02DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action responds to Applicant’s Amendment/Request for Reconsideration after Non-final Rejection filed on 6/16/2026 and IDS filed on 6/16/2026 and 5/26/2026. Claims 1-19,21 are pending, wherein claim 20 has been cancelled and claim 21 has been newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11,13-14, 17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kukal et al. (US Patent No. 10,558,780 B1).
As per claims 1,3, 9,11,17 Fig. 1B illustrates the elements of the claims:
receiving a circuit specification specifying one or more components comprising one or more corresponding identifiers (circuits shown in top row with their various labels or identifiers, i.e., 124A, 102A, 112A) are received by the computing system 100A;
generating one or more schematic symbols (with symbol names or labels) for the one or more components, wherein the one or more schematic symbols are associated with the one or more corresponding identifiers (i.e., bottom circuit symbols names or labels 126A, 130A, 128A—see col. 10, lines 19-62, which includes identifiers and electrical properties or attributes) which are then read by the computing system and placed in the schematic design (i.e., in schematic representation); wherein the computer system comprising one or more processors, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium are further discussed in col. 23, lines 6-38).
As per claims 5-6,13-14, Kukal et al. disclose all of the elements of claims 1, 9 and 17, from which the respective claims depend, as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 9 and 17 above; wherein the one or more components includes resistors, capacitors (see Figs. 3A-3B) which include the attributes or properties values (i.e., resistances or capacitances being attributes or properties of the capacitors and resistors as is known in the art which are further described in col. 11, lines 29-36).
As per claim 21, the circuit specification is a netlist is further described in col. 1, lines 38-50, and col. 3, line 26 to co. 5, line 50, wherein the extracted views and schematic still contain circuit components and their connections/interconnections, which are considered as a form of netlist.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,4,1-8,12,15-16,18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukal et al. (US Patent No. 10,558,780 B1) in view of Kugel et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0130004 A1).
As per claims 2,4,10,12,18-19, Kukal et al. disclose all of the elements of claims 1, 9 and 17, from which the respective claims depend, as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 9 and 17 above; wherein Kukal et al. further make of the identifiers/symbols to obtain the corresponding attributes or properties of the circuit (see col. 9, lines 15-38; col. 11, lines 29-37; col. 15, lines 1-11); but failed to particular teach that the identifiers/symbols encode one or more attribute values. The encoding or inclusion of the type of devices (i.e., transistors, resistors, capacitors) being part of the component’s identifier, along with their attributes values (i.e., number of fingers, gate width, resistance, capacitance) are known in the art as further taught by Kugel et al. for user’s or designer’s convenience (see paragraphs [0056]-[0058], [0074]-[0076]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of effective filing date of the invention to further incorporate the teachings of Kugel et al. of encoding or including the type of devices as well as their attribute values as part of the names or identifiers, into the method/system of Kukal et al. because such incorporation would allow convenience to the user or designer (i.e., to easily understand and/or verify the circuit design).
As per claims 7-8,15-16, Kukal et al. disclose all of the elements of claims 1, 9 and 17, from which the respective claims depend, as discussed in the rejection of claims 1, 9 and 17 above, but failed to particularly teach that the one or more components comprise a transistor and the one or more attributes being a gate width and number of fingers. Kugel et al. teach circuit design having various types of devices or components, such as transistors, resistors, capacitors, which have their identifiers or names as part of the component’s identifier, along with their attributes values (i.e., number of fingers, gate width, resistance, capacitance) (see paragraphs [0056]-[0058], [0074]-[0076]). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of effective filing date of the invention to further incorporate identifies for transistors elements as known in the art of circuit design and includes these information as well as their attributes as part of the names or identifiers, as taught by Kugel et al., into the method/system of Kukal et al. because such incorporation would allow convenience to the user or designer (i.e., to easily understand and/or verify the circuit design).
Remarks
As per claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11,13-14, 17, 20, Applicant argued that Kubal et al. failed to anticipate the independent claims 1,9,17 because Kubal et al. discloses a system to extract information from schematics and a layout for analysis, whereas the present claims pertains to a system for generating schematics from a circuit specification (e.g., a netlist to a schematic), wherein Kubal is directed to a completely different subject matter, namely predicting electrical behavior of an electronic design based on information extracted from a schematic and layout, failing to disclose the circuit components comprising identifiers, which are used to set attributes of the schematic. The Examiner is not persuaded. Although the Examiner agrees that Kubal et al. solve different problems, in so doing Kubal et al. still generate one or more schematic symbols which are associated with the one or more corresponding identifiers, reading the identifiers associated with the one or more schematic systems and inserting a schematic representation in which one or more attributes of the schematic representation for the one or more components are based on the identifiers associated with the schematic symbols as claimed (see rejections of claims 1, 9 and 17 above; col. 13, lines 46-60 for identifying a schematic circuit component design from the circuit specification, i.e., schematic design and the layout; col. 13, line 61 col. 14, line 5-- the generation or adaptation of the schematic-driven extracted view is achieved specifically by "placing and interconnecting a symbol in the schematic design based at least in part upon the layout device information"; col. 14, lines 6-10-- This ensures the electronic design parameters can be altered or updated based directly upon the output of performing simulations or engineering design checks on that modified extracted view). That is, the circuit specification being received are the schematic design and the layout information, which are also considered circuit specification, which are also a form of netlist (i.e., circuit components and their interconnections/connections as applied to new claim 21). Accordingly, although the problem being solved may be different from Applicant’s claimed invention, the steps/operations for generating the electronic components schematic are disclosed by Kubal et al. as previously indicated.
As per claim(s) 2,4,1-8,12,15-16,18-19, Applicant argued that Kukal et al. (US Patent No. 10,558,780 B1) in view of Kugel et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0130004 A1) failed to teach a circuit specification specifying components comprising identifiers, where the identifiers from the circuit specification are used to set attributes of the schematic as claimed, wherein Kugel et al. was relied on by the examiner for disclosing "identifiers/symbols encode one or more attribute values as to at least claim 2, which Applicant refutes. The Examiner is not persuaded. As discussed in section paragraph 8 above, Kugel et al. do teach Applicant’s claimed invention, wherein Kugel et al. provide for the missing elements for the reasons previously indicated.
As per claim 21, the claim is newly rejected as being necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
571-273-8300
/PHALLAKA KIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851 September 30, 2026