DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the communication filed 12/1/2025.
Claims 1-24 are pending, Claims 14-22 are withdrawn, and Claims 1-13 and 23-24 have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “clean in place system” in claim 1. The relevant sections of the Specification appear in the background ¶ [0004].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 lines 22-28 recite “a constant flow through the output hose regardless of whether the liquid level in the interior volume of the mobile small parts cleaning device is rising due to liquid being provided by the automated and stationary clean in place system through the input hose, or whether the liquid level in the interior volume of the mobile small parts cleaning device is falling due to no liquid being provided by the automated and stationary clean in place system through the input hose.
Applicant cited ¶ [0029] and ¶ [0030] in support for the amendments. However, ¶ [0029]-[0030] only recites “constant flow through tank 110” and “restriction device 136 is configured to allow only about 100 LPM through CIP return line 128”. That is, there is support for a constant flow rate through the tank, as a function of both the restriction device AND the overflow port, but that does not equate to support for any structural feature that enables “constant flow through the output hose…whether liquid level…is rising…or…is falling”.
Examiner does find support for the interpretation of “the output hose” as the combined CIP return line 128 with BOTH the restriction device AND the overflow port, however, the specification does not define this limitation with respect to “an output hose”.
Examiner does not find any support for any control of flow rate when the liquid level is falling. The only dropping of liquid is in the draining stage described in ¶ [0032] which does discuss flow rates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN104001687A (“CN’687”) (cited by Applicant) (machine translation attached in prior action) in view of Sheldon (US 5,398,708) and Chong et al. (US 2003/0041877 A1).
Re claim 1, CN’687 discloses a mobile small parts cleaning device (abstract; re “small parts” is a statement of intended use. See MPEP 2114.) comprising:
a tank (ref. 11) having an interior volume configured to receive small parts;
wheels (ref. 6) attached to a bottom portion of the tank and configured to allow an operator to move the mobile small parts cleaning device and tank when small parts are loaded in the tank;
at least one jet (ref. 112, 113) located within the tank and configured to spray small parts loaded therein with liquid;
an input hose (ref. 211, 212, 213) configured to couple the at least one jet to an automated clean in place system (Statement of Intended Use. See MPEP 2114. Nonetheless, see fig. 4 ref. 24, 26, 29) to deliver liquid to the at least one jet;
an output hose (hoses from refs. 111, 121 see fig. 4) configured to couple the tank to the automated clean in place system to return liquid from the tank to the clean in place system;
a bottom outlet (ref. 111, 121) located on a bottom portion of the tank and fluidically connected with the output hose;
a restriction device (orifices of refs. 111, 121) located between the bottom outlet and the output hose; and
an overflow outlet (at ref. 14 or also consider “outer rims are connected with the overflow passage (not indicating) of a connection spout hole 122) located on an upper portion of the tank and fluidically connected with the output hose (see fig. 4 both leading to drainage),
wherein the input hose, the bottom outlet, the restriction device and the overflow outlet are configured to cooperate to ensure that liquid can flow into the interior volume of the tank at a greater rate than liquid flowing out of the bottom outlet, thereby causing a liquid level in the interior volume to rise until it reaches the overflow outlet (see fig. 4 liquid level 200; see also step S100 inject a liquid to flow over 14).
CN’687 does not explicitly disclose to move the small parts cleaning device to a separate automated and stationary clean in place system and wherein the restriction device is configured to provide a constant flow rate through the output hose regardless of whether the liquid level in the interior of the mobile small parts cleaning device is rising due to the liquid being provided by the automated and stationary clean in place system through the input hose, or whether the liquid level in the interior of the mobile small parts cleaning device is falling due to no liquid being provided by the automated and stationary clean in place system through the input hose.
Regarding “wheels…to move the small parts cleaning device to a separate automated clean in place system”, Examiner highlights that CN’687 further discloses machine 51 connected to an outside water source and drains 111, 121 to the outside, which are capable of connecting to a clean in place system, if so desired. See MPEP 2114. Nonetheless, Examiner cites Sheldon for explicitly disclosing a small parts cleaning device (ref. 10, see fig. 1) with wheels (ref. 57) to move the small part cleaning device to a separate automated and stationary clean in place system (ref. 100, 150, 180, 160).
Regarding “constant flow rate”, Chong discloses is it s well-known in the part cleaning device art (abstract) to provide a restriction device (ref. 14, see fig. 1) is configured to provide a constant flow rate through the output hose (ref. 26) regardless of whether the liquid level in the interior of the mobile small parts cleaning device is rising due to the liquid being provided by the automated and stationary clean in place system through the input hose, or whether the liquid level in the interior of the mobile small parts cleaning device is falling due to no liquid being provided by the automated and stationary clean in place system through the input hose (abstract, ¶ [0015], [0035] constant flow rate through the container by controlling valve 14 to compensate for sudden and dramatic fluctuation of fluid supply and demand in real-time).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the small parts cleaning device of CN’687 to further be movable to a separate automated clean in place system, as suggested by Sheldon, in order to enable portability for the entire parts washer and ease of maintenance of the clean in place system; and to further include a restriction device providing constant flow rate, as suggested by Chong, in order to assure constant rate of supply and compensate for sudden and dramatic fluctuation of fluid supply and demand.
Re claims 8-10, CN’687 further discloses wherein the restriction device and the overflow port cooperate to ensure that all small parts placed into the interior volume are submersed in liquid during a wash cycle (see fig. 4 liquid level above workpiece). Re claims 9-10, Claims 9-10 recite limitations drawn to specific liquid flow rates provided from the Clean in place system. This is a statement of intended use, since the device itself does not control the flow rate but is dependent on the pressure and flow rate provided by or accepted (depending on the pump) the CIP system. See MPEP 2114.
Re claims 2-3, CN’687 discloses as shown above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the restriction device comprises a transverse cross-sectional area that is smaller than a transverse cross-sectional area of the output hose. However, the mere change in size of the cross-sectional area of the output hose is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, moreso where multiple outlets (see fig. 4 refs. 111, 121) would combine into a single discharge line requiring greater throughput capacity. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion. Re claim 3, Regarding “wherein the restriction device comprises an intermediate section located between an entry section and an exit section, the intermediate section comprising a constant transverse cross-sectional area that is smaller than a transverse cross- sectional area of the entry section and smaller than a transverse cross-sectional area of the exit section”, as discussed above, as seen in fig. 4, the intermediate connection between 111 and the combined discharge line would be expected to be smaller than the inlet of 111 or the larger diameter discharge line combining multiple outlet feeds. Similarly, for the intermediate connection between 121 and the discharge line (not shown) combining discharged feeds.
Re claim 7, Regarding “wherein the restriction device comprises a transverse cross-sectional area that is configured to not be changed during a wash cycle”, the fixed structure of CN’687 at 111, 121 is not expected to change.
Re claim 11, Regarding “wherein the cleaning device further comprises a plurality of removable baskets configured to receive small parts to be washed and configured to be received within the interior volume of the cleaning device”, the mere duplication of the basket (ref. 13) is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to enable multiple object separation and loading.
Re claims 12-13, Claims 12-13 are drawn to not including any automated equipment and no electronic signals, respectively. Here, the “cleaning device” as limited to only the tank, the fluid inlets, and fluid outlets, do not appear to require any automated equipment nor electronic signals, where the controls/signals are isolated to the pump and valves, i.e. the CIP system. Nonetheless, it would be prima facie obvious to perform any automated or electronic task manually, if so desired. The performance of known processor steps by hand is known.
Re claims 23-24, Regarding “wherein the input hose, the bottom outlet, the restriction device and the overflow outlet are configured to cooperate to allow the cleaning device to switch from a filling cycle to a constant flow washing cycle automatically when a liquid flow rate through the input hose from the automated and stationary clean in place system does not change”, Chong discloses the filling cycle (¶ [0033]-[0034]) and constant flow (abstract, ¶ [0015], [0035]); Regarding “wherein the input hose, the bottom outlet, the restriction device and the overflow outlet are configured to cooperate to allow the cleaning device to switch from a constant flow washing cycle to a drain cycle automatically when a liquid flow rate through the input hose from the automated and stationary clean in place system stops” CN’687 discloses a drain cycle (“liquid 200…drained…through the water outlets 111 and 121”) and Chong further discloses “fluid can rapidly be removed from the container”, such to render a rapid drain cycle prima facie obvious after cleaning.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN104001687A in view of Sheldon and Chong, as applied above, and further in view of Schild (US 6,145,520 A).
Re claim 4, CN’687/Sheldon/Chong discloses as shown above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the intermediate section comprises an orifice plate. However, Schild teaches it is well-known in the fluid processing tank art (abstract) to provide a drain in the form of an orifice plate (see figs. 2-4 orifices 2, 4; also consider “at least two…openings…at different height” ), for the purpose of obtaining optimum flow characteristics and restricting fluid flow to adjust rate of fluid flow or fluid quantity/height.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to modify the drain of CN’687/Sheldon/Chong to further include an orifice plate, as suggested by Schild, in order to adjust flow characteristics through the overflow openings and enable adjustment based on entirely or partially closing a drain orifice.
Re claims 5-6, Claims 5-6 recite specific dimensions of the intermediate section and the constant transverse cross-sectional area of the intermediate section. The mere optimization of the size/shape of the intermediate section of the restriction device is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, for the purposes of obtaining optimum flow characteristics as discussed by Schild. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion. See also MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as shown in the rejection above.
Examiner highlights a 112(a) rejection has been made with respect to the newly amended subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN210497373U note valve to control return/drain line.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711