DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-12, 18, 20-23 and Chemical formula 1 in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 13 elements, metal oxide and further withdrawing claims 3-10 in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious examination burden and that the elements are not shown to be different. This is not found persuasive because each element has its own oxidation state and makes separate compounds, constituting separate inventions. Likewise, in the case of metal oxides, metal oxides are one product constituting one invention, with the others making up separate inventions. As such, all of these inventions require their own search and do not necessarily overlap, making a serious burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-2, 11-12, 18 and 20-23 are pending based upon the above elections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims depend upon ‘any one of claim 1’. This wording is confusing and indefinite as there is one claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12, 18 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101965219B1 (hereafter KR with citation taken from the attached Google translate document) in view of Mays et al. (US 2020/0365447 A1)
As to claim 1, KR teaches an ALD method that includes a purge and thin film formation with an adduct precursor using a metal compound and compound of Chemical formula 1 on p 3 (trimethyl aluminum, for example, as an adduct with ‘L’ that may be of claimed formula 1 on p 4) that is mixed in a 1:1 ratio as in the Example. The KR method is applied to semiconductor devices in general but does not explicitly teach gapfill.
Mays et al. teaches using a TMA compound in a gapfill application for semiconductor ALD for non flowable, conformal deposition (para 0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify KR to include its process for gapfill as Mays et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would want to use the adduct precursors of KR in the process of Mays et al. because they are more stable (p2).
As to claims 2 and 11-12, the adduct is made from trimethylaluminum and tetrahydrofuran in KR p 4.
As to claim 18, Mays et al. teaches making an oxide for gapfill applications in para 0043.
As to claim 20-21, KR teaches the claimed temperature in its Examples.
As to claims 22-23, the device in Mays et al. may be a memory device in para 0026.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718