DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-11, 13-19, and 21 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-11, 13-19, and 21, based solely on the limitations as amended, has been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references including prior art being used in the current rejection (see below for detail) under new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen et al. (Hagen – US 2022/0305923 A1) in view of Singh (Singh – US 2013/0257165 A1), and Chung et al. (Chung – US 2021/0043349 A1).
As to claim 1, Hagen discloses a work tool coupler for a work machine, the work tool coupler comprising:
a mechanical interface (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], and FIG. 2 the work tool coupler 114: Work tool coupler 114 may thereby transmit forces between a work tool 109 attached to work tool coupler 114, boom 108, and tilt cylinders 118, allowing the work tool 109 to be raised, lowered, and tilted relative to work vehicle frame 106. Work tool coupler 114 includes body 123, the rigid structure which provides strength and carries forces for work tool coupler 114, and latch 124, which aids in retaining and securing the work tool 109 to coupler 114) configured to mechanically couple a work tool (Hagen: FIG. 2 the work tool 109) to the work machine (Hagen: FIG. 1 the work vehicle 100); and
an electrical interface between the work tool and the work machine (Hagen: [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: FIG. 8 schematically illustrates the use of the work vehicle 100 as described above having the wireless power transfer connector 132a, in combination with an electrically powered work tool 109 in the form of an electrically powered auger 109a. The electrically powered auger 109a includes a mounting frame 182 which carries the coupler receiver 134a, 134b and a tool side wireless power transfer connector 184. The tool side wireless power transfer connector 184 is constructed similarly to the charging station side wireless power transfer connector 138a. Galvanic connectors may also be used instead of the wireless power transfer connectors. An electric auger motor 186 is carried on the mounting frame 182 and drives a rotating auger blade 188. Electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 is transferred to the electric auger motor 186 via the operative electrical connection between connectors 132a and 184); and
a coupler receiver (Hagen: Abstract, [0025], [0027]-[0031], [0038], [0040], and FIG. 5-6 the galvanic power transfer connectors 132b and 138b: The wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a preferably are small-air-gap wireless power transfer connectors. By incorporating the wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a in the work tool coupler 114 and the coupler receiver 134 those connectors can be reliably placed and held in the close proximity needed for small-air-gap power transfer) disposed on a face of the work tool coupler and part of the electrical interface, configured to wirelessly provide electrical energy from a power source included in the work machine to the work tool (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109).
Hagen does not explicitly disclose a transmitter coil and wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to be powered by the power source and to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to wirelessly provide the electrical energy to the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless power transfer to implement a transmitter coil and aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to wirelessly provide the electrical energy to the work tool, as suggested by Singh, which dsiclsoes a transmitter coil and aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to wirelessly provide the electrical energy to the work tool (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], and FIG. 1-2: An inductive wireless power device comprises a transmitter configured to generate an electromagnetic field to a coupling region for wireless power transfer to a receiver, and control logic configured to determine a coupling coefficient of the wireless power transfer when the receiver is within the coupling region).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hagen and Singh, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Hagen, to include a transmitter coil and aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to wirelessly provide the electrical energy to the work tool, as suggested by Singh. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for wirelessly providing power from a working machine to an attachment upon attachment.
The combination of Hagen and Singh does not explicitly disclose wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to be powered by the power source and to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to be powered by the power source and to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Chung, which discloses wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to be powered by the power source (Chung: Abstract, [0031], and FIG. 1: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force. The attachment unit 200 may be referred to as a “manipulation apparatus for vehicles,” since the attachment unit 200 is constantly disposed at a vehicle side) and to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns (Chung: Abstract, [0040]-[0041], [0064]-[0065], and FIG. 1-2: In FIG. 2, only the electromagnetic coils 220 and the magnets 120 are shown for clear understanding. Referring to FIG. 2, attractive force is constantly applied between the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222. Thus, the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222 may function as a rotary shaft for rotary manipulation of the manipulation unit 100) the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hagen, Singh, and Chung it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Hagen and Singh, to include wherein the electrical interface comprises one or more electromagnets configured to be powered by the power source and to magnetically attract the work tool in a coupled position that mechanically aligns the transmitter coil with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Chung. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
As to claim 2, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the one or more electromagnets are powered via the power source (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109, Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa), and Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller), and wherein the mechanical interface comprises:
one or more electric actuators (Hagen: FIG. 1 the latch 124) that are powered via the power source and configured to extend a mechanical component into an opening in the work tool to mechanically couple the work tool to the work tool coupler (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109).
As to claim 3, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, further comprising:
a communication interface (Hagen: [0006], [0027]-[0030], [0039], and FIG. 3-8: the electrical power transfer connection on the work vehicle provides an interface for other types of electrical accessories such as electrically powered work tools); and
a controller (Chung: Abstract, [0031], and FIG. 1: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force. The attachment unit 200 may be referred to as a “manipulation apparatus for vehicles,” since the attachment unit 200 is constantly disposed at a vehicle side), configured to:
obtain, via the communication interface, an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool (Hagen: [0006], [0027]-[0030], [0039], and FIG. 3-8: the electrical power transfer connection on the work vehicle provides an interface for other types of electrical accessories such as electrically powered work tools); and
configure, based on the work tool type, one or more parameters associated with a flow of the electrical energy to the work tool via the transmitter coil (Hagen: [0006], [0027]-[0030], [0039], and FIG. 3-8: The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is arranged relative to the work tool coupler 114 such that mechanical interconnection of the work tool coupler 114 with a coupler receiver 134 of an external charging station 136 defines a translational alignment and a proximity of the vehicle side electrical connector 132 relative to a charging station side electrical connector 138 of the external charging station 136. Thus when the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126. Optionally, if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109 and Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa)).
As to claim 4, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the work tool includes a receiver coil configured to wirelessly receive the electrical energy from the transmitter coil (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109 and Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa)).
As to claim 5, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the work tool is configured to store the electrical energy in a battery or use the electrical energy to power one or more components of the work tool (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109 and Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0034]-[0037], [0039], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: the wireless power receiving apparatus 120 may use the received wireless power for system power, for charging an energy storage unit (e.g., battery), or both. In some embodiments, the wireless power transmitting apparatus 110 may be also be configured to receive wireless power).
As to claim 6, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the coupled position is associated with aligning the transmitter coil with a receiver coil included in the work tool (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109 and Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0034]-[0037], [0039], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: the wireless power receiving apparatus 120 may use the received wireless power for system power, for charging an energy storage unit (e.g., battery), or both. In some embodiments, the wireless power transmitting apparatus 110 may be also be configured to receive wireless power).
As to claim 7, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, wherein the work machine is a wheel loader, a skid steer, an excavator, or a dozer ([0001], [0016], and FIG. 1: work vehicle 100 is illustrated as a skid steer loader, which may also be referred to a skid steer, but may be any work vehicle which may connect to a work tool with a retention assembly, such as backhoe loader, compact track loader, excavator, tractor, tractor loader, and wheel loader, to name a few examples).
As to claim 8, Hagen discloses a work machine, comprising:
a power system configured to provide electrical power (Hagen: Abstract, [0024]-[0027], [0031], [0034], [0040], FIG. 1, and FIG. 8: An electrical power storage system is carried by the work vehicle frame and connected to the electric drive motor to provide electrical power to the electric drive motor. A work tool coupler is carried by the work vehicle and configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle with a coupler receiver of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools); and
a work tool coupler (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], and FIG. 2 the work tool coupler 114: Work tool coupler 114 may thereby transmit forces between a work tool 109 attached to work tool coupler 114, boom 108, and tilt cylinders 118, allowing the work tool 109 to be raised, lowered, and tilted relative to work vehicle frame 106. Work tool coupler 114 includes body 123, the rigid structure which provides strength and carries forces for work tool coupler 114, and latch 124, which aids in retaining and securing the work tool 109 to coupler 114) comprising:
a wireless power (Hagen: Abstract, [0025], [0027]-[0031], [0038], [0040], and FIG. 5-6 the galvanic power transfer connectors 132b and 138b: The wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a preferably are small-air-gap wireless power transfer connectors. By incorporating the wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a in the work tool coupler 114 and the coupler receiver 134 those connectors can be reliably placed and held in the close proximity needed for small-air-gap power transfer), positioned on the front face of the work tool coupler, configured to receive the electrical power and wirelessly provide the electrical power to a work tool (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109).
Hagen does not explicitly disclose
a set of electromagnets positioned at different points on a front face of the work tool coupler, and
a wireless power transmitter;
wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to a distance between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver that is less than or equal to a wireless transfer threshold.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless power transfer to implement a wireless power transmitter;
wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to a distance between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver that is less than or equal to a wireless transfer threshold, as suggested by Singh, which dsiclsoes a wireless power transmitter (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], and FIG. 1-2: An inductive wireless power device comprises a transmitter configured to generate an electromagnetic field to a coupling region for wireless power transfer to a receiver, and control logic configured to determine a coupling coefficient of the wireless power transfer when the receiver is within the coupling region);
wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa))) to a distance between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver that is less than or equal to a wireless transfer threshold (Singh: Abstract, [0024]-[0026], [0040], [0047]-[0048], [0052], and FIG. 1: the expected coupling coefficient is determined based on a variable distance between the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 distance during wireless power transfer. In other words, the distance between the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may be determined in real time prior to determining both the expected coupling coefficient and the threshold for the presence of the foreign object. As a result, the determined distance value may be used to calculate the expected coupling coefficient. For example, the distance value may be entered into a formula providing the expected coupling coefficient for the particular distance value. In another embodiment, a plurality of predetermined thresholds may be stored in memory for a plurality of different distance values, such as in a lookup table. The expected coupling coefficient may be compared with the determined coupling coefficient to determine the presence of the foreign object ).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hagen and Singh, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Hagen, to include a wireless power transmitter;
wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool to a distance between the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver that is less than or equal to a wireless transfer threshold, as suggested by Singh. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for wirelessly providing power from a working machine to an attachment upon attachment.
The combination of Hagen and Singh does not explicitly disclose a set of electromagnets positioned at different points on a front face of the work tool coupler, wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement a set of electromagnets positioned at different points on a front face of the work tool coupler, wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Chung, which discloses
a set of electromagnets positioned at different points on a front face of the work tool coupler (Chung: Abstract, [0031], and FIG. 1: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force. The attachment unit 200 may be referred to as a “manipulation apparatus for vehicles,” since the attachment unit 200 is constantly disposed at a vehicle side), wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns (Chung: Abstract, [0040]-[0041], [0064]-[0065], and FIG. 1-2: In FIG. 2, only the electromagnetic coils 220 and the magnets 120 are shown for clear understanding. Referring to FIG. 2, attractive force is constantly applied between the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222. Thus, the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222 may function as a rotary shaft for rotary manipulation of the manipulation unit 100) the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hagen, Singh, and Chung it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Hagen and Singh, to include a set of electromagnets positioned at different points on a front face of the work tool coupler, wherein at least one electromagnet, of the set of electromagnets, is configured to magnetically attract the work tool in a position that mechanically aligns the wireless power transmitter with a wireless power receiver of the work tool, as suggested by Chung. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
As to claim 9, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the wireless power transmitter is configured between the set of electromagnets (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa) and Chung: Abstract, [0040]-[0041], [0064]-[0065], and FIG. 1-2: In FIG. 2, only the electromagnetic coils 220 and the magnets 120 are shown for clear understanding. Referring to FIG. 2, attractive force is constantly applied between the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222. Thus, the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222 may function as a rotary shaft for rotary manipulation of the manipulation unit 100).
As to claim 10, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the work tool further comprises:
one or more recesses (Hagen: Abstract, [0025], [0027]-[0031], [0038], [0040], and FIG. 5-6 the galvanic power transfer connectors 132b and 138b: The wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a preferably are small-air-gap wireless power transfer connectors. By incorporating the wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a in the work tool coupler 114 and the coupler receiver 134 those connectors can be reliably placed and held in the close proximity needed for small-air-gap power transfer) configured to receive the set of electromagnets when the work tool is in the position (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa) and Chung: Abstract, [0040]-[0041], [0064]-[0065], and FIG. 1-2: In FIG. 2, only the electromagnetic coils 220 and the magnets 120 are shown for clear understanding. Referring to FIG. 2, attractive force is constantly applied between the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222. Thus, the central magnet 122 and the central electromagnet 222 may function as a rotary shaft for rotary manipulation of the manipulation unit 100).
As to claim 11, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the work machine of claim 9, wherein the work tool further comprises:
one or more electrical components configured to be powered via the electrical power that is received via the wireless power transmitter (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109 and Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0034]-[0037], [0039], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: the wireless power receiving apparatus 120 may use the received wireless power for system power, for charging an energy storage unit (e.g., battery), or both. In some embodiments, the wireless power transmitting apparatus 110 may be also be configured to receive wireless power).
As to claim 13, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the work tool coupler further comprises:
one or more mechanical components (Hagen: FIG. 1 the latch 124) configured to mechanically couple the work tool to the work tool coupler (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109),
wherein the work tool is further coupled to the work tool coupler via the one or more mechanical components (Hagen: [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: FIG. 8 schematically illustrates the use of the work vehicle 100 as described above having the wireless power transfer connector 132a, in combination with an electrically powered work tool 109 in the form of an electrically powered auger 109a. The electrically powered auger 109a includes a mounting frame 182 which carries the coupler receiver 134a, 134b and a tool side wireless power transfer connector 184. The tool side wireless power transfer connector 184 is constructed similarly to the charging station side wireless power transfer connector 138a. Galvanic connectors may also be used instead of the wireless power transfer connectors. An electric auger motor 186 is carried on the mounting frame 182 and drives a rotating auger blade 188. Electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 is transferred to the electric auger motor 186 via the operative electrical connection between connectors 132a and 184).
As to claim 14, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the work machine of claim 13, wherein the one or more mechanical components include at least one of:
one or more pins configured to mechanically couple the work tool to the work tool coupler (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: By incorporating the electrical connections to the electrical power storage system 126 into the work tool coupler 114 the operator can drive up to the external charging station 136, engage the work tool coupler 114 with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136, and then lock the external charging station 136 to the work tool coupler 114 using either manual or powered latches 124), or
one or more electric linear actuators Hagen: FIG. 1 the latch 124) configured to extend the one or more mechanical components into an opening of a work tool to mechanically couple the work tool to the work tool coupler (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109).
As to claim 15, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the work machine of claim 8, wherein the work tool coupler further comprises:
a communication interface (Hagen: [0006], [0027]-[0030], [0039], and FIG. 3-8: the electrical power transfer connection on the work vehicle provides an interface for other types of electrical accessories such as electrically powered work tools) configured to receive one or more wireless communications from a component of the work tool (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109 and Singh: Abstract, [0019], [0023]-[0026], [0034]-[0037], [0039], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: the wireless power receiving apparatus 120 may use the received wireless power for system power, for charging an energy storage unit (e.g., battery), or both. In some embodiments, the wireless power transmitting apparatus 110 may be also be configured to receive wireless power).
As to claim 16, Hagen discloses a work tool coupling system, comprising:
a work tool coupler (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], and FIG. 2 the work tool coupler 114: Work tool coupler 114 may thereby transmit forces between a work tool 109 attached to work tool coupler 114, boom 108, and tilt cylinders 118, allowing the work tool 109 to be raised, lowered, and tilted relative to work vehicle frame 106. Work tool coupler 114 includes body 123, the rigid structure which provides strength and carries forces for work tool coupler 114, and latch 124, which aids in retaining and securing the work tool 109 to coupler 114) comprising:
a wireless power (Hagen: Abstract, [0025], [0027]-[0031], [0038], [0040], and FIG. 5-6 the galvanic power transfer connectors 132b and 138b: The wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a preferably are small-air-gap wireless power transfer connectors. By incorporating the wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a in the work tool coupler 114 and the coupler receiver 134 those connectors can be reliably placed and held in the close proximity needed for small-air-gap power transfer), on a face of the work tool coupler, configured to wirelessly provide electrical power from the power source (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109);
a work tool (Hagen: [0018]-[0020], [0025]-[0027], [0040], FIG. 2 and FIG. 8 the electrically powered work tool 109), configured to be coupled to the work tool coupler (Hagen: [0018]-[0020], [0025]-[0027], [0035], [0040], FIG. 2 and FIG. 8 the electrically powered work tool 109: The work tool coupler 114 is configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle 100 with a coupler receiver 128 of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools 109 such as the bucket 109 shown in FIG. 2. The work tools may be non-powered tools such as the bucket 109), comprising:
a receiver configured to wirelessly receive the electrical power from the wireless power transmitter (Hagen: [0016], [0018]-[0022], [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: if the vehicle side electrical connector 132 is constructed as a bi-directional connector the work tool coupler 114 can be connected to a coupler receiver of an electrically powered work tool 109 to transfer electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 to the electrically powered work tool 109), and
a set of recesses, extending away from the face of the work tool coupler, configured to receive (Hagen: Abstract, [0025], [0027]-[0031], [0038], [0040], and FIG. 5-6 the galvanic power transfer connectors 132b and 138b: The wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a preferably are small-air-gap wireless power transfer connectors. By incorporating the wireless power transfer connectors 132a and 138a in the work tool coupler 114 and the coupler receiver 134 those connectors can be reliably placed and held in the close proximity needed for small-air-gap power transfer).
Hagen does not explicitly disclose
a set of electromagnets configured to be powered by a power source, and
a wireless power transmitter; a receiver coil;
a work tool, configured to be coupled to the work tool coupler via the set of electromagnets;
a set of recesses configured to align with, the set of electromagnets; and
a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and
cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered to attract and guide the work tool into a coupled position mechanically aligning the wireless power transmitter with the work tool.
However, it has been known in the art of wireless power transfer to implement a set of electromagnets configured to be powered by a power source, and
a wireless power transmitter; a receiver coil;
a work tool, configured to be coupled to the work tool coupler via the set of electromagnets;
a controller configured to:
attract and guide the work tool into a coupled position mechanically aligning the wireless power transmitter with the work tool, as suggested by Singh, which dsiclsoes a set of electromagnets configured to be powered by a power source (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa)), and
a wireless power transmitter; a receiver coil (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], and FIG. 1-2: An inductive wireless power device comprises a transmitter configured to generate an electromagnetic field to a coupling region for wireless power transfer to a receiver, and control logic configured to determine a coupling coefficient of the wireless power transfer when the receiver is within the coupling region);
a work tool, configured to be coupled to the work tool coupler via the set of electromagnets (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa));
a controller configured to: attract and guide the work tool into a coupled position mechanically aligning the wireless power transmitter with the work tool (Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In some embodiments, the transmit coil 114 and the receive coil 124 may include magnetically attractive elements that assist in ensuring that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 remain at a known fixed distance (e.g., 2 mm) during wireless power transfer. In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa)).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hagen and Singh, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Hagen, to include a set of electromagnets configured to be powered by a power source, and
a wireless power transmitter; a receiver coil;
a work tool, configured to be coupled to the work tool coupler via the set of electromagnets;
a controller configured to:
attract and guide the work tool into a coupled position mechanically aligning the wireless power transmitter with the work tool, as suggested by Singh. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for wirelessly providing power from a working machine to an attachment upon attachment.
The combination of Hagen and Singh does not explicitly disclose a set of recesses configured to align with, the set of electromagnets; and
a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and
cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered.
However, it has been known in the art of implement usage of the one or more electromagnets to implement a set of recesses configured to align with, the set of electromagnets; and
a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and
cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered, as suggested by Chung, which discloses
a set of recesses configured to align with, the set of electromagnets (Chung: Abstract, [0031], and FIG. 1: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force. The attachment unit 200 may be referred to as a “manipulation apparatus for vehicles,” since the attachment unit 200 is constantly disposed at a vehicle side); and
a controller (Chung: Abstract, [0013], [0031], [0037], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1: The controller may be configured to determine whether a rotary manipulation unit having a plurality of magnets disposed thereat has been attached based on a change in current of the plurality of electromagnetic coils. The controller may be further configured to control whether to activate at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils based on at least one of the number of clicks per rotation corresponding to a function to be controlled or a manipulation system type of the rotary manipulation unit upon determining that the rotary manipulation unit has been attached) configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 2-5: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force),
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hagen, Singh, and Chung it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the construction machine of Hagen and Singh, to include a set of recesses configured to align with, the set of electromagnets; and
a controller configured to:
receive an indication of a work tool type associated with the work tool,
select, based on the work tool type, one or more electromagnets from the set of electromagnets, and
cause the one or more electromagnets to be electrically powered, as suggested by Chung. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative design for device alignments using magnet/electromagnet devices.
As to claim 17, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the work tool coupling system of claim 16, wherein the set of electromagnets are positioned at different points along the face of the work tool coupler and are associated with different work tool types (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller)).
As to claim 18, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the work tool coupling system of claim 16, wherein to select the one or more electromagnets (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller), the controller (Chung: Abstract, [0013], [0031], [0037], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1: The controller may be configured to determine whether a rotary manipulation unit having a plurality of magnets disposed thereat has been attached based on a change in current of the plurality of electromagnetic coils. The controller may be further configured to control whether to activate at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils based on at least one of the number of clicks per rotation corresponding to a function to be controlled or a manipulation system type of the rotary manipulation unit upon determining that the rotary manipulation unit has been attached) is configured to select a subset of the set of electromagnets based on the work tool type (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 2-5: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force),.
As to claim 19, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 16 further comprising the work tool coupling system of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to:
configure, based on the work tool type, a voltage level associated with the electrical power; and select a subset of the set of electromagnets based on the voltage level (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller)).
As to claim 21, Hagen, Singh, and Chung disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the work tool coupler of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller configured to cause the one or more electromagnets and the transmitter coil to be energized (Hagen: [0040]-[0041], and FIG. 8 the connectors 132a and 184: FIG. 8 schematically illustrates the use of the work vehicle 100 as described above having the wireless power transfer connector 132a, in combination with an electrically powered work tool 109 in the form of an electrically powered auger 109a. The electrically powered auger 109a includes a mounting frame 182 which carries the coupler receiver 134a, 134b and a tool side wireless power transfer connector 184. The tool side wireless power transfer connector 184 is constructed similarly to the charging station side wireless power transfer connector 138a. Galvanic connectors may also be used instead of the wireless power transfer connectors. An electric auger motor 186 is carried on the mounting frame 182 and drives a rotating auger blade 188. Electrical power from the electrical power storage system 126 is transferred to the electric auger motor 186 via the operative electrical connection between connectors 132a and 184, Singh: Abstract, [0023]-[0026], [0035]-[0037], [0047], and FIG. 1-2: In other words, employing a magnetically-guided topology that aligns the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 may ensure that the transmitter 112 and the receiver 122 align within a relatively tight fixed vertical distance. For example, the transmitter 112 may include a magnet, while the receiver 122 may include an attractor (or vice versa), and Chung: Abstract, [0013], [0031], [0037], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1: The controller may be configured to determine whether a rotary manipulation unit having a plurality of magnets disposed thereat has been attached based on a change in current of the plurality of electromagnetic coils. The controller may be further configured to control whether to activate at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils based on at least one of the number of clicks per rotation corresponding to a function to be controlled or a manipulation system type of the rotary manipulation unit upon determining that the rotary manipulation unit has been attached),
wherein the electrical interface and the transmitter coil are located on a front face of the work tool coupler (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1-5: the attachment unit 200 may further include a controller configured to apply electric power to at least some of the plurality of electromagnetic coils 220 in order to perform control such that the electromagnetic coils 220 can act as N-pole or S-pole electromagnets. The controller may further be configured to sense a change in current of at least some of the electromagnetic coils 220 depending on a change in external magnetic force), and
wherein the controller is located on a back face of the work tool coupler (Chung: [0031]-[0037], [0041], [0044]-[0045], [0051]-[0055], and FIG. 2-5: First, in the case in which all of the twelve peripheral electromagnets 221 are activated, like the left, the manipulation unit 100 may have twelve clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ1=30 degrees). On the other hand, in the case in which only half of the twelve peripheral electromagnets are alternately activated, like the right, the manipulation unit 100 may have six clicks for one rotation (i.e. a rotational angle per click θ2=60 degrees). Of course, in any case, manipulation torque per click may be changed depending on the intensity of current applied to the activated peripheral electromagnets by the controller).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Drost et al., US 2025/0381880 A1, discloses replacement system for electrical power sources of power machines.
Lewis, US 2024/0066991 A1, discloses charging system for an electric work vehicle and associated method.
Okamoto, US 2017/0203656 A1, discloses wireless power supply system and power transmission device.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685