DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 10/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DuCharme, Jr. et al (EP 1466533 A1).
In regard to claim 1, DuCharme, Jr. et discloses a food-grade coating composition that comprises a mixture of liquid smoke and propylene glycol:
Non fibrous casings and methods of manufacturing nonfibrous casings containing the liquid smoke composition are disclosed (Abstract).
Beneficially, additional components that may be added to the shirring or application solution used on the casing include well-known ingredients such as: an antioxidant color stabilizer such as a tocopherol, ascorbate, or sodium erythorbate; glycerine, propylene glycol, or oils, such as vegetable oil, added to promote spreading of the coloring on the casing surface and enhance uniformity of color transfer to the sausage surface; surfactants such as lecithin, polysorbates including polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monolaurate, or ethoxylated monodiglycerides may be employed to facilitate uniformity, spreadability, and/or transferability of the inventive liquid smoke system from the casing to the encased foodstuff ([0051]).
This example illustrates the precipitation of tars from the liquid smoke solution of the present invention when mixed with water or with a known tar stabilizer, propylene glycol ("PG") (Example 1, [0057]).
DuCharme, Jr. et discloses that nonfibrous casings containing the liquid smoke composition are used for food products, such as sausages ([0001]).
The recitation of “for controlling pest infestation and pest reproduction” is an intended use recitation. The instant claim is directed to the food-grade coating composition, not to the process of using such composition.
In regard to claims 4 and 5-6, DuCharme, Jr. et discloses:
As the term is used herein, "casings" may be planar or tubular nonfibrous films, or may be in the form of pouches or bags. The casings may be wrapped around a foodstuff by any of the well known means in the art ([0047]).
Hence, in regard to claims 4, 5-6, DuCharme, Jr. et discloses a food acceptable carrier for the composition such as edible coating, wrap, pouch or bag.
In regard to claim 9, DuCharme, Jr. et discloses that the food product is pork, ham, etc:
The inventive process is particularly useful with small diameter casings, and even more particularly as tubular nonfibrous casings that are used for processing foodstuffs, such as sausages made of emulsified or coarsely ground meat. It is also useful in casings that are larger bags or pouches used to surround whole muscle meat products, such as hams, beef, chickens or chicken parts, veal, and pork, which are then processed in the casings ([0044]).
In regard to claim 10, DuCharme, Jr. et discloses:
A method of manufacturing nonfibrous casing, wherein the casing is made from a viscose solution that is extruded as a tube into a coagulation and regenerating bath, thereby producing a cellulosic tube in a gel state, which gel tube is ultimately dried, the method comprising applying to the interior of the dried casing a liquid smoke composition as claimed in any preceding claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DuCharme, Jr. et al (EP 1466533 A1).
In regard to claim 2, DuCharme, Jr. et al is silent as to the relative amounts of liquid smoke and propylene glycol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary the concentrations of liquid smoke and propylene glycol applied to the food casing depending on the desired flavoring and coloring effect and stabilizing effect provided by propylene glycol.
In regard to claim 7, DuCharme, Jr. et al discloses:
As the term is used herein, "casings" may be planar or tubular nonfibrous films, or may be in the form of pouches or bags. The casings may be wrapped around a foodstuff by any of the well known means in the art ([0047]).
Hence, the casing could be wrapped around the meat product by any well known means including a net. In regard to the polymer, DuCharme, Jr. et al discloses nylon and plastic (claim 7).
Claim(s) 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DuCharme, Jr. et al (EP 1466533 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Haus et al (CA 2754989 A1).
In regard to claim 8, DuCharme, Jr. et discloses a food acceptable carrier for the composition such as edible coating, wrap, pouch or bag.
In regard to claims 3 and 8,DuCharme, Jr. et al does not disclose the presence of xanthan gum in the liquid smoke composition. Haus et al discloses liquid smoke ink applied to the meat casing (Abstract). Haus et al discloses xanthan gum as a suitable viscosity-modifying agent added to the liquid smoke composition:
Optionally, the smoke ink composition of the present invention can include Food grade additives known in the art to affect at least one characteristic such as color of the meat, flavor of the meat, adhesion of the composition to the meat and viscosity of the composition. For example, the additives can include viscosity-modifying agents, surfactants, and the like. Suitable viscosity-modifying agents include cellulosics and gums, for example, cellulose, methylcellulose, hydroxypropyleellulose, starch, chitin, carrageenan, konjac, guar gum, xanthan gum, alginic acid and derivatives thereof, agar pectin, gelatin, and mixtures thereof (Page 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add xanthan gum as a suitable viscosity-modifying agent added to the liquid smoke composition as suggested by Haus et al. Haus et al is silent as to the relative amounts of liquid smoke and xanthan gum. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary the concentrations of liquid smoke and xanthan gum applied to the food casing depending on the desired flavoring and coloring effect and viscosity-modifying effect provided by xanthan gum.
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791