationary location duration
satisfies one or more user stationary location duration thresholds, wherein in an instance in which the user stationary location duration satisfies one or more user stationary location duration thresholds, the notification generation circuitry generates the context-aware user notification (business intelligence may be used to decide placement and duration of dynamic advertisements, 0023) (The advertising may be electronically delivered to the mobile devices of the individuals within the crowd, or by contacting personnel amongst the crowd by radio, text message, and so forth to distribute tangible advertising, such as flyers, that may be most effective given the crowd characteristics, 0040).
Ball et al. and Dhua et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of context user notifications.
The motivation for combining Ball et al. and Dhua et al. is recited in claim 1.
Claim 12:
With respect to claim 12, Ball et al. discloses further comprising:
determining, by the notification generation circuitry and based on the user identification
attribute set, one or more user account parameters for the user (to have additional parameters (e.g., the card verification value) associated with the card number. Once all of these parameters associated with the card number have been generated, the account management circuit 124 may initiate a sequence to generate a physical payment card containing such parameters and send the physical payment card to the customer, 0039); and
determining, by the notification generation circuitry and based on the one or more user
account parameters, one or more user recommendations, wherein the context-aware user notification comprises the one or more user recommendations (a deficient funds notification, an allocation suggestion message, Figures 7E, 7F) (a spending trend notification, recommendation messaging graphical user interface 904, Figures 9A, 9B, Figures 9C, 9D, 922) (method of bill negotiation, 0155, Figure 10).
Claim 13:
With respect to claim 13, Ball et al. discloses further comprising:
generating, by the notification generation circuitry based on the user identification
attribute set, one or more user engagement offer requests (an allocation suggestion message, Figures 7E, 7F) (recommendation messaging graphical user interface 904, Figures 9A, 9B, Figures 9C, 9D, 922) (method of bill negotiation, 0155, Figure 10) (The preliminary assessment may be configured to be displayed on the customer device 110 and prompt the user to respond via the graphical user interface. the result of the bill negotiation is sent to the customer device 110. then prompt the customer (e.g., via the customer device 110) to ask what the customer would like to do with the amount saved each month, The customer may then select an envelope or account that the customer wants to divert the savings into, 0159-0160);
receiving, by communications hardware, one or more user engagement offer responses in response to a provision of the one or more user engagement offer requests, wherein (i) the one or more user engagement offer request comprise one or more user recommendations and (ii) the context-aware user notification comprises the one or more user recommendations; and determining, by the notification generation circuitry and based on the one or more user engagement offer responses, one or more user recommendations, wherein the context-aware user notification comprises the one or more user recommendations (a deficient funds notification, an allocation suggestion message, Figures 7E, 7F) (a spending trend notification, recommendation messaging graphical user interface 904, Figures 9A, 9B, Figures 9C, 9D, 922) (method of bill negotiation, 0155, Figure 10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO Form 892.
/HELAI SALEHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433