Response to Arguments made in Amendment
Applicant’s arguments and amendment, see Page 5 of “Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment”, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amended claim 1 makes clear location of the adhesion promoter layer/s in claim 4. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 4 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 rejections of claim(s) 1, 11, and their dependent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection by previously cited Lee now in view of United States Patent Application Publication by Sax et al. (US 20090065912 A1; Sax) after claim amendment which moves some limitations from claim 3 or 13 respectively into claims 1 or 11 respectively, as well as introduces the new limitation of having the second layer of the promotor layer being “dendritic AlOOH” instead of just “AlOOH”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22, 23, and 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by United States Patent Application Publication by Lee et al. (US 20070074900 A1; Lee)
Regarding Claim 22, Lee discloses an electronic device module, comprising:
a core layer (10) comprising an opening (16, Fig. 3);
an electronic device (20) disposed in the opening (Fig. 3, Where device 20 is disposed in opening 16), the electronic device being at least partially covered by an adhesion promoter layer (Aluminum oxide layer 12 covers substrate 10, Where improved adhesion is found at Para 63, lines 4-7); and
an encapsulant layer (A multilayer PCB is formed over the core layer which contains dielectric layers and encapsulating the core layer and electronic device Figs. 5/6),
wherein the core layer and the electronic device are embedded in the encapsulant layer such that the core layer and the electronic device are disposed on a lower horizontal layer of the encapsulant layer, an upper horizontal layer of the encapsulant layer is disposed on upper surfaces of the core layer and the electronic device (Lee: See annotated Fig. 4 below, where the core layer 10 and the electronic device 20 are embedded in the encapsulating layers of a multi-layer PCB and not in the upper layer, which could be considered a lower layer),
Figure 1: Annotated Fig. 4 of the Lee reference.
and vertical layers of the encapsulant layer are filled in intermediate spaces between side walls of the core layer and side walls of the electronic device within the opening of the core layer (Lee: See annotated Fig. 4 below, Where the encapsulate of the PCB appears to fill intermediate space between side walls of the core layer and side walls of the electronic device).
Figure 2: second Annotated Fig. 4 of the Lee reference.
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses the electronic device module of claim 22, and further wherein the adhesion promoter layer comprises an Al203 layer (Para. 34, where the result of anodizing is aluminum oxide Al203, and Para. 52, where the adhesion promoter layer 12 is anodized).
Regarding claim 26, Lee discloses the electronic device module of claim 22, wherein the electronic device comprises a die carrier (18) and a semiconductor die (20) attached to the die carrier (“Die carrier” is a broad term that is related to the physical support structure that holds/surrounds the die during assembly and operation. Under broadest reasonable interpretation is can be interpreted that the chip bond adhesive could be considered a die carrier as it provides structural support to the die).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 14, 20-21, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Lee in view of United States Patent Application Publication by Sax et al. (US 20210375792 A1; Sax).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses an electronic device module (Whole Module in Fig. 5), comprising:
a core layer (10) comprising an opening (16, Fig. 3);
an electronic device (20) disposed in the opening (Fig. 3, Where device 20 is disposed in opening 16), the electronic device being at least partially covered by an adhesion promoter layer (Aluminum oxide layer 12 covers substrate 10, Where improved adhesion is found at Para 63, lines 4-7); and
an encapsulant layer embedding the core layer and the electronic device (A multilayer PCB is formed over the core layer which contains dielectric layers and encapsulating the core layer and electronic device Figs. 5/6), wherein the adhesion promoter layer (12) comprises an Al203 layer (Para. 34, the result of anodizing is aluminum oxide [(Alsub2 Osub3)], and Para. 53 where it describes that adhesion promoter layer 12 is anodized).
However, Lee fails to disclose where the adhesion promotor layer further comprises a second layer of dendritic AlOOH disposed on the first layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sax uses an encapsulation layer in which adhesion promotor layer made of aluminum oxide AL2O3 (Sax: Para. 19) and then put against AlOOH dendrites (Sax: Para 21). Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known adhesion promoter layer materials such as Aluminum Oxide and aluminum oxyhydroxide as shown by Sax, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose Aluminum Oxide and/or aluminum oxyhydroxide over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses a device module (Module in whole in Fig. 5), comprising:
a core layer (10) at least partially covered by an adhesion promoter layer (Aluminum oxide layer 12 covers substrate 10, Where improved adhesion is found at Para 63, lines 4-7); and
an encapsulant layer embedding the core layer (A multilayer PCB is formed over the core layer which contains dielectric layers and encapsulating the core layer Figs. 5/6) wherein the adhesion promoter layer (12) comprises an Al203 layer (Para. 34, the result of anodizing is aluminum oxide [(Alsub2 Osub3)], and Para. 53 where it describes that adhesion promoter layer 12 is anodized).
However, Lee fails to disclose where the adhesion promotor layer further comprises a second layer of dendritic AlOOH disposed on the first layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sax uses an encapsulation layer in which adhesion promotor layer made of aluminum oxide AL2O3 (Sax: Para. 19) and then put against AlOOH dendrites (Sax: Para 21). Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known adhesion promoter layer materials such as Aluminum Oxide and aluminum oxyhydroxide as shown by Sax, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose Aluminum Oxide and/or aluminum oxyhydroxide over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee and Sax discloses the device module of claim 11, further comprising:
an electronic device (Lee: 20) disposed in an opening (Lee: 16, Fig. 3) of the core layer (Lee: Fig. 3, Where device 20 is disposed in opening 16).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee and Sax discloses the device module of claim 14, and further wherein the core layer and the electronic device are embedded in the encapsulant layer such that the core layer and the electronic device are disposed on a lower horizontal layer of the encapsulant layer, an upper horizontal layer of the encapsulant layer is disposed on upper surfaces of the core layer and the electronic device (Lee: See annotated Fig. 4 in above claim 22 rejection, where the core layer 10 and the electronic device 20 are embedded in the encapsulating layers of a multi-layer PCB and not in the upper layer, which could be considered a lower layer),
and vertical layers of the encapsulant layer are filled in intermediate spaces between side walls of the core layer and side walls of the electronic device within the opening of the core layer (Lee: See annotated Fig. 4 in above claim 22 rejection, Where the encapsulate of the PCB appears to fill intermediate space between side walls of the core layer and side walls of the electronic device).
Regarding Claim 21, Lee and Sax disclose the device module of claim 11, wherein the core layer is embedded in the encapsulant layer such that the core layer is disposed on a lower horizontal layer of the encapsulant layer and an upper horizontal layer of the encapsulant layer is disposed on an upper surface of the core layer (Lee: See annotated Fig. 4 in above claim 22 rejection, where the core layer 10 and the electronic device 20 are embedded in the encapsulating layers of a multi-layer PCB and not in the upper layer, which could be considered a lower layer).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses the electronic device module of claim 22, wherein the adhesion promoter layer comprises a first layer of Al203 (Para. 34, the result of anodizing is aluminum oxide [(Alsub2 Osub3)], and Para. 53 where it describes that adhesion promoter layer 12 is anodized)
However, Lee fails to disclose where the adhesion promotor layer further comprises a second layer of dendritic AlOOH disposed on the first layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sax uses an encapsulation layer in which adhesion promotor layer made of aluminum oxide AL2O3 (Sax: Para. 19) and then put against AlOOH dendrites (Sax: Para 21). Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known adhesion promoter layer materials such as Aluminum Oxide and aluminum oxyhydroxide as shown by Sax, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose Aluminum Oxide and/or aluminum oxyhydroxide over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over Lee in view of United States Patent Application Publication by Park et al. (US 20190252306 A1; Park).
Regarding claim 25, Lee discloses the electronic device module of claim 22, however,
Lee fails to disclose wherein the core layer is covered by a further adhesion promoter layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Park discloses a similar device (Park: 200) with electronic devices (22a) disposed and a core layer (10) but does not dispose the electronic devices inside an opening on the core layer. However, in regard to disposing the adhesion promoter layer/s, it is unimportant if the electronic component is buried as the adhesion promoter layer/s can cover the core layers as well. Lee does disclose the using of multiple adhesion promoter layer as an upper and lower adhesion promoter layer (Para. 44, “The upper conductive patterns 22a may thus be prevented from delamination from the top surface 10a of the substrate body 10. The first upper adhesion promoter pattern 12ap may be, for example, an aluminum oxide layer. A second upper adhesion promoter layer 24a [or, i.e., a first or second adhesion promoter layer] may be interposed between the upper passivation layer 26a and the upper conductive patterns 22a). Then followed by an encapsulate which encapsulates the core layer, electronic component, and the adhesion promoter layer (Fig. 4).
In view of the disclosure of Park, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the disclosure of Park to Lee at the time the instant application was filed to incorporate a further second adhesion promotor layer different from the first. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make the modification because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the advantages that having additional adhesion promotor layers in order to further increase the adhesion between the core layer (substrate) and other conductive patterns (Para. 46).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable as obvious over the combination of Lee and Sax, and further in view of Park.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee and Sax discloses the electronic device module of claim 1, however Lee and Sax fails to disclose wherein the core layer is covered by a further adhesion promoter layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Park discloses a similar device (Park: 200) with electronic devices (22a) disposed and a core layer (10) but does not dispose the electronic devices inside an opening on the core layer. However, in regard to disposing the adhesion promoter layer/s, it is unimportant if the electronic component is buried as the adhesion promoter layer/s can cover the core layers as well. Lee does disclose the using of multiple adhesion promoter layer as an upper and lower adhesion promoter layer (Para. 44, “The upper conductive patterns 22a may thus be prevented from delamination from the top surface 10a of the substrate body 10. The first upper adhesion promoter pattern 12ap may be, for example, an aluminum oxide layer. A second upper adhesion promoter layer 24a [or, i.e., a first or second adhesion promoter layer] may be interposed between the upper passivation layer 26a and the upper conductive patterns 22a). Then followed by an encapsulate which encapsulates the core layer, electronic component, and the adhesion promoter layer (Fig. 4).
In view of the disclosure of Park, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the disclosure of Park to the combination of Lee and Sax at the time the instant application was filed to incorporate a further second adhesion promotor layer different from the first. Accordingly, one would have been motivated to make the modification because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the advantages that having additional adhesion promotor layers in order to further increase the adhesion between the core layer (substrate) and other conductive patterns (Para. 46).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J HIBBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ZANDRA V SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899