Detailed Office Action
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7, 10, 14-16, 46-48, 55-59 in the reply filed on 1 October is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 14-16, 46-48, 55-59
Claims 1-7, 10, 14-16, 46-48, 55-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geens (WO 2020/014210 A1; “Geens”) in view of Marcouiller et al. (2015/0378112; “Marcouiller”).
Regarding claim 1, Geens discloses in figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text, embodiments of terminal enclosures and connection interface assemblies, assembled using snap-fit plastic components, comprising: a base module having a front and a back, the base module including a back wall defining the back of the base module and first and second opposite side walls that project forwardly from the back wall to a front of the base module, the base module defining a module mounting location between the first and second side walls; Geens, figures 25, 26, and 27 (“FIG. 25 depicts a telecommunications terminal 920 in accordance with the principles of the present disclosure. The telecommunications terminal 920 includes a housing 922 defining an interior and an input 925. The housing 922 defines at least one opening, such as a front opening 930 (see FIG. 27). As depicted in FIG. 27, the housing 922 defines a plurality of front openings 930, such as three front openings 930. Various components (e.g., adapter carrying arrangements) can be installed at the front openings 930 of the terminal housing 922. Example adapter carrying arrangements include adapter carrying pieces 936 and telecommunication modules 960.” And “In the depicted example, the first housing piece 924 is a base and the second housing piece 926 is front cover. In certain examples, the first housing piece 924 defines a back plane adapted to face toward a structure to which the terminal 920 is intended to be mounted while the second housing piece 926 define a front of the terminal 920. In certain examples, the first housing piece 924 can include structure 928 for mounting the terminal 920 to another structure (e.g., a pole, a wall, within a hand-hole, to a frame, or to other locations.) Example mounting structures 928 can include openings for receiving fasteners, mounting tabs defining fastener openings, brackets, structures for receiving brackets, strap receivers, and like structures.”); a cable connection module having a main body coupled to or integral with a front wall to which a plurality of cable connection components are mounted, the cable connection module also including first and second opposite side walls that project rearwardly from the front wall, wherein the cable connection module is configured to be inserted into the module mounting location through the front of the base module. Geens, figures 18-20 (“FIGS. 17-20 illustrate another example terminal 520 in accordance with the principles of the present disclosure. The telecommunications terminal 520 includes a housing 522 defining an interior 523. The housing 522 includes a first side 542. The telecommunications enclosure 520 also includes a plurality of fiber optic adapters 538 positioned at the first side 542 of the housing 522. The fiber optic adapters 538 have ruggedized outer ports fixed relative to the first side 542 of the housing 522. The ruggedized outer ports are accessible from outside the housing 522 at the first side 542 of the housing 522. In an example, the first side 542 of the housing 522 defines a bottom of the terminal 520. The housing 522 also has a top 544, a first side 546, a second side 548, a front 541, and a rear 543. …The housing 522 optionally includes ears, tabs, fastener openings or other structure for allowing the housing to be mounted via fasteners to a mounting structure such as a pole, wall or the like. The housing 522 optionally includes a mechanical interface (e.g., a snap-fit structure; rails, a latch or latches, a catch or catches, a slot or slots; a track or tracks; a receptacle or receptacles; fastener openings, etc.) for attaching a mounting bracket to the housing 522, wherein the mounting bracket includes structure for facilitating mounting the housing to a mounting structure such as a pole, wall or the like.”).
Geens - Figures 18-20 and 25-27
Geens – Selected Text
Fiber optic communication systems are becoming prevalent in part because service providers want to deliver high bandwidth communication capabilities (e.g., data and voice) to customers. Fiber optic communication systems employ a network of fiber optic cables to transmit large volumes of data and voice signals over relatively long distances. Optical fiber connectors and fiber optic enclosures are an important part of most fiber optic communication systems. Fiber optic connectors allow two optical fibers to be quickly optically connected without requiring a splice. Fiber optic connectors can be used to optically interconnect two lengths of optical fiber. Fiber optic connectors can also be used to interconnect lengths of optical fiber to passive and active equipment. Fiber optic enclosures are incorporated into fiber optic networks to facilitate providing access to optical fibers of fiber optic network cables. Fiber optic enclosures often house components such as splice trays, passive optical splitters, fiber optic adapters, fiber optic connectors, connector storage regions, connection fields/panels, connectorized pigtails, wavelength divisional multi-plexers and other components.
In certain examples, the hardened fiber optic adapter carriers 36 include molded plastic pieces or housings to which the hardened fiber optic adapters 38 are secured. In certain examples, the first and second housing pieces 24, 26 are separately molded plastic pieces.
The housing 522 optionally includes ears, tabs, fastener openings or other structure for allowing the housing to be mounted via fasteners to a mounting structure such as a pole, wall or the like. The housing 522 optionally includes a mechanical interface (e.g., a snap-fit structure; rails, a latch or latches, a catch or catches, a slot or slots; a track or tracks; a receptacle or receptacles; fastener openings, etc.) for attaching a mounting bracket to the housing 522, wherein the mounting bracket includes structure for facilitating mounting the housing to a mounting structure such as a pole, wall or the like.
FIGS. 17-20 illustrate another example terminal 520 in accordance with the principles of the present disclosure. The telecommunications terminal 520 includes a housing 522 defining an interior 523. The housing 522 includes a first side 542. The telecommunications enclosure 520 also includes a plurality of fiber optic adapters 538 positioned at the first side 542 of the housing 522. The fiber optic adapters 538 have ruggedized outer ports fixed relative to the first side 542 of the housing 522. The ruggedized outer ports are accessible from outside the housing 522 at the first side 542 of the housing 522. In an example, the first side 542 of the housing 522 defines a bottom of the terminal 520. The housing 522 also has a top 544, a first side 546, a second side 548, a front 541, and a rear 543.
The housing 522 optionally includes ears, tabs, fastener openings or other structure for allowing the housing to be mounted via fasteners to a mounting structure such as a pole, wall or the like. The housing 522 optionally includes a mechanical interface (e.g., a snap-fit structure; rails, a latch or latches, a catch or catches, a slot or slots; a track or tracks; a receptacle or receptacles; fastener openings, etc.) for attaching a mounting bracket to the housing 522, wherein the mounting bracket includes structure for facilitating mounting the housing to a mounting structure such as a pole, wall or the like.
In certain examples, the housing 522 of the telecommunications enclosure 520 can include a mechanical coupling interface for attaching another housing of a second telecommunications enclosure (e.g., another terminal 520) to the housing 522 of the first telecommunications enclosure 520. In certain examples, the mechanical coupling interface will be provided at the front side 541 of the housing 522 of the
telecommunications enclosure 520. In certain examples, the housing 522 can include the mechanical coupling interface at its rear side sized and shaped to mate with the mechanical coupling interface at the front side 541 of another such housing 522 to allow a plurality of the housings 522 to be coupled together is a stacked configuration, or to allow a mounting bracket equipped with the mechanical coupling interface to be mounted to the rear side 543 of the housing 522.
The housing 522 defines an opening 530 at the bottom 542. The opening 530 is defined by a generally rectangular perimeter 532. A mounting channel 534 is defined within the rectangular perimeter 532 and preferably extends around the opening 530. As depicted, the perimeter 532 of the opening 530 is aligned along a plane that is not parallel to a back plane (i.e., a plane aligned along the back 544) of the terminal 520. In certain examples, the perimeter 532 is aligned along a plane that is angled relative to the back plane at a non-perpendicular angle…
The terminal 520 further includes an adapter carrying piece 536 (e.g., adapter mounting piece, adapter module, adapter housing piece, etc.) to which a plurality of hardened fiber optic adapters 538 are secured. The adapter carrying piece 536 is attached to the housing 522 over the opening 530 by permanent, non-unitary connections (e.g., see FIG. 20). The adapter carrying piece 536 is separately connected to the housing 522 by a separate permanent, non-unitary connection. Example permanent, non-unitary connections include adhesive bonding, heat sealing, welding (e.g., ultrasonic welding, laser welding, hot gas welding) and the like. Once the adapter carrying piece 536 has been attached to the housing 522, the adapter carrying piece 536 is integrated with the housing 522 and not intended to be removed. In certain examples, the adapter carrying piece 536 can include a mounting projection or extension 540 that that coincides generally with the perimeter of the opening 530 and is configured to fit within the channel 534 to facilitate aligning the adapter carrying piece 536 relative to the opening 530.
By non-unitary, it is meant that the main body of the housing 522 is not monolithically formed with the adapter carrying piece 536 (i.e., the adapter carrying piece is not unitarily molded in a one-piece, seamless construction with the housing 522). Instead, the seamed, permanent connections are made between the main body of the housing 522 and the adapter carrying piece 536.
In certain examples, a sealing arrangement such as a gasket seal or other type of perimeter seal can be provided between the first and second housing pieces 624, 626 to provide environmental sealing when the re-enterable enclosure 636 is in the closed configuration. For example, a first seal 682 (e.g., a rubber gasket, a gel seal, a foam seal, etc.) may extend along at least part of a perimeter of the first and/or second housing piece 624, 626 to seal between the first and second housing pieces 624, 626. A second seal 684 (e.g., a gel block, a foam block, a rubber gasket, etc.) extends along a bottom of the re- enterable enclosure 636. One or more fibers or fiber cables may extend into the re- enterable enclosure 636 through the second seal 684. In certain examples, the second seal 684 has a first part held by the first housing piece 624 and a second part held by the second housing piece 626 that cooperate to seal around the fibers and/or cables.
Communication components can be disposed within the re-enterable enclosure 636. In various examples, optical adapters, optical splices, passive optical splitters, wave division multiplexers and/or demultiplexers, cable management structures, or other such components can be disposed within the re-enterable enclosure 636. The seal arrangement of the re-enterable enclosure 636 protects the communication components from contaminants or environmental influence.
In some implementations, the re-enterable enclosure 636 includes an adapter carrying arrangement (e.g., adapter mounting arrangement, adapter module, adapter housing arrangement, etc.) to which a plurality of non-hardened fiber optic adapters 688 are secured. The non-hardened optical adapters 688 are environmentally protected by being disposed within the adapter carrying arrangement 636. The non- hardened optical adapters 688 may have a latching or snap-fit type mechanical connection interface. The non-hardened outer port of the adapters 688 do not include a seal or a sealing surface for providing a sealed connection when a non-hardened fiber optic connector is installed within the non-hardened outer port. Rather, the non-hardened fiber optic connectors are routed into and sealed within the adapter carrying arrangement 636. Accordingly, the connection between the non-hardened fiber optic connectors and the non- hardened optical adapters 688 need not be sealed.
FIG. 25 depicts a telecommunications terminal 920 in accordance with the principles of the present disclosure. The telecommunications terminal 920 includes a housing 922 defining an interior and an input 925. The housing 922 defines at least one opening, such as a front opening 930 (see FIG. 27). As depicted in FIG. 27, the housing 922 defines a plurality of front openings 930, such as three front openings 930. Various components (e.g., adapter carrying arrangements) can be installed at the front openings 930 of the terminal housing 922. Example adapter carrying arrangements include adapter carrying pieces 936 and telecommunication modules 960.
In some implementations, the input 925 includes an optical adapter having an outer port accessible from an exterior of the housing 922 and an inner port accessible from an interior of the housing 922. In such examples, a connectorized end of an input cable can be routed to the outer port and a connectorized pigtail can extend between the inner port and interior connection interfaces of the various components carried by the housing 922. In other implementations, the input 925 includes a gland or gasket that allows the input cable to extend into the housing 922. In such examples, the input cable can be spliced to the various components carried by the housing or otherwise optically coupled using a connection interface. In still other implementations, the input 925 includes a connectorized stub cable that extends outwardly from the housing 922.
In certain implementations, one or more adapter carrying pieces 936 are mounted to the housing 922 at the front openings 930. Examples of an adapter carrying piece are disclosed herein at reference numbers 36, 536. It will be appreciated that other adapter carrying pieces having different sizes and styles of fiber optic adapters also could be used to allow different terminals to be manufactured from the same base components of the housing 922.
In accordance with some aspects of the disclosure, one or more module holders 950 can be mounted to the housing 922 at the front openings 930. For example, each module holder 950 can be installed at a corresponding one of the front openings 930. A module, such as a telecommunications module 960, may subsequently be installed at the module holder 950. The module 960 may carry one or more optical adapters 962 (e.g., ruggedized optical adapters). In alternative examples, the module 960 may include multiple output tethers or output plug connectors carried with the module 960 instead of or in addition to the adapters 962.
Upon installation of the module 960, the optical adapters 962 of the module 960 are optically coupled to the input 925 of the terminal housing 922. For example, one or more module holders 950 may be mounted to the housing 922 at the factory before deployment of the terminal 920. The input 925 is optically coupled to a first connection interface 954 of the module holder 950. At a later time (e.g., after deployment of the terminal 920 in the field), a module 960 may be installed at the module holder 950 to provide connection interfaces at the terminal 920. A second connection interface 964 of the module 960 engages the first connection interface 954 of the module holder 950.
In certain implementations, blanks can be mounted over one or more of the front openings 930 instead of the adapter carrying arrangements. It will be appreciated that the blanks can include the same type of connection interface as the adapter carrying pieces 936. It will be appreciated that by using blanks, housings having reduced port counts can be manufactured using the same base components of the housing 922.
FIG. 27 depicts an exploded view of the terminal 920. As depicted, the housing 922 defines a plurality of front openings 930, such as three front openings 930. In the example shown, the terminal housing 922 has a first opening 930 receiving an adapter carrying piece 936, a second opening 930 receiving a first module holder 950, and a third opening 930 receiving a second module holder 950. A module 960 is mounted at the second module holder 950. The first module holder 950 is capped with a cover 956 until another module is to be installed at the module holder 950. Alternatively, each terminal 920 can be configured in the factory to have any desired combination of module holders 950, adapter carrying pieces 36, 536, 936, and/or blanks.
In certain implementations, the housing 922 includes a first housing piece 924 and a second housing piece 926 that mate together when in a closed configuration (as shown at FIG. 1) to define the interior of the housing 922. As shown at FIG. 27, the first housing piece 924 forms the base and the second housing piece 926 forms a front cover of the housing 922 that defines the one or more openings 930. In certain implementations, the housing 922 defines a sealed interior. In certain examples, a seal such as a gasket seal or other type of perimeter seal can be provided between the first and second housing pieces 924, 926 to provide environmental sealing when the housing 922 is in the closed configuration.
In certain implementations, the first and second housing pieces 924, 926 are movable relative to one another from the closed configuration to an open configuration to allow the interior of the housing 922 to be accessed. In certain examples, the first and second housing pieces 924, 926 can be connected by a hinge that allows the first and second housing pieces 924, 926 to be pivoted between the closed configuration and the open configuration. In some examples, the housing 922 can include temporary retaining members, such as latches or fasteners, for retaining the housing 922 in the closed position. In other examples, the housing 922 can be more permanently secured in the closed position, such as by adhesive or welding.
In the depicted example, the first housing piece 924 is a base and the second housing piece 926 is front cover. In certain examples, the first housing piece 924 defines a back plane adapted to face toward a structure to which the terminal 920 is intended to be mounted while the second housing piece 926 define a front of the terminal 920. In certain examples, the first housing piece 924 can include structure 928 for mounting the terminal 920 to another structure (e.g., a pole, a wall, within a hand-hole, to a frame, or to other locations.) Example mounting structures 928 can include openings for receiving fasteners, mounting tabs defining fastener openings, brackets, structures for receiving brackets, strap receivers, and like structures. Suitable example mounting structures 928 (see FIG. 26) are disclosed in U.S. Provisional Appl. No. 62/807,008, filed February 18, 2019, [attorney docket number 02316.9500USP3], the disclosure of which is hereby incorporated herein by reference in its entirety.
In accordance with certain aspects of the disclosure, the module holder 950 and module 960 may be configured for a plug-and-play type connection. For example, the module holder 950 includes a first connection interface 954 to which an input fiber I within the terminal housing 922 is optically coupled. In certain examples, the input fiber I is coupled to the first connection interface 954 in the factory or otherwise prior to deployment of the terminal 920 in the field. The module 960 includes a second connection interface 964 configured to optically couple with the first connection interface 954 of the module holder 950 when the module 960 is received at the module holder 950. The second connection interface 964 also is optically coupled to the optical adapter(s) 962 carried by the module 960 (e.g., see pigtail fibers P schematically shown in FIG. 34). Accordingly, engaging the module 960 with the module holder 950 optically couples the input fiber I within the terminal housing 922 with the optical adapter(s) 962 of the module 960.
In some implementations, the first and second connection interfaces 954, 964 include single-fiber connection interfaces (e.g., SC plug and adapter, LC plug and adapter, etc.). In other implementations, the first and second connection interfaces 954, 964 include multi-fiber connection interfaces (e.g., MPO plug and adapter). The module 960 may include an interior optical circuit (e.g., a hydra cable, fibers routed on a flexible substrate, etc.) that connects the multi-fiber connection interface 964 to multiple single- fiber optical adapters 962. In certain examples, the first and second connection interfaces 954, 964 are designed to mechanically mate with each other. In an example, the first connection interface 954 includes an optical adapter and the second connection interface 962 includes an optical plug connector. The optical adapter 954 has a first port 953 accessible from within the terminal housing 922 and a second port 955 accessible from within the module holder 950. A connectorized end C of the input fiber I plugs into the first port 953 and the optical plug connector 962 of the module 960 plugs into the second port 955 (see FIG. 34). In another example, the first connection interface 954 includes a female optical connector carried by the holder body 952. In other examples, the first connection interface 854 includes a plug connector carried by the holder body 952 and the second connection interface includes an optical adapter or female connector. In certain examples, the first connection interface 954 and/or the second connection interface 964 may include a stub cable terminated by a plug connector or female optical connector.
In certain implementations, the module holder 950 includes a body 952 defining an interior pocket 951 accessible through an open end of the body 952. The first connection interface 954 is disposed within the pocket 951 and is accessible through the open end of the body 952. For example, when the first connection interface 954 is an optical adapter, the second port 955 is accessible from within the pocket 951 (see e.g., FIGS. 30 and 31). The body 952 extends at least partially into the front opening 930 defined in the housing 922 when the module holder 950 is installed at the terminal 920. Accordingly, the pocket 951 extends at least partially into the terminal housing 922. In certain examples, the body 952 has a lip 952a that extends around the front opening 930.
In some examples, the lip 952a extends over the front of the housing 922 when the module holder 950 is disposed at the front opening 930. In other examples, the lip 952a extends over the recessed surface defined around the opening 930 when the module holder 950 is disposed at the front opening 930.
In certain implementations, the body 952 of the module holder 950 is secured to the terminal housing 922 by a separate permanent, non-unitary connection. By non-unitary, it is meant that the terminal housing 922 is not monolithically formed with the module holder 950 (i.e., the module holder is not unitarily molded in a one-piece, seamless construction with the housing 922). Instead, the seamed, permanent connections are made between the housing 922 and the module holder 950. Example permanent, non- unitary connections include adhesive bonding, heat sealing, welding (e.g., ultrasonic welding, laser welding, hot gas welding) and the like. Further information on suitable permanent, non-unitary connection techniques can be found in U.S. Patent No. 7,753,596 and U.S. Patent No. 7,302,152, the disclosures of which are hereby incorporated herein by reference in their entirety. Once the module holder 950 has been attached to the housing 922, the module holder 950 is integrated with the housing 922 and is not intended to be removed.
In certain implementations, a cover 956 is mounted over the pocket 951 of the module holder 950 when a module 960 is not received at the module holder 950. The cover 956 extends over the open end of the pocket 951 to block access to the first connection interface 954 from an exterior of the terminal housing 922. In certain examples, the cover 956 is sealingly connected to the body 952 of the module holder 950 (e.g., to form an environmental seal between the pocket and the exterior of the terminal 920). In certain examples, dust caps may be received at the first and second ports 953, 955 of the first connection interface 954.
FIGS. 32 and 33 illustrate an example module 960 suitable to be received by the module holder 950. The module 960 includes a body 961 having a portion 963 sized and shaped to extend into the pocket 951 of the module holder 950. In the example shown, another portion of the module body 961 is disposed external of the pocket 951. In certain implementations, the module body 961 carries one or more optical adapters 962 having outer ports accessible from an exterior of the module 960. The outer ports may be ruggedized. In the example shown, the outer ports are disposed external of the pocket 951.
In certain implementations, the second connection interface 964 is carried at a different end of the module body 961 from the optical adapters 962. For example, the second connection interface 964 faces in a first direction and the outer ports of the optical adapters 962 face at least partially in an opposite, second direction. A dust cap 965 may be disposed over the second connection interface 964 during shipping and removed just prior to installing the module 960 at the module holder 950.
In certain implementations, the connection between the first and second connection interfaces 954, 964 is environmentally sealed. In some implementations, the second port 955 of the adapter 954 and the plug 964 are both ruggedized to form an environmental seal therebetween when the module 960 is received at the module holder 950. In other examples, the second port 955 of the adapter 954 and the plug 964 are not ruggedized. In certain such examples, the module body 961 seals to the holder body 952. For example, one of the module body 961 and the holder body 952 may carry a gasket while the other of the module body 961 and the holder body 952 defines a sealing surface against which the gasket presses when the module 960 is installed at the module holder 950.
In certain implementations, the module holder 950 and module 960 are configured to mechanically engage each other separate from the optical connection interfaces 954, 964. In certain examples, the module holder 950 includes a first retention arrangement 957 and the module 960 includes a second retention arrangement 966 that are configured to engage each other to aid in aligning the module 960 within the module holder 950 and/or to aid in retaining the module 960 within the module holder 950.
In the example shown, the first retention arrangement 957 includes retention members disposed within the pocket 951 to define channels 958 at interior surfaces of the module holder body 952. The second retention arrangement 966 includes flanges 967 sized and shaped to fit (e.g., slidingly fit) in the channels 958. The retention members also define shoulders 959 on which the body 961 of the module 960 seats (e.g., see FIG. 34). Accordingly, the retention members help space the module 960 relative to the module holder 950 so that the first and second connection interfaces 954, 964 engage. In certain examples, the shoulders 959 assist in supporting the module 960. In certain examples, bottoms of the module flanges 967 seat on the bottom surface of the pocket 951 to support the module 960.
23. The telecommunications terminal of claim 1, wherein the hardened fiber optic adapter carrier includes a molded plastic piece to which the hardened fiber optic adapters are secured.
24. The telecommunications terminal of claim 1, wherein the first and second housing pieces are each separately molded plastic pieces.
Further regarding claim 1, Geens does not explicitly disclose a fiber tray and a cover, wherein the cover is configured to engage the cable connection module to form an interior cavity and seal the fiber tray therein.
However, Marcouiller discloses in figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text, embodiments of fiber trays 260 with guide rails 280 connected to port arrangement 261 and enclosed by cover 238. Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
Marcouiller – Figures 24 and 31
Marcouiller – Selected Text
[0030] FIG. 24 is an exploded view of the indexing terminal of FIG. 21 including a housing, a management insert, and an aerial mounting bracket.
[0078] Referring to FIGS. 22-24, the housing 238 may be assembled with an aerial mounting bracket 254 for hanging or otherwise installing the indexing terminal 220 at deployment sites. The aerial mounting bracket 254 includes a flange 255 defining one or more mounting apertures 256 through which a cable tie, yarn, or other flexible member can be threaded. The mounting bracket 254 also includes guide members 257 shaped to slidably receive a guide rail 280 of the housing 238 to hold the bracket 254 at the housing 238. A latch arm 282 disposed at a rear end of the guide rail 280 has a hook 282 configured to snap over a rear shoulder 258 of the aerial mounting bracket 254 to lock the bracket 254 to the housing 238. In certain examples, the bracket 254 includes a flange 259 that extends over the latch arm 282 when the bracket 254 is mounted to the housing 238 to inhibit depression of the latch arm 282. Accordingly, the flange 259 inhibits removal of the bracket 254 from the housing 238.
[0079] In certain implementations, the indexing terminal 220 includes a management insert 260 disposed within the housing 238. For example, the housing 238 may be open at the second end 272 (see FIG. 24) to provide access to the housing interior. The management insert 260 can be configured to slide into the housing 238 through the open end. The management insert 260 includes a port arrangement 261 (FIGS. 26 and 27) and a management arrangement 280 (FIG. 28).
[0097] FIG. 31 shows an alternative routing path for the optical lines 251, 253 from that shown in FIG. 22. In FIG. 31, the optical lines 251 are formed by both optical fibers 241 of the multi-fiber cable 240 and connectorized stub fibers 246 (see also FIG. 25). The optical fibers 241 are optically coupled to the stub fibers 246 by an optical splice (e.g., a mass-fusion splice, a mechanical splice, etc.). In the example shown, the optical fibers 241 are coupled to the stub fibers 246 using a mass fusions splice 245. The stub fibers are connectorized at the multi-fiber connector 244.
[0098] The first side tray 290 includes a splice region at which the mass fusion splice 245 can be disposed. The splice region includes structure configured to hold the mass fusion splice 245. For example, the structure can include latch fingers, compression-fit members, or other retention structure. In certain examples, the splice region is disposed between the outer pathway and the central region of the first splice tray 290. In certain examples, each management arrangement 280 is configured to hold a plurality of splices. For example, the first side tray 290 of each management arrangement 280 can include a plurality of (e.g., two) splice regions. In the example shown, the second splice region is spaced from the first splice region so that the inner members of the bend radius limiter arrangement 293 are disposed therebetween.
Consequently, in light of Marcouiller’s fiber tray embodiments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Geens’ embodiments to disclose: a connection interface assembly comprising: a base module having a front and a back, the base module including a back wall defining the back of the base module and first and second opposite side walls that project forwardly from the back wall to a front of the base module, the base module defining a module mounting location between the first and second side walls; a cable connection module having a main body coupled to or integral with a front wall to which a plurality of cable connection components are mounted, the cable connection module also including first and second opposite side walls that project rearwardly from the front wall, wherein the cable connection module is configured to be inserted into the module mounting location through the front of the base module; and an enclosure, the enclosure comprising a fiber tray and a cover, wherein the cover is configured to engage the cable connection module to form an interior cavity and seal the fiber tray therein; Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text; because the resultant configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical communication systems; Geens, background (“Optical fiber connectors and fiber optic enclosures are an important part of most fiber optic communication systems. Fiber optic connectors allow two optical fibers to be quickly optically connected without requiring a splice. Fiber optic connectors can be used to optically interconnect two lengths of optical fiber. Fiber optic connectors can also be used to interconnect lengths of optical fiber to passive and active equipment. Fiber optic enclosures are incorporated into fiber optic networks to facilitate providing access to optical fibers of fiber optic network cables.”); by providing connector and fiber management configurations that meet bend limit requirements. Marcouiller, paragraph [0098].
Regarding claims 2-7, 10, 14-16, 46-48, 55-59, as dependent upon claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Geens in view of Marcouiller, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, to disclose:
2. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the enclosure further comprises an annular sealing gasket residing between the cover and the cable connection module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
3. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the fiber tray includes a bottom and one or more side walls, a front of the fiber tray is open and at least a portion of a rear of the fiber tray has an opening sufficient to allow one or more fiber optic cables from a cable connection component to be routed into the tray. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
4. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein at least a portion of the fiber tray is configured to be slidably received and secured within an interior cavity of the main body. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
5. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 3, wherein the fiber tray comprises a rail extending outwardly from the bottom, the rail being configured to be received by a corresponding slot along an inner surface of the main body. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
6. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the fiber tray further comprises one or more cable organizing members. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
7. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 6, wherein the one or more cable organizing members extend inwardly and generally perpendicularly from the bottom portion of the tray and are positioned such that any excess length of the fiber optic cables within the fiber tray can be wrapped around the cable organizing members. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
10. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the cover of the enclosure comprises an outer wall that defines an interior cavity, the outer wall having an opening for receiving a cable connection component. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
14. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein a pair of module mounting locations reside between the first and second side walls for receiving the cable connection module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
15. The connection interface assembly according to The connection interface assembly according to wherein the module mounting location includes one or more flexible fingers configured to snap into an aperture defined in each side wall of the cable connection module as the cable connection module is inserted into the base module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
16. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the side walls of the base module include first and second receptacles at the module mounting location for respectively receiving the side walls of the cable connection module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
46. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 16, wherein the first and second receptacles are bounded by guide walls that protrude inwardly from the side walls of the base module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
47. The connection interface assembly according to The connection interface assembly according to further comprising a top cover configured to engage the cable connection module and/or the base module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
48. The connection interface assembly according to The connection interface assembly according to wherein a front edge of the top cover may be angled upwardly to define a lip or flanged edge, the flanged front edge being configured to engage a corresponding edge or lip residing along a top inner surface of the cable connection module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
55. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 6, wherein each cable organizing member comprises an arm member extending outwardly therefrom, the respective arm members configured to hold an excess length of the fiber optic cables when wrapped around the cable organizing members within the tray. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
56. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, further comprising one or more are members extending inwardly from the one or more side walls, the one or more arm members configured to hold an excess length of the fiber optic cables within the tray. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
57. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the cover is secured to the main body via one or more securing features comprising a snap-fit mechanism. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
58. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein a pair of module mounting locations reside between the first and second side walls for receiving the cable connection module. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
59. The connection interface assembly according to Claim 1, wherein the base module, the cable connection module, and/or the enclosure are formed from a polymeric material. Geens, figures 18-20 and 25 -27, and related figures and text, for example, Geens – Selected Text; Marcouiller, figures 24 and 31, and related figures and text, for example, Marcouiller – Selected Text.
because the resultant configurations would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying optical communication systems; Geens, background; by providing connector and fiber management configurations that meet bend limit requirements. Marcouiller, paragraph [0098].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874