DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0226737 A1 to Kurita et al. (“Kurita”) in view of JP-2001102384-A to Ninomiya (“Ninomiya”). As to claim 1, although Kurita discloses a p++ silicon wafer (W0) made of monocrystalline silicon, the silicon wafer (W0) containing boron as a dopant and having a resistivity of 1 mΩ·cm or more and 10 mΩ·cm or less, the silicon wafer (W0) having: an oxygen concentration of 14.5×1017 atoms/cm3 or more and 16×1017 atoms/cm3 or less; and a carbon concentration of 5×1017 atoms/cm3 or less, and the silicon wafer (W0) being free from crystal originated particles (COPs) and dislocation clusters (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0012, ¶ 0013, ¶ 0019, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0038, ¶ 0040, ¶ 0041, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0048, ¶ 0050, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0084, ¶ 0091, ¶ 0104, ¶ 0113, ¶ 0117), Kurita does not further disclose the carbon concentration of 2×1016 atoms/cm3 or more. However, Ninomiya does disclose the carbon concentration of 2×1016 atoms/cm3 or more (See ¶ 0016, ¶ 0021). In view of the teaching of Ninomiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kurita to have the carbon concentration of 2×1016 atoms/cm3 or more because oxygen precipitation nuclei can be formed uniformly in the crystal growth direction (See ¶ 0016, ¶ 0021). As to claim 6, Kurita in view of Ninomiya further discloses wherein the carbon concentration of the silicon wafer (W0) is 2.58×1016 atoms/cm3 or more (See ¶ 0021). As to claim 7, Kurita in view of Ninomiya further discloses wherein the carbon concentration of the silicon wafer (W0) is 3×1016 atoms/cm3 or more (See ¶ 0021).
Claim(s) 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0226737 A1 to Kurita et al. (“Kurita”) and JP-2001102384-A to Ninomiya (“Ninomiya”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0300371 A1 to Omote et al. (“Omote”). The teachings of Kurita and Ninomiya have been discussed above. As to claim 2, although Kurita in view of Ninomiya does not further disclose wherein an epitaxial layer has a resistivity of 1 Ω·cm or more and 10 Ω·cm or less, Kurita in view of Omote discloses a p/p++ epitaxial silicon wafer (W1) comprising: the p++ silicon wafer (W0/1, 2a) as recited in claim 1; and an epitaxial layer (W0a/2b) formed on a surface of the p++ silicon wafer (W0/1, 2a), wherein the epitaxial layer (W0a/2b) has a resistivity of 1 Ω·cm or more and 10 Ω·cm or less (See Kurita ¶ 0041 and Omote ¶ 0044, ¶ 0045), where the resistivity of the epitaxial layer is adjusted in view of device requirements and constraints such as securing a depletion layer for photodiode. As to claim 4, Kurita in view of Omote further discloses having a density of oxygen precipitates formed inside the silicon wafer (W0/1, 2a) of 1×109 precipitates/cm3 or more when subjected to heat treatment for evaluation of oxygen precipitates, wherein the heat treatment comprises subjecting the p/p++ epitaxial silicon wafer (W1) to heating at 800 ºC for 3 hours and then at 1000 ºC for 16 hours in an oxygen gas atmosphere (See Kurita ¶ 0104, ¶ 0113 and Omote ¶ 0038, ¶ 0039), where the heat treatment is adjusted to provide desired properties.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0226737 A1 to Kurita et al. (“Kurita”), JP-2001102384-A to Ninomiya (“Ninomiya”), and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0300371 A1 to Omote et al. (“Omote”) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,261,362 B1 to Fujikawa et al. (“Fujikawa”). The teachings of Kurita, Ninomiya, and Omote have been discussed above. As to claim 3, although Kurita, Ninomiya, and Omote do not further disclose the p/p++ epitaxial silicon wafer according to claim 2, having a diameter of 300 mm, wherein a light point defect (LPD) density for LPDs of 0.09 μm or more in size observable by a laser-scattering surface defect inspection device on a surface of the epitaxial layer is 5 LPDs/wafer or less, Kurita in view of Omote and Fujikawa further discloses the p/p++ epitaxial silicon wafer (W1) according to claim 2, having a diameter of 300 mm, wherein a light point defect (LPD) density for LPDs of 0.09 μm or more in size observable by a laser-scattering surface defect inspection device on a surface of the epitaxial layer (W0a/2b) is 5 LPDs/wafer or less (See Kurita ¶ 0071 and Fujikawa Fig. 4, Column 1, lines 6-12, Column 7, lines 47-67, Column 8, lines 1-15) such that a high quality wafer is obtained. As to claim 5, Kurita in view of Omote further discloses having a density of oxygen precipitates formed inside the silicon wafer (W0) of 1×109 precipitates/cm3 or more when subjected to heat treatment for evaluation of oxygen precipitates, wherein the heat treatment comprises subjecting the p/p++ epitaxial silicon wafer (W1) to heating at 800 ºC for 3 hours and then at 1000 ºC for 16 hours in an oxygen gas atmosphere (See Kurita ¶ 0104, ¶ 0113 and Omote ¶ 0038, ¶ 0039), where the heat treatment is adjusted to provide desired properties.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815