DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Specie 1 (Fig. 5), claims 1-7, 9 and 14-15 in the reply filed on September 18th, 2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected invention and species, claims 8, 10-13 and 16-20 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 3-5 and 7 belong to other Species have been withdraw by examiner. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Action on merits of Species 1, claims 1-2, 6, 9 and 14-15 as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on February 19th, 2024; February 20th, 2025; June 10th, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 05/11/2023 are objected.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features: “an isolation layer positioned between the first metallization layer and the second metallization layer, the connection between the second portion of the second metallization layer and the second portion of the first metallization layer being formed by a via extending through the isolation layer” as recited in claim 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
35 USC § 112(f)/sixth paragraph
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least two metallization layers being configured to receive electrical currents from the plurality of first, second and third terminals …;” as recited in claim 1.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Shinohara (US 2019/0006464, hereinafter as Shino ‘464).
Regarding Claim 1, Shino ‘464 teaches a semiconductor device, comprising:
a die layer (Fig. 1, (14); [0018]) comprising a main surface;
a plurality of first terminals (16 and 22; [0018]) mounted on the main surface of the die layer, the first terminals forming a grid of unit cells with hexagon contours (Fig. 2, (48); [0022]) arranged side-by-side across the main surface of the die layer;
a plurality of second terminals (20a/20b; [0019]) mounted on the main surface of the die layer, each second terminal forming a hexagon contour (Fig. 2, (50a-c); [0021]) arranged within a unit cell of a respective first terminal, a gap being provided between the second terminal and the first terminal;
a plurality of third terminals (18; [0018]) mounted on the main surface of the die layer, each third terminal being formed as a hexagon contour (Fig. 2, (46); [0022]) and arranged within the hexagon contour of a respective second terminal, there being a second gap provided between the third terminal and the second terminal; and
at least two metallization layers (M1-M3) arranged over the plurality of first, second and third terminals, the at least two metallization layers being configured to receive electrical currents from the plurality of first, second and third terminals (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 15, Shino ‘464 teaches a GaN High Electron Mobility Transistor (HEMT) device (see para. [0032]-[0033]).
Figs. 1 and 2 (Shino ‘464)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shino ‘464 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2016/0111501, hereinafter as Chen ‘501).
Regarding Claim 2, Shino ‘464 teaches the first metallization layer (M1) comprising a first portion, a second portion and a third portion each separated from one another and arranged as follows:
the first portion of the first metallization layer (26; [0019]) covering at least a portion of each first terminal (16) and electrically connected to the plurality of first terminals (16) to receive electrical currents from the plurality of first terminals; and
the third portion of the first metallization layer (26; [0019]) covering at least a portion of each third terminal (18) and electrically connected to the plurality of third terminals (18) to receive electrical currents from the plurality of third terminals.
Thus, Shino ‘464 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the features: “the second portion of the first metallization layer covering at least a portion of each second terminal and electrically connected to the plurality of second terminals to receive electrical currents from the plurality of second terminals”.
Chen ‘501 teaches the second portion of the first metallization layer (Fig. 1A, (132); [0022]) covering at least a portion of each second terminal (Fig. 1A, (124); [0022]) and electrically connected to the plurality of second terminals (124) to receive electrical currents from the plurality of second terminals.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shino ‘464 by having the second portion of the first metallization layer (26; [0019]) covering at least a portion of each second terminal and electrically connected to the plurality of second terminals to receive electrical currents from the plurality of second terminals for the purpose of improving semiconductor structure (see para. [0012]) as suggested by Chen ‘501.
Regarding Claim 6, Chen ‘501 teaches the first metallization layer (132) comprises a first portion and a second portion which are separated from each other; the first portion of the first metallization layer (132) covers at least a portion of the plurality of first terminals (118; [0022]) to receive electrical currents from the first terminals; and the second portion of the first metallization layer (132) covers at least a portion of the plurality of second terminals (124) to receive electrical currents from the second terminals.
Regarding Claim 9, Chen ‘501 teaches an isolation layer (Fig. 1A, (134); [0022]) positioned between the first metallization layer (132) and the second metallization layer (140; [0022]), the connection between the second portion of the second metallization layer and the second portion of the first metallization layer being formed by a via (138; [0022]) extending through the isolation layer.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shino ‘464 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanimoto (US 2014/0353736, hereinafter as Tani ‘736).
Regarding Claim 14, Shino ‘464 teaches one of the hexagon contours of the plurality of first terminals, the hexagon contours of the plurality of second terminals or the hexagons of the plurality of third terminals (see Fig. 2).
Thus, Shino ‘464 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly the features: “cut corners or rounded corners”.
Tani ‘736 teaches a cut corners hexagon contour (Fig. 6, (31c); [0060]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Shino ‘464 by having the cut corners hexagon contours in order to ensure the good conduction between the adjacent source electrodes as suggested by Shino ‘464.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to semiconductor devices:
Sheridan et al. (US 2018/0076310 A1)
Matsumiya et al. (US 2009/0026506 A1)
Chen (US 2006/0267110 A1)
Laws (US 2004/0222494 A1)
Masuda et al. (US 2003/0136984 A1)
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
/DZUNG TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893