DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–10 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2023/0282871 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11 May 2023 does not fully comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.98(b) because:
Legible copies of cite nos. 1, 2, 5, and 6 in the foreign patent documents (i.e., CN 107834093 A, CN 108417882 A, CN 208986117 U, and CN 209056560 U) have not been provided. The copies provided include only the bibliographic data of the foreign patent document with the remaining pages being blank.
Since the submission appears to be bona fide, applicant is given ONE (1) MONTH from the date of this notice to supply the above mentioned omissions or corrections in the information disclosure statement. NO EXTENSION OF THIS TIME LIMIT MAY BE GRANTED UNDER EITHER 37 CFR 1.136(a) OR (b). Failure to timely comply with this notice will result in the above mentioned information disclosure statement being placed in the application file with the noncomplying information not being considered. See 37 CFR 1.97(i).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 4 and 5 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY CELL INSULATING FILM WRAPPING DEVICE INCLUDING PUSH MECHANISM, DEFINING MECHANISM, EDGE FOLDING MECHANISM, AND DRIVING UNIT.
Claim Objections
Claims 1–10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1–10 recite, in the preamble, "device for wrapping insulating film around battery cell." Claims 1–10 should recited, in the preamble, "device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell" to improve the readability.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
A defining mechanism, an edge folding mechanism, and a driving unit in claim 1.
The structure of the defining mechanism is considered to be a restraint base and a restraint block.
The structure of the edge folding mechanism is considered to be a connecting plate and two edge folding assemblies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a driving unit … is configured to drive the edge folding mechanism to fold the edge of the insulating film wrapped around the battery cell and drive the push block to push the battery cell on the substrate." The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is not a clear association between a structure that performs the function of driving the edge folding mechanism to fold the edge of the insulating film wrapped around the battery cell and drive the push block to push the battery cell on the substrate. The figures illustrate a driving unit 4, but do not clearly describe the structure of the driving unit or clearly illustrate the details of the driving unit. Therefore, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2–10 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–10 also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "driving unit, wherein the driving unit is configured to drive the edge folding mechanism to fold the edge of the insulating film wrapped around the battery cell and drive the push block to push the battery cell on the substrate," which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
There is not a clear association between a structure that performs the function of driving the edge folding mechanism to fold the edge of the insulating film wrapped around the battery cell and drive the push block to push the battery cell on the substrate. The figures illustrate a driving unit 4, but do not clearly describe the structure of the driving unit or clearly illustrate the details of the driving unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 2–10 are directly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Claims 2–10 do not recite sufficient structure to perform the function of driving the edge folding mechanism to fold the edge of the insulating film wrapped around the battery cell and drive the push block to push the battery cell on the substrate. Therefore, claims 2–10 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng (CN 207183432 U).
Regarding claim 1, Peng discloses a device (FIG. 2, [0012]) for wrapping an insulating film (5) around a battery cell (6), comprising:
a push mechanism (4, [0012]),
wherein the push mechanism (4) comprises a substrate (42) for holding a battery cell (6) and a push assembly (41, 43) disposed on the substrate (42, [0012]),
the push assembly (41, 43) comprises a push block (43, [0012]), and
the push assembly (43) further comprises a first restraint portion (41) for limiting a position of the push block (43, [0012]);
a defining mechanism (44, 45, 46; [0012]),
wherein the defining mechanism (44, 45, 46) is disposed on a side of the substrate (42, [0012]), and
the defining mechanism (44, 45, 46) is configured to define a position of the battery cell (6) on the substrate (42, [0012]);
an edge folding mechanism (3, [0012]),
wherein the edge folding mechanism (3) is disposed opposite the push mechanism (4, [0012]), and
the edge folding mechanism (3) is configured to fold an edge of an insulating film (5) wrapped around the battery cell (6, [0012]); and
a driving unit (32, [0012]),
wherein the driving unit (32) is configured to drive the edge folding mechanism (3) to fold the edge of the insulating film (5) wrapped around the battery cell (6) and drive the push block (43) to push the battery cell (6) on the substrate (42, [0012]).
Regarding, claim 5, Peng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the edge folding mechanism (3) comprises a connecting plate (33), a first edge folding assembly (31), and a second edge folding assembly (31, [0013]),
wherein a second sliding rail (FIG. 2, [0013]) is disposed on the connecting plate (33),
the first edge folding assembly (31) is disposed on the second sliding rail through a second slider (FIG. 2, [0013]),
the second edge folding assembly (31) is disposed on the second sliding rail through a third slider (FIG. 2, [0013]), and
the driving unit (32) is configured to drive the first edge folding assembly (31) and the second edge folding assembly (31) to approach or leave each other to fold the edge of the insulating film (5) wrapped around the battery cell (6, [0012]).
Regarding, claim 6, Peng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the first edge folding assembly (31) comprises a first hinged fixing plate (FIG. 2, [0013]),
the first hinged fixing plate is disposed on the second slider (FIG. 2, [0013]),
the second edge folding (31) assembly comprises a second hinged fixing plate (FIG. 2, [0013]), and
the second hinged fixing plate is disposed on the third slider (FIG. 2, [0013]); and
the edge folding mechanism (3) further comprises a first hinge plate (31) and a second hinge plate (31, [0012]),
wherein one end of the first hinge plate (31) is hinged with the first hinged fixing plate (FIG. 2, [0013]),
the other end of the first hinge plate (31) is hinged with one end of the second hinge plate (FIG. 2, [0013]), and
the other end of the second hinge plate (31) is hinged with the second hinged fixing plate (FIG. 2, [0013]).
Regarding, claim 7, Peng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein a hinge guide slot is disposed on the connecting plate (33, [0013]), and
a joint of the first hinge plate (31) and the second hinge plate (31) moves up and down in the hinge guide slot through a guiding shaft (FIG. 2, [0013]),
so as to drive the first edge folding assembly (31) and the second edge (31) folding assembly to slide on the second sliding rail (FIG. 2, [0013]).
Regarding, claim 8, Peng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the driving unit (32) is configured to drive the push block (43) to push the battery cell (6) on the substrate (42) while driving the guiding shaft to move up and down in the hinge guide slot (FIG. 3, [0013]).
Regarding, claim 9, Peng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the defining mechanism (44, 45, 46) comprises a restraint base (45) and a first restraint block (46) disposed on the restraint base (45, [0013]), and
the first restraint block (46) comprises a second restraint portion (44) and a third restraint portion (46) that are configured to limit movement of the battery cell (6) in a horizontal direction (FIG. 3, [0013].
Regarding, claim 10, Peng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the defining mechanism (44, 45, 46, 47) further comprises a second restraint block (47) disposed on the restraint base (45, [0013]), and
the second restraint block (45) is configured to limit movement of the battery cell (6) in a vertical direction (FIG. 3, [0013]).
Claims 1–4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wuxi Lead Intelligent Equipment Co Ltd. (CN 109065938 A, hereinafter Wuxi).
Regarding claim 1, Wuxi discloses a device (FIG. 1, [0070]) for wrapping an insulating film (800) around a battery cell (700), comprising:
a push mechanism (100, [0070]),
wherein the push mechanism (600) comprises a substrate (110) for holding a battery cell (700) and a push assembly (620) disposed on the substrate (110, [0091]),
the push assembly (620) comprises a push block (622, [0091]), and
the push assembly (620) further comprises a first restraint portion (621) for limiting a position of the push block (622, [0091]);
a defining mechanism (500, [0088]),
wherein the defining mechanism (500) is disposed on a side of the substrate (110, [0088]), and
the defining mechanism (500) is configured to define a position of the battery cell (700) on the substrate (110, [0088]);
an edge folding mechanism (200, [0073]),
wherein the edge folding mechanism (200) is disposed opposite the push mechanism (600, [0073]), and
the edge folding mechanism (200) is configured to fold an edge of an insulating film (800) wrapped around the battery cell (700, [0024]); and
a driving unit (300, [0083]),
wherein the driving unit (300) is configured to drive the edge folding mechanism (200) to fold the edge of the insulating film (800) wrapped around the battery cell (700) and drive the push block (622) to push the battery cell (700) on the substrate (110, [0083]).
Regarding, claim 2, Wuxi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the first restraint portion (621) is a restraint groove disposed on the push block (622, [0090]).
Regarding, claim 3, Wuxi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the push assembly (600) further comprises a slider fixing plate (140), a first slider (2122), and a cam assembly (212, [0075]),
wherein a first sliding rail (142) is disposed on the slider fixing plate (140, [00,
the first slider (2122) fits with the first sliding rail (142) and is capable of sliding along an extension direction of the first sliding rail (142, [0075]), and
the push block (622) is fixed onto the first slider (2122, [0075]); and
the cam assembly (212) comprises a cam (213) fitting with the restraint groove (2121, [0075]),
the cam (213) slides along an extension direction of the restraint groove (2121, [0075]), and
the cam (213) and the restraint groove (2121) fit with each other to limit the position of the push block (622, [0075]).
Regarding, claim 4, Wuxi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a device for wrapping an insulating film around a battery cell:
wherein the driving unit (300) is configured to drive the push block (622) to slide along the extension direction of the first sliding rail (142) while driving the cam (213) to slide along the extension direction of the restraint groove (2121), to push the battery cell (700) on the substrate (110, [0075]).
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 101287412 B1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a device (100, [0009]) for wrapping an insulating film (111) around a battery cell (190), comprising:
a push mechanism (140, [0017]),
wherein the push mechanism (140) comprises a substrate (143) for holding a battery cell (190) and a push assembly (144, 145, 148) disposed on the substrate (143, [0024]),
the push assembly (144, 145, 148) comprises a push block (148, [0024]), and
the push assembly (144, 145, 148) further comprises a first restraint portion (144) for limiting a position of the push block (148, [0024]);
a defining mechanism (130, [0019]),
wherein the defining mechanism (130) is disposed on a side of the substrate (143, [0021]), and
the defining mechanism (130) is configured to define a position of the battery cell (6) on the substrate (143, [0021]);
an edge folding mechanism (141, 142; [0028]),
wherein the edge folding mechanism (141, 142) is disposed opposite the push mechanism (130, [0028]), and
the edge folding mechanism (141, 142) is configured to fold an edge of an insulating film (111) wrapped around the battery cell (190, [0024]); and
a driving unit (141b, 142b; [0028]),
wherein the driving unit (141b, 142b) is configured to drive the edge folding mechanism (141, 142) to fold the edge of the insulating film (111) wrapped around the battery cell (190) and drive the push block (148) to push the battery cell (190) on the substrate (143, [0028]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725