DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-17 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/17/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,063,378 (Bolotnikov) in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,223,982 (Chen).
Bolotnikov discloses (at least Fig. 3B)
1. (Currently Amended) A radiation detection element comprising:
a single-crystal semiconductor substrate 310 configured to convert incident radiation into an electric charge (any substrate can be “configured” to perform this type of conversion);
a first electrode 330 provided on a first main surface 332 of the single-crystal semiconductor substrate 310, the first electrode 330 having a first thickness;
a second electrode 334 provided directly on and in contact with a side surface 312 / 336 of the single-crystal semiconductor substrate 310, without an insulating layer interposed between the second cathode electrode 350 and the side surface 312 / 336; and
an anode electrode 350 provided on a second main surface 352 of the single-crystal semiconductor substrate 310, the second main surface 352 being on an opposite side of the first main surface 332.
Bolotkinov fails to explicitly disclose
the second electrode having a second thickness that is smaller than the first thickness.
Chen teaches (at least Fig. 13)
A radiation detection element comprising:
a cathode electrode 21 on a top surface (first electrode) and a side surface (second electrode) of a single-crystal semiconductor substrate 3; and
an anode electrode 23 on a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate 3,
the second electrode having a second thickness that is smaller than the first thickness (column 13, lines 21-62).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a semiconductor substrate having a cathode electrode with a side thickness smaller than the top thickness in Bolotkinov. The motivation would be to provide enhanced electric field focusing impacting both edge and next closest inner pixels, reduced surface leakage from tile edges, and also reduced pixel and device variability and improved yields as taught by Chen (column 14, lines 24-35).
Chen teaches (Summary)
2. The radiation detection element according to claim 1, wherein the first cathode electrode (top) and the second cathode electrode (side) are integrated (continuous).
Bolotnikov discloses (column 4, lines 36-46)
5. The radiation detection element according to claim 1, wherein the single-crystal semiconductor substrate 310 includes cadmium telluride.
Bolotnikov discloses (column 4, lines 36-46)
6. The radiation detection element according to claim 1, wherein the single-crystal semiconductor substrate 310 includes cadmium zinc telluride.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolotnikov in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,344,331 (Call).
The combination of references fails to teach
7. The radiation detection element according to claim 1, wherein the single-crystal semiconductor substrate includes any of cadmium tungstate, sodium iodide, and cesium iodide.
Call teaches ([column 4, lines 54-63])
A radiation detection element comprising:
wherein the single-crystal semiconductor substrate 14 includes any of cadmium tungstate, sodium iodide, and cesium iodide.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide select the optimum material in the modified device of Bolotnikov. The motivation would be based on its suitability for the intended use as discussed in Call. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2008/0224055 (Nariyuki), 2010/0084730 (Bui), and U.S. Patent No. 7,955,992 (Chen) teach a radiation detector element having one cathode electrode thicker than another cathode electrode.
/TERESA M. ARROYO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893