DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-11, 13-19, and 21 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20, based solely on the limitations as amended, has been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references including prior art being used in the current rejection (see below for detail) under new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Further, on page 9 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant indicated that Applicant has amended claim 16 to include some of subject matter of intervening claim 19 and all of subject matter of allowable claim 20. Therefore, claim 16 is in immediate condition for allowance. In this case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because the currently amended claim 16 comprises a broader scope compared to the previously objected claimed 20. Due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections for claim 16, necessitated by amendments, is made in view of following reference/combinations (see claim 16 below rejection for detail).
As a result, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robl (Rol – US 2014/0308061 A1) in view of Loraas et al. (Loraas – US 5,957,213), Johnson (Johnson – US 2009/0212638 A1), and Curtis (Curtis – US 2024/0099437 A1).
As to claim 1, Robl discloses a work tool coupler for a work machine, the work tool coupler comprising:
a mechanical interface (Robl: FIG. 2 the first engagement mechanism 230 and the second recess 250) configured to mechanically couple a work tool (Robl: FIG. 1 the work tool accessory 160) to the work machine (Robl: [0024]-[0029], FIG. 1-2 the tool system 120, FIG. 5 and FIG. 10: FIG. 2 is a side view of an exemplary quick coupler 200. In FIG. 2 the quick coupler 200 is positively coupled with a first work tool attachment mechanism 240, shown as a cylindrical pin. FIG. 3 depicts an example of negative coupling between the quick coupler 200 and the first work tool attachment mechanism 240. The first engagement mechanism 230 may be a wedge as shown in FIG. 4. The first engagement mechanism 230 may move longitudinally between a recessed configuration proximate to the center of the quick coupler 200 and an extended configuration distal to the center of the quick coupler 200 as shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 3, and FIG. 5. As shown in FIG. 5 the movement of the first engagement mechanism 230 may be connected to a first hydraulic actuator 270); and
an electrical interface between the work tool and the work machine (Robl: [0029]-[0039] and FIG. 7-10: The sensor 700 may include two pairs of strain gages in a full bridge configuration that produces an output reading of the bending moment 740 on the engagement mechanism 230 of the quick coupler 200. The first pair of strain gages 711, 712 may be on a first side 710 and a second pair of strain gages 721, 722 may be on a second side 720. The first side 710 may include a first gage 711 and a second gage 712 that are positioned perpendicular to each other where one gage is in the principal direction to measure bending strain and one gage is in the transverse direction to compensate for temperature. The second side 720 of the exemplary sensor 700 may include a third gage 721 and a fourth gage 722 also positioned perpendicular to each other, where one gage is in the principal direction and used to measure bending and the other gage is in the transverse direction and used for temperature compensation); and
wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets (Robl: [0031]: The first sensor 233 may emit an electromagnetic field or a beam of electromagnetic radiation that is affected or returned by the work tool attachment mechanism 240. The first sensor 233 may then detect the change in the electromagnetic field or a beam of electromagnetic radiation or the return signal in order to determine the proximity between the first engagement mechanism 230 and the work tool attachment mechanism 240. The value of the distance between the first engagement mechanism 230 and the work tool attachment mechanism 240 may be transferred to a central processing unit or an engine control module through a communication system).
Robl does not explicitly disclose
a transmitter coil configured to wirelessly provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool, and
wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of construction machine to implement a transmitter coil configured to provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool, as suggested by Loraas, which dsiclsoes a transmitter coil configured to provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl and Loraas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl to include a transmitter coil configured to provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool, as suggested by Loraas. The motivation for this is to provide power from a working machine to an attachment upon connection.
The combination of Robl and Loraas does not explicitly disclose a transmitter coil configured to wirelessly provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless connection to implement a transmitter coil configured to wirelessly provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool, as suggested by Johnson, which dsiclsoes a transmitter coil configured to wirelessly provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, and Johnson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl and Loraas, to include a transmitter coil configured to wirelessly provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool, as suggested by Johnson. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for wirelessly providing power from a working machine to an attachment upon attachment.
The combination of Robl, Loraas, and Johnson does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Curtis, which discloses wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool (Curtis: Abstract, [0006]-[0007], [0044]-[0050], [0055]-[0058], FIG. 4-5: Turning to FIGS. 2, 3A, and 3B, the female fastener can have a first lateral motion restrictor 230, and the male fastener can have a second lateral motion restrictor 260. The first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be a female trench 232, and the second lateral motion restrictor 260 can be a male ridge 262. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, the magnet faces 214, 216 of the female fastener 210 can be in engagement with the magnet faces 244, 246 of the male fastener, and the magnets in the magnet faces cause the two fasteners to be attracted to each other. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be in engagement with the second lateral motion restrictor 260. When the two lateral motion restrictors 230 and 260 are in engagement with each other, the female fastener and the male fastener are restricted in their lateral movements so that they can only move in in the Y direction, but cannot move in the X direction while the magnet faces are in engagement with each other. When the ridge 262 is within the trench 232, the fasteners cannot slide apart from each other in the X direction until they are separated by being pulled apart from each other in either the Z direction or the Y direction).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl, Loraas, and Johnson, to include wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Curtis. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
As to claim 2, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the one or more electromagnets are powered via the power source (Robl: [0024], FIG. 1 the power source 110, and FIG. 7-10), and wherein the mechanical interface comprises: one or more electric actuators that are powered via the power source (Robl: [0024], [0029]-[0039], FIG. 9 the first hydraulic actuator 911 and the second hydraulic actuator 921: FIGS. 9 and 10 show another exemplary quick coupler 900 where a first engagement mechanism 910 and a second engagement mechanism 920 are controlled by a first hydraulic actuator 911 and a second hydraulic actuator 921 respectively. The quick coupler 900 may couple with a work tool accessory 1020. Coupling may occur when the first engagement mechanism 910 couples with the first work tool attachment mechanism 1021 and second engagement mechanism 920 couples with second work tool attachment mechanism 1022 and Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto).
As to claim 3, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, further comprising: a communication interface; and a controller, configured to: obtain, via the communication interface, an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool; and configure, based on the work tool type, one or more parameters associated with a flow of the electrical energy to the work tool via the transmitter coil (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: attachment controller 240, as with machine controller 244, is a digital computer or other suitable controller which is coupled by harness 216 (or wireless link 238) to communicate with machine controller 224 using a serial communications protocol. Attachment controller 240 is coupled to attachment power circuit 242. In the preferred embodiment, attachment power circuit 242 includes the hydraulic system or electrical system, or both, associated with the particular attachment corresponding to control system 222. In one preferred embodiment, attachment power circuit 242 includes a hydraulic routing circuit which receives hydraulic fluid under pressure from machine power circuit 230 through hoses 206. Attachment power circuit 242 provides suitable outputs to power attachment power actuator 244).
As to claim 4, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the work tool includes a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive the electrical energy from the transmitter coil (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated ).
As to claim 5, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the work tool is configured to store the electrical energy in a battery or use the electrical energy to power one or more components of the work tool (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated ).
As to claim 6, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the coupled position is associated with aligning the transmitter coil with a receiver coil included in the work tool (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated and Curtis: Abstract, [0006]-[0007], [0044]-[0050], [0055]-[0058], FIG. 4-5: Turning to FIGS. 2, 3A, and 3B, the female fastener can have a first lateral motion restrictor 230, and the male fastener can have a second lateral motion restrictor 260. The first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be a female trench 232, and the second lateral motion restrictor 260 can be a male ridge 262. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, the magnet faces 214, 216 of the female fastener 210 can be in engagement with the magnet faces 244, 246 of the male fastener, and the magnets in the magnet faces cause the two fasteners to be attracted to each other. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be in engagement with the second lateral motion restrictor 260. When the two lateral motion restrictors 230 and 260 are in engagement with each other, the female fastener and the male fastener are restricted in their lateral movements so that they can only move in in the Y direction, but cannot move in the X direction while the magnet faces are in engagement with each other. When the ridge 262 is within the trench 232, the fasteners cannot slide apart from each other in the X direction until they are separated by being pulled apart from each other in either the Z direction or the Y direction ).
As to claim 7, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the work machine is a wheel loader, a skid steer (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 1 the skid steer loader 10, and FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto), an excavator, or a dozer (Robl: [0024] and FIG. 1 the excavator 100).
As to claim 8, Robl discloses a work machine, comprising:
a work tool coupler (Robl: FIG. 2 the quick coupler 200) comprising
one or more electromagnets (Robl: [0031]: The first sensor 233 may emit an electromagnetic field or a beam of electromagnetic radiation that is affected or returned by the work tool attachment mechanism 240. The first sensor 233 may then detect the change in the electromagnetic field or a beam of electromagnetic radiation or the return signal in order to determine the proximity between the first engagement mechanism 230 and the work tool attachment mechanism 240. The value of the distance between the first engagement mechanism 230 and the work tool attachment mechanism 240 may be transferred to a central processing unit or an engine control module through a communication system).
Robl does not explicitly disclose a wireless power transmitter configured to wirelessly provide electrical power to the work tool, wherein at least one electromagnets, of the one or more electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of construction machine to implement a power transmitter configured to provide electrical power to the work tool, as suggested by Loraas, which dsiclsoes a power transmitter configured to provide electrical power to the work tool (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl and Loraas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl to include a power transmitter configured to provide electrical power to the work tool, as suggested by Loraas. The motivation for this is to provide power from a working machine to an attachment upon connection.
The combination of Robl and Loraas does not explicitly disclose a wireless power transmitter configured to wirelessly provide electrical power to the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless connection to implement a wireless power transmitter configured to wirelessly provide electrical power to the work tool, as suggested by Johnson, which dsiclsoes a wireless power transmitter configured to wirelessly provide electrical power to the work tool (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, and Johnson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl and Loraas, to include a wireless power transmitter configured to wirelessly provide electrical power to the work tool, as suggested by Johnson. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for wirelessly providing power from a working machine to an attachment upon attachment.
The combination of Robl, Loraas, and Johnson does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one electromagnets, of the one or more electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement wherein at least one electromagnets, of the one or more electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Curtis, which discloses wherein at least one electromagnets, of the one or more electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool (Curtis: Abstract, [0006]-[0007], [0044]-[0050], [0055]-[0058], FIG. 4-5: Turning to FIGS. 2, 3A, and 3B, the female fastener can have a first lateral motion restrictor 230, and the male fastener can have a second lateral motion restrictor 260. The first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be a female trench 232, and the second lateral motion restrictor 260 can be a male ridge 262. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, the magnet faces 214, 216 of the female fastener 210 can be in engagement with the magnet faces 244, 246 of the male fastener, and the magnets in the magnet faces cause the two fasteners to be attracted to each other. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be in engagement with the second lateral motion restrictor 260. When the two lateral motion restrictors 230 and 260 are in engagement with each other, the female fastener and the male fastener are restricted in their lateral movements so that they can only move in in the Y direction, but cannot move in the X direction while the magnet faces are in engagement with each other. When the ridge 262 is within the trench 232, the fasteners cannot slide apart from each other in the X direction until they are separated by being pulled apart from each other in either the Z direction or the Y direction).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl, Loraas, and Johnson, to include wherein at least one electromagnets, of the one or more electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Curtis. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
As to claim 9, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the work tool is coupled to the work machine via the work tool coupler (Robl: [0024], [0029]-[0039], FIG. 9 the first hydraulic actuator 911 and the second hydraulic actuator 921: FIGS. 9 and 10 show another exemplary quick coupler 900 where a first engagement mechanism 910 and a second engagement mechanism 920 are controlled by a first hydraulic actuator 911 and a second hydraulic actuator 921 respectively. The quick coupler 900 may couple with a work tool accessory 1020. Coupling may occur when the first engagement mechanism 910 couples with the first work tool attachment mechanism 1021 and second engagement mechanism 920 couples with second work tool attachment mechanism 1022 and Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto).
As to claim 10, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the work machine of claim 9, wherein the work tool further comprises: one or more recesses configured to receive the one or more electromagnets (Robl: Abstract, [0027]-[0029], [0031]-[0039], and FIG. 2-5: The first engagement mechanism 230 may be a wedge as shown in FIG. 4. The first engagement mechanism 230 may move longitudinally between a recessed configuration proximate to the center of the quick coupler 200 and an extended configuration distal to the center of the quick coupler 200 as shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 3, and FIG. 5…The first engagement mechanism 230 may have a first sensor 233 incorporated in the body of the first engagement mechanism 230. The first sensor 233 may be inserted or removed from the first engagement mechanism 230 by actuating a fastening mechanism 235. The first sensor 233 may detect strain within the engagement mechanism 230 created when the engagement mechanism 230 contacts the work tool attachment mechanism 240 and Curtis: Abstract, [0006]-[0007], [0044]-[0050], [0055]-[0058], FIG. 2-5: Turning to FIGS. 2, 3A, and 3B, the female fastener can have a first lateral motion restrictor 230, and the male fastener can have a second lateral motion restrictor 260. The first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be a female trench 232, and the second lateral motion restrictor 260 can be a male ridge 262. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, the magnet faces 214, 216 of the female fastener 210 can be in engagement with the magnet faces 244, 246 of the male fastener, and the magnets in the magnet faces cause the two fasteners to be attracted to each other. When the magnetic latch is in a latched conformation, first lateral motion restrictor 230 can be in engagement with the second lateral motion restrictor 260. When the two lateral motion restrictors 230 and 260 are in engagement with each other, the female fastener and the male fastener are restricted in their lateral movements so that they can only move in in the Y direction, but cannot move in the X direction while the magnet faces are in engagement with each other. When the ridge 262 is within the trench 232, the fasteners cannot slide apart from each other in the X direction until they are separated by being pulled apart from each other in either the Z direction or the Y direction).
As to claim 11, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the work machine of claim 9, wherein the work tool further comprises: one or more components configured to be powered via the electrical power that is received via the wireless power transmitter (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto and Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated).
As to claim 13, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the work tool coupler further comprises: one or more mechanical components (Robl: FIG. 2 the first engagement mechanism 230 and the second recess 250) configured to mechanically couple the work tool to the work tool coupler, wherein the work tool is further coupled to the work tool coupler via the one or more mechanical components (Robl: [0024]-[0029], FIG. 1-2 the tool system 120, FIG. 5 and FIG. 10: FIG. 2 is a side view of an exemplary quick coupler 200. In FIG. 2 the quick coupler 200 is positively coupled with a first work tool attachment mechanism 240, shown as a cylindrical pin. FIG. 3 depicts an example of negative coupling between the quick coupler 200 and the first work tool attachment mechanism 240. The first engagement mechanism 230 may be a wedge as shown in FIG. 4. The first engagement mechanism 230 may move longitudinally between a recessed configuration proximate to the center of the quick coupler 200 and an extended configuration distal to the center of the quick coupler 200 as shown in FIG. 2, FIG. 3, and FIG. 5. As shown in FIG. 5 the movement of the first engagement mechanism 230 may be connected to a first hydraulic actuator 270).
As to claim 14, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the work machine of claim 13, wherein the one or more mechanical components include at least one of: one or more pins (Robl: [0005], [0026]-[0029], and FIG. 4-6: The engagement mechanism 230 may have engagement mechanism pin openings 231 and 232 that may allow the first engagement mechanism 230 to be coupled with other parts of a quick coupler 200 and Loraas: column 10 lines 56-column 11 lines 6, FIG. 1 and FIG. 5: while attachment controller 240 may indicate to machine controller 224 the precise attachment then being coupled to machine 10, this can also be obtained by machine controller 224 looking for a specific pin configuration to which harness 216 is attached on the attachment), or
one or more electric linear actuators.
As to claim 15, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the work tool coupler further comprises: a communication interface configured to receive one or more wireless communications from a component of the work tool (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, and FIG. 6-9: attachment controller 240, as with machine controller 244, is a digital computer or other suitable controller which is coupled by harness 216 (or wireless link 238) to communicate with machine controller 224 using a serial communications protocol. Attachment controller 240 is coupled to attachment power circuit 242. In the preferred embodiment, attachment power circuit 242 includes the hydraulic system or electrical system, or both, associated with the particular attachment corresponding to control system 222. In one preferred embodiment, attachment power circuit 242 includes a hydraulic routing circuit which receives hydraulic fluid under pressure from machine power circuit 230 through hoses 206. Attachment power circuit 242 provides suitable outputs to power attachment power actuator 244).
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robl (Rol – US 2014/0308061 A1) in view of Loraas et al. (Loraas – US 5,957,213), Johnson (Johnson – US 2009/0212638 A1), and Chung et al. (Chung – US 2021/0043349 A1).
As to claim 16, Robl discloses a work tool coupling system, comprising:
a work tool coupler (Robl: FIG. 1 the quick coupler 200) comprising electromagnets (Robl: [0031]: The first sensor 233 may emit an electromagnetic field or a beam of electromagnetic radiation that is affected or returned by the work tool attachment mechanism 240. The first sensor 233 may then detect the change in the electromagnetic field or a beam of electromagnetic radiation or the return signal in order to determine the proximity between the first engagement mechanism 230 and the work tool attachment mechanism 240. The value of the distance between the first engagement mechanism 230 and the work tool attachment mechanism 240 may be transferred to a central processing unit or an engine control module through a communication system); and
a work tool (Robl: FIG. 1 the work tool accessory 160) configured to be coupled to the work tool coupler via the electromagnets (Robl: [0029]-[0039] and FIG. 7-10: The sensor 700 may include two pairs of strain gages in a full bridge configuration that produces an output reading of the bending moment 740 on the engagement mechanism 230 of the quick coupler 200. The first pair of strain gages 711, 712 may be on a first side 710 and a second pair of strain gages 721, 722 may be on a second side 720. The first side 710 may include a first gage 711 and a second gage 712 that are positioned perpendicular to each other where one gage is in the principal direction to measure bending strain and one gage is in the transverse direction to compensate for temperature. The second side 720 of the exemplary sensor 700 may include a third gage 721 and a fourth gage 722 also positioned perpendicular to each other, where one gage is in the principal direction and used to measure bending and the other gage is in the transverse direction and used for temperature compensation).
Robl does not explicitly disclose a set of electromagnets,
a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive electrical power from the work tool coupler, and
a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered.
However, it has been known in the art of construction machine to implement the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to receive electrical power from the work tool coupler, as suggested by Loraas, which dsiclsoes the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to receive electrical power from the work tool coupler (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: in that instance, it may be desirable that machine 10 have a backup battery or other power supply to supply control system 220 with electrical power. Control system 222 can also provide power to control system 220. When the operator desires to use the attachment when the engine or machine 10 has been shut off, the operator actuates one of operator control inputs 250 indicating that the operator would like to restart the engine on machine 10. This causes attachment controller 240 to communicate with machine controller 224, causing machine controller 224 to restart the engine on machine 10, thus providing machine 10 with the ability to provide power to the attachment power actuators 244 on the attachment coupled thereto.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl and Loraas, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl to include the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to receive electrical power from the work tool coupler, as suggested by Loraas. The motivation for this is to provide power from a working machine to an attachment upon connection.
The combination of Robl and Loraas does not explicitly disclose the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive electrical power from the work tool coupler.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless connection to implement the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive electrical power from the work tool coupler, as suggested by Johnson, which dsiclsoes the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive electrical power from the work tool coupler (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, and Johnson, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl and Loraas, to include the work tool comprising: a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive electrical power from the work tool coupler, as suggested by Johnson. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for wirelessly providing power from a working machine to an attachment upon attachment.
The combination of Robl, Loraas, and Johnson does not explicitly disclose a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered, as suggested by Chung, which discloses a controller (Chung: Abstract, [0013], [0031], [0037], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1: The controller may be configured to determine whether a rotary manipulation unit having a plurality of magnets disposed thereat has been attached based on a change in current of the plurality of electromagnetic coils. The controller may be further configured to control whether to activate at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils based on at least one of the number of clicks per rotation corresponding to a function to be controlled or a manipulation system type of the rotary manipulation unit upon determining that the rotary manipulation unit has been attached) configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 2-5: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force),
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Chung it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl, Loraas, and Johnson, to include a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered, as suggested by Chung. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
As to claim 18, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, Chung disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the work tool coupling system of claim 16, wherein the work tool coupler further comprises: a wireless charging component, wherein the receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive the electrical power via the wireless charging component (Johnson: Abstract, [0023], [0033]-[0036], FIG. 5, and FIG. 9: Primary coils integrated into a work surface may provide varying amounts of power. Devices containing secondary coils, such as laptop computers, PDAs, cell phones, and power tools, are charged when placed on the work surface where primary coils are integrated ).
As to claim 19, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, Chung disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the work tool coupling system of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to: configure, based on the work tool type, a voltage level associated with the electrical power, wherein the one or more electromagnetics are selected based on the voltage level (Loraas: Abstract, column 4 lines 10-18, column 8 lines 65 – column 9 lines 9, column 9 lines 40-50, column 10 lines 17-37, FIG. 6-9: attachment controller 240, as with machine controller 244, is a digital computer or other suitable controller which is coupled by harness 216 (or wireless link 238) to communicate with machine controller 224 using a serial communications protocol. Attachment controller 240 is coupled to attachment power circuit 242. In the preferred embodiment, attachment power circuit 242 includes the hydraulic system or electrical system, or both, associated with the particular attachment corresponding to control system 222. In one preferred embodiment, attachment power circuit 242 includes a hydraulic routing circuit which receives hydraulic fluid under pressure from machine power circuit 230 through hoses 206. Attachment power circuit 242 provides suitable outputs to power attachment power actuator 244 and Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robl (Rol – US 2014/0308061 A1) in view of Loraas et al. (Loraas – US 5,957,213), Johnson (Johnson – US 2009/0212638 A1), and Chung et al. (Chung – US 2021/0043349 A1) and further in view of Sakai (Sakai – US 2016/0307091 A1).
As to claim 17, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 16 except for the claimed limitations of the work tool coupling system of claim 16, wherein the set of electromagnets are configured to generate a magnetic field, and wherein the receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive the electrical power via the magnetic field.
However, it has been known in the art of electronic devices to implement wherein the set of electromagnets are configured to generate a magnetic field, and wherein the receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive the electrical power via the magnetic field, as suggested by Sakai, which discloses wherein the set of electromagnets are configured to generate a magnetic field, and wherein the receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive the electrical power via the magnetic field (Sakai: Abstract, [0030], and FIG. 1: The coil antenna 110, which is constructed by, for example, winding a band-shaped conductive film into a helix receives a magnetic field generated by a reader/writer (not shown) using a coil 111 to generate power by electromagnetic induction. Although not shown in FIG. 1, interconnects, and internal circuits of the IC chips 120a and 120b, in the information processing device 100, have capacitances. These capacitances and the inductance of the coil 111 determine the resonant frequency of the information processing device 100. It is assumed that the resonant frequency of the information processing device 100 is set to, for example, 13.56 MHz. Power generated by the coil 111 is supplied to the IC chips 120a and 120b, and is used to operate the IC chips 120a and 120b ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, Johnson, Chung, and Sakai, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Chung, to include wherein the set of electromagnets are configured to generate a magnetic field, and wherein the receiver coil is configured to wirelessly receive the electrical power via the magnetic field, as suggested by Sakai. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design using electromagnets for generating power for electronic devices via magnetic field.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robl (Rol – US 2014/0308061 A1) in view of Loraas et al. (Loraas – US 5,957,213), Johnson (Johnson – US 2009/0212638 A1), and Curtis (Curtis – US 2024/0099437 A1), and further in view of Chung et al. (Chung – US 2021/0043349 A1).
As to claim 21, Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis disclose the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the work tool coupler of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller configured to cause the one or more electromagnetics to energize the transmitter coil,
wherein the electrical interface and the transmitter coil are located on a front face of the work tool coupler, and
wherein the controller is located on a back face of the work tool coupler.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement a controller configured to cause the one or more electromagnetics to energize the transmitter coil,
wherein the electrical interface and the transmitter coil are located on a front face of the work tool coupler, and
wherein the controller is located on a back face of the work tool coupler, as suggested by Chung, which discloses
a controller configured to cause the one or more electromagnetics to energize the transmitter coil (Chung: Abstract, [0013], [0031], [0037], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1: The controller may be configured to determine whether a rotary manipulation unit having a plurality of magnets disposed thereat has been attached based on a change in current of the plurality of electromagnetic coils. The controller may be further configured to control whether to activate at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils based on at least one of the number of clicks per rotation corresponding to a function to be controlled or a manipulation system type of the rotary manipulation unit upon determining that the rotary manipulation unit has been attached),
wherein the electrical interface and the transmitter coil are located on a front face of the work tool coupler (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1-5: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force), and
wherein the controller is located on a back face of the work tool coupler (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Robl, Loraas, Johnson, Curtis, and Chung it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Robl, Loraas, Johnson, and Curtis, to include a controller configured to cause the one or more electromagnetics to energize the transmitter coil,
wherein the electrical interface and the transmitter coil are located on a front face of the work tool coupler, and
wherein the controller is located on a back face of the work tool coupler, as suggested by Chung. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Iwai et al., US 2023/0406546 A1, discloses space vehicle and capture system.
Ji et al., US 2020/0107110 A1, discloses magnet array for securing wireless listening devices.
Cornwell et al., US 2011/0215538 A1, discloses tool connector having seating positions.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685