DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s correspondence, filed 1/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mihara et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Uriostegui et al. (US 2018/0143741 A1) in view of
Schowtka et al. (US 2014/0089789 A1) and
Chinn et al. (US 2013/0332916 A1) in further view of
Mihara et al. (US 2016/0231997 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Uriostegui discloses:
A system configured to enable application design styles to a motion design, (Uriostegui, Abstract and ¶18; ¶22: creation of motion graphics scenes; ¶25: interface to generate output based on hypervideo; ¶26: Hypereditor and Hyperdesigner) the system comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having executables instructions embodied thereon (Uriostegui, ¶7: systems and computer programs on non-transitory storage media; ¶40: software stored in memory; Also ¶45); and
One or more hardware processors configured to execute the instructions to: (Uriostegui, ¶40: processors executing software processing modules stored in memory)
Obtain a design application output file for use with a motion graphics application, the design application output file defining a plurality of style attributes (Uriostegui, ¶30: assets are organized in a file folder structure, either locally or on remote server, wherein each theme or template has an associated style definition file, similar to a CSS file, that defines the colors, gradients, boarders, patterns, text sizes, text borders, and other visual composition elements that are aesthetically compatible, where Hyperdesigner 122 selects a them provided by the Hyperthemes 124 service of the template selected by the user, where Hyperdesigner 122 can intelligently select a combination of random assets, layouts, transforms, object placements, etc., that work together according to the style definition file, and apply the same to the current card (Step 210b));
Provide a user interface associated with the motion graphics application (Uriostegui, ¶25: includes a user interface 110 for creating, editing, viewing and exporting media content; ¶30: Based on user input text, detected tone, topic, and/or other information, or on manual input or customization by the user, the Hyperdesigner 122 selects a theme and draws from the assets for the theme provided by the Hyperthemes 124 service or the template selected by the user; ¶32: “Following initial creation of the card, in Step 212, the user can customize individual elements (e.g., change, move, or otherwise transform background, images, borders, fonts, etc.) or the entire theme. For example, the user can switch among randomly generated but aesthetically consistent themes (defined by style definitions) by interacting with a user input control in the application 100), the user interface visually presenting a plurality of user interface components each associated with one or more of the plurality of style attributes (Uriostegui, ¶30: "Each theme or template can have an associated style definition file, similar to a CSS file, that defines the colors, gradients, borders, patterns, text sizes, text borders, and other visual composition elements that are aesthetically compatible."; ¶32: user can customize individual elements or entire theme, e.g. “the user can switch among randomly generated but aesthetically consistent themes (defined by style definitions) by interacting with a user input control in the application 100 or performing a gesture, e.g., swiping left/right on a touch-enabled device display screen”);
Receive,(Uriostegui, ¶30: each theme or template has an associated definition file that defines colors, gradients, boarders, patterns, text sizes, text borders and other visual composition elements; ¶32: the user can switch among randomly generated but aesthetically consistent themes (defined by style definitions) by interacting with a user input control in the application 100 or performing a gesture, e.g., swiping left/right on a touch-enabled device display screen)
Generate style application instructions based on the user selection and corresponding one or more style attributes of the plurality of style attributes, wherein the generating includes modifying the design application output file to include the updated one or more style attributes (Uriostegui, ¶30: each theme or template has an associated definition file that defines colors, gradients, boarders, patterns, text sizes, text borders and other visual composition elements; ¶32: the user can switch among randomly generated but aesthetically consistent themes (defined by style definitions) by interacting with a user input control in the application 100 or performing a gesture, e.g., swiping left/right on a touch-enabled device display screen; ¶33: completed media content exported’; Furthermore, ¶35 discloses reconstructing content from downloadable files and applying custom compositions to such);
Receive, via the motion graphics application, a modification indication corresponding to the design application output file, t (Uriostegui, ¶35: master templates can include, for example, styles covering events (e.g., holidays or other custom events) on an editorial/marketing calendar or other calendar (e.g., red/green color theme for Christmas, and so on) to which users can subscribe, where,
Given existing media content created and/or customized using the present system, new media content (videos and hypervideos) can be automatically generated and made available based on a calendar having a set of events. For example, for each event on the calendar, the system can automatically reconstruct an existing video by applying a new master template associated with the event to the existing video, and render the video, on a local device or in the cloud, based on the layout and composition of the template. On occurrence of a calendar event, the reconstructed content can be made available to users that are subscribed to the calendar (e.g., as downloadable files, links, streaming media, etc.). For example, this allows companies to provide to their customers branded, themed content that is automatically generated based on calendar events. Users can also perform customization of event-based content and templates following graphic design, motion graphics, and video editing knowledge that has been converted into algorithmic general-purpose instructions.
)
Based on the modification indication, execute, via the motion graphics application, the style application instructions to apply the one or more style attributes to a plurality of motion graphics elements within a motion graphics project. (Uriostegui, ¶25: user interface 110 for creating, editing, viewing and exporting media content, including create and edit a video, and exporter generating an output based on video and text-based file that can be used to regenerate the video; In other words, Uriostegui discloses that the video edits are applied to the plurality of motion graphics elements, e.g. frames or image data, based on the modified design application output file – where ¶32 and ¶35 discloses the adding of cards using themes that have customized elements and ¶35 including master template can includes styles covering events, and “Given existing media content created and/or customized using the present system, new media content (videos and hypervideos) can be automatically generated and made available based on a calendar having a set of events. For example, for each event on the calendar, the system can automatically reconstruct an existing video by applying a new master template associated with the event to the existing video, and render the video, on a local device or in the cloud, based on the layout and composition of the template.”)
Uriostegui does not explicitly disclose the use of a style panel as claimed.
Schowtka discloses:
receive, via a style panel of the user interface, a user selection of at least one of the plurality of user interface components, wherein the user selection corresponds to updating one or more style attributes of the plurality of style attributes (Schowtka, Fig. 7 and ¶44 discloses interface for when user clicks on “Change Color Scheme 602”, where menu 700 displays a number of color schemes available for use with template, where color boxes 704 associated with the color scheme give visual indication of the components of each color scheme; ¶45: user selects a color scheme using mouse cursor and clicks, where if user selects a new color scheme, design tool 106 will modify template 410 to reflect the new colors)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, by incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtka, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user interface for editing media by providing a more convenient and better organized arrangement of interactive data for easier usability of the interface, including allowing changing a plurality of style elements with a single selection for easier usability and faster design of media elements.
Uriogstegui modified by Schowtka does not explicitly disclose the particular receiving of a modification indication based on a detected change in a file size of the design application output file. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform an update to an application based on changed underlying file data for the application, such as in Uriogstegui, where the system detects an update is needed based on a detected change in file size of an application output file. This limitation is merely reciting that a a system detects an update for the application is required based on a change in an underlying data file using a file size as the metric.
Chinn discloses:
Receive, via the motion graphics application, a modification indication corresponding to the output file, the modification indication based on a detected change in a file size of the output file; and based on the modification indication, execute, via the application, the instructions to provide the updates to the software application. (Chinn is discloses a software engineering approach to coordinating an update process for updating software application on client computing devices – see ¶10; ¶11 discloses an “application distribution system compares various versions of the application files and creates one or more manifest files describing the differences between the versions” including comparing “the file size of the file versions”; ¶32: “an application update may involve only minor changes to implement bug fixes or may involve only changes including adding content to the previous version of the application”; ¶33: “In some embodiments of the present technology, comparing the application files involves first comparing the file size of the currently installed version of the software application with the file size of the updated version. If there is no difference in file size, the currently installed version is determined to be the most recent version and no update is needed. Conversely, if there is a difference detected in the file size, it can be inferred that an update is needed.”; ¶¶41-42: versions of application on client computer compared to updates, and “After the server side 240 delivers a manifest file to a client device, the client device updates the software application.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui modified with the style panel provided by Schowtka, with the updating of software based on detected changes in the application file data based on Chinn, there was a need for updating software applications on client computing devices based on changes in different versions of underlying file data in an improved manner (see ¶23 and ¶29 of Chinn). This is almost a fundamental need of software application performance at this time, as it allows users or designers to modify underlying features or functions within software code data files which are then automatically pushed for updating on the software application itself, rather than requiring more tedious user intervention for such changes to actually be made. Chinn explicitly teaches that file size is one technique for the system to detect such modifications to the file data and requiring updating the software application itself. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, by incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtka, by further using the known technique of determining changes to applications based on file size as provided by Chinn, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user friendly media editing application that more easily recognizes software updates for easier usability and software management.
The only additional limitation not explicitly taught by the references is the use of a verification user interface component configured to initiate a verification process to whether the application file was modified and in response to determining, execute the instructions to perform a change to the software. The limitation, however, is merely directed to commonly used update verification processes for installing or updating software with a step of user verification.
Mihara et al. (US 2016/0231997 A1) discloses:
Based on the modification indication, provide, via the user interface, a verification user interface component configured to initiate a verification process corresponding to whether the application output file was modified and in response to determining that the design application output file was modified, execute the instructions (Mihara, ¶¶52-55 generally discuss an update technique for a terminal based on newer versions of programs on a terminal; Fig. 7 provides the particulars of the recited limitation, including:
¶85: When the update processor 1107 determines that there is an update for the own apparatus (“YES” in step S13), the update part 1107 reports information associated with the update to the user interface part 1102 (step S11);
¶86: The user reporting part 1104 of the user interface part 1102 reports to the user by displaying a message that there are update data necessary for the own apparatus on the startup screen of the display 13, based on the information associated with the update reported by the update processor 1107 in step S14;
Fig. 10 and ¶89: The setting button G26 among the setting buttons G23 to G26 is used for instructing running the update.;
¶90: when the user performs the selecting operation to select the setting button G26, the user interface part 1102 displays a verification screen to verify the execution of the update on the display 13 (step S17); Fig. 11 and ¶91: verification screen includes update display to display content of an update to be executed, and operation buttons to receive an instruction to execute the update based on the displayed content;
Fig. 12 and ¶92: verification screen G3 may further display the verification window G36 to encourage the user to verify the displayed content when the operation button G35 is selected to give an instruction to execute an update;
¶93: the update processor 1107 determines whether to execute an update based on the user's selecting operation on the verification screen G3 to select the operation button G34 or G35 (step S15). When the user selects the operation button G35 to give an instruction to execute the update (“YES” in step S18), the update processor 1107 executes an update process based on the acquired metadata (step S19).);
)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui modified with the style panel provided by Schowtka, with the updating of software based on detected changes in the application file data based on Chinn, by further including the user interface verification of updates prior to performing any changes to software on a user device as provided by Mihara, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user friendly media editing application that more easily recognizes software updates for easier usability and software management by further ensuring that software changes exist and ensuring that a user actually performs a verification to initiate the changes to the system, providing greater control by the user over their own system and ensuring the system is only updated if the update meets the user preferences.
Regarding claim 10, the system of claim 1 performs the method of claim 10 and as such claim 10 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above.
Regarding claim 19, the system of claim 1 includes the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19 and as such claim 19 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above.
Regarding claim 2, Uriostegui further discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: (Uriostegui, ¶7 and ¶40) automatically update one of the plurality of user interface in response to the modification indication to the application output file (Uriostegui, ¶35: master templates can include, for example, styles covering events (e.g., holidays or other custom events) on an editorial/marketing calendar or other calendar (e.g., red/green color theme for Christmas, and so on) to which users can subscribe, where,
Given existing media content created and/or customized using the present system, new media content (videos and hypervideos) can be automatically generated and made available based on a calendar having a set of events. For example, for each event on the calendar, the system can automatically reconstruct an existing video by applying a new master template associated with the event to the existing video, and render the video, on a local device or in the cloud, based on the layout and composition of the template. On occurrence of a calendar event, the reconstructed content can be made available to users that are subscribed to the calendar (e.g., as downloadable files, links, streaming media, etc.). For example, this allows companies to provide to their customers branded, themed content that is automatically generated based on calendar events. Users can also perform customization of event-based content and templates following graphic design, motion graphics, and video editing knowledge that has been converted into algorithmic general-purpose instructions.
).
Regarding claim 11, the system of claim 2 performs the met>hod of claim 11 and as such claim 11 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 2 set forth above.
Regarding claim 20, the system of claim 2 includes the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 20 and as such claim 20 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 2 set forth above.
Regarding claim 3, Uriostegui further discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: (Uriostegui, ¶¶7, 40, and 45) obtain modification data associated with one or more modifications to the design application output file; automatically update one of the plurality of user interface components or one or more of the plurality of style attributes based on the modification data (Uriostegui, ¶35: master templates can include, for example, styles covering events (e.g., holidays or other custom events) on an editorial/marketing calendar or other calendar (e.g., red/green color theme for Christmas, and so on) to which users can subscribe, where changes in the master template are automatically generated, and further where, “Users can also perform customization of event-based content and templates following graphic design, motion graphics, and video editing knowledge that has been converted into algorithmic general-purpose instructions. Once the custom compositions are created these are saved in the user “events” in a user profile. The compositions remain editable, so that a user can open them in a content editor and modify the content.”)
Regarding claim 12, the system of claim 3 performs the method of claim 12 and as such claim 12 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 3 set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, Uriostegui modified by Schowtka further discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: filter the plurality of style attributes based on one or more criteria (Schowtka, Fig. 6 and ¶32 discloses interface allowing user to customize specific component features, identfieid as Change Color Scheme 602, Change Layout 604, Change Design Effects 606, and Change Font Scheme 608; ¶44: user clicks on Change Color Scheme, menu displays color schemes available, vs. ¶46 user clicks change layout, where layouts are provided instead)
(Note alternative rejection in view of WordPress below)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, by incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtka, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user interface for editing media by providing a more convenient and better organized arrangement of interactive data for easier usability of the interface, including allowing changing a plurality of style elements with a single selection for easier usability and faster design of media elements.
Regarding claim 15, the system of claim 6 performs the method of claim 15 and as such claim 15 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 6 set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, Uriostegui further discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: (Uriostegui, ¶¶7, 40, and 45) provide the user interface such that the one or more style attributes in a style dictionary are visually associated with a style application attribute in a format compatible with the motion graphics project (Uriostegui, ¶26: The Hyperthemes 124 service makes available to the Hyperdesigner 122 a reusable collection of assets (e.g., borders, background images, etc.) categorized by visual style (theme) for use in the video or hypervideo, with assets received from remote servers; ¶30: assets are organized in a file folder structure, either locally or on remote server, wherein each theme or template has an associated style definition file, similar to a CSS file, that defines the colors, gradients, boarders, patterns, text sizes, text borders, and other visual composition elements that are aesthetically compatible, where Hyperdesigner 122 selects a them provided by the Hyperthems 124 service of the template selected by the user, where Hyperdesigner 122 can intelligently select a combination of random assets, layouts, transforms, object placements, etc., that work together according to the style definition file, and apply the same to the current card (Step 210b) – note style dictionary is read on by assets organized in file folder, having definition files)
Regarding claim 16, the system of claim 7 performs the method of claim 16 and as such claim 16 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 7 set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, Schowtka further discloses:
Wherein the one or more criteria includes at least one of: non-grouped criteria, a background criteria, a body criteria, a fill criteria, a foreground criteria, and a heading criteria (Schowtka, ¶9: the layout relates generally to the location and size of the areas of the document devoted to text and the design relates to other elements, such as the images, color scheme, borders, background effects, and the specific font family and font attributes. Also, Fig. 6 and ¶32: change layout 604 and Fig. 8; ¶35-36, VML may specify border, color, path, shadow, opacity and fill image, where color scheme is incorporated into document containers)
(Note alternative rejection in view of WordPress below)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, by incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtka, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user interface for editing media by providing a more convenient and better organized arrangement of interactive data for easier usability of the interface, including allowing changing a plurality of style elements with a single selection for easier usability and faster design of media elements.
Regarding claim 17, the system of claim 8 performs the method of claim 17 and as such claim 17 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 8 set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, Uriostegui further discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: (Uriostegui, ¶¶7, 40, and 45) output the style application instructions for application of the one or more of the plurality of style attributes to a plurality of motion graphics elements within the motion graphics project (Uriostegui, ¶9: constructing the visual card based on the style definition includes applying to the visual card a plurality of visual composition elements identified by the style definition, where the visual composition elements include at least one of a background image, a background pattern, a background color, a border, a gradient, a layout, an object transform, a font type, a font size, and a font color; ¶18: he presently described techniques provide for the video itself to be created based on the segments and annotations described by the format, similar to how videogame scenes are created as a game engine needs them; ¶22: motion graphic scenes contain diverse media assets including (but not limited to) shapes, colors, images, sounds, video segments and text that are assembled and animated to create the illusion of continuous movement; ¶28: The determined sentiment can then be used as a factor in selecting a general theme (e.g., colors, font types, and other graphical composition elements) to apply to the video or hypervideo (e.g., vibrant colors for positive sentiment, dull colors for negative sentiment, neutral colors for neutral sentiment); Also ¶30: theme style applied to card)
Regarding claim 18, the system of claim 9 performs the method of claim 18 and as such claim 18 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 9 set forth above.
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Uriostegui et al. (US 2018/0143741 A1) in view of
Schowtka et al. (US 2014/0089789 A1)
Chinn et al. (US 2013/0332916 A1) and
Mihara et al. (US 2016/0231997 A1) in further view of
Katariya et al. (US 2015/0378714 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the limitations included from claim 1 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above. Further regarding claim 4, Uriostegui teaches modification to design application output file (Uriostegui, ¶35), but does not explicitly teach actuating an output file verification user interface component which verifies whether the file has been modified.
Katariya, however, discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: provide an output file verification user interface component, the actuation of which is configured to initiate verification of whether the design application output file has been modified (Katariya, ¶20: In response to a request from a target device to check for updates, the update service can use descriptions of available software updates to identify whether a particular update applies to a particular configuration of the requesting target device; ¶27: Each of the updates 106 can include executable program code or other software for modifying one or more features of a client application 110; ¶60: interface used by user to indicate that he or she wishes to check for updates, including a “ ‘Check for Updates’ button is displayed next to each listed application. The update module 111 executed at the computing system 108 can receive input from the user indicating that the user wishes to receive updates for one or more of the client applications 110 (e.g., clicking a ‘check for updates’ button).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing application projects as provided by Uriostegui, incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtk, using the known technique of determining updates to software applications based on file size as provided by Chinn, and including the user interface verification of updates prior to performing any changes to software on a user device as provided by Mihara, by further using the technique for checking for updates to files as provided by Katariya, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification allows for an improved content creation system that ensures that the most recent data files are utilized, such that any changes made by a designer or otherwise are fully incorporated into the project files and that intended results are achieved, and also allowing software updates (e.g., bug fixes, additional features, etc.) to be provided to users more frequently and can allow developers of software updates to target specific issues (see Katariya, ¶2).
Regarding claim 13, the system of claim 4 performs the method of claim 13 and as such claim 13 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 4 set forth above.
Claim(s) 5 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Uriostegui et al. (US 2018/0143741 A1) in view of
Schowtka et al. (US 2014/0089789 A1)
Chinn et al. (US 2013/0332916 A1) and
Mihara et al. (US 2016/0231997 A1) in further view of
Saliba et al. (US 2010/0257182 A1)
Regarding claim 5, the limitations included from claim 1 are rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above. Further regarding claim 5, the additional elements related to checking for changes to data to ensure up-to-date information is used by the system is not explicitly taught by Uriostegui. The technique of ensuring data files are up-to-date for any modifications, however, is commonly used by software systems, which one of ordinary skill in the art would have been aware of at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Saliba discloses:
Wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by the instructions to: periodically query the application output to determine whether the application output has been modified (Saliba, ¶¶31-32: style guard add-in accesses data stores having style collection files, where styles for a particular content-creating context may evolve over time for various reasons, and accordingly, the style guard add-in 204 may periodically query an update web service 208 in order to update locally stored style collection files so that the style collection files will reflect the latest style rules; ¶29-30 discloses computer elements)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtk, using the known technique of determining updates to software applications based on file size as provided by Chinn, and including the user interface verification of updates prior to performing any changes to software on a user device as provided by Mihara, by further using the technique for periodically checking for updates to style data for applying to graphical data as provided by Saliba, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification allows for an improved content creation system that ensures that the most recent data files are utilized, such that any changes made by a designer or otherwise are fully incorporated into the project files and that intended results are achieved.
Regarding claim 14, the system of claim 5 performs the method of claim 14 and as such claim 14 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 5 set forth above.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 15 and 17 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Uriostegui et al. (US 2018/0143741 A1) in view of
Schowtka et al. (US 2014/0089789 A1)
Chinn et al. (US 2013/0332916 A1) and
Mihara et al. (US 2016/0231997 A1) in further view of
WordPress (“Custom Meu Feature Filter”, WordPress.com Blog, published at https://wordpress.com/blog/2010/06/09/custom-menu-feature-filter/ as of June 9, 2010, and archived as of Sept. 19, 2020 at archive.org).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations included from claim 1 rejected based on the same rationale as claim 1 set forth above. Further regarding claim 6, WordPress discloses:
filter the plurality of style attributes based on one or more criteria (WordPress, 2/14 – “Theme Filter” with apply filters to browse themes)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtka, using the known technique of determining updates to software applications based on file size as provided by Chinn and including the user interface verification of updates prior to performing any changes to software on a user device as provided by Mihara, by further including the filtering interface as provided by WordPress, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user interface for editing media by allowing uses to more easily find and access desired effects.
Regarding claim 15, the system of claim 6 performs the method of claim 15 and as such claim 15 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 6 set forth above.
Regarding claim 8, Schowtka further discloses:
Wherein the one or more criteria includes at least one of: non-grouped criteria, a background criteria, a body criteria, a fill criteria, a foreground criteria, and a heading criteria (WordPress, 2/14 – “Theme Filter” with apply filters to browse themes, including “Custom Background”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the system and method for providing a distributed service that utilizes files for changing style data for graphic projects as provided by Uriostegui, incorporating the GUI technique of providing a style panel for changing a style attribute of a plurality of elements as provided by Schowtka, using the known technique of determining updates to software applications based on file size as provided by Chinn and including the user interface verification of updates prior to performing any changes to software on a user device as provided by Mihara, by further including the filtering interface as provided by WordPress, using known electronic interfacing and programming techniques. The modification results in an improved user interface for editing media by allowing uses to more easily find and access desired effects.
Regarding claim 17, the system of claim 8 performs the method of claim 17 and as such claim 17 is rejected based on the same rationale as claim 8 set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM A BEUTEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616