DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the prior art combination does not teach the amended limitations because KR teaches over using TMA, and Mays does not teach an adduct precursor. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). While KR has one purpose of having its aluminum compound transportable by air, it also includes that the prior art need not be limited to this issue (p1). Further, including the adduct throughout the document alleviates the issue of instability for travel by air. KR teaches an ALD method that includes a purge and thin film formation with an adduct precursor using a metal compound and compound of Chemical formula 1 on p 3 (trimethyl aluminum, for example, as an adduct with ‘L’ that may be of claimed formula 1 on p 4) that is mixed in a 1:1 ratio as in the Example. Therefore, for at least these reasons, the 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained.
Due to amendments, the 35 USC 112 rejections are withdrawn. Any new grounds of rejection are due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 18, 20-23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101965219B1 (hereafter KR with citation taken from the attached Google translate document) in view of Mays et al. (US 2020/0365447 A1)
As to claim 1, KR teaches an ALD method that includes a purge and thin film formation with an adduct precursor using a metal compound and compound of Chemical formula 1 on p 3 (trimethyl aluminum, for example, as an adduct with ‘L’ that may be of claimed formula 1 on p 4) that is mixed in a 1:1 ratio as in the Example. The KR method is applied to semiconductor devices in general but does not explicitly teach gapfill.
Mays et al. teaches using a TMA compound in a gapfill application for semiconductor ALD for non flowable, conformal deposition (para 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR to include its process for gapfill as Mays et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would want to use the adduct precursors of KR in the process of Mays et al. because they are more stable (p2).
As to claims 2 and 11-12, the adduct is made from trimethylaluminum and tetrahydrofuran in KR p 4.
As to claim 18, Mays et al. teaches making an oxide for gapfill applications in para 0043.
As to claim 20-21, KR teaches the claimed temperature in its Examples.
As to claims 22-23, the device in Mays et al. may be a memory device in para 0026.
As to claim 28, Mays teaches this feature as broadly claimed in the Figures (4C-4E), for example.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach sulfur containing adducts in combination with the other features of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718