DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, line 10; and claim 17, corresponding lines, “the value data” should read --the data value--.
Claims 10-16 and 18-20 are further objected due to their dependency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Under the Step 1 of the Section 101 analysis, Claims 1-8 are drawn to a method which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., a process), Claims 9-16 are drawn to a system which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. a machine), and Claims 17-20 are drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable medium which is within the four statutory categories (i.e., a manufacture).
Since the claims are directed toward statutory categories, it must be determined if the claims are directed towards a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). Based on consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, claims 1-20 are determined to be directed to an abstract idea. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 17:
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite “receiving, by a node computing entity in the distributed ledger system, a request to commit a transaction to a distributed ledger in the distributed ledger system, wherein the transaction comprises (i) encrypted data associated with a data value provided by a user device and encrypted via an encryption protocol, (ii) a cryptography authentication proof configured to provide proof of authentication of a user identifier associated with the user device in accordance with a first zero-knowledge proof protocol, and (iii) an input validation proof configured to provide a validation of the data value provided by the user device in accordance with a second zero-knowledge proof protocol; executing, by the node computing entity in the distributed ledger system, a smart contract to (i) authenticate the user identifier associated with the transaction based on the cryptography authentication proof and (ii) validate the encrypted data based on the input validation proof to inform the smart contract that the encrypted data successfully encrypts data value according to a particular valid value of a set of valid values for one or more predefined questions implemented via the smart contract, wherein the smart contract defines the one or more predefined questions and a valid interval of time for providing the data value via the user device, and wherein the smart contract is configured to accept a single data value per the cryptography authentication proof; and in an instance in which the smart contract (i) authenticates the user identifier and (ii) validates the encrypted data based on the input validation proof associated with the second zero-knowledge proof protocol, transmitting, via a network interface, a data block associated with the transaction to one or more node computing entities of the distributed ledger.”
Under the Step 2A Prong One, the limitations, as underlined above, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover Certain Methods Of Organizing Human Activity such as managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). For example, but for the “node computing entity”, “distributed ledger system”, “distributed ledger”, “encrypted data”, “encryption protocol”, “cryptography authentication proof”, “user device”, “smart contract”, “encrypts”, “network interface”, and “node computing entities” language, the underlined limitations in the context of this claim encompass the human activity. A person could receive a request for a transaction. The person could then authenticate a user identifier using an agreement and predefined questions and validate data. Finally, the person could transmit the data to entities related to a ledger, as in a typical following rules or instructions.
Under the Step 2A Prong Two, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements – “A method for execution in a distributed ledger system, comprising:”, “An apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including program code, the at least one memory and the program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least:”, “A non-transitory computer storage medium comprising instructions, the instructions being configured to cause one or more processors to at least perform operations configured to:”, “node computing entity”, “distributed ledger system”, “distributed ledger”, “encrypted data”, “encryption protocol”, “cryptography authentication proof”, “user device”, “smart contract”, “encrypts”, “network interface”, and “node computing entities”. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., performing generic functions of an interaction) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, merely implementing an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Additionally, regarding the specification and claims, there is no improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field present, there is no applying or using the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition present, there is no implementing the judicial exception with or using the judicial exception in conjunction with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim present, there is no effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing present, and there is no applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment present such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Accordingly, these additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Under the Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements in the process amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20:
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 include additional limitations, for example, “node computing entity”, “distributed ledger system”, “smart contract”, and “user device” (Claims 2, 10, and 18); “encrypted data” and “encrypted via Paillier encryption” (Claims 3, 11, and 19); “non-interactive zero-knowledge proof protocol” (Claims 4 and 12); “cryptography authentication proof” and “Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non- Interactive Argument of Knowledge (zk-SNARK)” (Claims 5, 13, and 20); “non-interactive zero-knowledge proof protocol” (Claims 6 and 14); “cryptography authentication proof” and “hashing functions” (Claims 7 and 15); “distributed ledger” and “electronic voting process” (Claims 8 and 16), but none of these limitations are deemed significantly more than the abstract idea because, as stated above, they require no more than generic computer structures or signals to be executed, and do not recite any Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or Improvements to any other technology or technical field.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation or implementing the judicial exception on a generic computer.
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20220141020 A1) in view of Firnkorn (US 20210218745 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 17, Jang teaches A method for execution in a distributed ledger system, comprising (Jang: Abstract): An apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory including program code, the at least one memory and the program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to at least (Jang: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0036): A non-transitory computer storage medium comprising instructions, the instructions being configured to cause one or more processors to at least perform operations configured to (Jang: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0036):
receiving, by a node computing entity in the distributed ledger system, a request to commit a transaction to a distributed ledger in the distributed ledger system, wherein the transaction comprises (i) encrypted data associated with a data value provided by a user device and encrypted via an encryption protocol, (ii) a cryptography authentication proof configured to provide proof of authentication of a user identifier associated with the user device in accordance with a first zero-knowledge proof protocol, and (iii) an input validation proof configured to provide a validation of the data value provided by the user device in accordance with a second zero-knowledge proof protocol (Jang: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0018-0024, 0078-0079, 0043 teach(es) The vote node may be, for example, a terminal that the voter uses to vote); executing, by the node computing entity in the distributed ledger system, a smart contract to (i) authenticate the user identifier associated with the transaction based on the cryptography authentication proof and (ii) validate the encrypted data based on the input validation proof (Jang: Abstract; Paragraph(s) 0025-0028, 0078-0079) to inform the smart contract that the encrypted data successfully encrypts the data value according to a particular valid value of a set of valid values for one or more predefined questions implemented via the smart contract (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0076-0079 teach(es) a voter management node may provide an encryption base g of a group G to each vote node. The voter management node may obtain a public key of each vote node, and may register the obtained public key to a blockchain together with identification information (DID, iris, fingerprint, etc.) of each vote node held by the voter management node. The voter management node may upload the smart contract modules to the blockchain; A vote content message votei of the i-th vote node may be encrypted as the form of the group encryption), …; and in an instance in which the smart contract (i) authenticates the user identifier and (ii) validates the encrypted data based on the input validation proof associated with the second zero-knowledge proof protocol, transmitting, via a network interface, a data … associated with the transaction to one or more node computing entities of the distributed ledger (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0018-0024, 0078-0079, 0043, as stated above, and Jang: Paragraph(s) 0036-0037 teach(es) A blockchain is a database that exists on an Internet peer-to-peer network. The blockchain includes blocks connected to each other, and each of the blocks includes a plurality of transactions; A number of verifier nodes in the network verify transactions of the unverified transaction pool. If the verification of the unverified transactions is finished, the unverified transaction is published in the block through consensus among the verifiers).
However, Jang does not explicitly teach …wherein the smart contract defines the one or more predefined questions and a valid interval of time for providing the data value via the user device, and wherein the smart contract is configured to accept a single data value per the cryptography authentication proof, and …a data block.
Firnkorn from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the smart contract defines the one or more predefined questions and a valid interval of time for providing the data value via the user device, and wherein the smart contract is configured to accept a single data value per the cryptography authentication proof (Firnkorn: Paragraph(s) 0201 teach(es) The smart contract compares e.g. the data about transmitter (e.g. entity), object (e.g. smartphone) and state change of the object (e.g. breaking of the display), the data being communicated during this providing inquiry, with the data stored in the control system or in the distributed database system), and …a data block (Firnkorn: Paragraph(s) 0037-0040 teach(es) a partial area of a data block (e.g. the block header of a block of a blockchain or data block header of a data block of the distributed database system or only a portion of the transactions of a data block); a “data block checksum” can be understood to mean a checksum that is calculated for example over a portion or all transactions of a data block. A node can then check/establish the integrity/authenticity of the corresponding portion of a data block by the data block checksum).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Jang to incorporate the teachings of Firnkorn for wherein the smart contract defines the one or more predefined questions and a valid interval of time for providing the data value via the user device, and wherein the smart contract is configured to accept a single data value per the cryptography authentication proof, and a data block.
There is motivation to combine Firnkorn into Jang because Firnkorn’s teachings of blockchain and smart contract would facilitate authentication processes (Firnkorn: Paragraph(s) 0201, 0037-0040).
Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 18, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17 above; and Jang further teaches wherein the one or more predefined questions are one or more ballot questions (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0091-0093, 0097 teach(es) In creating the intention choice of L queries on the agenda, an (L+1)th field may be added in addition to the L queries. If this additional field is filled by a nonzero, the corresponding ballot may be treated as a blank ballot later. In this manner, the vote node may cast a blank ballot; If the voting is finished, the first smart contract module uploads the vote result (ballot_i) of the i-th vote node to the blockchain), and the method further comprising: defining, by the node computing entity in the distributed ledger system, a voting ballot comprising the one or more ballot questions via the smart contract; and transmitting, by the node computing entity in the distributed ledger system, the voting ballot to the user device associated with the user identifier (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0085, 0021-0023, 0043 teach(es) A voting may be a procedure of asking decisions of vote nodes for queries on the agenda defined in advance by the voter management node; The vote node may be, for example, a terminal that the voter uses to vote).
Regarding Claims 4 and 12, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above; and Jang further teaches wherein the input validation proof is a non-interactive zero-knowledge proof protocol that prevents the user identifier from submitting one or more invalid votes (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0125, 0015, 0039-0041 teach(es) All voters can self-execute personal authentication and can record the proof on the blockchain together with the voting contents).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above; and Jang further teaches wherein the first zero-knowledge proof protocol is a non-interactive zero-knowledge proof protocol employed to authenticate the user identifier while providing privacy and anonymity for the user identifier (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0039-0041 teach(es) the zero-knowledge proving protocol must have zero-knowledge property that does not transmit, to the verifier, private information other than the fact that the statement is true).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above; and Jang further teaches wherein the cryptography authentication proof employs one or more hashing functions associated with the user identifier (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0098; Algorithm 4).
Regarding Claims 8 and 16, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1 and 9 above; and Jang further teaches wherein the receiving the request to commit the transaction to the distributed ledger comprises receiving the request to commit the transaction to the distributed ledger within a voting period for an electronic voting process (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0097, 0079 teach(es) The uploaded vote result may include the vote node identification information (voteIDi), the zero-knowledge proof (proof_voteID) for the vote node identification, the vote execution time (time_publish), the generation of the group public key (yki), the group encryption information (ENCG(i)(votei)), and the zero-knowledge proof (proof_voteENCi) for the group encryption).
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20220141020 A1) in view of Firnkorn (US 20210218745 A1), as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and in further view of Agrawal (US 20190164153 A1) and Ruskin (US 20200160641 A1).
Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 19, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17 above; however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more encrypted votes are encrypted via homomorphic encryption.
Agrawal from same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the one or more encrypted votes are encrypted via … encryption (Agrawal: Paragraph(s) 0047 teach(es) Homomorphic commitments such as Pedersen commitments can be used to make transactions confidential).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Jang and Firnkorn to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal for wherein the one or more encrypted votes are encrypted via homomorphic encryption.
There is motivation to combine Agrawal into the combination of Jang and Firnkorn because Agrawal’s teachings of homomorphic scheme would facilitate to create efficient ZK-proofs (Agrawal: Paragraph(s) 0047).
However, the combination of Jang, Firnkorn, and Agrawal does not explicitly teach Paillier encryption.
Ruskin from same or similar field of endeavor teaches Paillier encryption (Ruskin: Paragraph(s) 0030, 0059, 0082, 0094, 0108 teach(es) homomorphic encryption, including the Benaloh and Paillier algorithms).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Jang, Firnkorn, and Agrawal to incorporate the teachings of Ruskin for Paillier encryption.
There is motivation to combine Ruskin into the combination of Jang, Firnkorn, and Agrawal because Ruskin’s teachings of Paillier encryption would facilitate to create efficient ZK-proofs (Ruskin: Paragraph(s) 0030, 0059, 0082).
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 20220141020 A1) in view of Firnkorn (US 20210218745 A1), as applied to claims 1, 9, and 17 above, and in further view of List (US 20230347775 A1).
Regarding Claims 5, 13, and 20, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17 above; and Jang further teaches wherein the cryptography authentication proof utilizes Zero-Knowledge … to prove the authentication of the user identifier (Jang: Paragraph(s) 0015, 0039-0041 teach(es) The blockchain e-voting system may include a first smart contract module that receives the public and private keys and the identification data of the vote node, identifies the vote node, generates an identification number, performs group encryption on a vote result, and generates zero-knowledge proofs that ensure correctness of the process).
However, the combination of Jang and Firnkorn does not explicitly teach Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non-Interactive Argument of Knowledge (zk-SNARK).
List from same or similar field of endeavor teaches Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non-Interactive Argument of Knowledge (zk-SNARK) (List: Paragraph(s) 0030).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of the combination of Jang and Firnkorn to incorporate the teachings of List for Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non-Interactive Argument of Knowledge (zk-SNARK).
There is motivation to combine List into the combination of Jang and Firnkorn because List’s teachings of Zero-Knowledge Succinct Non-Interactive Argument of Knowledge (zk-SNARK) would facilitate to create efficient ZK-proofs (List: Paragraph(s) 0030).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 that “With the recitations of independent claims 1, 9, and 17 (and claims which depend therefrom), a computing system is provided "with improved security and/or privacy," data associated with a user device "can be stored in a decentralized manner to provide improved traceability, security, and/or quality of the data," and "efficiency and performance of a user device and/or a network ... can be improved." See Specification as filed, paragraph [0025]”, “These recitations of claim 1 also provide a computing system "with improved security and/or privacy." Id. Moreover, these recitations of claim 1 "significantly reducing a number of computing resources" for a computing system. See Specification as filed, paragraph [0061]”, and “the present claims provide a technological improvement over computing systems by utilizing a smart contract that "validate[s] the encrypted data based on the input validation proof to inform the smart contract that the encrypted data successfully encrypts the data value according to a particular valid value of a set of valid values for one or more predefined questions implemented via the smart contract, wherein the smart contract defines the one or more predefined questions and a valid interval of time for providing the data value via the user device, and wherein the smart contract is configured to accept a single data value per the cryptography authentication proof' to enable an improved computing system”, examiner respectfully argues that, as discussed in the previous Office Action, the user device is recited in the claims just to provide data, which does not provide any improvements to the functioning of the computer or other technology or technical field. The paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0061] disclose a distributed ledger platform for electronic voting and/or polling, but the claims do not recite anything of technical details and technical context related to such electronic voting and/or polling. It is still recommended for the applicant to amend the claims further with the technical details and technical contexts related to such electronic voting and/or polling and the interactions among the user device, the node computing entity, the distributed ledger, and the smart contract.
Regarding applicant’s argument under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 that “the cited references do not disclose, teach, or suggest each and every feature of independent claims 1, 9, and 17 as amended,” examiner respectfully argues that the combination of Jang and Firnkorn teaches the features in the amended claims as stated above with respect to the 103 rejections (Firnkorn: Paragraph(s) 0201, 0037-0040).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Traynor (US 20180294959 A1) teaches Identity And Content Authentication For Phone Calls, including challenge questions to authenticate their users.
Brown (US 20200082126 A1) teaches Methods And System For Collecting Statistics Against Distributed Private Data.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLAY C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699