DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 2/3/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-21, 25 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0250913 (hereinafter Ganesan) in view of US 2024/0088968 (hereinafter Lo).
Regarding claims 1, 25, 27, 29, Ganesan teaches, a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the first UE to: reserve a first set of sidelink resources for a first transmission to a second UE ([0103]-[0105]: details wireless communication device 100 is configured to select and reserve a specific resource 111… to send, to at least one other UE 120, a sidelink control message 101 using a determined sidelink resource 102, the sidelink control message 101 indicating the selected specific resource 111) ; and transmit a beam-based full duplex (FD) opportunity announcement associated with a second transmission, by a third UE to the first UE, that at least partially overlaps the first transmission in time ([0072];[0131]-[0158]: details A notification command requesting the at least one other UE to cancel uplink or sidelink data message scheduled in the specific resource and/or an overlapped resource of a transmission of the at least one other UE; the UE1 100 calculates its uplink or sidelink overlapping resource, and it further broadcast this information via the sidelink preemption indicator (SPI), e.g., 421, to the other neighboring UEs 120).
Ganesan does not explicitly teach the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicating a first transmission beam for the third UE to transmit to the first UE during an FD communication operation.
However, Lo teaches the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicating a first transmission beam ([0271]-[0279]: details a new MAC CE can be defined for the UE assistance information report… Recommended Beams: This field indicates the UE's recommended (SD, FD, and/or TD/DD) beams, e.g., a set of beam indices) for the third UE to transmit to the first UE during an FD communication operation ([0271]-[0279]: details Recommended Beams: This field indicates the UE's recommended (SD, FD, and/or TD/DD) beams; this limitation “for…” in this context can be interpreted as an intended use of the beam so no patentable weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Lo and include the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicating a first transmission beam for the third UE to transmit to the first UE during an FD communication operation of Lo with Ganesan. Doing so would improve the radio interface efficiency and coverage (Lo, at paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claims 2 and 28, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to transmit the beam-based FD opportunity announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to transmit first sidelink control information (SCI) that includes the beam-based FD opportunity announcement ([0131]-[0158]: details sending the SPI message via the sidelink control channel).
Regarding claims 3, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to reserve the first set of sidelink resources, are configured to cause the first UE to transmit first sidelink control information (SCI) that includes a reservation of the first set of sidelink resources ([0028]; [0072]: details a wireless communication device (e.g., a UE) configured to select and reserve a specific resource or a specific transmission pattern for a predetermined time period; send, to at least one other UE, a sidelink control message using a determined sidelink resource, the sidelink control message indicating the selected specific resource or specific transmission pattern; and transmit an uplink or sidelink data message using the selected specific resource or specific transmission pattern; A notification command requesting the at least one other UE to cancel uplink or sidelink data message scheduled in the specific resource and/or an overlapped resource of a transmission of the at least one other UE), and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to transmit the beam-based FD opportunity announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to transmit second SCI that includes the beam-based FD opportunity announcement ([0131]-[0158]: details sending the SPI message via the sidelink control channel).
Regarding claims 7, Ganesan teaches wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement comprises a transmission parameter indication that indicates, in association with at least one of the first transmission beam or a group of allowed transmission beams, at least one transmission parameter associated with the second transmission, wherein the at least one transmission parameter comprises at least one of an allowed transmission parameter associated with the second transmission or a disallowed parameter associated with the second transmission ([0131]-[0158]: details The SPI message 421 of the UE1 100 includes a detailed information about one or more of: The serving and configured UE specific CSI-RS of the serving beam and the candidate beam. The UL or SL overlapping resource with other UEs. A notification command, e.g., a cancel command or a relative power offset control command for the neighboring UEs uplink data transmission. A relative timing advance).
Regarding claims 8, Ganesan teaches wherein the at least one transmission parameter comprises at least one of a transmission power, a transmission timing, a modulation and coding scheme, a transmission rank, a precoding matrix, or a target reference signal received power ([0131]-[0158]: details The SPI message 421 of the UE1 100 includes a detailed information about one or more of: The serving and configured UE specific CSI-RS of the serving beam and the candidate beam. The UL or SL overlapping resource with other UEs. A notification command, e.g., a cancel command or a relative power offset control command for the neighboring UEs uplink data transmission. A relative timing advance).
Regarding claims 9, Ganesan teaches wherein the at least one transmission parameter comprises at least one of an associated time range or an associated frequency range, the associated frequency range comprising at least one of a subband, a guard band, or a frequency range associated with a frequency range corresponding to the first transmission ([0131]-[0158]: details The SPI message 421 of the UE1 100 includes a detailed information about one or more of: The UL or SL overlapping resource with other UEs. A relative timing advance).
Regarding claims 10, Ganesan teaches wherein the at least one transmission parameter is associated with at least one reservation of sidelink transmission resources, including a reservation of the first set of sidelink resources, that satisfies an association condition ([0131]-[0158]: details sending the SPI message via the sidelink control channel. For example, the UE1 100 may send the sidelink indicator message to the UE2 120 and UE3 310, which may include serving beam index, bitmap of overlapping resource, a notification command, etc.).
Regarding claims 11, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to reserve the first set of sidelink resources, are configured to cause the first UE to transmit sidelink control information (SCI) that includes a reservation of the first set of sidelink resources ([0131]-[0158]: details sending the SPI message via the sidelink control channel. For example, the UE1 100 may send the sidelink indicator message to the UE2 120 and UE3 310, which may include serving beam index, bitmap of overlapping resource, a notification command, etc.), and wherein the at least one reservation satisfies the association condition based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement being indicated in the SCI ([0131]-[0158]: details The SPI message 421 of the UE1 100 includes a detailed information about one or more of: The serving and configured UE specific CSI-RS of the serving beam and the candidate beam. The UL or SL overlapping resource with other UEs. A notification command, e.g., a cancel command or a relative power offset control command for the neighboring UEs uplink data transmission. A relative timing advance).
Regarding claims 12, Ganesan teaches wherein the at least one reservation satisfies the association condition based on the at least one reservation being associated with a specified resource window, wherein the specified resource window comprises at least one of a time resource window or a frequency resource window, wherein the at least one of the time resource window or the frequency resource window is defined in relation to at least one of a time resource or a frequency resource used for transmitting the beam-based full duplex opportunity announcement ([0077]: details the sidelink control message indicates an uplink grant free transmission in one or more UL Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), as specified resource window).
Regarding claims 13, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to transmit an indication of the specified resource window ([0077]: details the sidelink control message indicates an uplink grant free transmission in one or more UL Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), as specified resource window).
Regarding claims 14, Ganesan teaches wherein the at least one transmission parameter is associated with at least one of a bandwidth part or a component carrier ([0077]: details the sidelink control message indicates an uplink grant free transmission in one or more UL Bandwidth Parts (BWPs)).
Regarding claims 15, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to transmit the beam-based FD opportunity announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to transmit the beam-based FD opportunity announcement via at least one of a sidelink control information (SCI) part 1, an SCI part 2, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), or a radio resource control message ([0157]; [0175]: details RRC).
Regarding claims 16, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to receive, from the third UE, an acceptance announcement associated with the beam-based FD opportunity announcement ([0152]: details the sidelink response, which may be optional and may further include an ACK/NACK message, a bitmap of resource that cannot be released, etc.).
Regarding claims 17, Ganesan teaches wherein the acceptance announcement indicates a set of transmission parameters associated with the second transmission ([0152]: details the sidelink response, which may be optional and may further include an ACK/NACK message, a bitmap of resource that cannot be released, etc.).
Regarding claims 18, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement based on a transmission priority associated with the third UE satisfying a priority threshold ([0152]: details the sidelink response, which may be optional and may further include an ACK/NACK message, a bitmap of resource that cannot be released, etc.).
Regarding claims 19, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement based on a channel measurement associated with the third UE satisfying a channel measurement threshold, wherein the channel measurement comprises at least one of a channel busy ratio or a channel occupancy ratio ([0152]: details the sidelink response, which may be optional and may further include an ACK/NACK message, a bitmap of resource that cannot be released, etc.).
Regarding claims 20, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement based on a failure to detect an additional conflicted beam-based FD opportunity announcement and an additional resource reservation for sidelink resources indicated in the acceptance announcement ([0152]: details the sidelink response, which may be optional and may further include an ACK/NACK message, a bitmap of resource that cannot be released, etc.).
Regarding claims 21, Ganesan teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the first UE to receive the acceptance announcement, are configured to cause the first UE to receive an acceptance communication including the acceptance announcement, wherein the acceptance communication comprises at least one of sidelink control information, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC CE), or a radio resource control message ([0157]; [0175]: details RRC).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan in view of Lo, further in view of US 2024/0223311 (hereinafter Lu).
Regarding claims 4, Ganesan does not explicitly teach wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the third UE based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement including a UE identifier (ID) associated with the third UE.
However, Lu teaches wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the third UE based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement including a UE identifier (ID) associated with the third UE ([0135]: details third terminal; UE ID configured for the third terminal itself).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Lu and include wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the third UE based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement including a UE identifier (ID) associated with the third UE of Lu with Ganesan. Doing so would improve the continuity of data transmission (Lu, at paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claims 5, Ganesan does not explicitly teach wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the third UE based on a destination identifier (ID) associated with the first transmission, the destination ID comprising a UE ID of the second UE, wherein a UE ID of the third UE is the same as the UE ID of the second UE.
However, Lu teaches wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the third UE based on a destination identifier (ID) associated with the first transmission ([0134]: details destination ID; the third terminal is the destination terminal), the destination ID comprising a UE ID of the second UE ([0097];[0130]-[0134]: details the second UE ID corresponds to a destination ID; fourth terminal, as second UE), wherein a UE ID of the third UE is the same as the UE ID of the second UE ([0075]-[0135]: details the first terminal may also determine whether the third UE ID in the adaptation layer PDU included in the first information is consistent with the UE ID configured for the third terminal for the fourth terminal; if the two are inconsistent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Lu and include wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the third UE based on a destination identifier (ID) associated with the first transmission, the destination ID comprising a UE ID of the second UE, wherein a UE ID of the third UE is the same as the UE ID of the second UE of Lu with Ganesan. Doing so would improve the continuity of data transmission (Lu, at paragraph [0041]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan in view of Lo, further in view of US 2022/0272706 (hereinafter Sengupta).
Regarding claims 6, Ganesan does not explicitly teach wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the first transmission beam based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement including at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier (ID) or a reference signal ID, wherein the at least one of the TCI state ID or the reference signal ID is associated with the first UE or the third UE.
However, Sengupta teaches wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the first transmission beam based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement including at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier (ID) or a reference signal ID, wherein the at least one of the TCI state ID or the reference signal ID is associated with the first UE or the third UE ([0016]-[0018]: details TCI state IDs; RS ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Sengupta and include wherein the beam-based FD opportunity announcement indicates the first transmission beam based on the beam-based FD opportunity announcement including at least one of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state identifier (ID) or a reference signal ID, wherein the at least one of the TCI state ID or the reference signal ID is associated with the first UE or the third UE of Sengupta with Ganesan. Doing so would enhance beam management (Sengupta, at paragraph [0013]).
Claims 22-24, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan in view of Lo, further in view of US 2022/0030441 (hereinafter Balasubramanian).
Regarding claims 22, 26 and 30, Ganesan does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: receive the second transmission from the third UE on a first reception beam in a first sidelink resource; and transmit, in full-duplex communication, to the second UE with the first transmission beam in a second sidelink resource, of the first set of sidelink resources, that is at least partially overlapping in time with the first sidelink resource, in association with the first reception beam and the first transmission beam being compatible for full-duplex communication.
However, Balasubramanian teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: receive the second transmission from the third UE on a first reception beam in a first sidelink resource; and transmit, in full-duplex communication, to the second UE with the first transmission beam in a second sidelink resource, of the first set of sidelink resources, that is at least partially overlapping in time with the first sidelink resource, in association with the first reception beam and the first transmission beam being compatible for full-duplex communication (abstract; [0005]: details cooperative full-duplex techniques for sidelink communications. A first device that supports full-duplex communications may transmit a first message to a second device while concurrently receiving a second message from a third device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ganesan to incorporate the teachings of Balasubramanian and include wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the first UE to: receive the second transmission from the third UE on a first reception beam in a first sidelink resource; and transmit, in full-duplex communication, to the second UE with the first transmission beam in a second sidelink resource, of the first set of sidelink resources, that is at least partially overlapping in time with the first sidelink resource, in association with the first reception beam and the first transmission beam being compatible for full-duplex communication of Balasubramanian with Ganesan. Doing so would improve methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support cooperative full-duplex techniques for sidelink communications (Balasubramanian, at paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claims 23, Ganesan teaches wherein the first reception beam is compatible with the first transmission beam based on satisfaction of a sidelink self-interference condition ([0131]-[0158]: details sending the SPI message via the sidelink control channel. For example, the UE1 100 may send the sidelink indicator message to the UE2 120 and UE3 310, which may include serving beam index, bitmap of overlapping resource, a notification command, etc.).
Regarding claims 24, Ganesan teaches wherein the first reception beam is compatible with the first transmission beam based on the first transmission beam failing to be indicated by a forbidden transmission indicator, wherein the forbidden transmission indicator corresponds to at least one of the first transmission or an additional transmission ([0131]-[0158]: details sending the SPI message via the sidelink control channel. For example, the UE1 100 may send the sidelink indicator message to the UE2 120 and UE3 310, which may include serving beam index, bitmap of overlapping resource, a notification command, e.g., a cancel command or a relative power offset control command for the neighboring UEs uplink data transmission, etc.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou (US 2021/0385057) details autonomous fallback for full-duplex beam pair.
Zhou (US 2023/0010134) details assistance information for full-duplex relay user equipment selection.
Zhang (US 2023/0081233) details techniques for sidelink full-duplex semi-static transmissions.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPER KWOH/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415